FOR EVERYONE IN MOBILE CONTENT
MAY 2010 ISSUE 63 WWW.MOBILE-ENT.BIZ
INSIDE THIS ISSUE Money making app makers From T-Pain to The Guardian
MOBILE ENTERTAINMENT
DIY app tools Make your own in minutes Netbook gains Intel’s app vision ...and loads more
Time to cash in A special Monetising Mobile conference issue dedicated to the quest to make real revenue from apps
Wednesday, 26th May • BAFTA • 195 Piccadilly • London
CO NF ER EN CE
IS SU E
CONTENTS
SP EC IA L
MAY 2010 | ISSUE 63
FEATURE
REVVING UP
10 SHAKE YOUR MONEY MAKER? We round up the companies and products that have banked millions from the mobile app boom.
FEATURE
FEATURE
16 DO IT YOURSELF
18 SCORES ON THE STORE
We can’t all afford to hire a team to make an app. Hence DIY app building tools. Do it yourself? We saw for ourselves.
Which handsets support Android Market? How many apps on GetJar? Read our stat round-up to find out.
INSIDE THIS ISSUE 4 OPINIONS
20 PUT IT ON THE BILL
Who’s that shouting? ME gives airtime to its team and industry insiders for the letting off of steam.
Evidence suggests carrier billing helps app sales. Here, MACH explains how it’s making it work.
9 MONETISING MOBILE
24 HELP IS AT HAND
Hours of compelling talk from Shazam, AdMob, O2 and more, followed by networking. See the agenda here.
We round up the new services and technologies adding money-making options for app developers.
12 INTEL INSIDE
22 CHARTS
We find out why Intel built an app store for netbooks – and sees mobile as critical to its success.
People still buy ringtones. The proof is here in ME’s chart compendium.
15 THE B2B APP STORE
29 NETWORKS
What’s the best way for operators to acquire apps based on native platforms? Metaflow has the answer.
Stat collectors, your operator data has been lightly toasted and is ready for you now.
20 TESTING TESTING
30 DISCONTENT
Developers can put ideas in front of informed users via stores like GetJar and Litmus. We quizzed them.
All your favourite pictures of mobile execs wearing canine gimp masks are here.
33 MARKETPLACE YOUR GUIDE TO THE MOBILE CONTENT INDUSTRY
www.mobile-ent.biz
‘Who’s making all the money? Cash. Money. Who’s making all the cash?’ Yes, these lyrics from the old classic Money’s Too Tight To Mention (by The Valentine Brothers, not Simply Red, who did the cover version FYI) could have been invented for the mobile app era. It’s a question often asked when the Apple App Store soars past four billion downloads and Android claims 30,000 live products on Market. As much as we love to wave the flag for mobile content, we’re aware that the space is drenched in hype and that the reality for many app developers is months of struggle for not much return. That said, others are absolutely coining it in. In the magazine this month – as part of our build-up to the Monetising Mobile conference – we reference some of the best. Two-man Lima Sky, for example, whose Doodle Jump sold three million on iPhone, generating more than $2 million of revenues. Then there’s Shazam, whose music recognition service is so tightly integrated with the mobile ecosystem that 260,000 tracks a day are being bought via tags captured using its mobile app. And don’t overlook some of those mobile content v1 giants like EA Mobile and Gameloft, both of which made hay during the Java/operator portal first generation of mobile value added services, but managed to tweak their operations in time to exploit the app era. Gameloft reported €122 million of sales in 2009, with iPhone bagging €17.6 million of them. Even though it remains difficult to make money from apps, there’s little evidence of a backlash against the space or a reduction of interest in it. I think this is because so many decision-makers own iPhones and assume that everyone else does. I’m hoping that they can start exploiting some of the improvements that are arriving in the space. In-app payments, subscriptions, Apple’s new rich ad formats, better metrics, viral distribution tools, affiliate marketing – none of them guarantee a financial windfall, but they certainly increase your options. There are industries praying for these ideas to come good. While it’s nice for Barclaycard to put out a free game and get ten-million lovely brand-building downloads, it’s not going to make any difference to the company’s future. However, newspapers see a lifeline in apps. The Guardian is deeply committed to them, while the Wall Street Journal is already making $55,000 a month from iPad. We’ll be watching this space carefully. And not just for journalistic reasons. Tim Green tim.green@intentmedia.co.uk Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 3
69 per cent
60,000
$370,000
The total mobile penetration for the planet. Only about two billion left to go.
...Android handsets are sold everyday from 12 different vendors
The daily revenue being generated by all iPad apps within two weeks of launch
IN BRIEF Nokia sales dip Nokia shipped 107.8 million phones globally in the three months to the end of March. That's 16 per cent up year-on-year but 15 per cent down on the previous quarter. 21.5 million of these were smartphones, up just three per cent on the last quarter. This all brought in €9.5 billion of revenue, which was 21 below the previous three months, with sales in its devices and services business of €6.7 billion. What all this reflects is the hammering Nokia is taking, especially in the high-end space, where Apple, RIM and Android are squeezing it from three sides.
Qualcomm posts $774 million profit Chip maker Qualcomm has been boosted by surging demand for 3G phones that pushed its profits up on the back of a nine per cent rise in revenue from $2.66 billion from $2.46 billion in its fiscal second quarter. The firm made a $289 million loss in the same quarter for 2009. The firm said 3G phone sales rose seven per cent in 2009, and predicted shipments will rise 23 per cent this year. It also noted that 3G subscribers now exceed one billion worldwide, and an auction for 3G services in India could further expand the business.
Adobe ending investment in iPhone Flash The war between Adobe and Apple shows no sign of ending, with Adobe declaring it will not be investing any more resources in helping developers port their Flash games and content to iPhone. Mike Chambers, principal product manager for Flash developer relations, said: "We will still be shipping the ability to target the iPhone and iPad in Flash CS5. However, we are not currently planning any additional investments in that feature." Adobe will now focus its mobile resources on other smartphone platforms like Android.
GetJar offers improved developer analytics tools New software from browser-based app store GetJar can analyse an app's performance by phone, country and network. GetJar says the tools enable developers to measure the conversion rate of downloads to actual users. The solution works for Android, BlackBerry, Flash, Java, Symbian and Windows Mobile. Any developer registered with GetJar can add a conversion code into their apps. When the app is opened for the first time it will notify GetJar, after which point developers can see the results of the analytics securely on the GetJar website.
4 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
OPINION
Windows of opportunity? With new devices and a new OS, could Microsoft finally be getting its act together in the world of mobile? hisper it, but the information leaking out of Redmond suggests that Microsoft’s next OS might provide an attractive alternative the best that Symbian, Apple and Google can offer when it finally sees the light of day at the end of this year. Little by little, Microsoft has been chipping away at all that was rubbish about the OS to date, such as dropping the 'Series' from its Windows Phone 7 moniker. The firm has also realised that it needs to maintain a much tighter leash on its OS than in the past, particularly with regards to the kinds of devices it will be allowed to run on and how it will be updated. To re-cap, there will be three flavours of WinPho 7 handsets, pre-determined by Microsoft. Those based on the 'Chassis 1' spec will be heavy-duty touchscreen-only devices built around a 1GHz processor, while Chassis 2 devices will sport slide out Qwerty keyboards. At time of writing Chassis 3 had not been detailed by Microsoft, but there's heavy speculation that it could be for lowcost handsets aimed at emerging markets, something that the company confirmed it was working on with a view to an end-2010 launch. This strict control over minimum specs should help to eliminate the notoriously sluggish performance of WinMo handsets past (think Orange SPVs in particular). As Windows Phone application platform & developer experience program manager Charlie Kindel said last month: “We want everyone on the same version of the OS. It is not like now with 30 versions of our operating system in circulation." Great stuff. What Kindel also said was that Microsoft would be investing heavily in the WinPho 7 'brand', adding that the UI would not be widely customisable by OEMs or end-users. Alarm bells ringing here perhaps? After all, older WinMo handsets weren't exactly renowned for their intuitive UIs – the best that could be said is that Microsoft successfully transplanted its desktop experience to a phone. Whether it should have been there in the first place is another point entirely.
W
What's more, it's only with the advent of Windows Mobile 6.5 and decisions by vendors to lay their own UIs on top of it (such as HTC's Sense) that Microsoftpowered handsets have become a more palatable experience. But even here there are signs that Microsoft has learned its lesson. When developing its latest desktop OS, Windows 7, the company's mantra was 'we only take away', resulting in a simplified user experience that has been almost universally praised. Perhaps WinPho 7 will get the same treatment. Of course for our corner of the industry the success of otherwise of WinPho 7 will boil down to the kind of ecosystem Microsoft creates around content. Certainly from a developer and publisher perspective much will depend on the addressable market that Microsoft conjures up. But beyond that the company’s plans get a bit sketchy. What is known is that anyone who wants to use a WinPho 7 handset will unsurprisingly need to have a Windows Live ID account, which will also be required to access the Windows Marketplace app store. This reflects the situation elsewhere, with Apple requiring an iTunes account for iPhone and Android-powered devices requiring Gmail for full access. One interesting nugget is that developers will be able to create WinPho versions of Xbox games and sell both together as a bundled package. Niche, but interesting nonetheless. And while Windows Marketplace (already up and running for Windows 6.5 devices, don’t forget) will be the exclusive home for WinPho 7 apps, Microsoft execs have alluded to the possibility that developers may be able to distribute vertical apps at some point in the future. Clearly, Microsoft still has an awful lot of work to do on the content side of things, let alone the rest of the WinPho 7 architecture. Can a leaner, meaner Windows finally make its mark in mobile? In eight months time we’ll have the answer. Stuart O’Brien is associate editor of ME
There are signs that Microsoft has learned its lesson. With its latest desktop OS, the mantra was 'we only take away' – resulting in a UI that has been almost universally praised. Perhaps WinPho 7 will get the same treatment.
www.mobile-ent.biz
O2 Litmus will be at the Monetising Mobile Conference on May 26. To ďŹ nd out more, go to www.O2Litmus.co.uk and follow us on Twitter at @O2Litmus
MONETISING MOBILE
SPEAKERS: ANDREW FISHER CEO of Shazam
RUSSELL BUCKLEY VP of global alliances, AdMob
JASCHA SAMADI, MD, Apprupt
DAVID GIBBS general manager of mobile, Sky
Monetising Mobile is a new kind of conference hosted by Mobile Entertainment
MATT POLLITT, head of communications, ustwo
VOLKER HIRSCH strategy advisor, Scoreloop
NICHOLAS LOVELL founder of Gamesbrief
Wednesday, May 26th • BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly, London
How to make mobile apps pay their way Conference & Dinner £229 + VAT
PATRICK MORK VP of marketing, GetJar CAROLINE VAN DEN BERGH head of product, Golden Gekko
RAY ANDERSON CEO, Bango An ME Event
CHARLES DAMEN VP of business development, Mach For delegate booking information contact: Jodie Holdway on 01992 535647 or email jodie.holdway@intentmedia.co.uk CHARLES MCLEOD CEO, Metaflow
For sponsorship information contact: Katy Grant on 01992 535647 or email katy.grant@intentmedia.co.uk
Platinum Sponsor
Gold Sponsors Silver Sponsors
RAY DE SILVA enabler of commercial partnerships, Vodafone Internet Services
JAMES PARTON, Head of O2 Litmus More speakers to be confirmed. See www.mobile-ent.biz/events for updates.
50bn
One
1.5m
The total number of connected devices in the world by 2020, says Ericsson
Number of iPhone 4 handsets leaked out of Apple's Cupertino fortress
Total Layar downloads to date. Now for a business model
OPINION
Good heavens Where can you find the path to spiritual enrichment? For many millions, it’s in the messaging inbox of their mobile phones. Tim Green explains... f I had a pound for every time I went to a press event to hear an academic thinker describing the impact of Wittgenstein on Western philosophy, I'd have precisely one pound. So congrats to Nokia for choosing to launch its new Carpe Diem app this way in London last month. A bunch of slightly bewildered journalists and I gathered at The School of Life 'spiritual cafe' (the coffee came with a choice of milk or karma) to hear about Nokia’s new Ovi app, which delivers daily facts/aphorisms to the user and then challenges him/her with a 'daily do' inspired by it. An example could include writing a headline for the biggest news in your daily life, or photographing something surprising on your way to work. The idea is to build a community on Facebook, Twitter and – of course – Ovi to breathe collective life into the concept. As I sat there ruminating on Sappho (I'm not obsessed with lesbians – she happened to be one of the other thinkers up for discussion), it occurred to me that, for all the richness of the Carpe Diem app and all the ‘upto-the-minuteness’ social networking support, this was really a very old fashioned idea re-tooled for 2010. Project back to the early noughties and think about all those textbased horoscopes. There's not much to separate them, really. Just goes to show, there's nothing new under the sun. It also proves people's basic desire for spiritual enrichment, even by phone. Of course, here in the secular West that often translates into new age type ideas. But elsewhere, straightforward religious mobile content remains a powerful and often overlooked category. Take India. A report by the Internet & Mobile Association of India says that the local VAS market is worth around Rs 5,780 crore ($1 billion) annually, and it's believed up to 15 per cent of this comes from devotional content. This includes SMS daily updates on verses and festive events, wallpapers, religious song ringtones, ringbacks
I
and more. However, it's an amusing reflection of the duality of Indian society (indeed, any society) that one supplier said: "Devotional is the second most downloaded wallpaper category. After babes." This kind of spiritual content is available right across the world's more religiously-focused societies, generally in the form of old-school personalisation products. In more advanced markets, the app is inevitably taking over, and bringing with it the kind of interactive features you don't get with SMS. Last month, for example, Getjar confirmed there had been 398,000 downloads of the YouVerson Bible app in just three weeks. Even more impressive, the Islamic app Azan has been downloaded over three million times in its lifetime. This one is as much utility as reference, helping Muslims keep to their daily prayer times. Needless to say, while religion can inspire lots of sales, it can also make a heck of a lot of trouble. Two years ago the Islamic Jurisprudence Council banned holy ringtones on the grounds that they cut short devotional verses. Meanwhile, at the other extreme, there was the case of Apple banning an app called Me So Holy that lets users superimpose their own faces on religious figures, including that of Jesus. You can argue this is Apple being customarily censorious, but imagine the fuss if that got through. One wag opined that the real reason for Apple’s ban was that the choice of religious figures didn’t include Steve Jobs. What all of this proves is that there’s value in ‘oldschool’ content that meets a fundamental human desire for enrichment. Quite recently, I was chatting to a product manager at a multi-national operator and he told me that even today the best selling content across all its opcos remains daily text alert jokes. For all the hype around app stores, this is a sobering thought, one that reminds us of the existence of a vast smartphone-less user base. God bless them all. Tim Green is executive editor of ME
Religious content remains a powerful content category... but it's an amusing reflection of the duality of Indian society – indeed, any society – that one supplier said: ‘Devotional is the second most downloaded wallpaper category. After babes.’
www.mobile-ent.biz
IN BRIEF BlackBerry App World has 6,000 titles RIM has revealed that its BlackBerry App World store has 6,000 products – double the number available in October 2009. Its senior vice president Jeff McDowell told Bloomberg that the firm will now launch a fresh app push as it pushes into the China, Indonesia and India markets. “There are a lot of applications that already traverse borders but at the same time, building a local community of applications is important,” he said. RIM sold 10.5m devices in Q4 and revenue for the three months that ended Feb. 27 was $4.08 billion.
Oprah sings mobile Hands-On Mobile is powering a mobile service for the woman who is also a brand: Oprah Winfrey. Oprah Mobile offers a single entry point, allowing users to interact with Oprah.com through a single app for iPhone, BlackBerry, Palm Pre and Android. Key features include video clips and previews from the TV show. Fans also can instantly find out what time and channel the show is playing in their current location anywhere within the US, participate in weekly polls, listen to audio clips, read articles and view photo galleries.
iPhone sales up 131 per cent in a year Apple sold 8.75m iPhones in its Q2 fiscal period, up 131 per cent year-onyear. While iPod sales dropped one per cent to 10.89 million units in the same period, Apple said that sales of the iPod Touch were up 63 per cent, although it didn't specify the number of units. Overall, Apple's quarterly revenues were $13.5 billion, with profits up 90 per cent to $1.62 billion in the same period. The iTunes store generated $1.1 billion of revenues from sales of music, video and apps during the quarter. The was good, but the old truism that Apple's in it for hardware revenues was reinforced by the fact that handset sales, accessory sales and carrier payments were $5.45 billion compared to $2.43 billion in the year-ago quarter.
Bravo for the UK Spanish games specialist Genera has opened a UK division of its Bravo Game Studios development unit. The London HQ will be headed by ex-THQ and Voda man Rowan Corben. Bravo develops and publishes games based on original IP for various mobile and console platforms. It has already released its first title in the form of Touch Nitro Racing and has set itself the ambitious goal of becoming a 'top five player' within 18 months.
Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 7
RAISE YOUR BRAND PROFILE: SPONSOR THE INDUSTRY'S PREMIER NETWORKING EVENT! IT WORKED FOR QUALCOMM, NOKIA, SAMSUNG, MIG, WIN, HANDS-ON AND OTHERS. IT’LL WORK FOR YOU. An ME Event
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MEET-UP was created by ME magazine to bring together mobile execs for a night of networking and fun. With so many key industry
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Huge pre and post-event coverage via ME’s magazine, website and email alerts Branding at the event on interactive video walls Opportunity to invite clients and suppliers Access to list of all event attendees Meet-Up events take place at the 24 club in London’s West End.
For more information call Katy Grant on 01992 535646 or email katy.grant@intentmedia.co.uk 8 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
www.mobile-ent.biz
CONFERENCE FOCUS
Wednesday, 26th May • BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly, London
Your guide to
Monetising Mobile Who’s making money from apps? And which tools can you use to generate real revenue from yours? Find out at ME’s Monetising Mobile conference in May… n-app payments, advertising, viral distribution, syndication – the mobile space is buzzing with ideas to help monetise applications. Our conference later this month will be rammed with practical advice for anyone interested in this amazingly dynamic market sector. Here’s how the agenda looks…
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17.00 Introduction Tim Green – executive editor, Mobile Entertainment 17.05 Ten outstanding money making apps Stuart Dredge – online editor, Mobile Entertainment Which products have rained cash? Let Dredgy be your guide. 17.15 How to achieve 50 million downloads Andrew Fisher, CEO of Shazam Find out how the music ID firm became an app ‘hero’ using subscriptions, bundles and partnerships. 17.30 Commercial break? The reality of ad-funded apps Russell Buckley, VP of global alliances, AdMob The formats, the pay-outs, the metrics and more. 17.45 Release the money inside – in-app payments Ray Anderson, CEO, Bango Is it realistic to give it away free and make money later? 18.00 Spread the word Volker Hirsch, strategy advisor, Scoreloop How to get users to do the marketing for you. 18.10 An app store within an app Jascha Samadi, MD, Apprupt Why not offer third party apps from your own? It’s what the FT did. www.mobile-ent.biz
18.20 Where’s my app at? Matt Pollitt, head of communications, ustwo It can be hard to keep track of your app. ustwo’s PositionApp delivers metrics from multiple stores. 18.30 How to build an app in half an hour Caroline Van den Bergh, head of product, Golden Gekko DIY tools bring app building within the reach of the non-techie. 18.40 Coffee break 19.10 Which business model is best for me? Ad-supported? Subscriptions? Micropayments? A panel shares its insights... Nicholas Lovell, founder, Gamesbrief David Gibbs, general manager of mobile, Sky Charles Damen, VP of business development, Mach Charles McLeod, CEO, Metaflow
Monetising Mobile: How to make apps pay their way Wednesday May 26th BAFTA • 195 Piccadilly • London W1 £229 plus VAT Sponsorship: Katy.Grant@intentmedia.co.uk Delegate Bookings: Jodie.Holdway@intentmedia.co.uk Call +44 (0) 1992 535647 • www.mobile-ent.biz/events
Our sponsors PLATINUM PARTNER: INTEL Intel created a developer programme and app storefront (called AppUp) to support apps that work on netbooks. It also created Meego, a Linux-based platform combining its own Moblin OS with Nokia’s Maemo. GOLD PARTNER: GETJAR GetJar is the world’s biggest browser-based app store, offering more than 50,000 mini-applications for thousands of handsets.
19.35 Ask the app store owners A chance to ask questions about business models, developer support, addressable markets and more. Phil Northam, Samsung Mobile Innovator Patrick Mork, VP of marketing, GetJar Ray de Silva, enabler of commercial partnerships, Vodafone Internet Services James Parton, head of O2 Litmus Sanyu Kiruluta, senior application development consultant, RIM TBA, Intel Software Network
GOLD PARTNER: METAFLOW Metaflow provides publishers, operators and service providers with project management tools. Customers include EA Mobile, Orange, Fox and more.
20.00 Dinner, drinks, networking
SILVER PARTNER: BANGO Bango has been a key player in the mobile payments space since 1999, and is active in apps via its in-app billing and analytics services.
Tickets and conference itinerary The Conference starts at 16:30 and will be followed by an evening of networking, dinner and drinks.
GOLD PARTNER: MACH Mach’s parent company has connections to 600 operators. It’s now leveraging this expertise to build billing solutions for app store owners. GOLD PARTNER: O2/LITMUS O2’s Litmus service provides a platform through which developers can test their apps with early adopting consumers before a full commercial launch.
SILVER PARNER: APPRUPT Apprupt powers an syndication platform that lets publishers such as FT offer third party apps within their own apps.
Tickets are £229. For more details or to secure a delegate place, please email Jodie.Holdway@intentmedia.co.uk or call +44 (0)1992 535647.
Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 9
Book your place at Monetising Mobile now
Look who’s
monetising The apps economy is booming, but who’s taking most advantage? Stuart Dredge investigates...
The iPhone version of Swimsuit Edition reached 570,000 downloads, while Smule’s I Am T-Pain app was downloaded 300,000 times in three weeks
here is no shortage of big figures to explain how fast the mobile applications market is growing. ABI Research reckons six billion apps will be downloaded this year, while Yankee Group thinks apps will generate $1.6 billion of revenues in the US alone this year. Lots of money is being made already from apps. So who’s making most, and why?
T
APPLE You know all about the four billion downloads so far from Apple’s App Store, and in its latest quarterly financials it said its iTunes Store generated $1.1 billion sales in the first three months of 2010 alone. However, 10 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
in the same quarter, Apple’s recognised revenue from iPhone handset and accessory sales, plus payments from carriers, was $5.45 billion. That’s how 185,000 iPhone apps are really making money for Apple. EBAY eBay’s business model of taking a small cut of a huge number of transactions saw it survive the Web 1.0 bust, and it’s now serving it well in mobile too. In March, eBay announced that it’s on track to make $1.5 billion in merchandise volume through its various mobile services this year, including apps. Last year, it made $600 million from mobile commerce.
Above: Smule’s new app for TV show Glee, is set to be a huge hit
CASUAL GAMES FIRMS When PopCap Games released Plants vs. Zombies for iPhone in February this year, it grossed more than $1 million in its first nine days on the App Store. In March, Lima Sky’s Doodle Jump sold its three millionth iPhone download, which at 99-cent a pop means more than $2 million of revenues for the two-man developer, after Apple takes its share. Tapulous is estimated to be making $1 million a month from its iPhone music games. There are many more examples where these came from. SPORTS ILLUSTRATED US mag Sports Illustrated launched a free www.mobile-ent.biz
Email jodie.holdway@intentmedia.co.uk
The Guardian’s iPhone app sold nearly 70,000 downloads in its first month of availability, generating £115,000 of revenues for the paper. of mobile services revenues in 2013, with data revenues accounting for more than $330 million of that. For operators, as for Apple, making money from apps is about the bigger picture, not just about selling them.
iPhone version of its latest Swimsuit Edition in February this year, and quickly racked up nearly 570,000 downloads. However, ten per cent of those users then paid $1.99 for the premium version, meaning around $80,000 of revenues for Sports Illustrated from that single issue. The publisher was helped by the fact that Apple booted many of its bikini-toting rivals off the App Store around the same time. SHAZAM Music recognition service Shazam has raced to 50 million users since the launch of iPhone’s App Store, although it’s making hay on all platforms, with one million downloads from Nokia’s Ovi Store for example. The app is making money for Shazam in several ways, particularly through affiliate fees from track sales. In January, CEO Andrew Fisher said that 260,000 tracks a day are being bought via Shazam tags. Meanwhile, the company’s latest set of financial results reveal that its revenues increased by 60 per cent to £7.3 million in the first 12 months after the App Store launched. NEWSPAPERS It’s still too early to tell if smartphones and tablets will save the newspaper business, but some publications have made a promising start. For example, The Guardian’s iPhone app sold nearly 70,000 downloads in its first month of availability, generating £115,000 of revenues for the paper. www.mobile-ent.biz
EA AND GAMELOFT Five years ago, the two biggest mobile games publishers (by revenues) were EA Mobile and Gameloft. Today, they are... EA Mobile and Gameloft. Both have profited from the shift from J2ME and BREW to smartphones and app stores. In the calendar year 2009, EA’s mobile division generated $206 million of revenues, and claimed to have four of the five top-selling iPhone games of 2009. Meanwhile, Gameloft reported €122 million of sales in 2009 (around $170 million), and revealed that iPhone alone accounted for €17.6 million of them (around $23.6 million).
However, there’s no recurring billing once users have paid their £2.39. A different approach is being taken by the Wall Street Journal, which launched its iPad app with a $17.29 monthly subscription, and signed up 3,200 subscribers in a couple of weeks. Which doesn’t sound like a lot, until you twig that it’s more than $55,000 of monthly revenues. SMULE US developer Smule has focused on making iPhone music apps, starting with Ocarina in the early days of the App Store. But what’s making money for it now are branded apps. Its I Am T-Pain app was downloaded 300,000 times in its first three weeks of availability, which with a price point of $2.99 meant nearly $630,000 of revenues for Smule (although the loot would have been shared with T-Pain and various rightsholders). Overall, Smule’s apps have been bought more than two million times, and its latest app for hit TV show Glee seems set to be a big hit. MOBILE OPERATORS Just dumb pipes? Maybe not so dumb after all. Vodafone’s data revenues in the fourth quarter of last year were more than £1 billion, up from $786 million in Q4 2008. It’s the highest total ever for the operator, and means data now accounts for 11 per cent of the company’s total sales. According to Informa Telecoms and Media, the mobile industry will generate more than $1 trillion
Above: The Wall Street Journal has signed over 3,000 subscribes since the launch of it’s new iPad app
STREAMING MUSIC FIRMS US online radio service Pandora now has 50 million users, and is signing up more than 85,000 new ones a day, with its mobile apps accounting for as much as 50 per cent of them. More importantly, given the fearsome economics of streaming music, the company’s mobile growth helped it turn its first profit in Q4 2009. On this side of the Atlantic, Spotify is enjoying a mobile boom too: since it launched its smartphone apps last year, it has boosted its paying subscribers to 320,000. In both cases, mobile is helping the companies to persuade free users to start paying. AND A CAUTIONARY TALE... One company that ISN’T monetising iPhone any more is Mobile Services, since Apple cracked down on adultthemed apps this March. The company said it made $1.2 million from its erotic apps in 2009, but that dropped to zero when its content was booted off the App Store. Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 11
Book your place at Monetising Mobile now Email jodie.holdway@intentmedia.co.uk
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here was a time when phones got smaller, and laptops got bigger. But then, about two years ago, this was reversed. Smartphones grew gence diver d and netbooks shrank. People even starte was it So s. talking about smartbook that inevitable once the mobile app arrived all aced embr that store app an of idea the of these devices would emerge. ry Chip giant Intel got there first. In Janua a hing launc was it rmed confi 2010, the firm front store app and e amm progr loper deve (called AppUp) to meet the need for apps One that work on Atom-powered netbooks. to Nokia with up ed team it month later, Moblin create MeeGo, a hybrid of Intel’s own offers rm OS and Nokia’s Maemo. This platfo stem ecosy ent lopm one Linux-based deve s that will give developers one build acros ts, table tially poten and oks netbo es, phon e-readers, in-car and more. At the end of last month, Intel gave the rm at first public demonstration of the platfo Here, g. Beijin in Forum loper Deve Intel the o it showed how video running on a MeeG HD a to d ferre netbook could be trans on television running the same OS and also can users ing mean – e tphon smar o MeeG a le. start watching on TV and pick up on mobi on based ily heav is The MeeGo interface of Moblin, with a tabbed bar across the top . ation navig for n scree the
be counterparts. Analysts say there could of end the by use in oks netbo n millio 100 ’s Nokia of 2010. Add this to the potential right platform (admittedly only in the N900 n. inatio comb t poten a have you now), and d loade down were SDKs 6,500 says nd Apela been e’s “Ther within days of its availability. such a proliferation of app stores. but Developers tell us that’s a challenge, for OS one have can they o MeeG with box netbooks, tablets, smartphones, set top slight for need a be ’ll and in-car. Yes, there porting to different screen sizes, but the nd. underlying tech is the same,” says Apela Scott Apeland, director of the developer make will it Orange has already confirmed es network at Intel’s software division, believ es based on MeeGo with the aim of devic es devic ple the convergence between multi making services such as Orange TV and – and will throw up fascinating opportunities Orange Maps available across multiple most that developer ingenuity will make the with devices. However, Intel is keen to work of them. He says: “There are lots of nts. onme envir e runtim other platforms and r management type apps that make it easie id can Just weeks ago Intel showed that Andro They .. lives. their for people to organise that numerous d hinte and chips Atom on run ased make things simpler than a browser-b . manufacturers have products in the works ple multi into ng loggi by , would e rienc expe the at rt suppo oper Intel is putting devel sites from one sign in. But the interesting e of its strategy. Apeland’s goal is seven centr to start s loper deve work will be done when tion for all apps and an ‘open and valida day could innovate around existing apps. So you need transparent’ development process. “We and take a category like recipes or e-books lls insta it her whet to know straight away see where developers take them. It has of smoothly, if it runs well, is there any risk dy.” alrea space held happened in the hand have to check also we then But are? malw Certainly, the multiplicity of devices that that the app is rated appropriately and tes covered by AppUp and MeeGo differentia adds. he to,” red privacy laws are adhe Intel’s app store from its many
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12 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
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Improve your reach More and more operators are launching app stores that offer content across multiple platforms. So what’s the best way to fill them? Metaflow is proposing a single repository called Marketplace, that lets an operator pick and choose exactly what it wants. Tim Green asked Metaflow’s Charles McLeod all about it… Over the years, Metaflow has built up a reputation as a project management specialist, a firm that manages the submissions process for content providers across multiple channels. What is behind this Marketplace concept? Well, there is a lot of pressure on publishers who are seeing revenues falling to hundreds of euros a month from one operator customer. It’s just not worth account managing these stores. So our idea is to provide a machine-tomachine feed that considerably reduces costs and lets publishers continue to use these channels. Of course, revenues are falling mostly because of smartphones and app stores. Traditionally we built our operation on the back of Java, and all the fragmentation associated with it. It is still a focus, but what we are finding is that all our operator customers support multiple handsets and different formats. They are looking at how to commercialise them. Apple is a closed shop, but for the rest of them there are opportunities. What we want to do with Marketplace is set-up a big fat delivery service with everything in it – JARs, BlackBerry, WinMo, Android, Symbian and so on. We see it as a B2B app store, really, where any customer can drop in and discover the apps that fit with the platforms they support. www.mobile-ent.biz
What is the addressable market for Marketplace, and how will channels actually use the service? We have 400 live channels now so there’s a big base for us to target. The beauty of the system is that it is tailored to deliver the information that’s relevant to each individual customer. So they log in and then see only products based on the handsets and OSs that they can support. Meanwhile, no competing CP will be able to browse another CPs coverage data in the public area, and each client will be required to setup permissions that relate to their role – i.e. operator, portal provider, aggregator or publisher. Each user’s view of the world is then filtered by their role. What about developers and publishers? How can they get involved? If a content provider is already working with us, it can access it from within its own Metaserver product suite. But there are loads of developers we don’t currently work with that have high revenue generating apps on the iPhone App Store or Android Marketplace, but they don’t have the resources or time or know-how to exploit their catalogue outside these stores. What we’re saying is sign up to our marketplace for free, get your products listed and we’ll take care of the rest. This really opens up the market for everyone.
How many do you expect to work with? There are probably 30 or so publishers that can realistically operate in Java, but there are thousands working in the new platforms – especially Android. And we’re one of the few companies that can build the kind of repository that will help them find sales channels. Above: Metaflow’s Charles McLeod
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Discovery is a big issue in consumerfacing app stores. How are you addressing the issue in a B2B store like Marketplace? In the first instance there’ll be consumer reviews, but we’re going to build in a social element so that customers can rate applications and share information about them. We’ve also integrated some software built by Predictive Intent that analyses the pages people are browsing so we can build a picture of what’s proving most interesting to people. What about metrics? This is where I think the system really scores. There are so few unifying standards such as visibility on real time sales, across multiple channels. This doesn’t exactly help publishers trying to run a business. Marketplace will provide tracking throughout an identifiable user’s browsing of the catalogue to help support business development follow-ups for each content owner. Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 15
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Click, don’t code One of the essential truths about the new digital media is that it is democratic. On the fixed web, simple blogging tools brought publishing within everyone’s reach. Now, the same DIY ethic is coming to mobile apps. Tim Green reports... he thing about the mobile app revolution is that it made distribution simple. Have an app? Submit it to the store, wait a few days for approval and up it goes. No waiting for the product manager to return your calls, no more aggregators in the middle. But what about those who lack the time, money and coding skills to make an app, but still want to participate? Unsurprisingly, help is at hand. A host of DIY app solutions have emerged to allow non-developers to create their own apps using web-based drag and drop tools. A basic app can pop out of the other end in a matter of hours for just a few hundred pounds or dollars. Thanks to the dramatic mainstreaming of the mobile app in the last 12 months, there are suddenly dozens of companies offering such tools. Among the better known are Sweb, Kanchoo, Mobile Roadie, BuildAnApp, MyAppBuilder, Mobera, Golden Gekko, but there are dozens more – especially in the US. These companies offer templates that can be customised with different background images and icons. More advanced options include the ability to integrate with social networks or merchants like iTunes and TicketMaster. Many vendors have allied themselves with particular sectors and therefore offer templates skewed to real estate, restaurants and so on to make it even easier for ultra-small businesses to get involved. Perhaps the best-known is Mobile Roadie, which achieved some profile by helping bands to make their own iPhone apps – charging a $499 set-up fee, then $29 a month to cover hosting costs and new features. Bands like The Crystal Method latched onto Mobile Roadie as a means to link to iTunes in the hope of sales, but for many more the appeal was more marketing-led. In time, Mobile Roadie has since diversified into multiple sectors – from
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ebooks to celebrities. And when it launched into Android in February, it even earned the support of Dolly Parton and Ashton Kutcher. At the start of the year it had 150 clients and had created over 250 apps. Meanwhile Swebapps claims to have signed up about 800 new customers since last August. Of course, these DIY app providers don’t just want you to build an app. They want the recurring revenue that comes from providing on-going feedback from live products and the ability to build more apps, if you want them. Like so much else in the app space, these providers have been overwhelmingly focused on the iPhone. Indeed, handling submissions to the iTunes App Store is part of the service. But now they are diversifying into other platforms. The UK’s Golden Gekko launched its Tino solution earlier this year to offer DIY Java apps. Although Tino will be on
Golden Gekko’s head of product, Caroline van den Bergh sees DIY apps building a collective ad inventory
all smartphone platforms within weeks, it has already built around a dozen products. Intriguingly, the concept is beginning to evolve in unexpected ways. Caroline van den Bergh, head of product at Golden Gekko, says: “We’re talking to Mobango about building a destination where people can build apps using Tino and then host them on the site. And it would all be ad-funded. I think that could be very interesting for advertisers. We have met one network already.” Another surprise is the interest among operators. You would think they would have the resources not to need DIY tools. Apparently not. “They can build smartphone apps, but they know they have to address the featurephone customer and find that using a tool like Tino is the most efficient way to do it,” continues van den Bergh. www.mobile-ent.biz
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Scores on the stores Which app stores support operator billing? Which ones waive a developer fee? How many offer more than 1,000 apps? Find out all this and more in Mobile Entertainment’s storefront round-up… n February 2010, just three months ago, ME published an ‘at-a-glance’ guide to mobile app stores. We make no apology for bringing it to you again. Everyone seems to value these stat-tastic wrap-ups – and anyway things change fast in the wacky world of mobile apps. The dramatic success of Apple iTunes might have indicated that the era of fragmentation was over. Not true. OEMs, operators and OS makers have piled into the space, and now there are over a dozen platforms to develop for, if you want decent reach. Indeed, we’ve added two more (Intel’s AppUp and Apple’s iPad) since that February summary was published. A quick glance shows just how far ahead Apple remains in the game, with Steve Jobs recently confirming 185,000 apps and four billion downloads to date. Android clearly has momentum (30,000 apps, 400 million downloads), as does Ovi (200 million apps – although many might be ringtones and wallpapers), but there’s little sign of the gap being closed.
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Apple’s iPad is just another platform to develop for
Android Market
Apple iPad Store
GetJar
Launch date..............................................................Oct 2008 Device support.............................................34 (April 2010) Reach...................................................................................6.8m OS support..................................................................Android No of applications.......................................................30,000 Downloads to date .......................................................400m Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type.....Credit card, Google checkout, operator Subscriptions billing ..........................................................No In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability .............................................................25 Developer submission fee .............................................$25
Launch date ...........................................................April 2010 Device support..................................................................iPad Reach.............................................................................500,000 OS support .............................................................iPhone OS No of applications .........................................................2,385 Downloads to date...............................4.1m (inc ebooks) Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type ............................................................Credit card Subscriptions billing .........................................................Yes In-app billing .......................................................................Yes Country availability.............................................................US Developer submission fee...$99 (free for limited period)
Launch date .............................................................Dec 2004 Device support............2,076 internet-enabled phones Reach .................................................................................200m OS support.............................................Multiple platforms No of applications.......................................................68,000 Downloads to date .......................................................897m Rev share .....................................................Free downloads Billing type ..................................................Free downloads Subscriptions billing ..........................................................No In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability...........................................................240 Developer submission fee .............................................free
Apple iTunes app store
Blackberry App World
Intel AppUp
Launch date .............................................................July 2008 Device support ....................................iPhone, iPod Touch Reach....................................................................................85m OS support .............................................................iPhone OS No of applications ....................................................185,000 Downloads to date...........................................................4bn Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type ............................................................Credit card Subscriptions billing .........................................................Yes In-app billing .......................................................................Yes Country availability .............................................................77 Developer submission fee .............................................$99
Launch date ...........................................................April 2009 Device support................BlackBerry OS 4.2 and higher OS support.............................................................BlackBerry Reach....................................................................................41m No of applications .........................................................6,000 Downloads to date............................................................n/a Rev share......80 per cent (70 per cent for carrier billing) Billing type .................Credit card, PayPal, carrier billing Subscriptions billing.............................................mid 2010 In-app billing ...........................................................mid 2010 Country availability ..................................................Over 50 Developer submission fee ...................$200 for 10 apps
Launch date ..............................................................Jan 2010 Device support..Atom-based netbooks, Meego devices Reach......................................................................50m (2009) OS support ......................Meego, Moblin, Windows (PC) No of applications.............................................................200 Downloads to date............................................................n/a Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type ............................................................Credit card Subscriptions billing .........................................................tbc In-app billing........................................................................tbc Country availability ............................................Worldwide Developer submission fee...$99 (free for limited period)
18 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
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LG app store
Orange app shop
Sony Ericsson PlayNow
Launch date .............................................................July 2009 Device support...........LG GM730 and KS20 (at launch) Reach ......................................................................................n/a OS support ...............................................................Windows No of applications .........................................................1,400 Downloads to date............................................................n/a Rev share...............................................................80 per cent Billing type ............................................................Credit card Subscriptions billing ..........................................................No In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability .............................................................17 Developer submission fee ..............................................n/a
Launch date .............................................................Dec 2009 Device support .....................................................................10 Reach..................................................1.3m (UK and France) OS support ...Android, Symbian, Windows, BlackBerry No of applications .........................................................5,000 Downloads to date............................................................n/a Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type ................................................................Operator Subscriptions billing ..........................................................No In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability................................................................2 Developer submission fee ............................................Free
Launch date.............................................................Aug 2009 Device support ........................All Sony Ericsson devices Reach ......................................................................................n/a OS support......................................SE, Windows, Symbian No of applications.............................................................160 Downloads to date............................................................n/a Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type.........................................Credit card, operator Subscriptions billing ..........................................................No In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability .............................................................69 Developer submission fee ..............................................n/a
Mobango
Palm app store
Vodafone 360
Launch date .............................................................Dec 2004 Device support............2,000 internet-enabled phones Reach...........................................................................5m users OS support ..........Java, RIM, Symbian, Android, WinMo No of applications .........................................................9,837 Downloads to date .......................................................618m Rev share .....................................................Free downloads Billing type ..................................................Free downloads Subscriptions billing ..........................................................No In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability ............................................Worldwide Developer submission fee ............................................Free
Launch date ...........................................................June 2009 Device support.....................................Palm Pre, Palm Pixi Reach.............................................................................500,000 OS support .................................................................Palm OS No of applications.............................................................211 Downloads to date............................................................n/a Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type ............................................................Credit card Subscriptions billing .........................................................Yes In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability................................................................4 Developer submission fee...$99 (free for limited period)
Launch date............................................................Sept 2009 Device support .....................................................................50 Reach ......................................................................................2m OS support ........................................................................LiMo No of applications ...................................7,000 (Feb 2010) Downloads to date............................................................n/a Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type ................................................................Operator Subscriptions billing .........................................................Yes In-app billing .......................................................................Yes Country availability................................................................8 Developer submission fee ............................................Free
Nokia Ovi store
Samsung Apps
Windows Marketplace
Launch date ............................................................May 2009 Device support ....100 series 40 and series 60 devices Reach....................................................................................50m OS support.........................Flash, Java, Symbian, Maemo No of applications .........................................................9,500 Downloads to date...........................................200m (ME estimate) Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type.........................................Credit card, operator Subscriptions billing ..........................................................No In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability...........................................................180 Developer submission fee .............................................$50
Launch date............................................................Sept 2009 Device support...Samsung Windows & Android devices Reach ......................................................................................n/a OS support.....................................Windows and Android No of applications.............................................................800 Downloads to date............................................................n/a Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type .............................................Credit card, PayPal Subscriptions billing ..........................................................No In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability................................................................7 Developer submission fee..........................................None
Launch date..............................................................Oct 2009 Device support .......................All Windows 6.0 and later Reach....................................................................................30m OS support..............Windows Mobile/Windows Phone No of applications.............................................................900 Downloads to date............................................................n/a Rev share...............................................................70 per cent Billing type.........................................Credit card, operator Subscriptions billing ..........................................................No In-app billing ........................................................................No Country availability .............................................................33 Developer submission fee .............................................$99
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Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 19
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Harvest for the app world Got a great app concept? Two channels can help you seed the market with it. Mobile Entertainment looked into the trialing services offered by GetJar and O2 Litmus…
n the era of ‘freemium’ services like Facebook and Twitter, it’s more important to get your service out there than anything else. In this scenario, the worse thing you can do is charge people. That puts them right off. But once you’ve removed the price barrier, there remain the problems of distribution and discovery. In mobile, all the app stores offer free products. However, some go further in terms of the speed with which apps can be listed, the metrics fed back and the quality of the end-users trialing the products. Firmly in this camp are the browser-based store GetJar and the operator developer community O2 Litmus…
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GETJAR GetJar has had an amazing 18 months. The company was founded by Ilja Laurs in Lithuania as a kind of repository for Java apps built by amateurs, a location for distributing products and getting feedback from techie peers. The original vision was ‘Amazon meets Wikipedia’. But after a fresh injection of capital and a new marketing-led approach heralded by former Glu exec Patrick Mork, the site has shot into the mainstream. Indeed, with nearly 900 million downloads, it’s become the iTunes of the open mobile internet. But for all the articles in the mass market press and the glossy re-brand, GetJar still 20 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
runs a service that developers large and small can use to distribute apps for just about free (GetJar monetises its operation through ads and paid-for rankings) in order to either seed the market or to get informed feedback on a concept. In the short life of GetJar, there have been outstanding successes. Ceptekidunya Mobile, for example, had built a following for its Assault Team games series on oldschool operator portals, and had signed agreements in 42 countries. Despite this, the publisher believed even wider distribution would bring more rewards so it used GetJar to distribute free versions of its games with an SMS link to the premium version. Downloads soared, with Assault Team 3D alone recording 1.6 million downloads. Ceptekidunya Mobile claims eight to 12 per cent of demos converted to a full purchase. It’s a remarkable story. But other publishers use GetJar without such direct monetisation in mind. Firms such as Photobucket, Opentable and Opera, use the service to get their apps into as many hands as possible – with various money-making schemes planned for the longer term. The champion here is undoubtedly Facebook, which has been downloaded 50 million times in six months. GetJar is continually refining its tools to make its testing service more valuable than
Ilja Laurs from GetJar say developers should see apps as ‘service containers’ rather than retail products
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before. Last month, for example, it introduced new software to analyse performance by phone, country and network. This is a classic GetJar solution, another tool for chipping away at the monstrous fragmentation in the Java space (where most mobile users are, of course). GetJar knows it can’t test every one of the 25,000 SKUs that arise from hundreds of handsets multiplied by dozens of operator APIs. But equally, it recognises the flaw in sending out untested apps to users. With GetJar conversion tracking, developers can see which phones’ downloads convert to regular users best, and which phones don’t convert at all. It can use this to skew its focus to more popular devices. Any registered GetJar developer can now add a conversion code into their app, which will notify GetJar when opened for the first time, and then let the developer see the results of the analytics securely on the GetJar website. Ilja Laurs believes the monetary potential for free apps is huge. He says: “The average revenue on a paid download in 2009 was $2, and it was ten-cents on a free app. But our experience tells us you can get 20 to 50 times more downloads with a free product using the same marketing effort. “The initial app download is very important, because consumers will access an www.mobile-ent.biz
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The vast majority of today’s apps are dumb. They sit on the handset and have no understanding or appreciation of its context or the person using it. They have to become smart. James Parton, O2 Litmus
icon on their phone eight times more than visiting a mobile website. I think developers need to see apps as ‘service containers’ that open up revenue at the back-end.”
‘enabler’ APIs. These are the bits of code that let developers find out valuable stuff about the end-user that only an operator can know such as:
O2 LITMUS UK operator O2 has gone down a different route from its counterparts Vodafone and Orange, whose 360 and App Shops services compete directly against the big OEM stores. O2 Litmus pre-dates them both, and has a radically different ethos. It’s more of a community than a store, bringing together early-adopting customers and developers in order to create better apps. In theory, everybody wins. Enthusiastic customers get access to new stuff before anyone else, as long as they feed back constructive criticism. Meanwhile, developers get intelligent advice they can use to refine their work. Although testing is the main point of Litmus, developers can also list their apps for sale at one of 26 price points mapped from free to five-pounds. Ultimately, the best apps endorsed by the O2 Litmus community get the chance to be marketed to over 260 million customers in the O2 Telefonica group. O2 Litmus launched in late-2008, so it has been through a few changes. However, the service now seems to be reaching a critical point thanks to its support for what it calls
Location: this API accepts the member’s phone number and returns co-ordinates that can be used to power a location app.
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Network Connection Status: lets the app tell if the customer is connected via GPRS or 3G, and change accordingly.
James Parton of O2 Litmus believes APIs can transform the efficacy of apps
View Device Compatibility: this API can retrieve information about a device such as screen dimensions, battery life, DRM, camera type, supported media, connectivity and memory size. View Account Status: an API that shows products and services that the customer may have enabled on their account. James Parton, of O2 Litmus, believes these APIs can transform the efficacy of apps while giving operators a valuable role in the mobile content ecosystem. He says: “The vast majority of today’s apps are dumb. They sit on the handset and have no understanding or appreciation of its context or the person using it. Apps have to become smart and I believe this is where
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operators will have a key role to play.” Litmus already gives access to an API that lets developers determine whether a user has flat rate data access – and change the service as appropriate. There are obvious benefits here for consumer and network. And there’s a less obvious one for developer. “I can see a scenario,” says Parton, “where a developer using this API could help to upgrade a user to a higher data tarriff, and get a rev share.” In the future, these enablers could drive on-the-fly customisation of content based on other factors such as age, social economic profile, travel history and more. In fact, O2 has identified over 50 potential enablers. Parton says that an important job for Litmus will be working out which of them are most needed and whether operators should charge for their use or not. Of course, these ideas have been discussed before – notably via initiatives such as the MEF’s Smart Pipe Enabler and GSMA’s OneAPI. Parton is committed to both, and says operators are dutybound to spread the word: “We do have an important role to play in content, but we have to accept that we haven’t always been open and transparent enough. Most people don’t even know this API stuff exists, so we have to walk hard over the next six to 12 months. If we do, we can all share in the upside.” Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 21
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Debit where it’s due Trusted, simple, universal – carrier billing is surely the best option for driving app sales. So why is it taking a while to be implemented? ME quizzed Bernadette Lyons, MD of payments specialist MACH… hy did Apple succeed in the downloadable mobile content space when so many had failed before it? I reckon there are three reasons, two of which everyone goes on about, and one they don’t. The obvious pair are a miraculous user interface and a pain-free content submission system (as long as you play by the coding rules). The clincher, though, has to be billing, right? When the iPhone launched, Apple already had over 50 million credit card details in its locker. And by compelling every new iPhone owner to enter theirs (unless they just want free stuff), Apple ensured that all subsequent app transactions by that user would be free of fuss. All very nice for Apple, with its affluent audience and singular device. What of the rest? Well, only one alternative will do: operator-billing – and that means on the bill, not via SMS. A single click to debit the mobile account self-evidently scores on all counts. It’s secure, it’s fast, it’s universal and it’s trustworthy. If only it were easy to set up. This time last year, Nokia was just about to launch Ovi and preparing to do so with operator billing in just seven countries. Not many, considering Nokia’s VP of product management George Linarados had told conference-goers at EconSM: “When we start locally with credit card billing and then we move to operator billing, we see a 70 per cent lift in sales literally over night.” Operator billing is hard. Most systems advertised as supporting it actually use premium rate text as a payment method. But this is flawed – with its lack of flexible price points, multiple clicks, problems with identifying whether a user has credit and so on. One company that thinks it can do better is MACH, with a long track record in digital payment clearing and existing relationships with 600 operators. It bought End2End to get closer to the content space and is now offering its carrier billing solution to app store vendors across the industry.
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Bernadette Lyons, MD of End2End, admits this is a challenging space. “There’s a complex relationship between operators and app stores – as everyone knows,” she says. “It’s not just to do with commercial tensions, but also with branding and with customisation for local markets. All this can put some latency in, and make things harder to implement.” Interesting, because the received wisdom was always that it was the messy legacy systems within the operators, rather than negotiations over branding, that made payments so hard. “It’s true to a degree,” adds Lyons. “Although, I think a key part of the MACH offer is the ability to harmonise all that legacy and then make more advanced features available like flexible pricing, refunds and the ability to see the name of the vendor on the phone bill.” At the same time as the back-end is getting straightened out, there’s also the user to worry about. Here, Lyons is mindful
A key part of the MACH offer is to make advanced features available like flexible pricing, refunds and the ability to see the name of the vendor on the phone bill.
22 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
Above: Bernadette Lyons, MD of End2End
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of mistakes made by collective carrier billing systems like PayForIt, with its obscure branding and alarming landing pages. “It’s important the user stays in the app and doesn’t get re-located. You have to minimise the clicks, but there’s a limit. It’s possible to complete a transaction in one click, but there is always a certain amount of information to display,” she says. In time, MACH believes there’s an opportunity for carrier billing beyond the app store and onto the mobile internet. “Ultimately we’re all about real time billing and authentication and for digital sales at certain price points, this is the obvious way to handle them,” says Lyons. MACH is already active in the space, although it’s contractually forbidden to discuss its partners. Generally, you can see how all participants are embracing the idea. RIM called time on its PayPal exclusive and launched carrier billing on BlackBerry App World last month, while T-Mobile USA became the first operator to enable on-bill payments from Android Market last December. Developers will be thrilled. Although the 70:30 split doesn’t compare with credit card – think of the addressable market it opens up. That’ll do nicely. www.mobile-ent.biz
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Way to pay It’s not easy for individual developers to make money from apps, but micro-payments, ads, affiliate networks and other tools can help. ME investigated…
or those of us who lived through the darkness of the ‘Java years’, there are some things we’ll never forget. The endless clicks until your fingers bled, the failed downloads, the lack of product information and GPRS. Thankfully, the app store concept changed everything. If old school Java/operator portals were progressive rock, app stores were a twominute single by the UK Subs. Things would never be the same again. But an often-overlooked change ushered in by iPhone, Android and the rest was the fresh approach to monetisation. Before, there was one option: pay to download. And pay a lot. I remember arguments about the merits of charging five-pounds, even tenpounds for a mobile game. The app stores brought with them some flexibility. Suddenly, there were micropayments, ads, subscriptions and more. It was how the new media was meant to be.
F
RISE OF THE IN-APP PAYMENT In-app payments came to the space last 24 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
summer, when Apple launched the 3G S. That was welcomed by developers everywhere. But there was a bigger cheer when Apple announced a few months later that the utility was coming to free as well as paid apps. This was a big deal because the whole point of in-app payments is their ability to monetise an enthusiastic and large user base – which is much easier to build when you can give the app away. Indeed, it gave app makers the chance to emulate micropayment pioneers from the social gaming sector like Zynga and Playfish. ngmoco is probably the best-known champion of the space. Its first-personshooter game Eliminate Pro comes with 30 free power cells, but extras cost from $0.99 to $39.99. The firm says it makes money from around two per cent of its users with this model and plans to put out 20 new games this year. While charging for extra functionality is one obvious benefit of in-app payments – not just extra lives in games, but also
chapters in books and maps in tour guides – another is unlocking a hidden part of the product. This removes the need for publishers to create free Lite versions as demos, and then try to sell a premium version. Instead, they offer the full app for free, but with most of its content locked until a user pays. Such a system is also harder for pirates to crack.
OpenFeint is one of the many firms offering community services – and trying to not get cannibalised by Apple
THE COMMUNITY HUB Interestingly, the ability to give an app away has serious implications for product design, marketing and after care. These apps depend on keeping customers engaged for months. This is why community services have developed around apps that offer micro-payments. Companies such as Scoreloop, OpenFeint and Chillingo have emerged to offer whitelabel technology that lets game developers in particular implement features like online high scores, achievements, friend recommendations, IM, buddy lists, virtual currencies and more. www.mobile-ent.biz
Email jodie.holdway@intentmedia.co.uk
alone remain an unreliable means to finance an app. The CPMs aren’t high enough, and most apps are only used a few times. Still, some developers have gone public with cheering stories. Last October, for example, Amplified Games revealed it earns an average of $9,600 (on an average global eCPM of $2.45) in monthly revenue from Greystripe-served ads in its free-to-play iPhone games.
The big idea is to get players talking in order to keep apps sticky, like Microsoft does with Xbox Live. In the case of Scoreloop the methodology relies on virtual coins that are exchanged by users when they interact. It’s worked on hits like the four million selling Parachute Panic game. The big challenge for all these companies came when Apple unveiled Game Center as part of its OS upgrade in April. Game Center brought a bunch of community functions – leaderboards, matchmaking and so on – within the basic iPhone SDK. Were they being cannibalised? Predictably they smiled through, praising Apple’s concept and explaining they would work with it, and concentrate on tools like virtual currency that monetise the community features.
Bango revealed its own in-app billing solution that works across all platforms. Developers can use it to collect one-time payments or start ongoing subscriptions within their app, using operator billing, credit cards or PayPal. Bango has a long history in payments, so it has applied the same tech that made it a fixture of the mobile web to the mobile app. What it’s keen to emphasise is how its solution lets developers sell direct and therefore out of the app store. An early convert is the iconic app brand Shazam, which is now approaching 100 million users and is turning over £7.3 million a year. The emergence of micro-payments has given developers a ‘third way’ between paid downloads and the free trial model.
CROSS-PLATFORM PAYMENTS In general, the in-app payment concept is now seen as so essential that all the major app stores have launched it or soon will. But there was an eye-catching announcement earlier this year when UK payments firm
COMMERCIAL BREAK That said, there is still a strong lobby for the totally ad-funded app. The potential of the space has certainly helped to send the market valuations of AdMob and Quattro into orbit. Despite the hype, it’s fair to say that ads
www.mobile-ent.biz
Scoreloop monetises mobile apps with virtual currency (top, bottom), while FT Germany (middle) offers affiliate distribution
THE IMPORTANCE OF ANALYTICS In a maturing app space, when developers have the ability to generate communities around their titles and use multiple business models, there’s a need for metrics beyond just how many were sold and when. This explains the rise of companies like Motally, whose toolkits can report where players quit; highest-scoring players; locations within an app where users buy virtual items and so on. It even launched a ‘2-Way Communication’ solution that lets developers optimise apps on the fly, without having to re-submit them to the vendor. Another metrics tool getting a lot of attention is ustwo’s PositionApp, which tracks the App Store’s Top 300 apps chart in every country around the world, and lets users drill down into that data by country, genre, position change, app name, free and paid, and by day, week or month. It won’t earn you money but it will give you the data to know what’s selling best and where. PositionApp can bring some sense of order to the chaos of thousands of apps. To be honest, anything is welcome in the nightmarish world of product discovery. In other fields, affiliate networks serve to address this problem and the signs are they’re coming to mobile too. Here is the idea: you have a high profile brand with a popular app – why not use that as a retail tool for other complementary apps? It’s what the FT is doing in Germany, with the help of affiliate network specialist Apprupt. Its long-term aim is to build a family of premium business and financial apps and open them up to others in the sector. Ultimately, not all apps are about moneymaking. Sometimes they can be a free campaign tool for a brand, and when they are there’s a developer somewhere making a nice fee. The app space is already awash with examples, but few can match Barclaycard’s Waterslide Extreme game, which topped charts in 19 countries and recorded two million downloads in a week. Six months on, it became an internationally successful ad game with ten million downloads. The title was developed by former Java codeshop Fishlabs, which is now a passionate advocate of the app store ecosystem. No wonder. Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 25
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RECRUITMENT
BEN PHILLIPS
JEFF HUGHES
GLEN MURRAY
JOHN STEVENS
Phillips’ Muzicall chairs Former Mofilm executive answers the call from UK ringbacks firm to become its head of commercial... BEN PHILLIPS is on the move again. The former MoMac and Mofilm exec has joined Muzicall as head of commercial. He’ll lead the UK firm’s efforts to woo the enterprise market over to its ringback service offer. The shiny head of ANTONY DOUGLAS, O2’s head of content, has departed for a new challenge. Douglas is the new sales director of digital for the European arm of Japanese publisher Square Enix. It’s the company behind Final Fantasy, which bought the UK firm Eidos last year. Don’t worry, industry girls, Douglas will look after mobile in his new role. Omnifone has appointed JEFF HUGHES as CEO as part of a wider expansion of the company’s executive team. Hughes arrives with quite a CV, having been EVP and COI at BSkyB. His arrival frees up Omnifone founder ROB LEWIS to take on the new role of full time executive chairman. MITCH LAZAR has joined the Taptu board just weeks after departing as Yahoo’s European Mobile MD. He will lead the charge into search technology for touchscreen devices for the Cambridge-based firm. PopCap Games has hired FRITS HABERMANN, the Adobe technology pioneer, as the company’s new CTO. 26 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
Habermann joins after 20 years at Adobe, where he managed the strategy of deep-science technologies for all Adobe products including Photoshop, Flash and Acrobat. UK premium rate trade body AIME (Association of Interactive Media and Entertainment) has elected a new board. It comprises chair EDWARD BODDINGTON plus PAUL LYNCH (ITV), RORY MAGUIRE (3UK), JEREMY FLYNN (D2see), DAVID SHERIDAN (OpenMarket), RUDD APSEY (Sport Media), DAWN COOPER (Million-2-1), RICHARD MANN (MIG), GRAHAM POTTIE (BT agilemedia) and OLIVER WIMMEROTH (Venista). InMobi has enticed JAMES LAMBERTI away from comScore to be its VP of global research and marketing. He will head up the company’s product initiatives and service delivery around performance-oriented analytics for publishers and advertisers. PAUL MEYERS has departed Acme Mobile after seven years to explore new opportunities. Singapore-based mobile games distributor Acme was bought by Mexico’s Binbit last year. Former SCEA man MARK DELOURA has been named as Google’s developer advocate for video games. This appointment marks the first time
that Google has hired somebody to a specific games development role.
for EMEA and PAUL RUSHTON becomes director of biz dev, EMEA.
Transactions provider Mach has confirmed the appointment of BRIAN MOORE to lead the company’s business in North America. Moore joins from the messaging infrastructure provider Interop Technologies, where he was VP of product management for Central and Latin American sales.
Changes at the top for 2ergo. The UK mobile services group has hired two joint group MDs – JILL COLLIGHAN and JOHN STEVENS. Colligan has been with 2ergo since 2002, while Stevens joins 2ergo from DSGi Business.
Openwave has hired EILEEN NELSON as senior VP for human resources. She brings more than 28 years of experience to the role, having worked for 3Com, Tropos Networks, eBay and others. Digital design agency Fjord has appointed CURT COLLINSWORTH as its new MD in Helsinki. His predecessor IÑAKI AMATE has been promoted to regional MD. In addition, SCOTT EWINGS has been appointed as director of business development in the London office. Messaging giant Airwide has made key exec hires for its EMEA activities. GLEN MURRAY is the new VP of sales
Frog Capital, the growth capital investor, has a new partner. He’s STEPHEN LOWERY, who arrives from 3i where he was director of venture and later growth capital. Award winning UK social network Flirtomatic has made eyes at four execs and persuaded them to join its growing ship. The additions are UDI JACOBI (head of European biz dev), GEOFF WYRE (international product manager), LIESBETH BERGMANS (developer) and MAURICIO REYES (software testing engineer). Bloomberg has created a new post to oversee its worldwide mobile strategy and has hired OKE OKARO to fill it. He was previously VP of mobile for ESPN for six years.
Does your firm have a position to fill? If so, you should advertise on the appointments page that’s read by everyone in the content business: yes, this one. We also offer a complementary online service. Either way, every exec in the business will be reading about your vacancy. Contact Katy Grant at Katy.Grant@intentmedia.co.uk or call +44 (0)1992 535647 for more info.
www.mobile-ent.biz
RECRUITMENT
Recruiters from digital, recruiting for digital
Senior Mobile Recruiter – £competitive package Are you a consummate entrepreneur with a sound understanding of the mobile industry? If so, this could be the job for you. We need someone to join our team, as we are in the process of setting a new standard within the mobile recruitment market. With the growing demand for talented people with mobile media experience Propel London is expanding its offering with Propel Mobile. By bringing all of our existing mobile recruitment briefs under one roof we’re able to continue to deliver our recruitment services based around professionalism, industry specialisation and an extensive network of contacts. You’ll be someone with experience of the mobile industry either in a sales capacity or as a recruiter. You’ll need the talent and drive to help us expand our great brand within this exciting sector. We’ll give you all the support and training you need to carve out an outstanding career for yourself in one of the most successful digital recruitment companies. We’re looking for a clear thinker, able to juggle multiple tasks, thrive on an extremely varied job and be able to build strong relationships with brands, agencies and operators. You’ll also need to have an intuitive understanding of people and passion for delivering the best service you can.
Sales & Business Development Manager Mobile Advertising London – Excellent basic bonus benefits
Mobile Manager Global Media Agency London – Excellent basic bonus benefits
Sales Manager Mobile Advertising Germany – Excellent basic bonus equity
Head of Content Mobile Entertainment Europe – Excellent package
European Sales Manager Mobile Advertising Network London – Excellent package
If you’re looking for an opportunity to make your mark and be rewarded for your efforts then get in touch. Come and join the adventure.
Contact Emma McNamara – emma@propellondon.com 07855 421 627 – 0207 440 1002 +44 (0)20 7440 1000 hello@propellondon.com www.propellondon.com
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looking to further your career in the Mobile and Digital markets? VISIT OUR WEBSITE for a full list of our current opportunities.
Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 27
EVENTS
2010 Calendar
This year’s diary is full to bursting with must-see industry events. Which ones are you taking your expense account to...? MAY 2010 May 4th-5th The mobileSQUARED Roadshow – Asia Singapore Art Museum, 71 Bras Basah Road, Singapore mobileSQUARED Roadshows are regional events delivering research, insight, presentations and case studies. This conference kicks-off new programmes of practical events pitched at anyone interested in harnessing the power of mobile marketing. They comprise ‘how to’ sessions and interactive workshop sessions. Speakers include: Jojit Alcazar, head of mobile advertising, Smart; KF Lai, CEO, BuzzCity and Vince Parr, founder, Deep Blue Asia. May 19th-20th MEX WallaceSpace, London http://www.pmn.co.uk/mex This well-established London show takes place over two days and comprises presentations alongside workshops that give practical advice and info. There’s also an awards programme that rewards innovation by entrants that span major corporates and student enthusiasts. This year’s event will host speakers such as Parrish Hanna, global director of experience planning at Motorola; Oren Horev, strategy consultant for Plan; Dr Jonas Landgren, PhD at the University of Gothenburg and Guillaume Largillier, chairman of Stantum and many more. May 26th Monetising Mobile: How to make apps pay their way Bafta, London www.mobile-ent.biz/events A major new event presented by Mobile Entertainment, putting the emphasis on commercial solutions in a conference devoted to the apps revolution. There’ll be keynotes, panel sessions and networking in an evening/afternoon affair. Hot topics include advertising, payments, discovery and more.
JUNE 2010 June 1st M-Publishing RIBA, London www.camerjam.com/events/m-publishing
28 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
The Navigation and Location Summit Europe 2010 (June15th-16th) is set to attract countless LBS, satnav and social local service experts and enthusiasts alike at what has been plugged as Europe’s largest navigation conference. Some big hitters will be taking to the microphone including Nokia, TomTom and Vodafone. Events supremo James Cameron knows a sexy opportunity when he sees one. His next event will be M-Publishing – a hot topic at a time when journalism is pondering the best business models for the new media world. This conference will bring together execs from mobile and publishing including Richard Titus, CEO of Associated Northcliffe Digital; Tim Smith, general manager of Evening Standard and group digital publisher of Harper Collins, David Roth-Ey. The agenda includes focus sessions on apps, mobile advertising and iPad. June 15th-16th The Navigation and Location Summit Europe 2010 The Marriott, Berlin www.thewherebusiness.com This is the big Euro event for anyone interested in LBS, satnav and social local services. The organisers expect over 200 senior level navigation, geo and LBS experts to gather for what they describe as Europe’s biggest navigation conference. There’ll be info on how to differentiate your products, identify new business models and monetise connected services. The speaker line-up
UPCOMING... May 4th-5th The mobileSQUARED Roadshow May 19th-20th MEX May 26th Monetising Mobile June 1st M-Publishing June 15th-16th The Navigation and Location Summit Europe 2010 June 22nd-23rd Mobile Entertainment Markets October 6th-8th CTIA Wireless IT and Entertainment 2010
comprises contributions from Nokia, BMW, Deutsche Telekom, ESRI, Bouygues Telecom, Open Street Map, Intel, Renault, Carmeq, TomTom, T-Mobile, Garmin and Vodafone. June 22nd-23rd Mobile Entertainment Markets Park Plaza Victoria, London, UK www.m-e-f.org MEM will once again bring together the world’s content players for a two-day conference. The 2009 show attracted over 500 attendees, a 26 per cent increase from 2008. Only date and venue details are available at present, but ME will be the first to hear when speakers and the agenda are confirmed.
OCTOBER 2010 October 6th-8th CTIA Wireless and Entertainment 2010 San Francisco, USA The autumn CTIA event (or should that be ‘fall’?) is traditionally more content-focused than its spring counterpart, and also a little smaller. It’s back to San Fran this year, so we can all wear flowers in our hair...
www.mobile-ent.biz
CHARTS
Charts
Check here every month for the best selling games, ringtones and mobile apps from across the market...
RINGTONES
TAGGING
RINGTONES.COM TOP EURO MUSIC TONES, APRIL SONG 1 BABY 2 TINIE TEMPAH 3 RUDEBOY 4 TELEPHONE 5 BELLA’S LULLABY 6 DON’T STOP BELIEVIN’ 7 SHE SAID 8 GAVE IT ALL AWAY 9 SURFIN BIRD 10 EMPIRE STATE OF MIND PART II SOURCE: MOBILESTREAMS
SHAZAM TAGGING, APRIL ARTIST JUSTIN BIEBER PASS OUT RIHANNA LADY GAGA FT BEYONCE TWILIGHT JOURNEY PLAN B BOYZONE THE TRASHMEN ALICIA KEYS
1 2 3 4 5
RINGTONES
6
PROFESSOR GREEN
RINGTONES.COM TOP EURO FUNTONES, APRIL
SONG 1 SIMPLES! 2 SILENCE I KILL YOU 3 WHAT’S OCCURING 4 YOU HAVE A MEERKAT MESSAGE 5 GIGGETY GIGGETY GIGGETY GOO 6 YOU DIPSTICK 7 24 THEME TUNE 8 MOM, MOM, MUMMY, MUMMY, LOIS 9 BRIGHT LIGHT, BRIGHT LIGHT 10 SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND SOURCE: MOBILESTREAMS
7
ARTIST MEERKAT ACHMED THE DEAD TERRORIST
NESSA MEERKAT FAMILY GUY DEL BOY TV SERIES FAMILY GUY – STEWIE GREMLINS SCARFACE
RINGTONES
SONG 1 BEDROCK 2 RUDE BOY 3 HOW LOW 4 MMA BE 5 MY CHICK BAD 6 NEED YOU NOW 7 SEX THERAPY 8 BAD ROMANCE 9 STEADY MOBBIN 10 DROP THE WORLD SOURCE: FLYCELL
ARTIST YOUNG MONEY RIHANNA LUDACRIS BLACK EYED PEAS LUDACRIS FT NICKI MINAJ LADY ANTEBELLUM ROBIN THICKE LADY GAGA YOUNG MONEY LIL WAYNE FT EMINEM
MUSIC
MELODI SOUTH AFRICA REALTONE SOUNDALIKES, APRIL SONG 1 MEMORIES 2 ALL THE RIGHT MOVES 3 WAVING FLAG 4 TWO IS BETTER THAN ONE 5 HEY SOUL SISTER 6 BABY 7 TELEPHONE 8 REPLAY 9 ROCK THAT BODY 10 GIVE IT UP TO ME SOURCE: MELODI MEDIA
FLYCELL US TOP DOWNLOAD HANDSETS, APRIL MODEL 1 8520 (CURVE) 2 8330 (CURVE) 3 SCP-3810 4 GT365 (NEON) 5 VX9200 (ENV3) 6 SCH-U450 (INTENSITY) 7 VX11000 (ENV TOUCH) 8 SGH-A877 (IMPRESSION) 9 SGH-A887 (SOLSTICE) 10 A455 (RIVAL) SOURCE: FLYCELL
VENDOR RIM (BLACKBERRY) RIM (BLACKBERRY) SANYO LG LG SAMSUNG LG SAMSUNG SAMSUNG MOTOROLA
MELODI USA REALTONE SOUNDALIKES, APRIL ARTIST SONG DAVID GUETTA FT KID CUDI 1 RUDE BOY ONE REPUBLIC 2 NOTHIN ON YOU KNAAN 3 NEED YOU NOW BOYS LIKE GIRLS FT TAYLOR SWIFT 4 HEY SOUL SISTER TRAIN 5 BREAK YOUR HEART JUSTIN BIEBER 6 TELEPHONE LADY GAGA 7 IMMA BE IYAZ 8 BABY BLACK EYED PEAS 9 IN MY HEAD SHAKIRA/LIL WAYNE/TIMBERLAND 10 ALL THE RIGHT MOVES SOURCE: MELODI MEDIA
FONESTARZ TOP VIDEOS, APRIL ARTIST RIHANNA LADY GAGA FT BEYONCE PLAN B DELIRIOUS TINIE TEMPAH JUSTIN BIEBER CHERYL COLE INNA ELLIE GOULDING JASON DERULO
ARTIST RIHANNA B.O.B FT BRUNO MARS LADY ANTEBELLUM TRAIN TAIO CRUZ LADY GAGA BLACK EYED PEAS JUSTIN BIEBER JASON DERULO ONE REPUBLIC
FONESTARZ TOP WALLPAPERS, APRIL
VIDEOS 1 LUCY PINDER 2 HAYLEY IN PINK 3 LADY GAGA – TELEPHONE 4 LADY GAGA – BAD ROMANCE 5 JEDWARD FEATURING VANILLA ICE – UNDER PRESSURE 6 YOUTUBE’S BABY HULK 7 WII FIT GIRLFRIEND 8 PENGUINS ON ICE 9 NIGHT SKY I LOVE YOU 10 IYAZ – REPLAY SOURCE: FONESTARZ
ARTISTS & VIDEO
GAMES
BINBIT LATIN AMERICA TOP ARTISTS, APRIL
JAMSTER TOP GAMES, APRIL
GAME 1 ALICA IN WONDERLAND 2 THE SIMPSONS ARCADE 3 PIZZA SHOP MANIA 4 THE SIMS 3 WORLD ADVENTURE 5 AGE OF EMPIRES III: ASIAN DYNASTIES 6 MONOPOLY WORLD 7 FASHION CENTER 8 EA SPORTS FOOTBALL MANAGER 10 9 BEJEWELED TWIST 10 DLF IPL INDIAGAMES T20 FEVER SOURCE: JAMSTER
STARRY EYED ELLIE GOULDING 8 THE CAVE MUMFORD AND SONS 9 THIS AIN’T A LOVE SONG SCOUTING FOR GIRLS 10 WHY DON’T YOU GRAMOPHONEDZIE SOURCE: SHAZAM
FLYCELL US TOP RINGTONES, APRIL
VIDEOS & WALLPAPERS
JAMSTER TOP RINGTONES, APRIL
SONG 1 RUDE BOY 2 TELEPHONE 3 SHE SAID 4 HISTORY MAKER 5 PASS OUT 6 BABY 7 PARACHUTE 8 HOT 9 STARRY EYED 10 IN MY HEAD (INTRO) SOURCE: JAMSTER
SONG/ARTIST HOT INNA PASS OUT TINIE TEMPAH SHE SAID PLAN B BEDROCK YOUNG MONEY FT LLOYD OMG USHER FT WILL.I.AM I NEED YOU TONIGHT
ARTISTS & HANDSETS
PUBLISHER DISNEY INTERACTIVE EA MOBILE DIGITAL CHOCOLATE
EA MOBILE GLU MOBILE EA MOBILE IN-FUSIO EA MOBILE POPCAP GAMES INDIAGAMES
30 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
SONG 1 LOCA 2 20 MIL HERIDAS 3 MENTIRAS PIADOSAS 4 MI DELIRIO 5 SAL DE MI PIEL 6 AHORA TE PUEDES MARCHAR 7 ME VOY 8 YA LO VEIA VENIR 9 A MOVER EL BOTE 10 BENDITA TU LUZ SOURCE: BINBIT
ARTIST ALEKS SYNTEK BANDA MACHOS ALEJANDRA GUZMAN ANAHI BELINDA LUIS MIGUEL JULIETA VENEGAS MODERATTO BANDA MACHOS MANA
WALLPAPER 1 HOT MARIA 2 PLAYBOY FLAMES 3 BUTTERFLY SWIRL 4 LED RAINBOW LOVE 5 LOVE PUPPY 6 BLUE LIGHTNING 7 TIGER STORM 8 SKULL STORM 9 LED YING YANG 10 DIAMOND THEME SOURCE: FONESTARZ
BINBIT LATIN AMERICA TOP VIDEOS, APRIL SONG 1 SI NO TE HUBIERAS IDO 2 AMIGA MIA 3 Y TE VAS 4 A LABIO DULCE 5 UNO, DOS, TRES 6 EL REY 7 BRUJA HADA 8 4 MINUTES 9 LABIOS COMPARTIDOS 10 CORAZON PARTIO SOURCE: BINBIT
ARTIST MANA ALEJANDRO SANZ MOTEL ISKANDER MOTEL MANA DAVID CAVAZOS JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE MANA ALEJANDRO SANZ
www.mobile-ent.biz
Title
Publisher
Title
Artist
Title
Category
1
Hannah Montana in Action
Disney
1
New Moon (The Meadow)
Alexandre Desplat
1
Shawn & Gus fish tank
NBC Universal
2
Hannah Montana Secret Star
Disney
2
Trust
Keyshia Cole
2
Close view of Emperor Penguin chick National Geographic
3
Luxor Quest
I-play
3
Swag Surfin'
F.L.Y. - Fast Life Yungstaz
3
Alice In Wonderland
Disney
4
Family Guy Uncensored
Glu
4
I Belong To You
Muse
4
Amazing City Scape
Pink Frosty
Nickelback
5
Jewel Quest(r) Solitaire
I-play
5
If Today Was Your Last Day
5
Catalina Nature
Fun
6
Zuma
Glu
6
Da Game Been Good To Me UGK (Underground Kingz)
6
I'm So In Love
Fulep
7
Super Mah Jong Quest
I-play
7
BedRock
Young Money ft. Lloyd
7
Butterfly Love
Versaly
8
Wizards of Waverly Place
Disney
8
Plenty Money
Plies
8
Music/Rap & RnB 2
Graffiti
9
Mah Jong Quest™
I-play
9
Turn My Swag On
Soulja Boy Tell`em
9
An Altar in the Ice Hotel
National Geographic
10
Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa
Glu
10
Day 'N' Nite
Kid Cudi
10
Leader Of The Survivors Jack Sheppard
Lost
11
Jewel Quest Deluxe
I-play
11
Empire State Of Mind
Jay-Z ft. Alicia Keys
11
Purple Haze
Pink Frosty
12
Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs
Glu
12
I Run To You
Lady Antebellum
12
True Love
Pink Frosty
13
Brain Tester 24-Pack vol 2
Digital Chocolate
13
Read Between the Lines
KSM
13
Cast as a motivational poster
The Office
14
Crash Bandicoot: Mutant Island
Glu
14
Imma Put It On Her
DAY26 ft. P.Diddy & Yung joc
14
Sing With Me
Disney
15
Hangman Deluxe
LemonQuest
15
Tie Me Down
New Boyz ft. Ray J
15
Abstract Reflexion Sphere
Mobibase
16
G-Force
Disney
16
Satellite Heart
Anya Marina
16
Top Chef Knife
Bravo
17
Extreme Hangman
Skyzone Mobile
17
Not Anymore
LeToya
17
Terror Chicken Head
Adult Swim
18
Deal or no Deal: Million Dollar Mission
19
Age of Empires III
20 Big Kahuna Reef: Hawaii Quest
18
Breakup
Mario ft. Gucci Mane
18
Sphinx 1
conVISUAL
Glu
19
How Low
Ludacris
19
Marine 4
Mobibase
I-play
20 Sweet Dreams
Beyonce
20 Pink Tartan
I-play
Mobstar Media
CHARTS
BPLAY SMARTPHONE ENTERTAINMENT CHARTS THRU APRIL 15, 2010 TOP 20 GAMES
TOP 20 THEMES
SMARTPHONE ENTERTAINMENT CHARTS THRU APRIL 15, 2010
SMARTPHONE ENTERTAINMENT CHARTS THRU APRIL 15, 2010 TITLE
CATEGORY
PUBLISHER
TITLE
CATEGORY
PUBLISHER
1
IBERRY 2.0 TODAY PLUS
TODAY PLUS
MAGMIC
1
BEJEWELED
PUZZLE
EA
2
IBERRY EDGE TODAY PLUS
TODAY PLUS
MAGMIC
2
TEXAS HOLD'EM KING 3
CARDS/CASINO
MAGMIC
3
IWIDGETS
NEXT GEN
MAGMIC
3
TETRIS
PUZZLE
EA
4
TINKER BELL
DISNEY
DISNEY
4
SCRABBLE
STRATEGY/BOARD
EA
5
FLOWBERRY
NEXT GEN
MAGMIC
5
MAHJONG SOLITAIRE
CARDS/CASINO
MAGMIC
6
CROSSBAR 2.0
NEXT GEN
MAGMIC
6
SPADES
CARDS/CASINO
MAGMIC
7
TINKER BELL PINK
DISNEY
DISNEY
7
TRIVIAL PURSUIT
STRATEGY/BOARD
EA
8
DEPTHS OF THE OCEAN
DISNEYNATURE
DISNEY
8
GUITAR HERO 5
ACTION/ARCADE
GLU
9
IBERRY 2.0
ICON
MAGMIC
9
EA SPORTS TIGER WOODS TOUR 09 SPORTS
10
SALTWATER
ANIMATED
MAGMIC
10
SOLITAIRE LEGENDS
CARDS/CASINO
MAGMIC
11
EXPLORER 2.0
NEXT GEN
MAGMIC
11
SUDOKU
PUZZLE
MAGMIC
12
PINK MAGIC
ANIMATED
MAGMIC
12
WORMS 2010
STRATEGY/BOARD
EA
13
BEACHES OF THE WORLD
ROTATING BACKGROUND
MAGMIC
13
PHASE 10
CARDS/CASINO
MAGMIC/FUNDEX
14
GLITTER TODAY PLUS
TODAY PLUS
MAGMIC
14
SIMCITY METROPOLIS
STRATEGY/BOARD
EA
15
MICKEY AND MINNIE
DISNEY
DISNEY
15
WORLD SERIES POKER 2
CARDS/CASINO
GLU
16
SOLAR SLIDESHOW
ROTATING BACKGROUND
MAGMIC
16
RISK
STRATEGY/BOARD
EA
17
IBERRY PINK TODAY PLUS
TODAY PLUS
MAGMIC
17
DIRT OFF ROAD RACING
SPORTS
GLU
18
STUDIO FLOWERS
ROTATING BACKGROUND
MAGMIC
18
THE PRICE IS RIGHT
STRATEGY/BOARD
GLU
19
POOH AND TIGGER
DISNEY
DISNEY
19
MONOPOLY
STRATEGY/BOARD
EA
20
IBERRY 2.0 TODAY
TODAY
MAGMIC
20
THE SIMS 3
STRATEGY/BOARD
EA
SOURCE: MAGMIC GAMES - BPLAY
32 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
EA
SOURCE: MAGMIC GAMES - BPLAY
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KATINA 078 3366 4075 www.katinaleisure.com
SPLASH 0870 934 2666 www.splashnews.com
The Mobile Marketplace offers a complete marketing package of print, online and editorial visibility, allowing companies to maintain contact with readers each month without the cost of full display advertising. The Mobile Marketplace and its associated online version has also been designed to offer readers a directory of all products and services in the content industry. A presence in this section ensures that your company’s details are easily found, keeping you one step ahead of your competitors. The standard package includes: 1/4 page advert in each issue Regular editorial coverage in the dedicated column Company details listed in the online directory with web link and marketplace index
WWW.MOBILE-ENT.BIZ/MARKETPLACE MOBILE ADVERTISING
www.mobile-ent.biz
To get your company featured here contact
Katy.Grant@intentmedia.co.uk t: +44 (0) 1992 535647
SOFTWARE DEVELOPER
Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 33
MOBILE MARKETPLACE DISTRIBUTION
MOBILE SERVICE PROVIDER
LOCALISATION
34 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
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MOBILE MARKETPLACE AFFILIATE PROGRAMS
MARKETPLACE NEWS
Saffron powers new T-Mobile movie store UK operator T-Mobile has teamed up with Saffron Digital, Warner and HTC to launch a movies-on-demand service for the HTC Desire handset. Anyone buying a Desire from the operator in the first month will get two free films from a choice of eight, including Harry Potter And The HalfBlood Prince and The Hangover. The
films will be available to watch for 48 hours on either the phone or a PC. Warner Bros plans to add more movies to the service in the coming months, costing £3.49 for new flicks and £2.49 for older films. The new mobile web service is a spin-off from the existing VOD+ service created by Saffron for T-Mobile.
VIDEO/PICTURE AGGREGATION
Djuzz generates 750K game downloads The BuzzCity-owned mobile games portal Djuzz has proved a huge hit in India and emerging markets with 750,000 games delivered to 1.2 million unique users in March, according to the firm’s latest metrics report. During March, the portal offered 2,000 games (Java, Symbian, Windows Mobile, Android, Flash, BlackBerry) spread across 28 categories from 37 publishers. The Top Ten games in March were Fatal Fist, Tankzors, 4x4 Extreme Rally, BomberXmen, Dragon and Dracula, Mr. Revolver, 3D Fun Racer, 360 Speed, Love Match and Underground Racer. India is by far the biggest audience for Djuzz, with the country generating 397,909 game downloads during March. The next largest market is Malaysia, with 44,134 downloads.
SEND YOUR NEWS TO TIM.GREEN@INTENTMEDIA.CO.UK www.mobile-ent.biz
Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 35
MOBILE MARKETPLACE SMS SERVICES
MARKETPLACE NEWS
InMobi hires ComScore exec The Indian-owned, but globally focused, mobile ad specialist InMobi has hired James Lamberti to oversee research and marketing. The former ComScore and Topspin exec will head up the company’s product initiatives and service delivery around performance-oriented analytics. InMobi’s new analytics tools mean that its 2,000 publisher partners can now view ad performance by country, manufacturer and handset. The company has also plugged in an ad review center and an improved user interface. Lamberti said: “As advertisers and publishers begin to believe in the promise of mobile advertising, the industry needs an independent player with global
James Lamberti will oversee research and marketing at InMobi
scale to deliver performance and demonstrate its impact with more transparency.”
It’s the official age of ImpulsePay Payments specialist ImpulsePay is offering age-verified online purchases via mobile, using SMS as a payment system. The age of the user will be verified by the operator, and ImpulsePay says the launch will help content owners sell overeighteen content safe in the knowledge that the customer is old enough to purchase it. The process works in five stages: The content owner inserts an ImpulsePay ‘Buy Now’ button After clicking on that the purchaser enters their mobile phone number and is sent a secure PIN by SMS The PIN is then entered online and the operator checks the handset is registered to an 18-plus user If the user is not registered as over eighteen then they are sent to a help page However, if the user is registered as over 18 the transaction is completed and the website updates automatically and redirects them to the content Previously, credit card payment was the main way that a content owner could ensure proof of age. However,
CONTACT KATY GRANT TO ADVERTISE IN
not everyone has a credit card and even for those that do have one, using their mobile phone to pay for content is an estimated seven and a half times quicker. “This is the next step for us,” said Chris Newell, CEO of ImpulsePay. “Our service, which combines the benefits of Payforit and SMS billing, has proven to be really popular with a wide variety of content owners and website users. What we’re doing now is opening it up to all content providers.”
MOBILE MARKETPLACE Katy.Grant@intentmedia.co.uk tel: +44 (0) 1992 535647
SEND YOUR NEWS TO TIM.GREEN@INTENTMEDIA.CO.UK 36 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
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OPERATORS
Network Subs Key operator subscriber numbers from around the world... COUNTRY WESTERN EUROPE UK
GERMANY
ITALY
FRANCE
SPAIN
NETHERLANDS
IRELAND
SWEDEN
NORWAY
DENMARK GREECE
BELGUIM
POLAND
PORTUGAL
SWITZERLAND
AUSTRIA
www.mobile-ent.biz
OPERATOR VODAFONE T-MOBILE 3 O2 ORANGE VODAFONE T-MOBILE O2 E-PLUS FREENET (DEBITEL + MOBILCOM) DRILLISCH (VICTORVOX) VODAFONE 3 WIND TIM ORANGE SFR BOUYGUES VIRGIN VODAFONE MOVISTAR ORANGE YOIGO VODAFONE T-MOBILE KPN TELE2 VODAFONE O2 3 METEOR 3 (INCLUDES DENMARK) TELENOR TELE2 NETCOM TELENOR NETCOM TELE2 TDC SONOFON VODAFONE COSMOTE WIND (PREVIOUSLY-QTELECOM) T-MOBILE MOBISTAR (ORANGE) BASE BELGACOM MOBILE VODAFONE ORANGE T-MOBILE VODAFONE TMN OPTIMUS ORANGE SWISSCOM SUNRISE T-MOBILE
SUBSCRIBERS 18,704,000 16,608,000 5,591,000 20,960,800 16,110,000 34,774,000 39,330,000 15,400,300 18,712,000 17,621,000 1,969,000 22,403,000 8,931,000 17,900,000 31,921,000 25,354,000 20,226,000 9,894,000 1,600,000 17,069,000 23,993,200 11,620,000 1,318,000 4,708,000 5,474,000 6,739,000 417,000 2,119,000 1,717,500 1,200,000 1,017,000 1,423,000 1,958,000 3,343,000 5,608,000 2,977,000 1,650,000 463,000 3,202,000 2,018,000 6,255,000 8,800,000 4,967,000 9,064,000 3,421,000 2,992,000 3,829,000 3,451,000 13,736,000 13,482,000 5,813,000 7,084,000 3,326,900 1,566,000 5,543,000 1,487,000 3,387,000
COUNTRY EASTERN EUROPE HUNGARY CROATIA CZECH REPUBLIC
RUSSIA
UKRAINE SLOVAKIA ASIA PACIFIC AUSTRALIA
CHINA
HONG KONG INDIA
JAPAN THAILAND
SINGAPORE
LATIN AMERICA ARGENTINA COLUMBIA BRAZIL MEXICO VENEZUELA NORTH AMERICA CANADA
USA
OPERATOR
SUBSCRIBERS
T-MOBILE T-MOBILE T-MOBILE O2 VODAFONE MEGAFON MOBILE TELESYSTEMS VIMPELCOM TELE2 KYIVSTAR GSM UKRAINIAN MOBILE (MTS) O2 T-MOBILE 3 OPTUS TELSTRA VODAFONE CHINA MOBILE CHINA UNICOM TIBET TELECOM 3 SMARTTONE BHARTI AIRTEL BSNL IDEA CELLULAR TATA INDICOM RELIANCE VODAFONE NTT DOCOMO AIS DTAC TRUE MOVE SINGTEL STARHUB MOBILEONE
5,207,000 2,885,000 5,458,000 4,922,700 2,984,000 49,117,000 68,700,000 49,971,000 13,302,000 22,285,000 17,780,000 463,100 2301000 6,052,000 8,225,000 10,191,000 3,274,000 508,367,000 142,799,000 46,780,000 1,456,000 1,164,000 110,511,416 58,756,598 51,454,402 46,796,033 86,117,663 82,846,000 55,186,000 28,282,300 19,271,000 15,400,000 2,976,000 1,884,000 1,718,000
MOVISTAR MOVISTAR COMCEL VIVO CLARO TELCEL MOVISTAR MOVISTAR
15,453,400 8,810,900 27,357,000 48,847,200 42,278,000 58,360,000 16,518,400 10,613,800
BELL ROGERS TELUS SPRINT T-MOBILE USA VERIZON WIRELESS US CELLULAR AT&T
6,707,000 8,365,000 6,413,000 48,281,000 33,420,000 89,013,000 6,131,000 81,596,000
Source: Mediacells was established in 2004 to assist clients in making more money out of mobile. The company provides accurate and actionable intelligence to the mobile, media, retail, research and information sectors. www.mediacells.com
Mobile Entertainment May 2010 | 37
FAVOURITES
Dougie all over the women
PETER SELLS,
head of mobile development, BBH
The bald icon that is Antony Douglas has moved on from O2, where he was head of content for 37 years. Runner of triathlons, wearer of tight black shirts, lover of women, Dougie ng ensured a huge turn-out at his leavi – ere ywh ever was elf hims man The do. for ted crea ks mas thanks to dozens of face the occasion. How eerie to see his attatched to the thighs of female revellers. Then there were the gimp masks. Memorable night.
WHICH PHONE DO YOU USE NOW ? Nexus One BEST PHONE YOU’VE EVER HAD? Nexus One. Google gave it to me usin g the ‘free’ model. WHAT PHONE WOULD YOU LIKE NEX T? Nexus Two? CURRENT RINGTONE? Banana Splits theme when you call.
Mantel on mobngile the English language
WALLPAPER? Tadpoles. I'm pretty sure they're tadp oles.
While it’s true that mobile is ruini sionally it surprises and making idiots of us all, innit, occa winning author prize er Book Fair, Book on us. At the Lond designed to ure vent new helped launch Ether Books, a pictured here She’s ile. mob ugh thro es stori promote short You should tor. direc rial with Sophia Bartleet, Ether’s edito . zing ama It’s k. Blac nd read Mantel’s Beyo
FAVOURITE APP? Lynx ‘Get in there’ still makes me smile .
Pretty Vacant
MOBILE INTERNET BOOKMARKS? BBC (obviously), yourmuze.fm.
FAVOURITE MOBILE GAME? Peggle.
At Mobcast’s recent state-of-thenation event on mobile books, CTO e Tom Campbell operated the kit whil the did h Lync Tony f chie pany com talking. When Tom was asked to demonstrate the tech on Android he opened up the book library in his own device. The first title to come up? How s. To Turn An Interview Into A Job. Oop
ANYTHING YOU’D PAY FOR ON A MOBILE YOU CAN’T CURRENTLY GET ? A decent battery WHICH CONTENT COMPANY DO YOU MOST ADMIRE? The Guardian. THE WORST IDEA YOU'VE SEEN IN MOBILE? I'm slightly amazed that Bluetooth marketing can still exist.
Memories made of ice even
structible Memory cards are meant to be inde bending, heating, t abou ings warn carry y though man ains this kind disd licly farting, whatever. Sandisk pub 32GB micro new its of ch laun the at and of nonsense, a great been have ld SD it encased cards in ice. Wou did. they but , work ’t story if they didn
MOBILE ENTERTAINMENT SUBSCRIPTIONS UK: £50 EUROPE: £75 REST OF WORLD: £90 Tim Green
Stuart Dredge
Stuart O’Brien
Lisa Foster
Katy Grant
Executive Editor: TIM GREEN Tim.Green@intentmedia.co.uk
Sub-Editor: GEMMA MESSINA Gemma.Messina@intentmedia.co.uk
Production Manager: ABIGAIL FANGER Abigail.Fanger@intentmedia.co.uk
Online Editor: STUART DREDGE Stuart.Dredge@intentmedia.co.uk
Managing Editor: LISA FOSTER Lisa.Foster@intentmedia.co.uk
Subscriptions Manager: HANNAH SHORT Hannah.Short@intentmedia.co.uk
Associate Editor: STUART O’BRIEN Stuart.Obrien@intentmedia.co.uk
Advertising Sales Manager: KATY GRANT Katy.Grant@intentmedia.co.uk
Publisher/Managing Director: STUART DINSEY Stuart.Dinsey@intentmedia.co.uk
Editorial Production Manager: HELEN FRENCH Helen.French@intentmedia.co.uk
Design: JAMES MARTIN James.Martin@intentmedia.co.uk
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© Intent Media 2010. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means without prior permission of the copyright owners. Printed by Pensord Press, NP12 2YA Mobile Entertainment is published 12 times a year by Intent Media ~ Saxon House, 6A St. Andrew Street, Hertford, Herts SG14 1JA, England
Mobile Entertainment magazine – your direct link to the content biz No other B2B mobile content news source hits more eyeballs. Here’s why: Monthly direct-todesk print circ: 8,012 Monthly digital downloads: 2,236 Online uniques: 68,134 (Google Analytics) Email news digest subscribers: 13,869 Need to get your message across? Work with Mobile Entertainment magazine to maximise your exposure and reach all sectors of the industry, using print, online and events. Contact Katy.Grant@intentmedia.co.uk for more details or call +44 (0) 1992 535647
EDITORIAL: +44 (0)1992 535646 ADVERTISING: +44 (0)1992 535647 FAX: +44 (0)1992 535648 38 | May 2010 Mobile Entertainment
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