AIMING FOR THE THE FUTURE
STUDENT GROWTH ALUMNI NETWORK WEBSITE & MOBILE APP REVENUE GROWTH CONTENTS • Open Opportunities • Facebook Ads • Google Ad Grants • Google Ads • The Student Identity • Brand Ambassadors • Alumni Surveys • Potential Discount Programs • Amazon Smile • Facebook Donations • Website Improvements • NASP Mobile App • Push Notifications • The Secret Weapon
THE FUTURE IS NOW
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GROWING INTEREST IN ARCHERY
OPEN OPPORTUNITIES • Leverage Growing Interest in Archery • Students & Families • Untapped Markets • Leveraging Alumni Audience • Current & Future Affiliates
YOU HAVE COMPETITION!
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STUDENT GROWTH
20%
GROWTH
16%
AGREED
• Participation in archery and bow-hunting overall grew 20 percent between 2012 and 2015 largely attributed to increased youth participation
• 16% of children surveyed stated that films and popular culture influenced their decision to participate in archery
STRATEGY: Create marketing materials which specifically appeal to this interest in popular media, using references and evocative imagery which recalls these pieces of pop culture
NASP® PROGRAMS
CREATE A LEADDIGIT 3 EASY STEPS! 1. Text “arrow123” to 44222 2. Reply to the Message 3. Check your Email
FOLLOW-UP: This textable number is great for generating leads. The process doesn't have to end there. In fact, it's extremely helpful with Facebook targeting!
STUDENT GROWTH
CREATE A FACEBOOK AD We are then able to specifically target every person who opted in via the 44222 text with NASP® ads. Online campaigns would also target more broad audiences of teachers and school administrators
EXTENDING THE REACH
ONLINE ADS FACEBOOK, PINTEREST, INSTAGRAM & MORE
PHASE 1: JOHN R. HOOD POSITION: TEACHER SCHOOL: UNKNOWN
OR
R
STUDENT GROWTH
PHASE 2:
FACEBOOK BUILD A LOOKALIKE AUDIENCE
REPEAT THIS PROCESS WITH YOUR NEW AUDIENCE
INCREASES IN FUNDING • As a nonprofit, NASP® has access to the Google Grants program. Google Grants will provide up to $10,000 of advertising budget monthly • 12,000 monthly searches for keyphrases "sports for girls" "kids archery" "archery programs" "youth archery" • The average cost-per-click is $1.22 (CPC) • Google Grants could generate up to:
8,197 potential website viewers per month $10,000 at $1.22 per click = 8,197 clicks!
STUDENT GROWTH
53
COUNTRIES
2003 LAUNCHED
20K
PARTICIPANTS
$3B
DONATED
LEVERAGIN FREE PROMOTION TO GROW TH
NG THESE N OPPORTUNITIES HE PROGRAM
STUDENT GROWTH
APPLY FOR GOOGLE GRANTS Use Google Grants money to target specific keywords in specific geographic regions where growth is most desired with ads • Paid Search Ads • Retargeting Display Ads • YouTube Video Ads Use negative keywords and targeting exclusions to avoid showing ads for search terms that are related to archery but not safe for kids or showing ads in areas where growth is not necessarily needed Making better use of social media platforms is also free promotion:
STUDENT GROWTH
IMPROVED USE OF SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS • Share posts often, and include as many links, photos, and videos as possible to get noticed • Encourage existing followers to invite their friends to like/follow NASP® • Make sure everyone on your email list knows that NASP® is on Facebook • Set up a donation button on Facebook, encourage fans to donate (by way of social media posts and emails to those on your list), and use donation money to offset cost of targeted Facebook advertisements to grow programs (which you can spend as much or as little on as you want). This is not free algorithmic promotion on its face, but it is targeted promotion that circuitously pays for itself.
Below are four examples of hypothetical Google ads that someone would see when searching a query. (2 desktop and 2 mobile) DESKTOP
MOBILE
1
STUDENT GROWTH
1. Physical Education Lesson Plans 2. Accessible Athletic Programs for Kids
2
GOOGLE CUSTOMER JOURNEY
AWARENESS "physical education lesson plans" (2900 searches monthly) CONSIDERATION "NASP® archery" (5400 searches monthly) CONVERSION "NASP® archery certification" (70 searches monthly) LOYALTY "NASP® merchandise" (No searches yet)
STUDENT GROWTH
AWARENESS
CONSIDERATION
CONVERSION
LOYALTY
RETARGETING
STATES WITH THE MOST POTENTIAL FOR GROWTH: New York, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Florida, Texas, and California
STUDENT GROWTH
UNTAPPED MARKETS There are several states, among them those with the largest education budgets, who are underrepresented in NASP®. • New York State: $23,091 per student (Highest) • Massachusetts: $16,197 per student • New Hampshire: $15,683 per student • Connecticut: $19,322 per student (2nd highest state)
3-3.5 MILLION people in the US who are interested in archery and can be targeted on Facebook!
STATES WITH THE MOST PUBLIC S New York, Illinois, Michigan, Ohio, Florida, Texas, and California
STUDENT GROWTH
SCHOOLS: Other states have massive opportunities simply because they have the most schools who have not had the chance to join NASP®.
State: Total Schools (NASP®%) 1. California: 9,237 (1.0%) 2. Texas: 8,110 (5.7%) 3. New York: 4,531 (4.5%) 4. Illinois: 4,416 (2.7%) 5. Michigan: 4,008 (3.9%) 6. Ohio: 3,988 (8.7%) 7. Florida: 3,529 (3.2%)
LEVERAGING THE
ALUMNI NETWORK
ALUMNI AUDIENCE
REACHING 18-31 YEAR OLD NASP® ALUMNI
ALUMNI NETWORK
YOUR EMAIL LIST IS THE KEY Segment Email Lists • Age and geographic regions are good places to start here • Deliver better messaging to specific groups
Make sure emails aren't just updates, they're compelling calls to action — Action can mean: • Starting a new program • Requesting more information on how to support existing programs at nearby schools • Setting NASP® as their organization of choice on Amazon Smile • Donating directly
These calls to action can also be adapted for the segment you're sending to. • Younger alumni may not be able to donate much money, but they may be interested in volunteering with younger students or using Amazon Smile. • Older alumni may want to start programs at schools where they work or where their children go, and they may have disposable income to donate directly.
Feed email lists into advertising platforms (Facebook and Google Ads Customer Match) to target those users with the specific kinds of messaging you want to reach alumni with.
GROWING THE ALUMNI NETWORK
BE THE STUDENT IDENTITY This can be done through material and digital techniques. • Online communities, such as a mobile app or a forum • Identity-defining merchandise - Shirts, graduation cords, class rings • Ongoing touchpoints with students via email, newsletters or magazines • Using the app to connect students to each other, their school’s program, and NASP® news
ALUMNI NETWORK
CREATE BRAND AMBASSADORS Converting alumni into brand ambassadors who will advocate on behalf of NASP® • Incentivize alumni ambassadors with sponsor freebies, social media shoutouts and awards from NASP®
BENEFITS OF BRAND AMBASSADORS • Helps you manage your online reputation
74%
of people turn to social guidance on brand dec
• Builds trust and loyalty for your brand
96%
of people believe that t industry does not act w
• Direct feedback from your customers
17x
YouTube influencers ge engagement than main
• Cost-effective marketing with high returns
62%
Influencer marketing is expensive than traditio
l networks for cisions
the advertising with integrity
enerate 17X more nstream celebrities
s 62% less onal marketing
ALUMNI NETWORK
FIND OUT WHAT ALUMNI WANT Regular surveys for alumni and students to choose what they want out of an alumni program or what would enhance their NASP® experience
ALUMNI NETWORK
• Determine satisfaction and popularity of programs • Focus group to gauge how they feel about certain topics and issues • Gather membership data to leverage future partnerships • Another way to connect to the audience and grow engagement • Learn their platform preferences • Alumni outcomes and connections to NASP® How to use this data: Great selling points to parents, students and school systems that may be interested in NASP® programs. Perfect for creating market segments.
ALUMNI DISCOUNT PROGRAMS Coordinate alumni discount programs with retailers who will contribute a portion of sales to NASP®
EXAMPLE: PUBLIX PARTNERS The Publix Partners program rewards schools when registered families shop at their stores. For every $37,500 spent cumulatively by your school's participanting programs, Publix will award $250 to said school-program. KROGER COMMUNITY REWARDS: Gives away $3,000,000 total each year, and gives each participating organization the opportunity to earn up to $50,000
ALUMNI NETWORK
INCREASES IN FUNDING • Using Amazon Smile program, people can donate a portion of every single purchase they make to NASP® • The average online order-value on phones is $78 and Smartphone users are the majority of the internet's shoppers. • Amazon Prime members average of 24 orders per year (non-Prime customers average 13 orders) • For every 10,000 people convinced to set NASP® as their charity of choice when purchasing on Amazon it could potentially generate:
$93,600 per year! ($78 x 10000 = 780,000 x 0.005 = $3900 x 24 orders)
ALUMNI NETWORK
YOU SHOP. AMAZON GIVES. Amazon will donate 0.5% of the price of eligible AmazonSmile purchases to your organization when customers designate NASPÂŽ AmazonSmile is the same Amazon you know. Same products, same prices, same service.
INCREASES IN FUNDING • Ability to donate directly from Facebook page • Encouraging the creation of “Birthday fundraisers” for NASP® on Facebook • Paid donation campaign ads • Starting Budget: $3,000 per month • Cost per click = $1.72 • Facebook Ads average a 9.21% conversion rate
161 potential donors per month 3000/1.72 = 1744 clicks x .0921 = 161 conversions x 128
ALUMNI NETWORK
$1 BILLION raised for non-profits and personal causes since 2015.
20 MILLION PEOPLE have donated to or started a Facebook Fundraiser.
1 MILLION + NONPROFITS in 19 countries can now receive donations directly through Facebook.
Facebook offers many fundraising tools for nonprofits
WEBSITE IMP
EASY-TO-USE PLATFORM To enhance the experience of all NASP® constituents — parents, students, alumni and coaches — it is important for them to have an easy to use platform with clear solutions.
WEBSITE & APP
PROVEMENTS
HOW DO I START A NASP® PROGRAM?
Segment viewers so that they can quickly and easily navigate to the information relevant to them.
STREAMLINING ALL PROCESSES
WEBSITE & APP
Example: This final CTA on the Resources page: • Guide interested teachers and administrators to an easy-to-use page with contact information for their state or regional NASPŽ coordinator.
THE ROLE OF THE
THE WEBSITE MUST BE A PLACE WHERE USERS CAN
WEBSITE & APP
E NASP® WEBSITE
• Find information about • ® starting a NASP program • • Find resources for • improving & growing an existing NASP® program • Order equipment
Easily make donations Easily buy merchandise Find upcoming tournaments and events
• Connect with NASP® and with other participants
SEE AN EXAMPLE HERE:
DMEDIGITAL.LPAGES.CO
WEBSITE & APP
THE NASP® MOBILE APP Connecting NASP® registered students around the globe with resources, news, and each other.
See a Mockup Preview Here!
WEBSITE & APP
REASONS NASP® NEEDS A MOBILE APP • Better Mobile User Experience • Reach Global Audience • Students' Age Range & Niche • Collect User Data and Analytics Information • Increase Brand Loyalty & Visibility • Engaging & Appealing Marketing • Increase Your Sales • Get More Insights and Analytics
ANNUAL APP DOWNLOADS IN BILLIONS 30
25
20
15
10
5
WEBSITE & APP
NUMBER OF APP DOWNLOADS WORLDWIDE IN BILLIONS
00 258.2BIL
50 205.4BIL
00 178.1BIL
50
00
50
0
2017
2018
2022
WEBSITE & APP
DIRECT LINE OF COMMUNICATION Use push notifications to remind students and coaches. A mobile app gives NASP® the ability to: • Introduce new events or information • Send eye-catching offers • Operate within a self-branded space
PUSH NOTIFICATIO
88%
Push Notifications increase user involvement in app by 88%.
65%
When Push Notifications are enabled, 65% users return to an app within 30 days!
50%
50% of users enable Push Notifications and find them useful.
WEBSITE & APP
ON EFFECTIVENESS
27%
Push Notifications increase the number of app uses by 27%
3x
Push Notifications make user interaction triple!
4x
Notifications on special occasions increase conversion rate fourfold!
DESIGN & BRANDING CAPABILITIES • Mobile apps don’t have any of the design restrictions encountered by web browsers • Apps have the ability to offer a new branding experience to users, and can be used specifically to transition into a new brand style when needed • User profiles for schools or partner companies can act as branded microsites, and may be used to promote the brand, an event, a team, or a newly-launched service • Mobile app icons are essentially advertisements that a user sees multiple times each day simply because the app exists on their phone
WEBSITE & APP
ADVANCED PERSONALIZATION • An app can let users set up their preferences at the start, providing information on which users can be served customized content • Apps can track and observe user engagement, and use it to offer custom recommendations and updates • Apps can identify location of the users in real-time to provide geography-specific content • When users are pampered with personalized content, brand loyalty and conversion rates increase
TIME SPENT ON
Mobile Apps Website
WEBSITE & APP
N MOBILE APPS
Mobile websites get more visitors than mobile apps, but visitors spend more time in apps
87%
Mobile users spent 87 percent of their time on mobile apps and just 13 percent of the time on mobile websites in 2017
3:05
Younger smartphone users spend the most time (average 95 minutes per day) on apps
46%
In 2017, 46 percent of millennials made 5+ in-app purchases & 70 percent made more than 1
$188
Mobile apps are projected to hit $188.9 billion in revenue by 2020
BILLION
REVENUE
REVENUE INCREASE
GROWTH
YOUR SECRE
ET WEAPON
REVENUE INCREASE
SmartContact • Save time • Call thousands of schools worldwide • Innovative call technology to tremendously expand outreach potential
REVENUE INCREASE
IT’S LIKE HAVING A WHOLE TEAM OF STATE COORDINATORS IN EACH STATE JUST TO MAKE CALLS!
YOU WILL HAVE UP TO
VOICEMAIL
8
CUSTOMIZED ATTEMPTS!
RESPONSE
REVENUE INCREASE
IT’S A RECORDING, BUT YOU’LL BE THE ONLY ONE WHO KNOWS!
• Real people deliver your messages (not computers) • Messages are recorded right over the phone • Your messages will end with the sound of you hanging up the phone
...AND THE “LIVE” TOUCH ISN’T JUST FOR RECORDED MESSAGES The emails we send “from you” coordinate with each voice message left. By adding a delay between voice and email, we continue the touch of realism - the timing is just like it would be if you had called, then sent an email on your own.
STOPPING THE CALLS AND EMAILS & RESPONSE TRACKING SmartContact™ keeps track of prospects who respond so that no further recordings are sent after a live interaction occurs. To stop message and email delivery, simply mark the prospect as “responded” — the SmartContact™ system does the rest!
REVENUE INCREASE
WHAT HAPPENS IF YOUR PROSPECT ANSWERS THE PHONE? Our agents can handle the call and set callback appointments for you at a time that is convenient. • After an appointment is set, our system immediately sends you an email with both contact and appointment attachments • Attachments instantly import into Outlook, Google and other CRMs. (Available appointment durations and day/time ranges are preset in the SmartContact™ System)
THANK YOU!
AIMING FOR THE THE FUTURE