Schär Info Sheet EN

Page 1

What is coeliac disease? Coeliac disease is a permanent intolerance to gluten, a protein contained in the following types of grain: wheat, rye, barley, oats. If grains and it’s products or other foods containing gluten are ingested, intestines become inflamed, intestinal villi degenerate and the mucous membrane of the small intestine is damaged. Nutrients such as protein, fat, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals are malabsorbed by the body leading to multiple nutrient deficiencies.

SYMPTOMS

DIAGNOSIS

Different symptoms can indicate coeliac disease. Typical symptoms are: diarrhoea, loss of weight and energy, stomach aches and bloating, nausea and growth deficiencies, especially in children. Adults may also experience symptoms not related to the intestinal tract: faintness, fatigue, anaemia, joint pain, weight loss and lactose intolerance. Also osteoporosis, vitamin and mineral deficiencies can be associated with coeliac disease.

Coeliac disease can be confirmed by testing for specific antibodies (anti-tTg, anti-endomysial [EMA] in the blood. A biopsy of the small intestine must be done in order to confirm the diagnosis.

PREVALENCE Coeliac disease is more common than you might think. Up to 1 % of the population is affected by coeliac disease. The majority of patients remain undiagnosed in India. Celiac disease affects every age group.

TREATMENT: A GLUTEN-FREE DIET A lifelong, strict gluten-free diet is currently the only treatment for coeliac disease. Those suffering from coeliac disease soon start feeling better on gluten-free diet. Many foods are naturally gluten-free such as meat, fish, eggs, fruit and vegetables, milk and many dairy products, rice, corn and potatoes. Shops also stock a range of gluten-free products such as flour, bread, pasta and biscuits.

FIVE IMPORTANT TIPS FOR THOSE SUFFERING FROM COELIAC DISEASE

1

A lifelong strict gluten-free diet is the only treatment for coeliac disease.

2

Note the symbol of the crossed grain or the claim “gluten-free” in the commercial gluten free food products which guarantees that the product is definitely gluten-free.

3

Use natural gluten-free foods such as potatoes, corn, rice, eggs, meat, fish, fruit, vegetables, milk and dairy products etc. very carefully since they may get contaminated when they are being cooked.

4

Many foods contain hidden gluten. Always read the label and ingredients list.

5

Product catalogue containing detailed and free informative material on coeliac disease and glutenfree diet can be requested from the manufacturer: www.schaer.com, info@schaer.com

Dr. Schär GmbH, Winkelau 9, I-39014 Postal (BZ) www.schaer.com, info@schaer.com


Gluten-free and gluten-containing foods Grains

Confirmed

Risky

Forbidden

gluten-free

Read ingredients list carefully!

contains gluten

Potatoes, corn, rice, millet, buckwheat, amaranth, locust bean gum, tapioca, cassava, chestnuts

Ready-to-eat products (e.g. mashed potatoes), crisps, puffed rice

Wheat, oats, barley, rye All pastas, bakery products, cereal, muesli, etc. made from these types of grains

Fruit

All fruits and nuts

Dried fruits

Vegetables

All vegetables and pulses

Vegetable ready-made dishes

Dishes with vegetables and grains, breaded or floured vegetables

Dairy products

Milk, natural yoghurt, cream, soft cheeses (such as quark, mascarpone, mozzarella), natural cheeses (such as Edam, Gouda, Emmental), Parmesan cheese

Mousses and puddings, readymade milkshakes, processed cheese, roquefort, cheese preparations

Dairy products with cereals, e.g. yoghurt and muesli cups

Meat, fish and egg

All types of meat and fish, egg

Ready-made meals and sauces with meat or fish, sausages

Fish or meat that is breaded, floured or served with sauces containing gluten

Fats, herbs and spices, sauces and baking ingredients

All oils, butter, margarine, lard, vinegar, pure herbs and spices, salt, pepper

Ready-made sauces, soy sauce, herb/spice mixes, stock cubes, baking ingredients, e.g. baking powder

All sauces with ingredients containing gluten

Sweets and sweeteners

All types of sugar, honey, jam

Chocolate, sweets, cocoa, ice cream, chewing gum

Chocolate with cereals

Drinks

Soft drinks, such as Coca Cola and lemonade, pure coffee, tea, fruit juices and nectars, all alcoholic drinks except beer and malt whisky

Ready-made mixes for iced coffee, cocoa

Beer, coffee substitutes containing barley or malt, drinks with fibre containing gluten, drinks containing oats

Dr. Schär GmbH, Winkelau 9, I-39014 Postal (BZ) www.schaer.com, info@schaer.com

SIN06

Ensure that the flours are not contaminated.


Turn static files into dynamic content formats.

Create a flipbook
Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.