2013 Products
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Building Strong
business relationships by providing effective marketing solutions in the lakes area.
(218) 829-4705 506 James St. • Brainerd, MN 56401
BRAINERD DISPATCH
brainerd dispatch & Echo publishing
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Building Strong
business relationships by providing effective marketing solutions in the lakes area.
At the Brainerd Dispatch and Echo Publishing, our mission is to provide businesses in and around the lakes area effective marketing solutions with our vast array of print and digital media products, and knowledgeable media consultants to help them make the most of their budget. In following our mission statement, the Brainerd Dispatch and Echo Publishing (DE Media) examines each individual account and designs an ideal marketing plan to promote business growth and increase customer reach. DE Media, working as a partner with area businesses, can offer both traditional advertising along with the latest technology advances. Our combined print and digital marketing options help us connect with almost everyone in the lakes area on a weekly, daily and hourly basis. With DE Media, you’re covered when it comes to traditional print advertising as the Dispatch reaches 25,000 readers every day while the Echo Publishing weekly publications – the Lake Country Echo and the Pine River Journal – reach more than 12,000 readers each week. Our three newspapers continue to be a primary source for news and information in the lakes area. Print advertising is also effective with DE Media’s free distribution products as the Echoland-Piper Shopper has a weekly average reach of 21,000 homes from Baxter to Walker while the Neighbors Shopper reaches more than 7,500 non-Dispatch subscribers in the Brainerd/Baxter area and communities to the south. DE Media maintains its status as an online leader in the lakes area as brainerddispatch. com has more than 215,000 unique visitors per month while pineandlakes.com averages 22,000 monthly visitors. Brainerddispatch.com also averages 1.6 million page views per month while pineandlakes.com averages 145,000. A mobile app can bring our products right to your smart phone or IPad to provide an electronic marketing platform. We also offer consulting services that combine all of our online and print products. Contact us and so we can be marketing partners in 2013.
DE
media Dispatch Echo
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
WEEKEND EDITION
SPORTS:
NHRA Championships Continue
1B
PRINT PRODUCTS Serving the Brainerd LakeS area and CentraL MinneSota SinCe 1881
Sunday, August 19, 2012
www.brainerddispatch.com $1.50
Fired up! Racing fuel pours out of Luigi Novelli Top Fuel Dragster Friday night just before the car caught fire while making a run at the Lucas Oil Nationals at Brainerd International Raceway. Novelli was unhurt in the incident. For more photos go to spotted. brainerddispatch.com.
All newsprint display ads are configured by “column inches”
Brainerd Dispatch Columns = Width
BD Video
brainerddispatch.com
Airport commission
rejects manager
finalists By MIKE O’ROURKE mike.orourke@brainerddispatch.com
C
iting the absence of a “wow” reaction, the Brainerd Lakes Regional Airport Commission Friday rejected the two airport manager finalists it interviewed this month. The two candidates were Neil A. Ralston of Colorado Springs, Colo., and Willard Turner of El Centro, Calif. “Neither of them wowed me enough to make an offer at this point,” Brainerd Fire Chief Kevin Stunek, a member of the commission’s airport manager search committee, said. Howard Pihlaja, a retired pilot and a member of the search committee, concurred, stating both candidates had shortcomings. “I would not feel comfortable recommending either of those candidates,” he said. The commission voted unanimously to inform the two finalists they would not be offered a job. Brainerd City Council member Kevin Goedker, an airport commission member, was not at Friday’s meeting. Commission members thanked the search committee for its recommendation and for its work. Commissioner Don Jacobson said he was looking for a strong leader and he “didn’t see that in either one.”
Tabloid Size
1.6875” 3.5” 5.3125” 7.125” 8.9375” 10.75”
InsIde Today
■ Federal judge ■
dismisses challenge
to same-day registration By RENEE RICHARDSON renee.richardson@brainerddispatch.com
A
federal lawsuit regarding voting rights, which named the state and Crow Wing County as defendants, was dismissed Friday. Federal Judge Donovan Frank dismissed the challenge to sameday registration from two conservative groups and seven individuals who contended ineligible voters cast ballots in 2008 and 2010, the Associated Press reported, drawing from a Minnesota Public Radio report. The AP reported Frank’s ruling found no federal laws were broken and the groups failed to unearth misconduct or fully pursue their case in state courts. The plaintiffs filed an appeal Friday to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. Crow Wing County Attorney Don Ryan and Auditor-Treasurer Laureen Borden, representatives of Ramsey County, Minnesota Secretary of State Mark Ritchie and Minnesota Attorney General Lori Swanson, were all named in the lawsuit. Crow Wing and Ramsey
Vol 132-299
Echo Publishing Columns = Width
(in inches)
1 2 3 4 5 6
ost Minnesoprogram. By JESSI PIERCE tan’s summers “It has been so much jessi.pierce @brainerddispatch.com are filled with fun,” said Hansen, who taking a dip into any of set out to raise $12,400 the state’s 10,000 lakes. and achieved more than With all the options available, odds are $11,000 of it through her summer swim. people happen across a different lake or two “I’m actually really sad it’s coming to an throughout the warm months, but it’s rare end. We had so many people and so much support through this all. that number would reach 50. Not for YMCA aquatics coordinator, Jane “It’s truly been a really fun adventure.” Hansen. She can cross off 50 of them in 50 A mission she set out on June 29 to comdays. memorate the Brainerd Lakes YMCA’s 50th Hansen completed her goal of swimming anniversary, Hansen was joined by her friend 50 lakes in 50 days on Friday, hitting the wa- and YMCA member, Margaret Schaefer, who ter at Whipple Beach at 5:30 p.m., in an ef- kayaked alongside her rain or shine. fort to raise money for the YMCA’s aquatics See SWIMMER, Page 14A
50in Lakes 50 Days
See AIRPORT, Page 14A
Broadsheet Size
M
(in inches)
1 2 3 4 5 6
1.50” 3.33” 5.00” 6.75” 8.50” 10.25”
Vol. 41 • ISSUE 38
October 11, 2012
www.pineandl akes.com
75¢
Level 3 sex offender moving to Lake Edward Township
Deaths 5a
counties were named as having people cast ballots in the 2010 general election who were not eligible to vote. Four people, who had their voting rights eliminated with their guardianships, voted in the 2010 election in Crow Wing County. The lawsuit was filed by Minnesota Voters Alliance, Minnesota Freedom Council, Sondra Erickson, Montgomery Jensen, Ron Kaus, Jodi Lyn Nelson, Sharon Stene as guardian and friend for her son James Stene, Richard M. Smisson and Kathleen M. Olson. “We disagree with the opinion,” said Andy Cilek, Minnesota Voters Alliance president, said Friday afternoon, adding the federal venue was the proper place for the issue not the state courts. “It’s our view the judge failed to address our constitutional arguments. We filed for an appeal, a notice of appeal, this afternoon. ... This is a federal court decision so we disagree with the court.” See CHALLENGE, Page 14A
OpiniOn 6a
inside
The Brainerd Dispatch and Echo Publishing offer many different products to help you reach your marketing goal. Print products are the staple of our business and we have a variety to choose from.
NISSWA: She's involved
Christopher Eugene Wheeler
page 2
100 P
Years
Pearl Probasco
earl Probasco rarely slept. Neighbors could see her lights well into the night. No wonder. Her work continued long after her duties in the dairy barn were done. Probasco was born Aug. 18, 1912, seven miles south of Hillman, about 40 miles from Brainerd. Her family reports she was the first white child born in Mt. Morris Township. Her parents, Peter and Emily Markusen, were second generation Norwegians from Wisconsin. As a girl, Probasco worked on the farm, did household chores, cooked, chopped wood, hunted, trapped and, when she could fit it in, went to school. Born with a well-developed work ethic, as a young woman she was already working a cross-cut saw better than any man, according to her father. She married Joy Probasco on June 15, 1932, and they raised four children — Peter, Cleo, Jay and Wayne. Her husband was a school teacher while she had the major role at the farm. It was work she relished. At 99, with just hours to go to reach the 100th birthday, Probasco rested in a chair in her Bethany Good Samaritan apartment. As a reporter thanked her for donating time for an interview, she smiled and shrugged away the See 100 YEARS, Page 11A
COmiCs 1F
spOrts 1B
NISSWA: Concert on tap page 11
Dear abby 7e
SPORTS: A Patriot upset page 18
PEQUOT LAKES CITY COUNCIL
Brown water incidents to be monitored over winter If problem persis ts,
The Crow Wing County Sheriff’s Office announce d the release of a Level 3 sex offender to Lake Edward Township on Thursday, Oct. 11. A community notification meeting was held Tuesday, Oct. 9, Nisswa Communi at the ty Center. Christoph er Eugene Wheeler, 39, was scheduled to be released Thursday from the Departme Corrections. He was nt of to move to the 25000 block of Mud Lake Road in rural Nisswa. According to the sheriff’s office report, Wheeler has a history of sexual conduct with juvenile female victims between ages 10-15. He known to his victims, was and force and threats were used to gain complianc e. Wheeler is 5 feet 5 inches tall with brown hair and brown eyes. The sheriff’s office said the offender is not wanted by police at this time and has served the sentence imposed on him by the court. This notification was not intended to increase fear in the community.
ClassifieD 5e
By RENEE RICHARDSON renee.richardson@brainerddispatch.com
Celebrating
city will take action; utility billing credit offered
by NaNcy Vogt
Family Fun Run
Lisa Martini, an Eagle View Elementa and her daughter s, Maci, 8, and Kelsi,ry School physical education teacher, approached the 6, along with 2K finish line of the second annual Quinn Trottier, 7, at right, Saturday, Oct. 6. For photos at spotted.p more photos and results, see Patriot Family Fun Run on pages 12 and 17. ineandlakes.com. See more
Lake Country Echo two weeks in August. Editor City clerk Sandy Taking a wait-andPeine approach, the Pequot see said some people are underLakes standing; City others are irate Council agreed and upset. Many are buying Tuesday, Oct. 2, to monitor bottled the city’s recurring water. problem “I think it’s a goodwill with brown water over winter before taking the gesture,” Peine said. “These any people have possible action. been putting up with a lot.” As a goodwill gesture to The council realized residents who have the city billing water and sewer, the credit doesn’t solve council the problem. agreed to offer them It’s believed that percent utility billing a 50 concredit struction for September. at Pequot School and high water Lakes “Obviously the usage should do something city in the city this summer led Mike Loven, public ,” said to the appearance of brown, works rusty supervisor. “My recommen water. The city flushed - hydrants, dation is at least 50 percent seemed but brown water of the water and to resurge every charges for a month. sewer seven days. Some It showed up again people are being after asked to an industrial run their water for an firefighter park fire where extended period.” s used a lot of water from a hydrant. The utility billing credit The would mean a one-time years cause: In the 40 $30-$40 savings for about have that the city didn’t 340 customers, or a water treatment plant, an esti- iron mated $22,960 city and manganese matericost. City staff have received al that is natural in the environment coated 150 brown water complaint s the distributio the pipes in since mid-August, n system, and when started keeping track. they high water use has caused That that material doesn’t include complaint to break loose s and float in received in July and the water main. the first See WATER, Page 6A
Despite drizzle, fire danger rem ains high in are Residents urged a to be careful Photo by NaNcy Vogt
by NaNcy Vogt
Lake Country Echo Editor
Temperatures have cooled, skies have clouded and last week’s winds have died down, but the area wildfire danger remains high. “Other than the fact that it has cooled down it hasn’t changed much because we haven’t had any measurable rain since October,” said Mark the first of area DNR fire programMortensen, forester. “The last time we had signifi-
cant rain was Sept. 21, when had not quite one-tenth of an inch in Brainerd,” he said. “We had anything significan haven’t to a quarter inch since t or close Sept. 7.” What the area needs, Mortensen said, is a good, extended rain to alleviate dry conditions . Light rain is fine, as long as it lasts a couple of hours to penetrate the ground
Circulation: Brainerd Dispatch Daily Circulation averages 12,000 Brainerd Dispatch Sunday Circulation averages 17,000 Lake Country Echo Weekly Circulation averages 3,630 Pine River Journal Weekly Circulation averages 1,500 Echoland-Piper Shopper Weekly Circulation averages 21,000
“We still could have some serious fire conditions if we have the cover and soak in. right conditions,” Mortensen said. A short, hard rain Residents are still that comes to being urged down so fast that take precautions, it and limitasurfaces won’t help just runs off tions are in place on campfires and dampen fire danger. open burning in Crow Wing, Cass and other 41 other Until the area gets counties. that needed rain, the wind, sun “We want people and ity can still combine low humid- what the regulation to be aware of s are and abide to fuel fires, even with cooler temperatu by them,” Mortensen said. res and gray days. Campfires are allowed, but rules require that they be no more
than three feet in diameter and height, and five feet around the campfire of space cleared of all combustib must be le materials.
“Absolutely make is dead cold before sure that fire you leave,” Mortensen said, telling that even if they don’t residents see smoke or flames, they must ensure embers and ashes are cold. See FIRE, Page
6A
52 copies at newsstand price is $39 per year. Save up to $10 per year by subscribing.
* Each publication reaches a different area with some overlap.
Inserts: We can print and distribute single sheet and tab insertions. Single sheets range in size from 4.25” x 11” to 11” x 17”.
DE
media Dispatch Echo
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
PRINT - banner ads
Banner ads are available on several front pages - the main news page and several other sections. All but the banner on the Obituary page are process color. Brainerd Dispatch Sunday 6x2 (10.75” x 2”)
$240
Sunday Outdoors 6x2 (10.75” x 2”)
$200
Weekdays 6x2 (10.75” x 2”)
$200
Obituary* 5x2 (8.938” x 2”)
$200
Sunday Business 6x2 (10.75” x 2”)
$200
Sunday Business 6x5 (10.75” x 5”)
$500
Sports Page 6x2 (10.75” x 2”)
$200
Wednesday Neighbors 6x2 (10.75” x 2”)
$200
Thursday Entertainment 6x2 (10.75” x 2”)
$200
Thursday Auto 6x2 (10.75” x 2”)
$200
Echo Publishing Lake Country Echo 5x1 (10.25” x 1”) Pine River Journal 5x1 (10.25” x 1”)
$100 $75
* Obituary banner ads have special discount packages: 26 or 52 week commitment: 25% discount
6x3 and 6x4 Banners are also available on Sunday Outdoors, Business, Sports, Neighbors, Entertainment and Auto. Deadline: Same as display ads
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
PRint - neighbors
CHILD IN NEED Page 3N
Neighbors
Postal Customer ECR WSS
Brainerd dispatch
www.brainerddispatch.com
PRSRT STD U.S. POSTAGE PAID BRAINERD, MN PERMIT NO. 250
Wednesday, december 5, 2012
• Publishes Wednesdays in the Brainerd Dispatch and Neighbors Weekend Edition on Fridays. • Spotlights outlying neighborhoods and reader submitted photos. • Total print distribution: 19,250
Tony Wenzel of Randall writes: “Here is a recent photo of a Green Head coming in for a landing, after the snow and bitter cold.” Do you have a recent scenic picture that shows the beauty of the lakes area? Send it to neighbors@brainerddispatch.com for possible publication in the Neighbors section. Be sure to include your name, where you are from, a brief description of the photo and when and where it was taken.
L
Little Falls gains a new Eagle Scout
ITTLE FALLS — Andrew Borash, of Boy Scout Troop 51, recently earned the rank of Eagle Scout. Eagle Scout is the highest rank attainable in the Boy Scouts of America — a feat that has been accomplished by only 42 young men in Troop 51’s 77-year history. Borash is the 14-year-old son of Brenda and Jason Borash of Little Falls and is currently in eighth grade at Mary of Lourdes Middle School. Borash became a Cub Scout in September 2005 as a Tiger Cub, continuing through the ranks as a Bobcat, Wolf, Bear and Webelo. In May of 2010, at age 11, Andrew crossed over into the Boy Scout program to re-activate Troop 51 along with several other Scouts. Andrew has served in multiple leadership positions including patrol leader, historian, senior patrol leader and his current position of quartermaster. He was inducted into the Order of the Arrow this fall. Scouting officials said becoming an Eagle Scout is a long and arduous process, requiring the Scout to earn a minimum of 21 merit badges, demonstrate strong Scout spirit, leadership and a dedication to service. The Eagle Scout candidate must also design,
manage and carry out a community service project. For his project, Borash originally planned on cleaning and edging around veterans’ footstones in three local cemeteries (Our Lady of Lourdes, Holy Family, and Holy Trinity). After visiting the sites, he decided that he wanted to do all of the footstones in each cemetery. He also committed to cleaning the concrete rows for the headstones and raise any sunken footstones to their original height. Borash’s family, friends and fellow Scouts from Troop 51 and Troop 33 were recruited to help him with this project. After the first weekend of work, when it became evident that it would take more time than planned to finish the project, Borash didn’t give up. He even celebrated his 14th birthday with a cake in Holy Family cemetery while working. After three weeks of hard work in the steamy July and August weather, a total of 1,255 footstones were cleaned, edged and raised. Twenty-five concrete rows were also edged and cleaned. A total of 680 1/2 hours were spent working on this service project. Borash thanked all of the family, friends and Scouts who helped him with his Eagle Scout project.
• Included in the pricing is our extended weekend edition the third Friday of each month to reach over 4,800 more households!
• Submitted photo
Andrew Borash recently earned the rank of Eagle Scout. He is the 14-year\nold son of Brenda and Jason Borash of Little Falls.
pets of the week
Provided by
H.A.R.T. ■ Layla and Lola are four months old who are very
playful and do well with dogs, cats and kids. They like to cuddle and sleep with people and dogs. Layla likes to carry her toys around.
Neighbors in Business Every week the Brainerd Dispatch publishes a special feature in our Neighbors section on Wednesday to spotlight our outlying communities. It also appears in our Neighbors Weekend Edition on Fridays. Format and specifications are the same as the Brainerd Dispatch, ads are Black and White. (13 Week Commitment) 2 col. x 4” ad $60 per week 2 col. x 8” ad $110 per week Layla & Lola
■ Piper is a Shepherd mix that is full of life and will be an adorable pet. He knows sit, shake and lay down. He keeps his kennel clean and loves to be around people. He is a very smart guy and can learn so much more with some treats and practice. ■ For more information on these or other adoptable pets, visit www.hartpets.org or stop by the shelter.
Piper
Open Rate: $14.00 (BW) DVContract $2,500 $5,000 $10,000 $15,000 $20,000 $25,000 $40,000 $50,000 $60,000 $75,000 $100,000 $150,000 $200,000
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media Dispatch Echo
Discount 11% 13% 15% 17% 19% 21% 23% 25% 27% 29% 31% 33% 35%
BW Rate $12.46 $12.18 $11.90 $11.62 $11.34 $11.06 $10.78 $10.50 $10.22 $9.94 $9.96 $9.38 $9.10
Color Charges Per Column Inch are as follows: • Contract Rate - $2.90 PCI • Non-Contract Rate - $3.60 PCI
Copy/Space Deadline: Mondays at 10:00am
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
ENTERTAINMENT OPTIONS
• Thursday’s Dining and Entertainment Guide is the place to be to promote your event, expo, specials, you name it! Brainerd Dispatch
$75
• 3x3.5 (5.3125” x 3.5”) Full Color ad • Reach over 12,000 homes Echoland-Piper Shopper
Open Rate
June 25, 2012
Page
ECHOLAND-PIPER SHOPPER
3A
• Reach over 21,000 homes • Choose your size *see rate card for pricing details Page
4A
ECHOLAND-PIPER SHOPPER
June 25, 2012
Brainerd Dispatch and Echoland-Piper Shopper COMBINE AND SAVE June 25, 2012
ECHOLAND-PIPER SHOPPER
Page
5A
Run any 3x3.5” full color ad in both the Brainerd Dispatch and Echoland-Piper Shopper for only $175 • Reach over 30,000 households!
* Echoland-Piper Shopper ad scales down to a 5” x 3” ad
Lakes Area D&E App Add-Ons (will launch March 2013) • Business Directory Listing $10/month (with 1 year contract) *includes mapping and link back to website • Coupon/Specials $25/month * See Discover Coupons flyer for even more promotional opportunities
Copy/Space Deadline: Tuesdays at Noon
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media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
PRINT - early bird
Let’s partner together to reach over 80% of the Lakes Area. Our print product reaches over 25,000 readers daily, while our website reachers over 215,000 unique visitors each month.
e v a S r ove ! 65%
For new and small business owners: Display ads in Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday’s paper Reach over 25,000 readers daily
Early Bird Rate Full Page $450 Half Page $250 Quarter Page $150
With Color $705 $385 $225
Savings of $1235* $635* $292* *Savings off of black and white price.
In addition: receive special discounts on many other Dispatch products throughout the coming year, including internet advertising. Contact your marketing consultant to see if you qualify! (with annual contract)
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
PRINT - Premium Position
From Baxter to Walker, the area’s largest shopper
Find the Pine River Family Market Insert Inside! (Select Shoppers)
volume 38 • issue 32
Echoland - Piper
shopper
Pr srt std U.s. Postage paid Permit No. 323 Brainerd, MN 56401 ecr wss Postal customer
P.O. Box 974 Brainerd, MN 56401 800.432.3703
www.echolandshopper.com
monday, deCemBeR 31 to sunday, JanuaRy 6, 2012
CopyRight 2012
Three premium positions are available in the Echoland-Piper Shopper. Rates: Shopper A Front Page 1/4 Page Process
$360/week
Shopper A Section Page 2 & 3 1/4 Page Process
$285/week
Shopper B Front Page (2nd section) 1/4 Page Process
$300/week
Other special positions/products within the Echoland-Piper Shopper, Pequot Lakes Echo and Pine River Journal
TO PLACE AN AD, CALL 218-855-5898 OR 800-432-3703
Service Directory *13 week commitment required Shopper 2” ad 4” ad
$13.65/issue $26.65/issue
LCE or PRJ 2” ad 4” ad
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SERVICE DIRECTORY
August 13, 2012
ECHOLAND-PIPER SHOPPER
Advertise now by calling 218-568-8521 pineandlakes.com
An expanding online presence and 117 years of journalism. I like that about my hometown newspapers. To subscribe or place a classified ad, call 855-5898 or 218-855-5897.
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media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
Page 7B
Discover Racks
A new way to distribute your promotional materials 1. Pick your locations that best target your market 2. Determine the size of your material and a monthly rate 3. Compute your subscription fee
2013 Monthly Subscription Rate Table (Per Delivery Rack Locations, Per Month)
Standard (tri-fold) up to 4” wide
Half Sheet (bi-fold) up to 6” wide
Full Size (portrait) up to 9” wide
Oversize (landscape) up to 14” wide
Size/Style
Standard
Half Sheet
Full Size
Oversize
3 Months
$4.50
$5.50
$6.50
$7.00
6 Months
$3.50
$4.50
$5.50
$6.00
12 Months
$3.00
$4.00
$4.50
$5.00
* Subscription fees must be paid prior to the beginning of the month(s) service. Faliure to do so will result in advertising materials being removed from distribution. Advertiser’s materials will be restored to distribution upon receipt of payment. Materials will be available for pickup upon contract end or termination. Either party my terminate this agreement at the end of the service description. We reserve the right to refuse service.
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media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
ONLINE PRODUCTS
Our online traffic has almost doubled over the past year. What does that mean? If you aren’t using online advertising, you are missing out on a huge audience!
To see our website click or go to the link below: www.BrainerdDispatch.com
Numbers and Demographics of BrainerdDispatch.com: More than 4,000 visitors visit our site every day, viewing over 60,000 pages/day. We average more than 215,000 unique visitors and 1.7 million page views per month. 43% of users are female 57% are male. 67% of users are between the ages of 25-54. 83% of users are non-subscribers to the Brainerd Dispatch.
Numbers and Demographics of PineAndLakes.com: Averaging 145,000 page views per month 22,000 unique visitors a month on average “Spotted” gallery is our number 1 viewed page
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To see our website click or go to the link below: www.PineAndLakes.com
Every month for the past 14 months, we have had page views from all 50 states
media Dispatch Echo
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
online - leaderboard & wow
Leaderboard Ad A leaderboard ad appears on the top or bottom of the page. They are in a rotation with other leaderboard ads. We can customize the number of impressions over any time frame. • Specifications: 728x90 pixels
WOW Ad Options A Single WOW ad appears in the content of all local story pages or in the content of the site in rotation with other WOW/video ads. • Specifications: 300x250 pixels A Double WOW ad appears in the content of the site in rotation with other double WOWs and Impacts. • Specifications: 300x600 pixels
To see our samples of online ads click or go to the links below: www.BrainerdDispatch.com www.PineAndLakes.com
*See rate card for pricing.
Camera Ready Artwork Specs: • 72 DPI • 30K Max • HTML & Flash Compatible
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• GIF or JPG preferred
media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
online - receive 100% of daily traffic
Corner Peel Attract visitors to your site! These ads are non-intrusive and extremely eye-catching. Positioned in the right corner of the screen. Corner peels expand when a user hovers over it. • Specifications: 500x500 pixels
Post-It Online popup post-it ad appears over the home page to every visitor on their first impression of the day. Ad then glides into a position near the top of the home page the remainder of the day. Only one advertiser per day can have this spot. • Specifications: 306x257 pixels
Sliding Billboard The Billboard temporarily “pushes” content down to reveal a large ad format. These ads are memorable. Once your message appears, it then converts into a pencil sized ad for constant exposure. • Specifications: Full Size - 950x300 pixels Pencil Ad Size - 950x30 pixels
*See rate card for pricing.
Camera Ready Artwork Specs: • 72 DPI • 30K Max • HTML & Flash Compatible • GIF or JPG preferred
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media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
ONline - engine 212
Ready to meet your new customers? REACH YOUR REAL AUDIENCE. RIGHT NOW. TO ACHIEVE YOUR GOALS. • Internet search has changed shouldn’t your audience targeting as well? Targeted Display Ads
2/3 of online users have taken action based on an online ad No Action Taken, 37%
Took Action, 63%
Sample of demo data • Gender •Age •Household income • Children • Household size • Race • Language
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media Dispatch Echo
• Traditional Zip Targeting 137 Zip Codes • Simpli.fi Geo Block Targeting Over 9,000 Geo Blocks
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
Brainerd Dispatch ipad advertising
Interstitials:
Only 5 advertising spots Get 20% share of voice with your ad in our official iPad app.
These ads are displayed in between pages in the app.
Clickable - link to your website or ad! Full Color Incredible Impact Vertical & horizontal versions for easy viewing • Specifications: 1024x768 & 768x1024 pixels
Banners:
Only 5 advertising spots Get 20% share of voice with your ad in our official iPad app.
These ads are displayed within articles in the app. Each time someone opens the article, these ads are shown.
Clickable - link to your website or ad! Full Color Great Visibility • Specifications: 728x90 pixels
*See rate card for pricing.
Camera Ready Artwork Specs: • 72 DPI • 30K Max • HTML & Flash Compatible • GIF or JPG preferred
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
mobile apps
Print Service Directory:
$120/month**
App Package Includes:
$189/month**
• Listing with logo and basic information in the Brainerd Dispatch, Echoland-Piper Shopper, Lake Country Echo and Pine River Journal • Daily classified line listing in either the Brainerd Dispatch or Echo Products • Online classified listing
• All of the above + • QR Code link in print service directory listing • Building of mobile web app and month to month maintenance* • National search database (through local.brainerddispatch.com) • Weblink to the network of other community apps on the myAccess program *1 content update per week, 6 month overhaul review ** 6 month contract required
Custom features and functions allow for a product that is tailored to your business or organization. Your app can be custom tailored to incorporate your calendar, YouTube channel, Facebook & Twitter, coupon specials & more
Mobile App development requires a 2-week turnaround To preview an app try our myAccess Garage Sales app, click or go to: http://brainerddispatch.com/ garagesales
3 Month Contract Rates Print Service Directory App Package
$150/month $229/month (shown actual size)
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
daily deals
Avg Daily Print Readers: 27,600 Avg Daily Website Visitors: 4,000 Avg Daily Page Views: 50,000 Avg Daily pages viewed by user: 6.25 Current Deal E-mail subscribers: 22,000
A new place for locals to learn about Brainerd area services and money-saving offers.
Deals are promoted in print, online, e-mail and through social media (Facebook and Twitter)... a tremendous reach. There is NO up-front investment. No risk to the advertiser, newspaper or consumer.
HOW IT WORKS Step 1: Decide on your DAILY DEAL Work with our consultants to structure your deal for optimum sales and profit. Step 2: We promote it every day in a fixed print ad in the Brainerd Dispatch and on all pages of BrainerdDispatch.com. Users can also sign up to receive a DAILY DEAL e-mail alert. Step 3: Built-in social media and e-mail buttons help promote the DAILY DEAL. A $10 referral bonus (Deal Bucks) helps the offer spread exponentially. Step 4: The no-risk reward. The DAILY DEAL is a no-risk promotional program that can potentially drive crowds of people to your door. Step 5: Show me the money. After the deal closes, you receive a complete order sales report, which details the names, e-mail addresses of buyers, as well as unique voucher codes. Your business will receive a check for the net sales proceeds.
To view the Daily Deals page click or go to:
DE
http://dailydeals.brainerddispatch.com/engine/Splash. aspx?contestid=70392
media Dispatch Echo
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
online - interstitial, email & video
Interstitial Ad An Interstitial ad is displayed between 2 pages of the website. If a user clicks on obits for example, the interstitial ad is shown and then the user is taken to the obits section. Interstitials will run daily and there are limited spots available. • Specifications: 500x500 pixels
Email Blasts Reach over 19,000 registered users with an average 85% open rate. • Specifications: 700x900 pixels
Video Page Sponsorship All same-sized ads rotate evenly Ads are Clickable to direct viewer to a web link or ad 20% Share of voice with all other ads shown on the video page 3 month minimum on all contracts • Specifications: 728x90 pixels
See a Sideline View show, click or go to: http://brainerddispatch.com/sports
or 300x250 pixels
Sideline View
Sideline View Sport Show Sponsorship Athlete of the week sponsor
“Athlete of the week brought to you by: ______________” Add a prop Provide apparel promoting your business for Mike and Jeremy to wear during the show. Acceptable pieces: outerwear, shirts, hats (no obscene wording, images or material) Includes on air “thank you” for apparel
DE
media Dispatch Echo
*See rate card for pricing.
Camera Ready Artwork Specs: • 72 DPI • 30K Max • HTML & Flash Compatible • GIF or JPG preferred
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
autos
Brainerd dispatch -orecholand-piper shopper Up North Autos • 3x6 full color print ad • Online promotions 24/7 on www.upnorthautos.com • Full Dealer Inventory • New and Used Vehicles * See your marketing consultant for pricing and details
Auto Week Section Front Page 1/2 page
$499
Full page
$799
Full color - includes promotional advertorial on top half of page
Service Advertising 3x3 Full Color
$50
echoland-piper shopper Open Rate
DE
media Dispatch Echo
$8/pci
Space/Copy Deadline
Final Ad Approval
Tuesday’s - 2pm
Wednesday’s - 2pm
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
autos
TO PLACE AN AD, CALL 218-855-5898 OR 800-432-3703
August 20, 2012
ECHOLAND-PIPER SHOPPER
Echoland - Piper
SECOND SECTION
SHOPPER
Brainerd dispatch Week-Day/Sunday Options (includes color) 1/4 Page 1/2 Page
Daily $250 $500
Sunday $300 $600
3/4 Page
$750
$900
Full Page
$1,000
$1,200
* Includes 2,000 ROS online WOW ad impressions * Includes 3,000 ROS online WOW ad impressions * Includes 4,000 ROS online WOW ad impressions
Brainerd Dispatch and Echoland-Piper Shopper COMBINE AND SAVE Choose any Weekday or Sunday Brainerd Dispatch option and pick up your ad in the Echoland-Piper Shopper for $5/pci * Rates apply for participation in Up North Autos Program.
See our online autos page, click or go to: http://autos.upnorthautos.com
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Reminant 6x2
$60
Space/Copy Deadline
Final Ad Approval
Tuesday’s - 2pm
Wednesday’s - 2pm
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
Page 1B
real estate
New look and sizes for Open Houses and Featured Listings. Combine and save for maximum reach!
Brainerd Dispatch Open House- 3x4.5 Featured Listing- 2x2.5 Combo Discount
$100 $50 $125
Open Rates: 1/8 page 1/4 page 1/2 page Full page
$125 $250 $500 $1,000
Echoland-Piper Shopper Open House- 3x4 Featured Listing- 2x2 Combo Discount
$100 $50 $125
Open Rates: $5 per column inch + color
See our online Real Estate page, click or go to: http://homes.brainerddispatch.com/
Brainerd Dispatch and Echoland-Piper Shopper Combine and Save 25% Discount Open House • BD 3x4.5, ECP 3x4 Featured Listing • BD 2x2.5, ECP 2x2 Ultimate Bundle • All of the above
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Space/Copy Deadline
Final Ad Approval
Wednesdays - Noon
Thursdays - Noon
$150 $75 $225
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
real estate extras
Brainerd Dispatch New on the Market
$89/Week
Commercial Listing
$120/Week
Apartment Living
$150/Month
6x2 full color ad with week-long rotating online WOW ad on www.upnorthhomefinder.com * 3 ad styles to choose from
3x4 full color prime placement on the bottom of the Sunday Business page with week-long rotating online WOW ad on www.upnorthhomefinder.com 3x5 full color ad printing on the 3rd Friday of each month with month-long rotating online banner ad on www.upnorthhomefinder.com
Echoland-Piper Shopper New on the Market
$89/Week
6x2 full color ad with week-long rotating online WOW ad on www.upnorthhomefinder.com * 3 ad styles to choose from
Lake Country Echo Commercial Listing
$90/Week
3x3.5 prime placement B&W ad on the bottom of the Business page in the Pequot Lakes’ Lake Country Echo with week-long rotating online WOW ad on www.upnorthhomefinder.com
Online Only Leaderboard with Search Engine
$500/Month
Tile Ad
$50/Month
Month-long top page leaderboard on www.upnorthhomefinder.com * Requires a 6+ month contract. Month-long right rail tile ad on www.upnorthhomefinder.com
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Space/Copy Deadline
Final Ad Approval
Wednesdays - Noon
Thursdays - Noon
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
Recruitment
Recruitment:
TO
PLAC E
AN
upn orth
AD,
CALL
JOB find
8555898
er.c om
JOBS
We are the lakes area’s #1 source for local employment ads. Our Premium Placement recruitment advertising includes a full color Display ad, a boxed line ad, an online leaderboard, and a month-long posting on Monster.com
John Benn ett
ADVANCED
• 218-8 55-58
26 • john. benn
ett@braine
rddispatch
PRACTICE
NURSES Planned Parenthood healthca re services MN, ND, SD, the region’s has several leading provider positions Position available and for Advance of reproductive candidate’s hours flexible d Practice any preferen Nurses! and full benefits ce. Possibil of these opening at 20+ hours ities for full-time s can be combine d dependi or part-tim per week! ng e Mileage and travel positions. Compet on itive pay time reimbur sement availabl e. These APN positions under the will provide Fax 651-69 scope of reproductive clinical services Parenthood PPMNS, 6-5553 healthca patients. HR re to Planned in Women Current 1965 Ford Dept RN license ’s Health NP, Family & NP certifi Pkwy Masters St. Paul, and reprodu NP, or CNM cation MN 55116 ctive health is required care experien www.ppmns.o . ce preferre rg jobs@ d.
POS T
CAREER
OPPORT
UNITIES
More than Job It’s a Calaling NA/R’s
rse Needed
Various Shifts - Part-tim 32-56 hrs. per pay period.e
LPN’s
Various Shifts - Part-tim 32-56 hrs. per pay period.e
Contact Human Resource information s for more on our opportun ities at: 804 Wright St. Brainerd Phone: 218-829MN 1407
To Apply:
to: 1-866 -299-
0884
Online applicati
ons
may be submitte www.good-sam d to: .com
AA/EOE,
Causal,
grea t gor
Current Days and Weeken preferredMN License if d LPN applican self-mot , Excellent commun t, Clinic ivated, Compute ication skills, nursing r exp. required multi-tas
LPN/CMA-
Causal,
Garrison
Days and
Clinic
exp. king ability,
.
Lookin owner/operag for a responsible tor with a 10 years’ minimum experi of smaller local ence to sign on with a Minnesota company.
Long haul -out and back NO EAST COAST
e
CONTACT:
1-888-900-3934
self-mot t commun t, Clinic Visit our ivated, Compute ication skills, nursing exp. website Perioperativ r exp. required details and for multi-tas king ability, to apply position . e RN on-line applicati .5 or 40hrs using our a ppp. Current www.Riverwoo on system at MN License; Days details and nursing dHealthc to apply OR ACLS on-line application experien EMAIL: using are.com our hr@rhhc.s ce desired.required. One isunet.org
or Two of www.Riverwood system at Angie Kjelstrom perioper OR EMAIL: ative Healthcare Riverwo , SR .com hr@rhhc.sisu Direct: od Healthca Human Resourc net.org (218)927 re Center es Generali EOE/AA -5568 st iverwo
“ We take your pers onalhealth... ly ”
lthcar e.com
2) 669-99
38
POSITION AVAILAB S LE
Workplac
MORE
ADDRESS:
200 Bunker Hill Drive Aitkin, MN 56431
218-927-5568
www.R
odhea
Scott (61
| Drug Free
TO LEARN
Riverwood Human Resources Riverwood Support Services 25 Fifth Street SW, Aitkin MAILING
Current MN License Weekend preferred , Excellen if LPN applican
Owner/Operator
Please call
M/F/V/H
oppo rtuni ties
in a
work envi ronm LPN/CMA - McGre ent
We can help your business reach a local audience of 40,000+ homes between Little Falls and Walker when you choose our Brainerd Dispatch and Echoland-Piper Shopper Combine and Save option.
care facility .
NOW
AVAILAB • Registered LE Nursing Assista AT CRMC • Student Dietary Aide nt • Director • Staff Pharma of Radiolo • Senior Housin cist gy g Assista • RN – Home Health • Certified Medical Assistant (must be NA/R to apply) nt (Longv ille Lakes Clinic)
Registered Nu
NOW HIRING!
FIND
To learn more
We are an accepting established Home Health Care applications Agency for a part current The positio time Registe n red Nurse. ly and surroun is for PCA Superv ision ding commu client’s home. nities. All working in the Braine Flexible rd week, and schedule visits are done on paid mileag that you site set, 10 hours at the e. per
Fax resum e
1E
Visit: www.cuabout these careers eMail: careers@yunamed.org cuyunam ed.org
AA/EEO
6-8406
SEA RCH
2011
It’s not yo ur typical health car e job. this isn’t your typical health
ppmns.org
866-35
Sunday, March 20,
Then again,
36 hrs/wk 13 hrs/wk in St. Cloud in Brainer d
&
.com
EOE/AA
Social Ser
vice Dire ctor
Nursing Oppo
rtunities for RNs, LPNs, and Pine River MAs Clinic Speci Phlebotom alist ist • Sono Director graph of Health Information er Services
Salary Range: Grade 42, Status: Full starting salary time with is DOQ benefits
Resumes submitte d without an applicat ion will not be consider ed. For Applicat ion Material Morrison County Adminiss Contact: Attn: Barb trator’s Office 213 SE 1st Avenue Little Falls, MN (320) 632-029 56345 (320) 632-029 9 (Voice) 4 (Fax) for an Electroni c Applicat Description ion & Job go Opportunities to Employment at:
Description The Social of Responsibilities: Services Director is the overall responsible planning and evaluatio , delivery, for administration, n of Agency and the program
We offer a compet and benefi itive compen t package for part-tim sation e
assigned
Qualifications: Minimum
position St. Joseph s too! ’s Medica 523 N. 3rd l Center, Street, Brainer d, MN 56401
s, services,
staff.
requirem ents include degree, experien bachelor ce working management s’ in upperin the human and at least five years overallservices field experien ce. supervisory
Learn more or apply at www.E online ssentia Health.org
Application 4:30PM • Deadline March 25th
AA/EEO
www.co.morr
ison.mn.us
MORRISO N COUNTY Little Falls , MN
Online leaderboard
Tile ad
See our online Employment page, click or go to: http://jobs.brainerddispatch.com/
Employment Extra:
TO
PLAC E
AN
AD,
up u p no rth
CALL
JO Bfi nd
855-5 898
er. co m
EMPLO YMENT EXTR
The Employment Extra has an extented print circulation of 54,000+. Extended coverage in the Aitkin Independent Age, Brainerd Dispatch Neighbors Weekend Edition, Crosby Courier, Echoland-Piper Shopper, and Staples World. *This section comes out once a month.
HIRING
PO ST
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Only Locally Owned
6th Street,
& Operat ed
Brainerd,
Staffing
MN 5640
1
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l:
Water Te sters Ne eded
Because of drinking, wethe growing concern about the wate are acce r we are water in the pting applications Full training Brainerd and surroun for people to test provided. $1,0 ding 00 HIRING areas. Desire BONUS. important to succeed more than age or Future Man experience. agement Posi tions Available For inte . rvie
. Ask for Mr. Hut at 800-45 0-1212 or macher 218-346-7
Tile Ad 3 Month Commitment
$75/Month $50/Month
WOW Ad 3 Month Commitment
$200/Month $150/Month
Applicatio n Deadline 4:30PM • March 25th
r
Resumes subm an application itted without will not be considered. For Application Morrison Count Materials Contact: y Administrato Attn: Barb r’s Office 213 SE 1st Avenue Little Falls, MN 56345 (320) 632-0 299 (Voice ) (320) 632-0 294 (Fax) for an Electro nic Application Description & Job go to Emplo Opportuniti yment es at:
www.co.m orriso
n.mn.us
MORRISO N CO Little Falls, UNTY MN
* Positions rotate. Specs: 125x125 pixels
TECHNIC
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873
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d.org careers@c uyunamed .org
QUALITY
ment call
Salary Range Status: Full : Grade 42, starting salary is DOQ time with benefi ts Description of Responsibili The Social Services Direct ties: the overall or is respo planning, delivery, adminnsible for and evalua tion and the assign of Agency programs, istration, services, ed staff. Qualification s: Minimum requiremen ts include degree, experience bachelors’ manageme working in nt and at least in the human servic upperes field experience. five years overall supervisory
ITIES NOW AVAIL
IAN 2ND SHIFT
Magn Quality Depa um Machining is taking applications CMM opera rtment for a Techn for an ician calipers, boretion and use of a variet (Level 2). Position opening in our requiremen y of inspe gauges and ction tools ts to includ thread in inspection plugs/ rings. 1-2 years to include micrometer e Those candi techniques s, or equivalent dates intere and proce experience sted meet the dures. qualification in applying for this position and s should subm feel that Pay Scale it an applic Excellent ation for review they working condi $12.24 to $16.15 . D.O.Q. tions, Medic al Benefits, 401k availa If interested, ble. please or on line www.mag apply in person nummachin ing.com Mail resum e to addre ss below . 20959 State Hwy 6 Deer Ph: 218-5 wood, MN 34-3552 56444 Fax: 218-5 34-3428
w appoint
Social Servi
isn’t your typi cal health
OPPO RTUN
ABLE AT • Regi CRMC • Director stered Nursing Assi stant • Senior Hous of Radiology • RN – Home Heal ing Assi • Certified th Medical Assistant (must be NA/R to stant (Lon gville Lake apply) s Clinic) To learn more abou Visit: www.cuyu t these careers eMai name
Appl Ap ply y at: at:
Brainerd’s
SE AR CH
It’s not your health caretypical job. The
–MONDA Y ONLY– March th 10a.m. un 14 til 4p.m
Online Only Options
26
FOR THE FOLLOW
ING POS •S ITIONS: Sea eaffoo ood d Proces sing • Assista nt Printin g Press • Welde Operator r Mig/Ti g • 5 Axis CNC Pro grammer • House keeper p s • Front De sk • Invoicing Auditor Clerk Forr more Fo more infor iinf nfor
415 South
Machinin
g, Inc.
Pequot Lakes
Schools
KINDERG ARTEN TE ACHER
Pequot Lake for a long s Schools is acce TEACHER -term substitute pting applications KINDERGAR beg of the 201 inning mid-Apr il, for the TEN 0-2011 scho balance licensure ol yea required required. A back r. Appropriate grou prior to hire letter of . Apply by nd check is interest, submitt resu transcrip ts, and a me, references, ing a college copy of you teaching license to: r valid MN Don Lenzen, Application Eagle View Principal, Deadline: Elementar y 30805 Olso March 21, 2011 Pequ n Street ot Lakes MN 56472.
RN- HOM
* Static Ad. Specs: 300x250 pixels
E CARE/ HOSP
FT; 80 hours ICE / Weeknight pay period /weekend Current MN rotation req RN + exp Deadline: req March 17, 2011
CARE VAN
DRIV
ER PT; variable shifts On-call shifts Current CPR, required First Aid & Deadline: March 18, STS Cert req 2011
CERTIFIED
RESIDENT
ASSISTANT
PT; 40-48 hours/ pay period PM shifts/ weekend rotation req Current MN CNA cert Experience req preferred Must be 18 years of age
(CRA)
As a growi ng health care system our emplo , we offer yees a positiv e work enviro competitive nment, pay and benefits includ ing: • Flexible Time Off Plan • Health, Life & Denta l Insurance • Employer 401K Contr ibutions • Benefit Options for PT Emplo • Employee yees Health and Wellness • Please benefits review our
Benefits Summ the Lakew ood Healt ary on h system for more website details.
For detailed inform applicatio ation and on-lin e n plea www.lake woodhealt se visit: hsystem.c om AA/EOE
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Join our excit ing team of We seek appli sales and conf ce plann • Sales Spe cants for the followingeren positions ing! cialist • Co Both positions nference Pla directly assis Stron t nner communicag computer skills, attenour conference and day-g tion skills are tion to detai roup guest clients. Previ required to work withl, planning, and positive s. ous hospitality the public and experience Pick up is preferred.our business an applica tion at our on-line at ruttge front des rs.com, k, app or send Ruttger’s a resume ly P.O. Box 400, Bay Lake Lodge to Deer wood, MN 56444 d 5 miles southAttn: HR of Deerwood on Hwy 6
We are locate
and Bay Lake.
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
13, 2011
A
Jo hn Be nn ett • 218-8 55 -58
NOW
Sunday, Marc h
FIN D
1E
recruitment
Brainerd Dispatch Premium Placement 3x4 3x8
Employment Extra
$275 $425
3x4 3x8
$375 $525
Includes full color Sunday print ad, Monday through Friday boxed line ad, week-long online leaderboard and a month-long posting on Monster.com * Agency/National Fee is an additional $50 * See Employment Extra extended circulation details on previous page.
2013 Employment Extra Dates: Jan. 13 Feb. 10 March 10
Open Rate Sunday Daily
April 14 May 12 June 16
July 14 Aug. 11 Sept. 15
Employment Extra Open Rate 2x4 $336
$18.50/pci $15.00/pci
Echoland-Piper Shopper Premium Placement 3x4 $225 3x8 $375
Cost per inch over 8� is an additional $32/pci
Brainerd Dispatch and EcholandPiper Shopper Combine and Save Premium Placement 3x4 $400 3x8 $675
Includes full color Monday print ad, Thursday boxed line ad, week-long online leaderboard and a month- long posting on Monster.com * Agency/National Fee is an additional $50
DE
media Dispatch Echo
Oct. 13 Nov. 10 Dec. 15
Includes full color print ads, boxed line ad, week-long online leaderboard and a month-long posting on Monster.com * Combine and Save not available on Employment Extra Sunday * Agency/National Fee is an additional $100
Space/Copy Deadline
Final Ad Approval
Thursdays - 1pm
Fridays - 1pm
Contact your media consultant to reserve your space | 218.829.4705
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
PRINT - Community event wrap
The Community Event Wrap is an affordable way for non-profits to get the word out about their events and fundraisers. 4 full pages of color with Sunday circulation is hard to beat! Ask your marketing consultant for pricing and availability.
BRAINERD/BAXTER MINNESOTA’S 4TH OF JULY CAPITAL
June 28 - July 8, 2012
www.brainerdcommunityaction.org
LAKES PRINTING
LAKES PRINTING
WHATEVER IT TAKES
LAKES PRINTING WHATEVER IT TAKES
WHATEVER IT TAKES
State Hwy 371
Golf Course Dr
Parade Route
Fireworks Staging Area Northland Arboretum
Target
Clearwater Rd
Dellwood Dr
Parade Start / End
Dr
Photos courtesy of Laura Radniecki Images. www.lauraradnieckiimages.com
P R E M I E R P R E M I E R P R E M I E R RUNNING EVENT RUNNING EVENT RUNNING EVENT
Mills Body Works
Parade Staging
Cypress
BrainerdBrainerd Lakes’ Lakes’ Brainerd Lakes’
Photos courtesy of Laura Radniecki Images. Photos courtesy of www.lauraradnieckiimages.com Laura Radniecki Images. www.lauraradnieckiimages.com
Legend
Entertainment Area
Edgewood Dr
runforthelakes .com www.runforthelakes .com www.runforthelakes .com
Woida Rd
Golf Course Dr
www.
all the fun!
Excelsior Rd
State Hwy
210
parking
• Northland Arboretum - $5.00 donation for the Arb • Johnson Centre - $5.00 donation for the Warrior Dance Team • Johnson Building #1 - $5.00 donation for the Warrior Dance Team • Johnson Building #2 - $5.00 donation for the Warrior Dance Team
Other parking will be listed on the website - www.brainerdcommunityaction.org
Teen Challenge: Changing Lives ents
t Farm pres
Mills Flee
nnesota
2012 Mi
Fishing
ge
Challen ota Teen
t Minnes
To Suppor
ge
Challen
challenge
ntc.org/fishing
www.m
June 2, 2012 Gull Lake Brainerd, MN
Al Lindner Fishing Challenge Host
Steve Pennaz
Honorary Tournament Director
Walleye, Bass, Pike & Panfish • Teams fish for one or as many species as desired • Maximum of 100 teams Proceeds Benefit Mn Teen Challenge • Donations & Fees are Tax Deductible • Great Prizes, Fun, Fishing & New Friends
The fourth annual Fishing Challenge allows anglers of all skill levels and all ages to compete for prizes and trophies. Teams raise funds from friends, neighbors, co-workers, relatives, businesses and church families. Al Lindner, host and Steve Pennaz, honorary tournament director, urge all teams to strive for the maximum amount, which averaged more than $1,000 last year. Highest fund-raisers win a fishing trip with Al; second highest go fishing with Walleye Dan; third go with Ron Lindner. Many great rods and reels, fishing trips and other great merchandise prizes will be awarded. Many new friendships will also be made! Teen Challenge thanks all donors for their 100-percent tax deductible support.
For information, entry blanks, to enter or donate, go to: mntc.org/fishingchallenge, or call 218-833-8777.
2011 Winners Sportech Mixed Bag Division (1 each: pike, bass, panfish, walleye)
1st Place: 12.71 #, Larry & Todd Bollig, International Falls 2nd: 11.52 #, Mike & Mark Grussing, Bloomington & Benson 3rd: 10.94 #, Sam & Zac Anderson, Inver Grove Heights
Nor-Son Northern Pike Division (One Pike)
Lindner Media Bass Division (Three Bass)
1st Place: 8.88 #, Eric Sullivan & Keith Bachman, Brainerd
1st Place: 11.04 #, Steve Pennaz, Independence & Dale Anderson, Spring Park
2nd: 8.17 #, Scott Wielenberg, Brainerd & Gary Rehbein, St. Cloud 3rd: 7.14 #, Al Lindner & Russ Kalenburg, Brainerd
2nd: 10.38 #, Wielenberg & Rehbein 3rd: 10.10 #, Brian Koehler & Dave Barrett, Blaine
Nor-Son Panfish Division (3 panfish in any combination of perch, sunfish, bluegills or crappies) 1st Place: 4.49 #, Rep John Ward & Paul Flansburg, Brainerd 2nd: 4.47 #, Don Bennett, Andover & Joel Nelson, Ramsey 3rd: 4.17 #, Steve Gunderson & Terrence Gibbons, Minneapolis
Full-Throttle Walleye Division (Three Walleyes) 1st Place: 11.83 #, Gary Hasse & David Erickson, Pequot Lakes 2nd: 7.24 #, Jamie Dietman, Brainerd & Jim Verhulst, Lino Lakes 3rd: 6.44 #, Dan Rykes, St. Paul & Don Baker, Minneapolis
Holidays, special events and specific times of the year are a great opportunity to promote your business and specials: We have a special section for just about everything!
4th of July, Mothers Day, Fathers Day, Easter, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Valentines Day, New Years Eve, Holiday Gift Guide, Golf Guide, Home Improvement, Market-specific Directories, Auto Showcase and many more.
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2012 Minnesota Fishing Challenge to support Minnesota Teen Challenge
Nisswa, Minnesota Nisswa, MinnesotaNisswa, Minnesota
e join
2012 BRAINERD/BAXTER 4TH OF JULY CELEBRATION
April 27-28, April2012 27-28,April 201227-28, 2012
MARATHON |MARATHON HALF MARATHON |MARATHON RELAY MARATHON | HALF MARATHON |MARATHON 10K | 5K| RELAY | 10K | 5K | HALFMARATHON | RELAY | 10K MARATHON | 5K Boston Qualifier | Scenic Course | Pacers Qualifier Scenic Course | Pacers Boston Qualifier |Boston Scenic Course | |Pacers
PARADE ROUTE
Com
State Hwy 371
Brainerd Jaycees
Good Samaritan Bowl IX Sunday, May 6 & Monday, May 7, 2012
Brainerd Jaycees Run For The Lakes • April 27 - 28, 2012
Brainerd Brainerd Jaycees Jaycees
Her Voice
SummeR 2012 SPRING 2012
Sandy’s
• A quarterly magazine celebrating the diversity and uniqueness of women of the Brainerd lakes region.
Country Roots Inside:
by women…
Inside:
by women… for women… • Finally Finding Hattie • Posthumous Prose andforPoetry women… about women… about women… • Reliving History, • A Queen of H.A.R.T. One Bead at a Time • Knitting for Baby • Estrogen Alley a bRaINeRd dISPatch PublIcatIoN
• Long shelf life, glossy pages throughout.
Winter 2012
a bRaINeRd dISPatch PublIcatIoN
• Distributed to over 17,000 homes in the lakes area.
by women… for women… about women…
• Inserted into the Brainerd Dispatch, Lake Country Echo and Pine River Journal for maximum reach! Inside: Inside:
g
ratin
eb Cel
ars e y 10 ! 3
01 in 2
• Each display ad will receive a coordinating online WOW ad with a set amount of impressions and a free Directory Listing. All ads are process color Back Cover Inside Front Cover Inside Back Cover Full Page 7.875” x 10” Half Page 7.875” x 5” Third Page 2.5417” x 10” 5.2” x 5” Sixth Page 2.5417” x 5” or 5.2” x 2.43”
• • • • • • •
Picture Perrrfect Posthumous Prose and Poetry Zonta’s Christmas Home A Queen of H.A.R.T. A Story of Faith Knitting for Baby the Gift of Literacy
by women… for women… about women…
A brAinerd diSPAtCH PubLiCAtion
See a sample now, click or go to:
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3+ Issues $1638 $1512 $1386 $1260 $630 $420 $420 $220 $220
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$25
NA
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February 14 May 9 August 8 November 28
January 7 April 2 July 1 October 21
“Women account for 85% of all consumer purchases, including everything from autos to health care.” ~ Jodi DeVere
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Health Watch
• A quarterly publication that focuses on health care in the Lakes Area. • Inserted into the Brainerd Dispatch and Neighbors Weekend edition for 20,000 total home circulation. • Each display ad will receive a coordinating online WOW ad with a set amount of impressions and a free Directory Listing. See a sample now, click or go to:
• Advertorial: Purchase a full page ad and receive a facing full page advertorial for $250 All ads are process color Back Cover Inside Front Cover Inside Back Cover Full Page 9.25” x 10.25” Half Page Horizontal 9.25” x 5” Half Page Verticle 4.5” x 10.25” Quarter Page 4.5” x 5”
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January 22 April 23 June 25 September 24
January 24 April 25 June 27 September 26
January 1 April 4 June 6 September 6
“Households over 50 spend more than $1.7 trillion on goods and services annually, they own 65% of the total net worth among all U.S. households, and they are responsible for 60% of all health care spending.”
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WEDDINGS NORTH
• Assist couples in planning their wedding • All glossy magazine with relevant content! • Guaranteed placement - no guessing on where your ad will be within the magazine. Certain sizes are limited. • Get online and print exposure for one price and reach two different audiences! Each ad will receive a business listing on upnorthweddings.com. • Over 13,000 printed copies.
See a sample now, click or go to: http://upnorthweddings.com/
• Receive a free directory listing with a quarter page ad or larger. Only $10 with an1/8 page ad or $25 without a display ad. All ads are process color Back Cover, Inside Front Cover, Inside Back Cover Full Page 7.875” x 10” 1/2 Page Horizontal 7.875” x 5” or 1/2 Page Vertical 3.875” x 10” 1/3 Page 7.875” x 3” 1/4 Page 3.875” x 5” 1/8 Page 3.875” x 2.375”
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December 4
Single
BWA Members
$900 $800
$810 $720
$450 $325 $250 $125
$405 $293 $225 $113
“$22,000 is the average amount spent on a traditional American wedding. Make sure your business is known and get a slice of that wedding pie.” (or cake...traditionally)
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Outdoor Traditions
Issue 3 • Edition 7
• A quarterly magazine celebrating the great outdoors of northern Minnesota
Featured in this issue
In the cross-haIrs, under a mIcroscope By: BrIan s. peterson
PLUS MORE! • Deer Hunting Traditions
By: JIM KALKOFEN
• These ARE the Good Old Days of Muskie Fishing
By: DAVE CSANDA
• Wild Stories
Excerpts From Conservation Officers’ Weekly Reports
• Your Best Shots Issue 4 • Edition 7
• Featuring local lake statistics, DNR page(s), user submitted photos and a detailed calendar of upcoming local events.
Read Online: www.brainerddispatch.com or www.brainerdoutdoors.com
• Distributed to over 17,000 homes in the lakes area.
Featured in this issue
Technology on Ice By: DAVe cSAnDA PLUS MORE!
• Inserted into the Brainerd Dispatch, Lake Country Echo and Pine River Journal for maximum reach!
• The Fascination Of Black Powder • Enjoy Winter Outside & Stay Warm • Wild Stories
By: PHIL SEIBEL
By: JIM KALKOFEN
Excerpts From Conservation Officers’ Weekly Reports
• Your Best Shots
Read Online: www.brainerddispatch.com or www.brainerdoutdoors.com
• Each display ad will receive a coordinating online WOW ad with a set amount of impressions. All ads are process color Back Cover Inside Front Cover Inside Back Cover Full Page 7.875” x 10” Half Page Horizontal 7.875” x 5” Half Page Verticle 3.875” x 10” Third Page 7.875” x 3” Quarter Page 3.875” x 5” or Eighth Page 3.875” x 2.375” Banner 7.875” x 2”
Single $950 $900 $900 $600 $400 $400 $300 $250 $140 $180
See a sample now, click or go to: http://brainerddispatch.com/ outdoor_traditions
2+ Issues $855 $810 $810 $540 $360 $360 $270 $225 $126 $162
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March 15 June 7 September 13 December 6
March 21 June 13 September 19 December 12
February 20 May 15 August 14 November 15
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Boomers Plus
A PublicAtion For centrAl MinnesotA seniors
Boomers Brainerd dispatch
Friday, November 23, 2012
www.brainerddispatch.com
a cluB—not A suPPort grouP
By JENNIFER STOCKINGER jennifer.stockinger@brainerddispatch.com
• Monthly edition • Direct market for seniors and the young of heart.
Widowed Friends Club
I
Widowed Friends Club members Pam Stenberg (left), Mary Graves, Dorothy Balken and Lois Lysdahl enjoy a visit at Bonanza in Baxter.
A PublicAtion For centrAl MinnesotA seniors are the Widowed Friends Club, an organization made up of widows and widowers dedicated to helping others cope
Boomers
• Spotlights individuals and activities of area seniors.
on iPad
• Distributed to 18,500 homes in the Brainerd Dispatch and Neighbors Weekend Edition.
The group meets at 11 a.m. for lunch on the first Monday of the month at Bonanza and the third Monday of the month at the Nisswa Legion Club. They also get together for other events, such as going to a performance, picnic, card parties or whatever event meets their fancy. They’re open to anything the group wants to do. They’re each other’s support system, but in a more friendly, social way. The Widowed Friends Club has been around since 1991, when it was sponsored by AARP. Then The Center in Brainerd began sponsoring the group, but today it’s on its own and is not sponsored by any other group. Members pay a $4 membership fee. Dorothy Balken, Motley, president of the Widowed Friends Club, said there are approximately 46 members, who are age 50 or older, with the average age in the 70s. Balken said the group’s mission is to share stories with each other and to “get people out of the house.” Balken said she lost her husband of almost 53 years in 2009 and after three years, she needed something. “I needed a reason to get out and meet people,” said Balken. “My family was close, but I was looking for more, sharing stories with others like me.” Mary Graves of Nisswa, the group’s secretary, joined three years ago because she was lonesome after her husband of nearly 39 years passed away. Graves has a large family, who is supportive, but she felt like something was still missing. She saw an ad about a meeting for the Widowed Friends Club and thought she’d try it out. “The people are so nice and I met a wonderful friend, companion, my best friend,” said Graves. “I’m not lonely anymore.” Graves said before she joined the club, she tried a support group at her church, but said, “It was just too depressing.”
Pam Stenberg of Baxter, a member at-large, joined after her husband died in 2001, after 57 years of marriage. “You have to go out and face the world, otherwise you just sit there,” said Stenberg. Stenberg said she has family, but they can’t always be there when she needs them because they have their own lives. www.brainerddispatch.com Lois Lysdahl of Pillager, treasurer of the club, lost her husband of 49 years in 2000. “I sat at home and felt sorry for myself,” said Lysdahl. “I decided to start life again and saw an advertisement about the club and came to a meeting. I felt uncomfortable, but it turned out to be the best blessing of all. When you lose a loved one and grieve, it’s nice to have others to talk to. I had to get out.” Lysdahl said since 1995, 14 people have gotten married through the club. “If you need a friend you’ll find one here,” said Balken. “There are many shared friendships here.” Stenberg said people can come join and if they don’t want to play cards, they don’t have too. Stenberg said if they just want to sit and visit that is more than OK. “We have a good group here,” said Graves. Anyone interested in joining the club can stop by and visit at one of the monthly meetings or contact Antonia Blanksma, the club’s correspondent at 825-0960.
“If you
tuesday, october 16, 2012; Neighbors weekend edition, friday, october 19, 2012
need a friend
you’ll find
Wood carving with
one here.”
By JENNIFER STOCKINGER jennifer.stockinger@ Dorothy Balkenbrainerddispatch.com Widowed Friends Club president
love
JENNIFER STOCKINGER may be reached at jennifer.stockinger@brainerd-
dispatch.com or 855-5851. Follow me on Twitter at www.twitter.com/jennewsgirl.
for SICK aNd NEEdy childreN Local News at your fingertips.
Toy TRaINS, plaNES and auTOmOBIlES and more — all made of wood with love — all in the name of the mission to help a sick or needy child, is what a new group at The Center, for-
*free for a limited time
Unlike the online edition, appear just like the printed
The Center’s wood carving group Oct. 2 learned the process from the expert, Bruce Gilbert, who recently became a Nisswa resident and is a longtime member of ToyMakers, a non-profit group that makes simple wooden toys for sick and needy chilthe pages of the Brainerd Dispatch dren. All the toys are designed to be safe and conApp Store. version. Get it now at iTunes tain no nails, screws or staples. The toys also use child-safe paint and have rounded corners. The wood carving group is enlisting volunteers to be part of the new group called The Center’s ToyMakers to help make the wooden toys. Gilbert was approached by a Lakewood Evangelical Free Church member about helping The Center with starting a ToyMakers’ group. Gilbert was happy to share his knowledge with the wood carvers so they can help the sick and needy children. Gilbert has been part of the ToyMakers group in Florida since 1999. Gilbert said the Florida group donates between 1,500 to 2,000 toys four times a year to children’s hospital, Ronald McDonald houses and other local agencies. He said the Brainerd group will be able to make the toys for their local nonprofit organizations that they see fit that will help children involved in trauma. “This organization began when a man and his wife had their daughter in the children’s hospital and there were no toys,” said Gilbert. “They made toys and brought it to the hospital and started the non-profit.” All the materials and money are donated to ToyMakers and they also looks for scraps to use for the toys. Gilbert brought his toy patterns to The Center for the wood carving group to make their own patterns. Patterns include cars, puzzle pieces, trucks, an ambulance, fire trucks, police vehicles, a bulldozer,
$14.50/column inch $16.75/column inch
“ ”
Brainerd dispatch
with the trauma of losing a spouse.
Rates Black and White Process Color
Jennifer Stockinger •jennifer.stockinger@brainerddispatch.com
It’s not a support group — it’s a group of people who offer a listening ear and are in the same boat together. They
Steve Kohls • steve.kohls@brainerddispatch.com
alice Bollum works on drawing out a pattern for one of the wooden toys she’ll be making at the center in Brainerd.
rocking horse and even a doll. He also donated scraps of wood and wheels to the Brainerd group to give them a head start on their project. George Sommerfeld of Brainerd, a member of the wood carving group at The Center, said, “I think this is a good thing. I hope we can get enough people to do this. There is always a need for kids to have toys. “These toys should be pretty simple to make. I do a lot of wood working.” Dick Carlson of Nisswa said, “This is a good idea and it gives the ones who don’t know how to carve, something else to do outside the group. There will be a lot of sanding, painting, gluing and cutting.” Ron Kulla of Baxter has been do wood carving for five years is looking forward to making the simple wooden toys for needy children. “This is a good deal,” said Kulla. Bonnie Mattraw of Lake Shore and Alice Bollum of Brainerd also are members of the wood carving group and look forward to the project. Mattraw said that she
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January 15 February 19 March 19 April 16 May 21 June 18 July 16 August 20 September 17 October 15 November 19 December 17
January 18 February 22 March 22 April 19 May 24 June 21 July 19 August 23 September 20 October 18 November 22 December 20
January 2 February 6 March 6 April 3 May 8 June 5 July 3 August 7 September 4 October 2 November 6 December 4
merly known as the Lakes Area Senior Activity Center, will do.
Members of the center’s wood carving group are starting a new group to help make wooden toys for needy children.
Steve Kohls • steve.kohls@brainerddispatch.com
makes wooden toys when she spends her winters in Arizona. Bollum said she likes to carve and does a lot of animals and wooden spoons. Bollum said she doesn’t like the finishing part of the product, but joked that she’ll talk someone else to finish her toys. Bollum said, “This is a great idea. We donate a lot at our church, especially sending stuff overseas. The Center’s ToyMakers will meet at 9 a.m. Tuesdays in the wood shop on the fourth floor of the center. DeAnn Barry, executive director of the senior center, said “I hope there is a lot of interest in this new group. It’s great to see the wood carving group take on another community project. This is a great way for us to give back to the kids in the community.” Those interested in joining the group can contact Barry at the center at 829-9345. Barry said the toys would be donated to organizations in the Brainerd lakes area. Barry said they also are looking for donations of wood scraps, Minwax varnish, lead-free paint, paint brushes and money to purchase wooden wheels and other needed items.
Bruce Gilbert, who recently became a Nisswa resident and is a longtime member of toyMakers, a non-profit group that makes simple wooden toys for sick and needy children is helping a Brainerd group get started in making the toys.
Steve Kohls • steve.kohls@brainerddispatch.com
JENNIFER STOCKINGER may be reached at jennifer. stockinger@brainerddispatch.com or 855-5851. Follow me on Twitter at www.twitter.com/ jennewsgirl.
this is a gift dog, one of the simple wooden toys, made by a non-profit group called the toyMakers. Steve Kohls • steve.kohls@brainerddispatch.com
“The mature market has over $1.6 trillion in spending power and a net worth that’s nearly twice the U.S. average. The facts speak for themselves -the mature market represents a tremendous opportunity across all categories.”
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We are 181
A publication of the Brainerd Dispatch
DAY
EVERY
READING
FRED FATHERS
• District ISD 181’s newest way of informing the community of what is going on in the school district.
Inside:
Making it in Music
• A great way to show your support and reach people in the community.
Today’s Middle Schoolers are Tomorrow’s Engineers Measuring Success
• Publishes in the Fall and Spring each school year. • Total print distribution of 18,000+ homes. Inside: From Minnesota to Mumbai
• Space and sizes are limited.
Giving Back Poetry Café at Riverside A publication of the Brainerd Dispatch
All ads are process color Back Cover (Glossy) Inside Front Cover (Glossy) Inside Back Cover (Glossy) Half Page 7.875” x 5” Quarter Page 3.875” x 5” or Banner 7.875” x 1.5”
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April 12 October 25
March 11 September 23
“We Are 181 has been a concept in the making for nearly two years before finally becoming a reality. We Are 181 was well received and feedback from readers across the District has been very positive.” ~ Steve Lund
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love of the lakes
• Information, features focusing on area lakes. • All glossy magazine with relevant content. • Get print and online exposure for one price while reaching two different audiences. • 20,000 copies will be printed in late March and distributed in the lakes area through Echo Publishing publications and Discover Racks.
All ads are process color Full Page 7.12” x 9.5” $1,295 2/3 Page Vertical 4.69” x 9.5” $840 1/2 Page Vertical 4.62” x 7.06” $690 1/2 Page Horizontal 7.12” x 4.62” $690 1/3 Page Vertical 2.25” x 9.5” $460 1/3 Page Square 4.69” x 4.62” $460 1/6 Page Vertical 2.25” x 4.62” $270 1/6 Page Horizontal 4.69” x 2.25” $270 1/12 Page Square 2.25” x 2.25” $170
Inserts Selected Echoland Shoppers
Inserts LCE & PRJ
Space/Copy Deadline
May 20
May 23
February 26
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nisswa chamber guide
• Information annual guide for Nisswa area • Glossy magazine published in partnership with the Nisswa Chamber • Receive print and online exposure for one price while reaching two different audiences. • 30,000 copies will be printed annually and distributed throughout 2013 through numerous local and regional formats - including area business racks, Discover Racks and state-wide travel locations.
All ads are process color Inside Front Cover Inside Back Cover Back Cover Full Page 7.12” x 9.5” 2/3 Page Vertical 4.69” x 9.5” 1/2 Page Vertical 4.62” x 7.06” 1/2 Page Horizontal 7.12” x 4.62” 1/3 Page Vertical 2.25” x 9.5” 1/3 Page Square 4.69” x 4.62” 1/6 Page Vertical 2.25” x 4.62” 1/6 Page Horizontal 4.69” x 2.25” 1/12 Page Square 2.25” x 2.25”
Prints
Space/Copy Deadline
December, 2013
October 15
$2,270 $2,270 $2,270 $1,890 $1,290 $990 $990 $680 $680 $380 $380 $250
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pine river chamber guide
• Information annual guide for Pine River area • Glossy magazine published in partnership with the Pine River Chamber • Receive print and online exposure for one price while reaching two different audiences. • 10,000 copies will be printed annually and distributed throughout 2013 through numerous local and regional formats - including inserting in the Pine River Journal newspaper, mail delivery, area Chamber locations and Discover Racks.
All ads are process color Premium Back Cover Full Page 7.12” x 9.5” 2/3 Page Vertical 4.69” x 9.5” 1/2 Page Vertical 4.62” x 7.06” 1/2 Page Horizontal 7.12” x 4.62” 1/3 Page Vertical 2.25” x 9.5” 1/3 Page Square 4.69” x 4.62” 1/6 Page Vertical 2.25” x 4.62” 1/6 Page Horizontal 4.69” x 2.25” * also coupon discounts for advertisers
Inserts Pine River Journal
Space/Copy Deadline
May, 2013
November 26
$1,225 $1,095 $760 $620 $620 $395 $395 $225 $225
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in our prime
• Quarterly section with focus on area senior residents • Tabloid newsprint section format. • Receive print and online exposure for one price while reaching two different audience. • 23,000 copies will be printed quarterly and be inserted in the Lake Country Echo and Pine River Journal newspapers and the Echoland-Piper Shopper.
Rates $13.75 per column inch * 1/2 price color is available
Inserts LCE & PRJ
Inserts Echoland Shoppers
Space/Copy Deadline
February 14 June 13 September 5 November 14
February 18 June 17 September 9 November 18
February 5 June 4 August 27 November 5
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savor our flavors - dining guide
• Guide to the lakes area restaurants.
htt
• Section printed on 50 lb. high brite paper. • Receive print and online exposure for one price while reaching two different audiences • 30,000 copies will be printed in May and distributed in lakes area through Echo Publishing publications and Discover Racks.
All ads are process color
$15.75 per column inch
Inserts LCE & PRJ
Inserts Echoland Shoppers
Space/Copy Deadline
May 9
May 13
February 26
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SPEC REQUIREMENTS - the fine print
The Brainerd Dispatch and Echo Publishing (DE Media) are committed to providing an excellent product to all its customers. To ensure excellence to our advertisers, DE Media has set the following advertising policies. All advertisements are accepted subject to the approval of the publisher. DE Media reserves the right to refuse or cancel any advertisement at any time. Rates charged for advertising are for space only and do not include any compensation for the right, title and any interest to layouts, composition, material, or labor of advertisements created by and placed with DE Media. All advertisements remain the sole property of the DE Media. DE Media reserves the right to copyright any ad produced by its staff. All advertising is cash with order except when credit has been approved by the company. When credit is allowed to an advertiser, accounts are due on receipt of statement. A service charge of 1.5% per month (annual rate 18%) will be charged on accounts more than 30 days past due. In double truck ads the gutter is billed as one column. Advertising rates may be revised
from time to time. Advertisers under contract will be given 30 days notice. Advertising deadlines are set well in advance of publication to ensure an excellent product for the advertiser. Proofs for the purpose of correcting errors in production will be e-mailed or faxed to the advertiser. Proof of ads 40 column inches in size or more will be faxed or taken to advertisers on request. Once a proof is submitted to the advertiser, the advertiser takes responsibility for errors not marked on the proof. Correctness of ads submitted after deadline is the responsibility of the advertiser. However, if there is an error that is the fault of the DE Media, the ad will be re-run (or credit given for) that part of the ad containing the error. Cancellation deadlines are the same as ad order deadlines. Be-
cause of the expense involved in the production of ads, cancellations after deadline may be billed for time and materials. The labor charge is $25 per hour. The advertiser agrees to indemnify and hold the newspaper harmless for any claims arising out of the publication of copy submitted by the advertiser. This includes, but is not limited to, claims for libel, copyright infringement and trademark infringement. Position requests will be granted, but not guaranteed, when possible and will not be considered a condition of acceptance for publications. Failure to meet these requests will not constitute cause for adjustment, refund or rerun of the advertisement, unless a positioning surcharge has been paid.
will see on the final piece. This is due to the fact that your profiles may not match our profiles during final output causing the colors to shift to try to match our profiles. • All fonts must be embedded. • OPI cannot be used. • Any images used in your original document should be at a minimum resolution of 200 dpi. • All PDF’s created from software that supports layers and live transparencies (i.e. Adobe CS Suite, Quark, etc.) must have all layers and live transparencies flattened within the final PDF delivered to us. If this is not done we can not guarantee your transparency settings will match ours during the digital work flow. This could potentially create undesired effects in the final output of your ad. • PDFwriter is not acceptable for creating a PDF for print production.
At our discretion we may occasionally choose to work with PDF’s created from Microsoft Word, Excel, Publisher, or other office applications as best we can, but can not guarantee final output. They are designed for Desktop Publishing not Print Production and typically are missing important capabilities for producing CMYK color, correct font embedding, etc. • We also will accept native files which must include all supporting fonts and graphics. Please call ahead to be sure we have compatible versions of software to open and work with the files. • Any copy not sent as a digital file will be converted digitally (scanned) and will probably suffer a loss of quality in the conversion. • If you have concerns or questions regarding any of the above please feel free to call.
Specs For Sending Ads Our preferred ad delivery format is PDF Version 1.3 (Acrobat 4 Standard). • All spot colors, RGB, etc. should be converted to CMYK prior to final PDF creation. • Due to the nature of the newsprint printing process rich black or black made up of CMYK should not be used. • Type that is overprinted should be no smaller than 5pt, type that is knocking out of more than one color should be no smaller than 8pt. • When using type at the minimum sizes take into account the fonts you are using as some script and thin bodied type may still be too thin at these sizes. • Do not use ICC or embedded color profiling as there could be a potential color shift from what you see on your screen versus what you
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media Dispatch Echo
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
glossary
Ad Strategy
A subset of your Marketing Plan, Ad Strategy is identifying the different ad options you have and how you can use them effectively.
Audience
An Audience is a way to separate your consumer base into different categories that you can identify, target and track. Audience is important to identify when planning your marketing and evaluating your marketing’s effectiveness.
Behavioral Targeting
By tracking an individual’s activity online, search engines and other programs are able to assign particular behaviors, that when displayed, trigger ad delivery that is relevant to that individual based on those actions.
Blitz
A Campaign is a planned marketing effort that includes a predetermined goal, measurable progress, and clear messages. The campaign itself should have fairly clear start and end parameters to ensure that the measurable tracking is accurate.
Circulation
In print circulation, or reach of the subscribed users, is usually separated into weekday and weekend categories. For weekly newspapers there is just the one category.
Column Inch
In print advertising the size of an ad is determined by its column inches. A column inch is the width of one column and one inch in height.
A Blitz is a short marketing campaign that is focused on accomplishing, or promoting, a particular product or event. For example: if you have a sale coming, you may consider a blitz to create top of mind awareness for potential customers.
CPC (Cost per Click)
Brand, Branding
CPM (Cost per Mille)
Your Brand is what consumers identify you as. Your Brand is a vital part of any marketing that you do and care should be taken to maintain your Brand integrity.
Budget
Refers to not only your dollar investment, but also your time. While some time can be offset by increasing dollars (outsourcing ad design for example) time should certainly be considered.
Bundle
Bundling is simply packaging multiple types of marketing into one campaign or strategy using the same message. Bundling your print and online is a standard option that ensures you are maximizing your reach.
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Campaign
media Dispatch Echo
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
This is a comparison you can use to determine the value (subjective) of each click your ad receives- for example: if you have 10 clicks and it cost you $100 then your CPC is $10. See also PPC
Cost per Mille, or Cost per Thousand, is used to calculate the cost of impressions. Basically, for every 1,000 times your ad is shown (impressions) it will cost you a set amount. For example: if a certain online ad size has a CPM of $10, it will cost you $10 for every 1,000 times your ad is shown.
Demographic
Similar to Audience, Demographics refer to the specific identifiers that make up an audience. Examples of some demographics: gender, age range, income level, family, etc.
glossary
Fragmentation
This occurs when traits of your audience change and cause new groups, or sub-groups, to be formed. It is important to keep track of fragmentation in order to maintain your marketing’s effectiveness.
Goals
Your marketing plan needs to have well defined, realistic goals. If you don’t have these it will be difficult to measure the actual effectiveness of any marketing you do. For example: I want to drive traffic vs. I want to increase unique users by 5%.
Impressions
An Impression refers to each time an ad is displayed. For example: if you had 100 impressions, that means your ad was shown 100 times.
PPC (Pay per Click)
An ad model where instead of paying for a guaranteed number of impressions, you instead bid on each available impression and then are billed based on that.
SOV (Share of Voice)
Share of Voice guarantees the frequency of your ad compared to other ads in that same category, either by size of ad, or section. An SOV campaign emphasizes the overall percentage of views rather than a set number of impressions. For example: an SOV campaign would be a purchase of 50% of total estimated impressions; whereas a CPM campaign would be based more on budget and available impressions.
Target Marketing
Identifying unique audiences and marketing to them directly is called Target Marketing. This is an ideal way of marketing, as it will help reach existing, new and potential customers. Target marketing can be accomplished in a number of ways, from audience knowledge to specialized programs that can assist you in identifying your audiences.
TOM (Top of Mind Awareness)
ROP (Run of Press)
Run of Press simply means that a print ad can be placed anyplace that is convenient for the printer.
Top of Mind refers to the idea that your brand/ product/company is the first thing a potential customer thinks of when they have a relevant need. For example: TOM is accomplished when someone remembers your ad for financial planning as they are thinking, or speaking with others about retirement plans.
ROS (Run of Site)
Tracking
Run of Site is similar to ROP except it refers to online advertising. Run of Site simply means the ad runs in rotation in a certain size across the entire website.
Social Media
Social Media is made up of any series of networks that consumers use to interact with each other. Social Media is a way that business can interact with their customers to create more personal interaction.
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media Dispatch Echo
506 James Street, Brainerd, MN 56401 | 800-432-3703 | All of our rates are net www.brainerddispatch.com | www.pineandlakes.com
Throughout your marketing campaign you need to establish progress by tracking your results. To do this effectively, your tracking methods need to have easily defined, objective goals that you can quantify.
Unique User
Unique User refers to the number of different devices that have accessed a website. Typically identified by IP address, unique user information is useful for identifying audiences and device access.