ATTRACTIONS
VEREINS KIRCHE KEEPS CURRENT WITH EXHIBITS, ACTIVITIES T
he Vereins Kirche is a unique landmark in the center of downtown Fredericksburg.
The octagonal building is owned and operated by the Gillespie County Historical Society.
EXHIBITS The permanent exhibit in the Vereins Kirche, 1847 to the Present, tells the history of the two Vereins Kirchen, the original and the replica. The story of the Vereins Kirche begins with the immigration of Germans to Texas in the 1840s. From there, six of the eight walls are each dedicated to the story of the Vereins Kirche fitting into the walls’ overarching theme. Each wall contains information about the Vereins Kirche, Fredericksburg, and the state of Texas. The new interpretation has themes of “Arrival in Texas,” “Building the Vereins Kirche,” “Learning,” “Worshiping,” “Community,” and “Preserving.” Local artists, Lee and Matt Casbeer created paintings that line the top of the building, depicting different scenes through the buildings’ history. The temporary exhibit (on display through May 2022) explains the history of the Gillespie County Historical Society, who have been the stewards of the replica since 1935.
HISTORY The original Vereins Kirche served as the town’s first church, school and public meeting place and lookout building for protection against invaders. The replica of the Vereins Kirche was used as a library, home to the Fredericksburg Chamber of Commerce, a one-day post office and a museum. The original Vereins Kirche, or Society Church, was used primarily as a church and school for all denominations. School districts were created in Gillespie County in the 1850s and students were no longer using the Vereins Kirche. As with the school, church congregations began building their own churches in town and slowly leaving the Vereins Kirche empty most days.
136
Owned and managed by the Gillespie County Historical Society, the Vereins Kirche on Marktplatz in downtown Fredericksburg tells the story of this iconic building. The Vereins Kirche is located in the center of downtown. — Standard-Radio Post file photo
By the 50th anniversary in 1896, the stone walls were removed to make the Vereins Kirche a pavilion for the celebration. The building was torn down in 1897 as it had fallen into disrepair. For many years, local citizens had the vision of building a replica of the Vereins Kirche. In 1935, the Gillespie County Historical Society received their charter and began working to rebuild the Vereins Kirche as a pioneer memorial. Fundraising by citizens and help from the New Deal Works Progress Administration supported the building of the Vereins Kirche. A celebration was held in May 1935 and the Vereins Kirche Pioneer Memorial was officially opened.
Spring&Summer2021