Media Plan
UCSI UNIVERSITY By Loh Pei Wei Zeng Xiaofeng Lim Shu Cheng Zhang Jinnan Chan Jintong
1001129062 1001027624 1001027848 1001129286 1000819975
1.0 Introduction
2.0 Situation Analysis
3.0 Media Objectives
4.0 Media Strategy
5.0 Execution
6.0 Evaluation
Table of contents
UCSI University is a Malaysian private institution of higher learning with three campuses in Kuala Lumpur, Terengganu and Sarawak, Malaysia. UCSI University began in 1986 is made up of 11 faculties and a Centre for Pre-University studies with more than 70 programmes. Its student body is comprised of 10,000 students with an international cohort from more than 80 different countries.
As an institution of higher learning, UCSI University strives for educational excellence. UCSI’s tagline, “The University. The Experience” represents the institution’s goal to offer students with the experience of learning in an international university environment. UCSI University built on the principles of audacity, perseverance, integrity and excellence. UCSI University is committed to producing well-rounded graduates with the hard and soft skills necessary to be successful in life and who possess nine of Graduate Attributes. Students at UCSI University enjoy the unique benefits of its Co-Operative Education Training Programme (Co-Op) to enhance their employability and contribute to career journey. The Co-Op integrates classroom learning with workplace training with close to 1,000 registered Co-Op partner organizations.
1.0 Introduction Page. 3
2.0 Situation Analysis Weaknesses
Strengths • Malaysia’s first private universities • Made up of 11 faculties and a Centre for PreUniversity studies with more than 70 programmes • With more than 10,000 students from 80 different countries • Developed with graduate attributes • Introduce a Co-Operative Education Training Programme (Co-Op)
• Poor management services • Lack of facilities • Lack of campus life • Inadequate educational resources
SWOT Analysis Opportunities • Serve SPM and STPM graduates who interest to private university than public university • Offered new programmes for more students • An additional 48-storey building will be built on the existing Campus • Build a new campus in Perak with Jumbo Straits
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Threats • Increase competition with other universities college. • Faculty members leaving for other opportunities • Lack of public security around campus locations • Had bad impression that UCSI was the university with many black people student.
2.1 Marketing Analysis: Media Analysis UCSI University is ranked 28th respectively among 76 universities in Malaysia in year of 2012. Currently, UCSI University used the print media, radio media, social media and out-of-home media as their media strategy.
In print media, UCSI University usually deliver their messages to the potential audience via the newspaper. Besides, radio media and social media also the media tools of promoting the UCSI University. Furthermore, UCSI University has official accounts on Facebook, Picasa, Twitter, Youtube, Instagram and Pinterest. In addition, education fairs within Malaysia also the one of the best timing to advertise UCSI University and let more students and their parents know more about UCSI University. Besides, once UCSI University creates new achievements, events and graduation ceremony also can be one of the choices to advertise on. Annually, UCSI University will have their new students’ intake on January, May and September. UCSI University usually delivers the message on the December, April and August. Month of March also the best timing for promoting UCSI University and attract students to study. This is because SPM and STPM results will be release on March.
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2.2 Target Audience Analysis • The primary target audience of UCSI University: secondary students of Malaysia who has taken an examination of the college entrance examination – SPM & STPM. • In the demographic session: • UCSI University focuses on people of age 18 and above. • Male and female would preferably be our target audience. • In media habits perceptive, social media became media tools that students often used in their daily life.
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2.3 Competitive Analysis: Taylor University Taylor's continues to play a strong role in developing Malaysia's human resource capital, and boasts a 70,000-strong alumnus, many of whom have become leaders in their respective fields. Taylor University was ranked 24th respectively among 76 universities in Malaysia in 2012.
Media Strategies: •
Used print media, such as Chinese newspapers and English newspapers to introduce their university to their target audience. Such as Sin Chew Daily, China Press, The Star and etc.
•
Taylor University also has more capabilities to cooperate with a world-wide brand by print media, such as BMW.
• Promoted the university by holding an event. • For example, holding music event is more popular way to promoting Taylor University, because this poster is not only placed in magazine, but also mentioned there were many official media for cooperating, such as television and radio, therefore the official media could give them free publicity for Taylor University. • Used social media, such as Facebook and Youtube as their media tools. • Facebook and Youtube page are more important than other print media advertisement, it could directly shows the information and photos about the university in detail.
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2.3 Competitive Analysis: INTI University
INTI University was ranked 59th respectively among 76 universities in Malaysia in 2012. Media Strategies: •
•
Used print media, such as Chinese newspapers and English newspapers to introduce their university to their target audience. Such as Sin Chew Daily, The Star and etc.
•
Used out of home: Transport Advertising • Taxi – boot lit • Rapid KL bus • This is because public transport will going around the city by city in Malaysia. Therefore, the advertisement on taxi or bus could be reaching lots of people.
•
Apparently, INTI University also used the new media instead of traditional media, Facebook and Youtube as their media tools.
INTI University also advertise on international newspaper, such as Pakistan newspaper, this is a new strategic for using print media to propaganda INTI university.
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2.3 Competitive Analysis: HELP University
• HELP University was 41st respectively among 76 universities in Malaysia in year of 2012. Through comparing the competitor analysis between UCSI University and HELP University, both of them are private owned university college and established on 1986. Media Strategies: • Used the print media to advertise, such as Sin Chew Daily and etc. • Used social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Weibo and Google+ as their media tools. • Launch an event to get publicity. • •
For example: launching a Drink and Drive Don't Mix campaign. They created a website for this campaign on http://drinkdrivedontmix.org/ and their video on YouTube already hit 5,448 views.
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3.0 Media Objectives •
Newspaper media, radio media and out-of-home media are the media channels that widely used by UCSI University. The main objective is to create awareness of UCSI University and get more students enrolled to UCSI University for their further studies within the budget of 2 million.
3.1 Target Audience Analysis
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•
Primary target audience: • Secondary students of Malaysia (SPM & STPM holder) and Diploma holder. • Age: 18-25 years old • Male and female would preferably be our target audience. • Target on Chinese and Indian students. • Lifestyle: Often to use social media
•
Secondary target audience: • Student’s parents • Age: 40-60 years old
3.2 Distribution Analysis Newspaper media • Place on three differences types of newspapers (Chinese, Bahasa and English) • Objective: To reach 5 million of ads impression within 1 month of our target audiences • Timing: Duration after SPM and STPM exams result release (March and April). Magazine Media • Objective: To reach 1 million of ads impression within 3 months of our target audiences • Timing: Months of March and April is best timing. • The frequently is monthly.
Radio Media • To deliver the UCSI University’s Open day message. • Objective: To reach 2 million impressions in every month • Timing: A week before UCSI University’s Open Day Digital Media • Objective: To reach 3 million of ads impression within 6 months of our target audiences • The frequently is monthly.
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4.0 Media Strategy • • •
Main objective is to create awareness of UCSI University and get more students enrolled to UCSI University for further studies. Target audience are the SPM & STPM students and their parents. The media that we choose to achieve our objective are newspaper media, magazine media, radio media and digital media.
4.1 Newspaper Media
Newspaper is the most popular print media in Malaysia, so we place our advertisement in newspaper in the best choice for distribution. • Strengths of the newspapers: flexibility, timely and easy to be accepted and be trusted by audience. • Weaknesses of newspaper: short shelf life, waste circulation and poor photo reproduction limits creativity.
Newspaper
English Newspaper
The Star, New Strait Times, The Sun
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Chinese Newspaper
Sin Chew Daily, China Press, Oriental Daily News
Bahasa Newspaper
Utusan Malaysia, Harian Metro
4.1.1 Vehicle Selection We want the all potential target audiences could get the information of the ads. Hence, we choose few types of newspaper for placing our advertisement which are The Sun, Sin Chew Daily and Harian Metro.
4.1.2 Justification English Newspaper
Chinese Newspaper
Bahasa Newspaper
• To deliver message to audience. • To reach secondary audience which are parents. • Chinese, Indian and Malay can read these newspaper. • Able to introduce UCSI University and its details to these audience.
• To deliver message to audience • To reach secondary audience which are parents. • Only know Chinese language people will read on these newspaper. • Able to introduce UCSI University and its details to these audience.
• To deliver message to audience • To reach secondary audience which are parents. • Malay or Indian people might read on these newspaper. We can attract other races people to exposure our advertisement. • Able to introduce our university to these audience.
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Type of
Language
Region
Frequency
Total circulation
newspaper The Star
Full Page, Full
Full Page, Full
Color Cost (RM)
Color CPM(RM)
English
Nationwide
Daily
289,362 copies
48,600
167.96
New Straits Times English
Nationwide
Daily
115,570 copies
35,244
304.96
The Sun
English
Peninsular Malaysia
Daily
304,727 copies
23,800
78.10
Sin Chew Daily
Chinese
Nationwide
Daily
385,299 copies
53,000
137.56
China Press
Chinese
Peninsular Malaysia
Daily
176,766 copies
33,800
191.21
Oriental Daily
Chinese
Peninsular Malaysia
Daily
89,623 copies
12,200
136.13
Harian Metro
Bahasa
Nationwide
Daily
385,554 copies
33,272
86.30
Utusan Malaysia
Bahasa
Peninsular Malaysia
Daily
191,302 copies
35,220
184.11
The reason choosing these newspapers (The Sun, Sin Chew Daily and Harian Metro): • To create brand awareness of UCSI University, we want to reach 2 million of ads impression within 1 month of our targeted audience. • The reason we choose these newspapers because of their high circulations with lower CPM. • We prefer more reach than frequency. Therefore, the frequently is not too much.
4.1.3 Scheduling Media scheduling that we choose is flighting. We will advertise during March and April 2015. This is because we advertise during the month of SPM and SPTM's result release. April is the month that many students start to find the university or college for their further studies..
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4.2 Magazine Media Magazine is the media tools to reach our target audience in meaningful ways. According to Media Planning Guide book, they stated that the average magazine page is viewed 1.7 times, so it provides more impressions per ad than TV or newspaper. • Strengths: high reader involvement and less waste circulation. More attention will be paid to magazine advertisement and we can place our ads in magazines read primarily by buyers of the product or service. • Weakness: long lead times. We need to make plans a long time in advance before we advertise the ads.
Magazine
Education
Further Study Intelligence, Fokus SPM, Campus Plus
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Teenager, Lifestyle and Entertainment
Bulanan Pelajar, Campus Plus, Spotlite
4.2.1 Vehicle Selection Our target audience mainly target on student. Therefore, we choose education magazine, such as Further Study Intelligence magazine, FOKUS SPM and CAMPUS PLUS to advertise.
4.2.2 Justification Education magazine
Teenager, Lifestyle and Entertainment
• Focus on particular readers whom show interest on education in the market. • These specific readers have the highest potential to become as our primary target audience, which are SPM& STPM students. • Able to promote UCSI University and its details to these audience. • To create brand awareness of UCSI University
• Focus on particular readers whom show interest on lifestyle and entertainment in the market. • These magazines target people who interest in lifestyle and entertainment. • Magazines genre are able to reach the audience because most of readers are teenagers. • These readers had potential to become our target audience.
Type of
Language
Magazine segment
Frequency
Circulation
Readership
magazine Further Study
Full Page, Full
Full Page, Full
Color Cost
Color CPM
(RM)
(RM)
Chinese
Education
Bi-monthly
20,000 copies
100,000
2,500
25.00
Chinese
Teenagers,
Monthly
30,000 copies
60,000
2,100
35.00
Intelligence Bulanan Pelajar
Entertainment
Fokus SPM
Bahasa
Education
Monthly
50,000 copies
200,000
2,000
10.00
Campus Plus
English
Education, Lifestyle &
Monthly
35,000 copies
87,500
5,500
62.86
Monthly
25,000 copies
62,500
4,000
64.00
Entertainment Spotlite
Chinese
Lifestyle & Entertainment
The reason choosing these magazines (Further Study Intelligence magazine, FOKUS SPM and CAMPUS PLUS): • They have higher readership. Through these magazines, there have 387,500 total readerships per month. It will achieve the objective which is to reach 1 million of ads impression within 3 months of our targeted audiences. • The advantage of Further Study Intelligence is constantly distribute free copies of their magazines to secondary school students, especially for SPM students and counseling unit at schools nationwide. • FOKUS SPM is suitable to use to targeting Bumiputra readers in Malaysia and the advertising rate is reasonable and higher reach.
4.2.3 Scheduling Media scheduling for magazine is continuous. We will place an advertisement on every month. Therefore, Fokus SPM and Campus Plus will place an advertisement on January till June 2015. Due to Further Study Intelligence is Bi-Monthly magazine, therefore, we place the ads on February, April and June.
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4.3 Radio Media 4.3.1 Vehicle Selection The radio media that we choose are AMP Radio Networks. We will choose My FM and Hitz FM.
Radio media is the media tools that can influence audience perception. Audience also will pay more attention to receive the message on radio. Target audience can get the awareness of UCSI University from radio commercial.
• Advantages: Radio is a universal medium and create a personality for our university by using only sounds and voices. Most of people listen to the radio at one time or another during the day. • Disadvantage: Radio ads are interruption to the entertainment. Radio also is a background medium. Most of listeners do not pay attention to your ads while doing something else.
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Media Prima
Fly FM, One FM
AMP Radio Networks
My FM, Hitz FM, Mix FM, Lite FM, Melody FM
Star Rfm
Red FM, 988 FM
BFM Media
BFM 89.9 FM
Radio Station
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• All four radio stations of The Star Radio Group has scored high marks with achieving a total audience reach of four million weekly listeners. • 988 FM: Has 1.64 million weekly listeners. Breakfast show and drive show get the highest Time Spent Listening (TSL) rating amongst all Chinese commercial radio stations. • Red FM: Has 97,000 weekly listeners, had the highest TSL rating among all commercial English stations with an audience target of below 35 years old.
BFM 89.9 FM
• Astro Radio retained its leadership position as Malaysia’s No.1 radio operator with a weekly listener base of 12.2 million. • Hitz FM and MY FM and continue their reign as the No.1 radio stations in the English and Chinese language respectively. • MY FM: No. 1 Chinese language station with 2 million weekly listeners • Hitz FM: No. 1 English radio station with 1.09 million weekly listeners • Melody FM: targeted at Chinse audience 35-49 years old with 397,000 listeners.
Star RFM
• Media Prima Radio Networks targeted on generation-Y (which below 35 years old), these audience has high spending power. • Fly FM: The station has upheld its position as the no 2 English radio station under the demographic of 34. Target audience from the age of 15 to 30. • One FM: Had reach almost 1 million listeners and is the 2nd Chinese radio station. Target audience is between the ages of 15 -30.
AMP Radio Networks
Media Prima
4.3.2 Justification • BFM: English and Malay (12 am - 6 am) station • BFM is Malaysia's only independent radio station, focused on business news and current affairs. • BFM can be heard on frequency 89.9 MHz in Wilayah Persekutuan, Selangor, and parts of Negeri Sembilan and Melaka. • Targeted listeners are business executives, finance professionals and the investing public. Target audience comprises working professionals aged 28 to 60. • BFM listeners who have control of around RM500 million to RM1 billion in purchasing power.
Radio Station
Operator
Language
Coverage Area
Listenership
30 sec Ads
30 sec Ads
Cost (RM)
CPM(RM)
Hitz FM
AMP Radio Networks
English
Nationwide
1.09 million
748
0.69
Mix FM
AMP Radio Networks
English
Nationwide
323,000
320
0.99
MY FM
AMP Radio Networks
Chinese / Cantonese
Nationwide
2.05 million
1,076
0.52
Melody FM
AMP Radio Networks
Chinese / Cantonese
Nationwide
397,000
337
0.85
Fly FM
Media Prima
English
Nationwide
727,000
440
0.60
One FM
Media Prima
Mandarin / Cantonese
Nationwide
861,000
400
0.46
Red FM
STAR Rfm
English/ Malay
Nationwide
97,000
380
3.92
988 FM
STAR Rfm
Chinese / Cantonese
Nationwide
1.64 million
660
0.40
BFM 89.9
BFM Media
English/ Malay
Nationwide
250,000
410
1.64
Why choose : No. 1 English radio station with 1.09 million weekly listeners The Hitz.Fm’s Morning Crew by Ean and JinnyBoy, as well as Drive Thru with RD continues to be the No. 1 segment among the English language listeners. No.1 Chinese language station in Malaysia with 2.05 million weekly listeners. MY FM Breakfast Show with Jack Lim, Gan Mei Yan and Jeff Chin maintain its top spot as the No. 1 Chinese Breakfast show in the country, entertaining 1.2 million listeners.
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4.3.3 Scheduling: Pulsing Low frequency months
High frequency months
•Jan, Feb, May, June 2015 •1 times per daily (Before a week of UCSI University’s Open Day) = 7 times •Deliver message in early morning before school or late afternoon after school •March, April 2015 (After SPM and SPTM's result release) •3 times per daily (Before a week of UCSI University’s Open Day) = 21 times •Deliver message in early morning before school or late afternoon after school
4.4 Digital Media Benefits: to attract people to a more comprehensive carefully to learn about a product or a business. So it has a more inclusive and openness. Weakness: hard to manage the website. When using online advertising, we need to manage and update the content on website on certain period time. In addition, obviously using social networking is more convenience and effective because our primary target audience is 18-25 years old and their media habits is using social media. Digital Media
Social media
Entertainment
Youtube
4.4.1 Vehicle Selection Advertised on Facebook Ads would be the first choice to advertise UCSI University among SPM and STPM students because they are Generation Y who have the highest exposure to the advanced of technology.
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4.4.2 Justification Internet users in Malaysia
• 17.5 million internet users • The top social media sites that Malaysian used are Facebook, Twitter and Instagram
Facebook •13.3 million Facebook users in Malaysia •34.5% of the Facebook users are aged from 18 until 24 years old, those users are the highest users of Facebook. •Facebook Ads are designed to help advertiser show people ads they find interesting and relevant. •Facebook gets paid to show the ad.
Youtube • 51% of Malaysians have an active YouTube profile. • Youtube video ads express your business in a unique way, where and when it matters. • Only pay when people watch. We use Facebook ads because there have 4,588,500 Facebook users are aged from 18 until 24 years old. Although Youtube have higher number of people have active profile, but this does not mean that our target audiences can exposure to our ads.
4.4.3 Scheduling Media scheduling of using digital media is continuous. We can use continuous to attract our primary audience, which is teenager.
5.0 Execution Page. 21
5.1 Newspaper Media 5.1.1 Media Execution: Media Vehicle A Newspaper
Display Size
Scheduling
Frequency
Date
Insertions per month
Total Cost (RM)
Impression
The Sun
Full Page (37cm x 8 col), Full Color
Flighting
March 2015 April 2015
7,14,21,28 4,11,18,25
8 8
190,400 190,400
2,437,816 2,437,816
7,14,21,28 4,11,18,25
16 8 8
380,800 260,000 260,000
4,875,632 3,082,392 3,082,392
7,14,21,28 4,11,18,25
16 8 8
520,000 164,128 164,128
6,164,784 3,084,432 3,084,432
TOTAL
16 48
328,256 1,229,056
6,168,864 17,209,280
Sin Chew Daily
Harian Metro
Half Page (26.5cm x10 col), Full Color
Half Page (24cm x 8 col), Black & White
Flighting
Flighting
March 2015 April 2015
March 2015 April 2015
Media Vehicle A Justification: We choose three different languages of newspaper in Media Vehicle A. This is because can reach different races of people. The Sun had the highest circulation than other English newspapers. Between, it had lower CPM than The Star and New Strait Times. Therefore, we choose The Sun as first choice in Media Vehicle A. We also choose Sin Chew Daily because it had highest circulation with lower CPM than other Chinese newspaper. Harian Metro also had highest circulation than other Bahasa newspapers. Between, Harian Metro had low CPM than Utusan Malaysia.
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5.1 Newspaper Media 5.1.1 Media Execution: Media Vehicle B Newspaper
Display Size
Scheduling
Frequency
Date
Insertions per month
Total Cost (RM)
Impression
The Star
Half Page (18cm x 8col), Full Color
Flighting
March 2015 April 2015
7,14,21,28 4,11,18,25
8 8
294,400 294,400
2,314,896
7,14,21,28 4,11,18,25
16 8 8
588,000 180,200 180,200
4,629,792 1,414,128
360,400 260,000 260,000
2,828,256
7,14,21,28 4,11,18,25
16 8 8
TOTAL
16 48
520,000 1,469,200
6,164,784 13,622,832
China Press Sin Chew Daily
Full Page (53cm x 10col), Black & White Half Page (26.5cm x10 col), Full Color
Flighting
Flighting
March 2015 April 2015 March 2015 April 2015
2,314,896
1,414,128
3,082,392 3,082,392
Media Vehicle B Justification: In Media Vehicle B, we choose The Star because it had second higher circulation in English newspapers. Between, CPM also lower than New Strait Times. Therefore, we choose The Star in Media Vehicle B. We choose two Chinese newspapers (Sin Chew Daily and China Press) to advertise because UCSI University target on Chinese students. Sin Chew Daily had highest circulation with lower CPM. Compare to Sin Chew Daily, China Press had high CPM, however China Press had high circulation than other newspaper.
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5.1 Newspaper Media 5.1.2 Newspaper Optimization Media Vehicle A
Schedule
Media Vehicle B
Schedule
The Sun
16 The Star
16
Sin Chew Daily
16 China Press
16
Harian Metro
16 Sin Chew Daily
16
Total Insertions
48 Total Insertions
48
Total Cost (RM)
1,229,056
1,469,200
17,209,280
13,622,832
Gross Rating Points
172
136
CPM Gross Impressions
0.07
0.11
Average Frequency
3.44
2.72
Gross Impressions
*Target audience = 10 million Referring to the table above, our media strategy on newspaper was to advertise our ads on media vehicle A (The Sun, Sin Chew Daily and Harian Metro). We also try to use media vehicle B (The Star, China Press and Sin Chew Daily) to execute. Hence, refer to our main objective which is to create awareness of UCSI University and to reach wide target audiences. Media vehicle A is a best choices. It is recommended to advertise our ads.
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5.2 Magazine Media 5.2.1 Media Execution: Media Vehicle A Magazine
Scheduling
Frequency
Insertion per issue
Insertion Entire Period
Cost per issue (RM)
Total Cost (RM)
Impression
Campus Plus
Continuous
Monthly (JanJune)
Single spread
6
5,500
33,000
525,000
Fokus SPM
Continuous
Monthly (JanJune)
Single spread
6
2,000
12,000
1,200,000
Further Study Intelligence
Continuous
Bi-Monthly (Feb, April, June)
Single spread
3
2,500
7,500
300,000
TOTAL
15
-
52,500
2,025,000
Media Vehicle A Justification: We choose three different languages of magazines in Media Vehicle A. This is because can reach different races of people. These magazines belong to education segment and target on students. Campus Plus and Fokus SPM is only education magazine that we found. Through these magazines, it can reach our primary audiences, which are secondary student or diploma students. Further Study Intelligence had higher readership with low CPM, compare to Bulanan Pelajar. Therefore, we choose Campus Plus, Fokus SPM and Further Study Intelligence in media vehicle A.
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5.2 Magazine Media 5.2.1 Media Execution: Media Vehicle B Magazine
Scheduling
Frequency
Insertion per issue
Insertion Entire Period
Cost per issue (RM)
Total Cost (RM)
Impression
Campus Plus
Continuous
Monthly (MarchMay)
Single spread
3
5,500
16,500
262,500
Fokus SPM
Continuous
Monthly (JanJune)
Single spread
6
2,000
12,000
1,200,000
Further Study Intelligence
Continuous
Bi-Monthly (Feb, April, June)
Single spread
3
2,500
7,500
300,000
Bulanan Pelajar
Continuous
Monthly (JanJune)
Single spread
6
2,100
12,600
360,000
TOTAL
18
48,600
2,122,500
Media Vehicle B Justification: We also choose three different languages of magazines in Media Vehicle B. Due to Campus Plus, it had high CPM than other magazines. In media vehicle B, we change the number of insertion to 3 times. We plan to advertise in March, April and May. We also advertise on Fokus SPM and Further Study Intelligence in media vehicle B. Furthermore, we want to reach a wide range of Chinese students, therefore we also advertise on Bulanan Pelajar.
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5.2 Magazine Media 5.2.2 Magazine Optimization Media Vehicle A
Schedule
Media Vehicle B
Schedule
Campus Plus
6 Campus Plus
3
Fokus SPM
6 Fokus SPM
6
Further Study Intelligence
3 Further Study Intelligence
3
Bulanan Pelajar Total Insertions
6
15
18
RM 52,500
RM 48,600
2,025,000
2,122,500
Gross Rating Points
101
106
CPM Gross Impressions
0.03
0.02
Average Frequency
1.26
1.33
Total Cost
Gross Impressions
*Target audience = 2 million Referring to the table above, our media strategy on magazine was to advertise our ads on media vehicle A (Campus Plus, Fokus SPM and Further Study Intelligence). In media vehicle B, we also choose to advertise on Bulanan Pelajar. After the calculations, both media vehicles had 2 million ads impression. However, media vehicle B able to reach more impressions with the cost of RM 48,600. Hence, refer to our main objective which is to reach wide target audiences, media vehicle B is a best choices. It is recommended to advertise our ads.
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5.3 Radio Media 5.3.1 Media Execution: Media Vehicle A Station
Scheduling
Frequency
My FM
Pulsing
Jan 2015 Feb 2015 March 2015
A week before UCSI’s Open day
A week before UCSI’s Open day
May 2015
6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am
June 2015
6.00am-10.00am
May 2015 June 2015 Pulsing
Date
6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am
April 2015
Hitz FM
Time
Jan 2015 Feb 2015 March 2015 April 2015
TOTAL
Insertions per month 7 7 21
Total Cost (RM)
Impression
7,532 7,532 19,005
1,200,000 1,200,000 3,560,000
21
19,005
3,560,000
7 7 70 7 7 21
6,846 6,846 66,766 5,236 5,236 14,784
1,200,000 1,200,000 11,920,000 413,000 413,000 1,436,000
21
14,784
1,436,000
7
5,236
413,000
7 70 140
5,236 50,512 117,278
413,000 4,524,000 16,444,000
Media Vehicle A Justification: We choose My FM and Hitz FM in Media Vehicle A. This is because these radio stations had high listenership than other radio station. Hitz FM is No. 1 English radio station with 1.09 million weekly listeners. It had high listenership with low CPM. Furthermore, My FM is No. 1 Chinese language station with 2 million weekly listeners. It also had high listenership with low CPM. Therefore, we choose Hitz FM and My FM in media vehicle A.
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5.3 Radio Media 5.3.1 Media Execution: Media Vehicle B Station
Scheduling
Frequency
Fly FM
Pulsing
Jan 2015 Feb 2015 March 2015 April 2015 May 2015 June 2015
One FM
Pulsing
Jan 2015 Feb 2015 March 2015
Time 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am
A week before UCSI’s Open day
6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am
May 2015
6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am
June 2015
6.00am-10.00am
April 2015
Date
A week before UCSI’s Open day
TOTAL
Insertions per month 7 7 21
Total Cost (RM)
Impression
3,080 3,080 8,750
363,500 363,500 1,090,500
21
8,750
1,090,500
7 7 70 7 7 21
3,080 3,080 29,820 2,800 2,800 8,190
363,500 363,500 3,635,000 516,600 516,600 2,927,400
21
8,190
2,927,400
7
2,800
516,600
7 70 140
2,800 27,580 57,400
516,600 7,921,200 11,556,200
Media Vehicle B Justification: We choose Fly FM and One FM in Media Vehicle B. This is because these radio stations had low CPM than other radio stations. We choose Fly FM is because the station has maintain its position as the no 2 English radio station under the demographic of 34. Their target audience is from the age of 15 to 30. Our ads can reach a right people in right time. We choose One FM is because the station has emerged as the number one Malaysian Chinese radio station for the longest Time Spent Listening (TSL) among the 18-24 demographic. The breakfast show and drive time show respectively for under 35 demographic, therefore our ads can reach a wide range of primary target audience.
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5.3 Radio Media 5.3.1 Media Execution: Media Vehicle C Station
Scheduling
Frequency
My FM
Pulsing
Jan 2015 Feb 2015 March 2015 April 2015
May 2015 June 2015 Hitz FM
Pulsing
6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am
Jan 2015 Feb 2015
6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am
March 2015
May 2015
6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am
June 2015
6.00am-10.00am
April 2015
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Time
Date
A week before UCSI’s Open day
A week before UCSI’s Open day
Insertions per month 7 7 21
Total Cost (RM)
Impression
7,532 7,532 19,005
1,200,000 1,200,000 3,560,000
21
19,005
3,560,000
7 7 70 7 7
6,846 6,846 66,766 5,236 5,236
1,200,000 1,200,000 11,920,000 413,000 413,000
21
14,784
1,436,000
21
14,784
1,436,000
7
5,236
413,000
7
5,236
413,000
70
50,512
4,524,000
5.3 Radio Media 5.3.1 Media Execution: Media Vehicle C (Cont.) Station
Scheduling
Frequency
Fly FM
Pulsing
Jan 2015 Feb 2015 March 2015 April 2015 May 2015 June 2015
One FM
Pulsing
Jan 2015 Feb 2015
March 2015
Time 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am
A week before UCSI’s Open day
6.00am-10.00am 6.00am-10.00am
May 2015
6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am 4.00pm-8.00pm 6.00am-10.00am
June 2015
6.00am-10.00am
April 2015
Date
A week before UCSI’s Open day
TOTAL
Insertions per month 7 7 21
Total Cost (RM)
Impression
3,080 3,080 8,750
363,500 363,500 1,090,500
21
8,750
1,090,500
7 7 70 7 7
3,080 3,080 29,820 2,800 2,800
363,500 363,500 3,635,000 516,600 516,600
21
8,190
2,927,400
21
8,190
2,927,400
7
2,800
516,600
7 70 280
2,800 27,580 174,678
516,600 7,921,200 28,000,200
Media Vehicle C Justification: In media vehicle C, we use My FM, Hitz FM, Fly FM and One FM to advertise in Media Vehicle B. This is because we found that if advertise only two stations, other listeners from other radio stations might not exposure to our ads. Therefore, we choose 4 stations in media vehicles C.
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5.3 Radio Media 5.3.2 Radio Optimization Media Vehicle A
Schedule
Media Vehicle B
Schedule
Media Vehicle C
Schedule
Hitz FM
70 Fly FM
70 Fly FM
70
My FM
70 One FM
70 One FM
70
Hitz FM
70
My FM
70
Total Insertions Total Cost Gross Impressions Gross Rating Points
CPM Gross Impressions Average Frequency
140
140
280
RM 117,278
RM 57,400
RM 174,678
16,444,000
11,556,200
28,000,200
137
96
233
0.007
0.005
0.006
2.74
1.92
4.66
* Target audience: 12 million Referring to the table above, our media strategy on magazine was to advertise our ads on media vehicle A (Hitz FM and My FM). In media vehicle B, we also choose to advertise on Fly FM and One FM. After the calculations, media vehicle A is quite expensive, however they can reach a wide range of impression. The cost of media vehicle B is cheaper, however they just able to reach 11 million gross impression. Media Vehicle A will be good choices to advertise. However, only two radio stations selected in media vehicles. Therefore, in media vehicle C, we advertise on Hitz FM, My FM, Fly FM and One FM. After the calculations, media vehicle C can reach a wide range of audience. Hence, refer to our main objective which is to reach wide target audiences. Media vehicle C is the best choices. It is recommended to advertise our ads.
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5.4 Digital Media 5.4.1 Media Execution There are 4 steps to advertise on Facebook : 1. Set up advertising objective 2. Create the ads 3. Customize audience 4. Ad set name, budget and schedule. • Our objective of advertise on Facebook is to promote UCSI University and encourage Facebook users to get to know more about UCSI University and introduce UCSI University to others in future through the mouth. We will use the Facebook ads to help us for promoting our UCSI page. • The benefits of using Facebook ads are allows us to choose our target audience, campaign budget and CPC (Cost per thousand impression). After we select the options, Facebook will automatically optimized the impression based on our budget. We choose lifetime budget in advertising options in Facebook because our scheduling is continuous and easily to set the budget for 6 months.
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•
•
According to the ads creating page, it listed that the potential reach is 4,000,000 people aged from 17 and older. • There is no maximum limit on age since education is a lifetime study and everyone has their chance to study in a university and the higher exposure of UCSI university on Facebook can also helps more people know UCSI University and promote to others about UCSI University in future. Facebook has suggested the price range from RM 0.26-RM 0.52 for the cost per thousand impression.
5.4 Digital Media • • •
This advertising campaign is going to run under continuous. The payment for an advertisement is based on cost per click.. We decided to set RM 0.60 for the CPC in order to stand out from the other competitors. In case to avoid over budget spend on Facebook, budget limit for this campaign is RM 500,000, for 6 months. • • • •
Potential Reach: 4,000,000 people Facebook Suggest Bid= RM 0.26-RM0.52 CPC: RM0.60 Click: 4,604 • RM 500,000/ 181 day= RM 2762.43 • RM 2762.43/ 0.60= 4,604 clicks per day
CPM =
Digital Media
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CPC×Clicks Total impression
Scheduling
Continuous
× 1,000 =
Frequency
On Going (6 months)
0.60 ×4,604 4,000,000
× 1,000 = 0.69
Type of Advertising
Fan Page Clicks to Website
Estimated Primary Target Audience 4,000,000
Cost Per Thousand Impression
4,000,000
RM 0.69
F.O.C
Total Estimated Cost
Lifetime Budget: RM 500,000
5.5 Flowchart Continuous Flighting Pulsing Months
JANUARY
Week
1
Media
Types
Newspaper
Magazine
Radio Broadcast
Digital
Social Media
2
3
FEBRUARY 4
1
2
3
MARCH 4
1
2
3
APRIL 4
1
2
3
MAY 4
1
2
3
JUNE 4
1
2
3
4
Ad Specs
The Sun
Full Color, Full Page
Sin Chew Daily
Full Color, Half Page
Hairan Metro
B&W, Half Page
Bulanan Pelajar
Full Color, Full Page
# of Insertions
Total impression= 17,209,280 Total GRP= 172
Total impression= 2,122,500 Total GRP= 101
Vehicle Spending (RM)
Vehicle % of budget
16
Cost per vehicle (RM) 380,800
16
520,000
1,229,056
62.89
16
328,256
6
12,600
6
12,000
3
7,500
48,600
2.49
176,678
9.04
Fokus SPM
Full Color, Full Page
Further Study Intelligence Campus Plus
Full Color, Full Page Full Color, Full Page
3
16,500
My FM
30 Sec Advertising
70
66,766
Hitz FM
30 Sec Advertising
70
50,512
One FM
30 Sec Advertising
70
29,820
Fly FM
30 Sec Advertising
70
27,580
Facebook Ads
Facebook Fan Page & Clicks to Website
-
500,000
500,000
25.58
TOTAL
1,954,334
100
Total impression= 28,000,200 Total GRP= 233
Total impression= 4,000,000 Total GRP= 87 Total impression= 51,331,980 Total GRP= 593
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6.0 Evaluation Firstly, we planned to advertise our services ads in three different languages of newspaper such as The Sun, Sin Chew Daily and Harian Metro. This is because to reach a wide range of audience (Malay, Chinese, Indian) and to create brand awareness of UCSI University. After calculating the impressions and CPM, The Sun, Sin Chew Daily and Harian Metro allow us to reach higher circulations and lower CPM. Refer to our main objective which is to create brand awareness, we had chosen the newspaper that allow us to reach higher impression and more audience. Besides, we planned to advertise our ads in education genre of magazines such as Further Study Intelligence, Fokus SPM and Campus Plus. The reason of choosing these magazines is to target the primary target audience which are SPM & STPM students. After calculating the impressions and CPM, advertise on Bulanan Pelajar, Further Study Intelligence, Fokus SPM and Campus Plus allow us to reach higher readership and lower CPM. Therefore, we would place our ads on Bulanan Pelajar, Further Study Intelligence, Fokus SPM and Campus Plus after looking into the calculations. In addition, the radio station that we planned to advertise our ads is on AMP Radio Networks such as Hitz FM and My FM which have higher listenership to reach a wide range of audience and to create brand awareness. After calculating the impressions and CPM, we would place our ads on Hitz FM, My FM, One FM and Fly FM during the peak hour which can reach a wide range of audience. Last but not least, digital media is one of the platform to create brand awareness. We will use Facebook ads to advertise. Our potential reach of audience is 4,000,000 people in Malaysia and we planned to increase brand awareness and allow them to click to our Facebook Page. After looking into the calculations, CPC = RM 0.60; CPM: 0.69. In short, we will place our ads according the media vehicle that can achieve high impressions with lowest CPM, again due to our main objective which is to create awareness to wide audiences.
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Researches to evaluate media strategies: •
•
As the researches to evaluate media strategies, we would run test instead of experiment to get a guideline on decision making as UCSI University owns strong brand equity. Our main purpose is to create brand awareness, therefore tested market that may get reach more reach with lower budget would preferable by us in this media plan. Test will be run under the differences of effectiveness of advertising our ads. For examples, alternative spending levels, alternative schedules, alternative commercial ad sizes and alternative media mix. • • • •
•
Alternative spending level: Determine money to be spent on Alternative schedules: Change the types of scheduling (Continuity/ pulsing/ flighting) Alternative commercial ad sizes: Use different combinations of and ad sizes (Full Page/Half Page) Alternative media mix: Test results from 1 medium or combination
Conducting a test is less expensive and save time compared to conducting a market experiment. Market test would be enough on provide information to support to our media planning decisions. .
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