
1 minute read
Open day at Wrights Hill Fortress
Wellington’s historic Wrights Hill Fortress in Karori will be open for public inspection again from 10am to 4pm on ANZAC Day, Tuesday 25 April.
People are invited to self-guide themselves through the tunnels and gun emplacements.
Advertisement
The walk usually takes about one hour and there may also be a number of guided tours during the day.
People need to bring a torch and wear strong footwear.
Visitors will be able to explore the 620 metres of underground tunnels with a free map and history pamphlet.
They will see the engine room, shell stores, plotting rooms and the huge gun pit where Gun Number 1 used to stand, as well as a replica of the 10 metre-long gun barrel. Also on show will be historic photos, and an assortment of military weapons. A DVD of how a 9.2-inch gun operates will be showing as well.
Access is via Karori Road, Campbell Street, and Wrights Hill Road.
Wrights Hill Fortress was built from 1942 to protect Wellington from Japanese bombardment.
In the early 1960s the guns were cut up for scrap and sold, ironically, to the Japanese.
The World War Two coastal battery first opened to the public in 1989.
Admission is $20 for a family of two adults and three children under 15, or $10 per adult and $5 per child (cash only).
All proceeds go to the continuing restoration of the Fortress. There is limited car parking at the summit of the Hill.
Visitors to the fortress can also enjoy bush walks, picnic sites and panoramic views from the top of the hill.
There will also be a BBQ sausage sizzle and soft drinks on sale.
For more information contact Mike Lee: (04) 476 8593 www.wrightshillfortress. org.nz.