Motor Trader, October 2015

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OCT 2015

LICENCE TO THRILL JAMES BOND AND THE ASTON MARTIN DB10

OFFICIAL PUBLICATION OF THE MOTOR TRADES ASSOCIATION OF QUEENSLAND

MEMBERS CLASSIC: 1965 XP FALCON 2-DOOR HARDTOP


GIVE YOUR DEALERSHIP THE TOOLS TO

STAND OUT

NADA UNIVERSITY COURSES ARE NOW AVAILABLE THROUGH AADA, INCLUDING: Service Department Operations Management Sales Operations Management I Sales Operations Management II

PHONE: 07 3237 8777 OR EMAIL: COURSES@AADA.ASN.AU WWW.NADAUNIVERSITY.COM.AU


Contents Official Publication of the Motor Trades Association of Queensland

Follow us on Facebook www.facebook.com/MTAQueensland

HEAD OFFICE Building 8, 2728 Logan Road, Eight Mile Plains, Qld 4113 P.O. Box 4530, Eight Mile Plains, Qld 4113 Tel: 07 3237 8777 Fax: 07 3844 4488 Toll Free: 1800 177 951 Email: publications@mtaq.com.au Website: www.mtaq.com.au EDITOR Jonathan Nash ART DIRECTOR Marco Ilinic INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS Ted Kowalski Paul Murray POLICY Kellie Dewar, General Manager MTA Queensland ADVERTISING ENQUIRIES Barry Browne 03 9807 9154 Email: barry@barrybrownemedia.com.au EDITORIAL Editorial submissions are welcomed but cannot be guaranteed placement. For more information telephone the Editor 07 3237 8777

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SUBSCRIPTION RATES (including GST) Australia: $72.60 annually Overseas: $110 annually

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MOTOR TRADER PUBLISHING POLICY Motor Trader is the official publication of the Motor Trades Association of Queensland. The role of Motor Trader is to inform members of current issues and legislation affecting the industry. As such it can be regarded as the business magazine for the Queensland motor industry. The role of Motor Trader is not to be in competition with the technical magazines already on the market. It will advise of new vehicles being released and of the latest technology incorporated into them; it will advise of latest technology affecting members in each of the MTA Queensland Divisions; it will keep members abreast of the latest in motor industry training and industrial affairs; and it will keep members informed of the latest technical aids available through MTA Queensland Member Services, which will assist members in staying ahead of the technological revolution presently being encountered within the motor industry. The publisher reserves the right to omit or alter any advertisement and the advertiser agrees to indemnify the publisher for all damages or liabilities arising from the published material.

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MTA QUEENSLAND ABN: 74 028 933 848

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CORPORATE PARTNERS

02 From the editor 04 Policy/Viewpoint 08 MTA Q&A M&H OAKEY: BRIAN HOBBS Feature 10 LICENCE TO THRILL: JAMES BOND AND THE ASTON MARTIN DB10 16 Members Classic THE BLUE BIRD: 1965 XP FALCON 2-DOOR HARDTOP

MEMBERS ESSENTIALS 19 Training matters 26 Member profiles 28 Industrial relations 30 The hit list CONCEPT CARS OF THE 1970s 32 Industry insight WHO’S WEARING THE CFO’S HAT IN YOUR BUSINESS? October 2015 Motor Trader | 1


From the editor

JONATHAN NASH EDITOR

H

ELLO AND WELCOME to the October edition of Motor Trader. Next month, will see the release of the spectacular new James Bond movie, Spectre. It has been 50 years since the release of the first Bond film, Dr No, in 1962, and in the more than 20 films since then, the suave spy has become indelibly linked to certain items - the vodka martini, tailored suits, the Walther PPK and, perhaps most famously, the exquisite cars manufactured by Aston Martin. From the iconic DB5 of 1964’s Goldfinger to the DBS driven by Aussie George Lazenby in On Her Majesty’s Secret Service; from the V8 Vantage of the Timothy Dalton era to the V12 Vanquish driven by Pierce Brosnan in Die Another Day, the Aston Martin has become almost as much a part of the Bond movies as Bond himself. In Spectre, Bond will once again be behind the wheel of an Aston Martin

SAVE THE DATE THE ANNUAL PRESIDENT’S BALL IS THE HIGHLIGHT ON THE AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRY’S SOCIAL CALENDAR THIS PRESTIGIOUS BLACK-TIE event will be marketed to all MTA Queensland members, clients and stakeholders and is expected to sell out.

2 | Motor Trader October 2015

and the car will be a unique addition to the long list of Bond supercars - the DB10, as it is known, was developed specifically for the film. During the making of Spectre, Motor Trader visited the set in Rome where one of the movie’s action set-pieces was being filmed. The scene was a chase between Bond in the DB10 and one of the film’s villainous heavies driving the stunning Jaguar C-X75 concept, and Motor Trader talked to those responsible for bringing the DB10 into existence and putting it through its action movie paces. Read the story on page 10. In our MTA Q&A feature this month we talk to Brian Hobbs from M&H Oakey. Situated in the small town of Oakey, 160km west of Brisbane, the business has grown from a one-man mechanical repair operation to a thriving enterprise with 13 staff offering a wide range of services – including hydraulic and mechanical repair, tyre retail, breakdown and towing services and more - to its country community. In our Members Classic feature, we catch up with Leo Topatigh from the BP Workshop in Wellington Point to talk about his stunning 1965 XP Falcon twodoor hardtop. Decades after owning one as a teenager, Leo was able to find an XP and restore it to the tip-top condition you can see on page 16. In Training Matters this month, we report on MTA Queensland (MTAQ) providing a number of training programs under the Queensland Government’s Skilling Queenslanders for Work initiative. The initiative is designed to provide skills development, training and job opportunities The evening will feature dinner, entertainment and dancing and will include an awards ceremony recognising both the best and brightest MTA Institute of Technology trainees and apprentices, as well as the most creative and generous member businesses through the Innovation Award and the Community Award. Date: Saturday 31st October 2015 Time: 6:30pm - 11pm Venue: Hilton Brisbane

to unemployed, disengaged or disadvantaged Queenslanders through a suite of programs, and MTAQ and MTA Institute of Technology (MTAIT) will deliver a new pre-vocational automotive course, named Auto Initiation. Falling under the Community Work Skills element of the Skilling Queenslanders for Work initiative, Auto Initiation is a nine-week program which will be delivered by MTAIT trainers to regional areas and offers not only automotive training (Certificate II in Automotive Vocational Placement) but also training in ‘life skills’ such as motivation, financial management and literacy, as well as work placement. An exciting initiative, the Auto Initiation program offers a solid pathway for students to enter the automotive industry. Read more about the Auto Initiation program on page 21. As always, we will endeavour to bring you news and insight into the industry, information on the latest training opportunities and highlight members’ interest. If you have a story worth telling, want to appear in Member Profiles, or have a classic car, bike or truck you would like to see featured, then please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Cheers, Jonathan Nash jonathann@mtaq.com.au


A special business offer for MTA Queensland members. To help keep your business moving, Commonwealth Bank has a special offer for MTA Queensland members. Just open a new Commonwealth Bank Business Transaction Account by 30/12/2015 and link it to your existing or new Commonwealth Bank merchant facility.

To take advantage of this offer, just contact MTA Queensland on 07 3237 8777 .

Important Information: Offer available to referrals made via MTA Queensland between 01/01/2015 and 30/12/2015. *This offer is applicable to existing and eligible new merchant facilities, excluding the Albert EFTPOS device. To maintain the fee waiver, you must retain the required products contained in this offer (including settling your merchant facility to your linked Commonwealth Bank Business transaction account). Otherwise the offer may be withdrawn. #To maintain the fee waiver, you must retain the required products, otherwise the offer may be withdrawn. Offer includes the monthly account maintenance fee of currently $10 on the Business Transaction Account linked to the merchant facility. Please refer to terms and conditions. ^Establishment fee waiver and two free tokens are available to new CommBiz customers only. This offer may be extended beyond the specified end date at the discretion of the Commonwealth Bank. Interest rates and fees are subject to change. Full conditions of use will be included in our Letter of Offer. Applications for finance subject to the Bank’s normal lending criteria. MTA Queensland may receive a fee from the Commonwealth Bank of Australia for each successful referral. Referral Fees are not payable on referrals from existing relationship managed Commonwealth Bank customers. This has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs, so you should consider its appropriateness to your circumstances before you act on it. Terms and conditions are available from commbank.com.au Commonwealth Bank of Australia ABN 48 123 123 124. Australian credit licence 234945.


Policy/Viewpoint

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KELLIE DEWAR GENERAL MANAGER MTA QUEENSLAND

HE LEADERSHIP OF our nation has changed and we look forward to Prime Minister Turnbull and his cabinet, across all portfolios, maintaining Australian’s quality of life and standard of living into the future. As Queensland’s peak industry association for the motor trades, it will be the economic and budgetary decisions and the policies that relate to the automotive value chain that will have our focus. Approval of the change in leadership is reflected in the surge in consumer confidence. The weekly ANZ-Roy Morgan confidence survey indicated a jump of 8.7 per cent, wiping out a 7.1 per cent loss over the previous two weeks. Positively, views on economic conditions over the next year leapt 25.8 per cent, the second-largest one-week uplift since the Global Financial Crisis. The outlook for consumers’ prospects during the next five years was upbeat too, climbing more than 13 per cent but, according to the survey data, lags the long-term average. The proverb that ‘one swallow does not make a summer’ may apply to the ANZ Roy Morgan confidence survey but it is to be hoped it is the beginning of consumer positivity. Members tell me that there has been a long-run of tough business conditions. Early indications are that there is an uplift in confidence with, anecdotally, inquiries about plant and equipment and car financing.

ADVOCACY Advocacy and policy work is not sexy. It is out of sight and without immediacy. It is about the medium to longer terms, being consistent with beliefs and policies and engaging in the policy processes at all levels of government. Through consistency and engagement over the years, the MTA Queensland has been successful with its advocacy. Members can take pride in the achievements that have been to the advantage of their business operations. 4 | Motor Trader October 2015

Recently, the content of our submissions was quoted, in part, in two separate reports. The first was in the Queensland Parliamentary Finance and Administration Committee report relating to the Workers’ Compensation and Rehabilitation and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2015. The second was in the Senate Economics Legislation Committee report on the Treasury Legislation Amendment (Small Business and Unfair Contract Bill 2015) Provisions. In the near term, there is a strong body of advocacy work ahead. In my diary is the scheduled meeting with the Office of Fair Trading at which I will raise the proposed lemon laws to obtain an insight into the substance of the comments from consumers posted on its website. Since the change of Government, we have not had a meeting with the Department of Transport but this does concern me, as we have an excellent working relationship with the Director General Neil Scales and his policy officer. By early October I will have made submissions pertaining to: the Queensland Parliamentary Utilities, Science and Innovation Committee inquiry on the Liquid Fuel Supply (Ethanol and other biofuels Mandate) Amendment Bill; The Queensland Parliamentary Education, Tourism and Small Business Committee inquiry on the Jobs Queensland Bill 2015; the Federal Treasury, Deregulation division, inquiry on the Treasury Legislation Amendment (Spring Repeal Day) Bill 2015 (which is a bit of a misnomer as it incorporates changes to the Australian Business Number (ABN)); and to the Queensland Parliamentary Legal Affairs and Community Safety Committee on Lemon Laws - An inquiry into consumer protection and remedies for buyers of new motor vehicles. Members may read the submissions, as they are posted on our website at the time they are forwarded to the responsible entity.


country. It would seem that this is matter should be investigated by the responsible authorities.

7-eleven worker exploitation

INDUSTRY NEWS Insurance I remind Members that Guard Insurance Brokers is one of our Corporate Partners - a group that includes MTAA Super, D&B, the Commonwealth Bank, Australian Energy Solutions and Auto-TechCentre. They specialise in insurance and risk management solutions and offer a dedicated service to Members at market-leading rates. Attractively, there are no geographical limits. Contact can be made via the MTA Queensland website. Whilst the preference is for Members to consider Guard Insurance for their insurance requirements, attention is drawn the National Insurance Brokers Association revamped website - www.needabroker. com.au/. Its aim is to help small business and householders to obtain the right advice about their insurance needs. The site directs people to brokers in their area and details he insurance products the brokers provide.

Vehicle Theft Reports of vehicle theft are common and there are many theories about what happens to the stolen vehicles. The National Vehicle Theft Reduction Council estimates that 20 passenger and light commercial vehicles are stolen and exported from Australia each week. There is evidence that there has been a spike in unrecovered, stolen four-wheel drive vehicles in recent years. Terror experts claim that these four-wheel drive vehicles are exported to Turkey and then driven across the border into Syria for use as armoured vehicles by terrorist organisations. It appears vehicle exporters are not required to provide the Australian Border Force with a clean Personal Property Securities Register report prior to the vehicle leaving the

The Chair of the Service Station & Convenience Store Association Tim Kane and I have been monitoring reports of 7-eleven worker exploitation. We note that the Senate will extend its inquiry into the Impact of Australian temporary work visa programmes on the Australian labour market and the temporary work visa holders until February next year. This will allow examination by Hearings of the claims that some 7-eleven franchisees may have been underpaying their employees for over a year. It seems that there will be no call for written submissions.

Electric vehicles A partnership has been established between the Queensland Government, Mitsubishi Motors and Ergon Energy which will result in eight electric vehicles being added to the Ergon Energy passenger fleet this year. It forms the electricity distributor’s strategy to reduce carbon emissions and embrace emerging technologies and raise awareness of electric vehicle technology and environmental sustainability. The vehicles are the Mitsubishi Outlander Plugin Hybrid Electric Vehicle and, reportedly, the world’s first Plugin Hybrid SUV. The eight vehicles will join Ergon Energy’s fleet based in Cairns, Townsville, Rockhampton, Mackay, Maryborough and Toowoomba. A lease offer to employees is being finalised that may result in up to a further 100 electric vehicles taken on for private use. In addition, Ergon Energy has announced its retail business was working with government and industry to help create an electric vehicle highway with Australia’s first solar powered fast charging stations for electric vehicles to be established in Townsville.

Tax reforms In September’s Viewpoint, Member’s attention was drawn to the Australian Taxation Office’s myDeductions. Additionally, the ATO has released voice authentication through smart devices—a first, in Australia—for a

person to authenticate themselves on their smart device; go directly to their account and transact; pay instalments; do their tax return and put deductions into their tax return. The ATO has over a million voiceprints that people have left through contact centres. These are for the purpose of making it quicker and easier for people to be authenticated to be able to transact through these centres.

Australian Business Number In the 2015-16 Budget, the Australian Government announced measures to make it easier to register a new business as part of the Growing Jobs and Small Business package. Its purpose is to encourage business start-ups and entrepreneurship by making it quicker and simpler to set up a new business. As part of the package, the number of business identifiers is reduced. Currently, a business can receive an Australian Business Number (ABN) from the Registrar of the Australian Business Register, a Tax File Number from the Commissioner of Taxation and an Australian Company Number (ACN) from the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC). Rationalising these to a single identifier for companies is to simplify the system and make business administration easier and less confusing. From July 1, 2016, the process for applying for registration as a company under the Corporations Act and applying to be registered in the Australian Business Register under the Australian Business Number Act will be linked. New companies will be issued with a single numerical identifier, an ABN, as part of their company registration process. A company will be registered for ABN purposes at the same time it is registered as a company under the Corporations Act. ASIC will no longer give an ACN to a company on registration from July 1, 2016. Accordingly, new companies will no longer be able to use the ACN as their name. However, a company registered on or after July 1, 2016 will be able to use the ABN in its name. ASIC will only be able to register a company if: an application for registration in the Australian Business Register has been lodged in respect of the proposed company and the October 2015 Motor Trader | 5


Policy/Viewpoint Registrar has allocated an ABN to the company; or ( for an existing body) it already has an ABN. Note that an existing company will retain all its current numerical identifiers. A company registered before July 1, 2016 will be able to continue to use its ACN under the Corporations Act and will not be required to apply for an ABN if it does not have one.

ECONOMY The Reserve Bank Board’s September 1, 2015 meeting was closely watched as some commentators were of the opinion that a cut in the cash rate was a possibility. It was not to be. The Board left the cash rate unchanged at 2.0 per cent. The reasoning behind the decision included that while growth had been below longer-term averages for some time it had been accompanied with stronger employment growth and a steady unemployment rate over the past year. The National Australia Bank monthly survey for August pointed to improving business conditions in the non-mining economy even with concerns about the financial markets. The conditions index rose 5 points to 11 points in the month which is the highest level since late 2009. The survey indicated that trading conditions and profitability recorded notable improvement, but the employment index remained at a subdued level. The rationale for this is that the AUD depreciation and a record low interest rate were having the desired effect and helping to offset the weakness in mining. 6 | Motor Trader October 2015

The survey indicated that business confidence in Queensland on a trend basis was the highest of all the mainland States and higher than the national average. This was the second month in a row of improving business confidence in the State.

New Motor Vehicle Sales New motor vehicle sales for Queensland peaked in June 2015 and since then the trend has been downwards. According to the Australian Bureau Statistics (seasonally adjusted) for August, 19,079 units were retailed - a decline of 284 or -1.5 per cent compared with the previous month. With the exception of Tasmania, all States and Territories recorded a downturn. On an annual basis there was a positive outlook with new car sales up by 999 or +5.5 per cent. The respected VFacts data for Queensland indicates that there were 18,183 new motor vehicle sales - an increase of +5.9 per cent compared with August 2014. This compares favourably with national new vehicle sales which rose by +2.9 percent for the same timeline. On a year-to-date basis, for Queensland there was an increase of +5.4 per cent whilst nationally a +3.2 per cent rise was recorded. In August, the SUV was the popular choice for new Australian car buyers. VFacts data indicates that SUVs increased +19.4 per cent on August 2014 figures, with a large part of that growth in the small SUV segment where sales increased by +51.3 per cent. Medium SUV sales rose by +15.8 per cent and large SUV sales grew +4.5 per cent. Sales to private and business buyers increased in July 2015, with private buyers purchasing +1.7 per cent more vehicles and business buyers purchasing +4.4 per cent more vehicles. Both buyer types increasingly chose SUVs, with private buyers taking home 22 per cent more SUVs than in August 2014 and business buyers driving away with 12.1 per cent more SUVs. By contrast, passenger car sales fell -4.6 per cent and light commercial vehicle sales declined by -6.1 per cent.

VISITS Divisional Executive Andy O’Hearn has continued with a road trip meeting Members. He has been in the north west to meet with Members at Cloncurry. These visits to regional areas will continue as part of our annual program and are an important opportunity for us to liaise directly with Members.

ANNUAL MEETING An appreciative thank you to Divisional Chairs for the early copies of your respective Annual Reports. You made Motor Trader Editor Jonathan Nash happy as the timeframe for printing the Association’s Annual Report is tight -which reminds me he is waiting on my Members Services report! The Annual Report is important. It provides Members and interested people with information about the MTA Queensland’s activities and financial performance. Essentially, it provides the necessary transparency and accountability of the MTA Queensland affairs which is central to our culture.

THE FINAL CALL The President’s Ball is on Saturday, October 31, at the Hilton Hotel in Brisbane. It will be a special night and will include the presentation of the Innovation and Community Awards. President David Fraser and the Executive team, as the award judges, have been working through the task of assessing the excellent nominations. Of course, a highlight of the evening will be the announcement of the winner of the MTA Institute of Technology Apprentice of the Year Award. If you do not have your tickets, the gentle advice is to do so quickly, as it is to close to being sold out. I’m ready for the Ball, having spent the school holiday “Glamping” at Hervey Bay with my husband, son and our extended families. In the mean time, take care and stay safe.


IT’S TIME TO NOMINATE FOR THE MTAQ AWARDS Representatives of the winning businesses are required to attend the event and will, if needed, be flown to Brisbane and provided accommodation at the Hilton Brisbane. But staying at the Hilton is not the only reward. Recipients will also receive a trophy, an iPad and exposure through MTA Queensland’s website, Facebook presence and Motor Trader magazine. So get involved and nominate either your own business or the business of another member who you think has excelled in either of these areas. Let us know, via email and in 500 words or less, which business has been nominated, why they have been nominated and include either photographic or documentary evidence to support the nomination, and away we go!

INNOVATION AWARD We often think of innovation in terms of technology, but innovation comes in many forms. From engaging employees with unique incentive programs to methodologies that streamline workflows and increase production; from waste management to quality control; from new product lines to changes to old ones; from customer service programs to unique building, planning and environmental projects. ‘Innovation’ can cover any improvement or adjustment to your business.

COMMUNITY AWARD MTA Queensland knows many members are involved with their community beyond the boundary of their business - be it via charitable works, fundraising, volunteering or direct work in the community. The Community Award recognises a member business which has identified how important their role can be within the community they serve and which has responded with projects, programs and initiatives reflecting that importance.

The nomination process is open now and closes at Noon on Monday, October 12

The winners will be notified by Friday, October 16

Email your nomination to info@mtaq.com.au

WINNERS REC

EIVE

• Return fligh ts to Brisbane • A night at th e Hilton Brisbane • Free entry to The President’s Ball • An iPad

2014 WINNER

Frank and Mary Teggart with the Innovation Award

Awarded to A1 Mobile Mechanics for the CM4000, a jump start pack developed by business owner Frank Teggart. Taking into consideration all the new technology used in vehicles today, the CM4000 has built-in surge and spike protection and has the ability to jump start cars even when the clamps are placed back-to-front.

2014 WINNER

Don Holden accepted the Community Award on behalf of the Crick Auto Group

Awarded to Crick Auto Group for two major initiatives. The Crick Eastham Foundation is committed to raising funds for charities that support either kids, the community or the fight against cancer. The ‘Cricks 12 Lives’ initiative aims to help change the life of someone in the community. Members of the public nominate people in need, and ‘Cricks 12 Lives’ chooses one person every month to help.

20140186

The President’s Ball is just a month away and the MTA Queensland is looking to once again acknowledge the fantastic work of members through the presentation of the Innovation Award and the Community Award. These awards, presented for the first time at last year’s President’s Ball, were created to recognise the business creativity of MTA Queensland members and their involvement within the communities they serve. From business methods that benefit the environment or improve productivity, to relationships with local communities through charitable works, the award judges - including MTA Queensland Chairman David Fraser and the Executive team - want to look at any and all initiatives.


MTA

QA &

What products and services does M&H Oakey provide? BH: We offer mechanical repairs on

cars, trucks, farm machinery and heavy equipment, plus hydraulic repairs, air conditioning and mobile services. We are an RACQ contracted service provider and approved repairer and also a Dunlop Tyres Super Dealer. We also offer road worthies, defect clearances and COI’s for trucks.

How long has the business been running? BH: We started in 2004. I had worked

for the council and also had my own truck that I used when working for the local abattoir - I did a run to Brisbane every day carting tallow. I knew someone who worked with Hydraulink and he told me they needed a branch out here because the Acland Mine had recently opened. I was doing that for about 12 months when people started to ask me to do mechanical work for them. So I started doing that too, from one workshop at this site.

How did things grow from that one shop to the business you have today? BH: The mechanical side of things got

Brian Hobbs

busy! There was also a truck business at the back of this site that wanted me to do the servicing on their vehicles and trailers. The RACQ came along in 2007 and approached us after another local business which was offering their service closed down. The same thing happened when the local tyre business


In 2004, Brian Hobbs founded M&H Oakey, a one-man mechanical and hydraulic repair business, in the small town of Oakey, 160km west of Brisbane. 11 years later, and now with 13 employees, M&H Oakey offers a truly wide range of services to its country community - from hydraulic and mechanical repair, to tyre retail, breakdown and towing services, air conditioning and more. shut down. There was nothing here after that and people had to go to Toowoomba for tyres, so I decided to offer wheel alignments and put in some wheel alignment gear, then bought a changer and started the tyre service. I was working with the local council when it was decided that, to supply to them, you had to be what they call ‘local buy’ (companies that are preferred/prequalified suppliers to local government), and the only tyre companies in ‘local buy’ were the big fellas like Goodyear, Bridgestone and Dunlop. So we became a Dunlop dealer and we now supply tyres across the range, from motorbikes and small cars up to dump trucks. Amongst other brands we now carry Mickey Thompson tyres and will soon have mag wheels, Ironman 4WD suspension and bull bars, as well as camping gear to sell.

Covering these various industry segments must keep you very busy? BH: They do, and there was a time when I was thinking of dropping the hydraulics business. But after the big flood hit this area in 2011 the government decided to send out business managers to help the recovery. We ended up with one of them for six months and he definitely helped a lot - he helped us set up new software, our website and helped me to be a bit more business-minded. He analysed everything and saw that we were making money out of all areas of the business.

Is your family involved in the business? BH: When we first started my daughter became the office manager. As the business got bigger and began to grow, my other daughter came to work here too. While my oldest daughter was running the office I helped her husband through his light vehicle apprenticeship as a matureage apprentice. However, over the years they have all left and now it is just me.

How many employees do you have? BH: We have an office manager and four others in administration, a parts person, a tyre manager, two blokes who work in the tyre shop and who are now doing mature-age apprenticeships – one doing light vehicle and one doing heavy vehicle; a tow truck operator and two fourth year apprentices – one who is doing light vehicle and one doing heavy vehicle and hydraulics. We also have a school-based trainee in the office and a school-based apprentice in the workshop, and I am taking on a couple more trainees soon. Training is very important to me and I am a big believer that trainees be ‘hands-on’. When I was an apprentice my first job was to pull apart a big CAT engine and rebuild it. It was the only way to get experience. And I say to my blokes that, to be a mechanic, I should be able to give them a motor in pieces and they should be able to put it back together.

They should know what things are, why things do what they do and how to fix them. I also believe in improving yourself. When I started my trade I used to go and stay with my uncle who was a mechanic. He used to drum into me to always improve your education and experience, to get your tickets – and that’s what I have done. And that’s why my team, like my tyre blokes, are now doing their mechanical apprenticeships – they’re getting taught across the field of the industry.

What are you plans for the future of M&H Oakey? BH: We work with just about everybody but I would like to do more work with the mine out here. We do work with the contractors on the edges but not with the mine, so we’d like to change that. We’d also like to do work with the army base here, and get into fleet business as well.

What do you do in your spare time, if you have any? BH: I’m a big North Queensland Cowboys fan and I like to watch them play when I can. I’ll go up to watch them in Townsville twice a year and watch them play the Broncos and the Titans when they come down here. I sponsor the League team here in town and I still play in the Masters Games every year. October 2015 Motor Trader | 9


LICENCE TO

THRILL The DB5 was the first James Bond Aston Martin, driven by Sean Connery in Goldfinger. More than 20 films, and 50 years, later, the company continues to be the manufacturer of choice for the suave British spy Daniel Craig's Bond will drive the DB10 in Spectre


Of the many, many Bond cars, the one that always comes to mind is the Aston Martin DB5, but for Spectre, the forthcoming 24th Bond instalment, director Sam Mendes wanted another Aston. This time he got one for Bond and Bond only. Motor Trader reports from the set of Spectre in Rome

M

ENDES SPENT TIME with Aston Martin's Chief Creative Officer and design chief, Marek Reichman, to make sure the car, called DB10, was the machine of his dreams. It is slightly sinister and very modern. There are visual hints of its DB5 ancestry, but it definitely doesn’t look retro. At the film's launch, Mendes called the DB10 "a non-human cast member" and that it marked the 50-year relationship between Aston and Bond. Disappointingly for fans of both, Aston Martin says it won't be making any DB10s available for public sale. In fact, Aston won’t be making more than 10 of this particular model. The film's producers asked Aston Martin for eight copies – four types for different uses, each with a spare – plus Aston archived a pair. The cars used in the movie are built off a V8 Vantage structure, and use that model's 4.7-litre V8 engine. But it's considerably wider, at 2109mm overall. This means the suspension wishbones needed to be longer than standard; in addition the on-set workshop is available to re-tune the suspension geometry and rates for each particular scene, depending on the car's specific duty at that point in the movie. The DB10's skin is carbonfibre, and it's not exactly fragile - it has been engineered to withstand the brutal life of a stunt car. Behind-the-scenes on the film set are the full spectrum of specifically created models. Two of the DB10s are so-called 'hero cars', maintained in visually perfect condition for close-up shots of their stunning exterior. Two are stunt cars, kitted out for action punishment. They're fitted with race seats and hidden roll cages, and their suspension is re-tuned according to the demands of the stunt in progress; their clutches and brakes are beefed up specifically for the role. Two are 'stunt gadget cars', additionally kitted out with Bond's famous hidden weaponry - the boot of one contains a hidden flamethrower, and complex pneumatic mechanisms for

“SAM [MENDES] IS A STRONG BELIEVER IN DOING IT FOR REAL. . . THE CAR'S MOVEMENTS HAVE TO BE RIGHT, EVERYTHING ABOUT THE CHASE HAS TO BE ACCURATE. . .” deploying hidden guns. "Sam [Mendes] is a bit of a Q himself," says the film's action vehicle technical co-ordinator, Neil Layton, speaking as we watch last minute preparations for the day’s shoot. The final pair are 'pod cars'. The 'pod' is a full safety cage, mounted on the roof, enclosing a seat, pedals and steering wheel linked to the car via hydraulics. The slave hydraulic pump for the steering is mounted on the column just inside the bulkhead. Daniel Craig is filmed at the wheel while the car is actually controlled by a stunt driver above his head.

The DB10 is not the only special car in Spectre the Jaguar concept car, the C-X75, also has a starring role.

October 2015 Motor Trader | 11


Craig has to 'drive' convincingly even when the car is skidding around and his vision is blocked by lights and cameras mounted to the vehicle. For obvious reasons, the pod cars have automatic transmission; the rest of the fleet are manuals. The stunt cars have hydraulic quick-release handbrakes for initiating slides, rally-style. The pod weighs 400kg; imagine what this does to the centre of gravity. It illustrates why each of the cars has a separate suspension set-up that might vary between scenes – both for the off camera and lighting gear it might be carrying, and the surface it's running over. The film's director and stunt-design team are determined that the stunts must be authentic. "Sam [Mendes] is a strong believer in doing it for real," says Layton. "The car's movements have to be right, everything about the chase has to be accurate – even the way an actor's shirt collar flaps in the breeze.” There's no computer-animated trickery, which is why the cars are perfectly engineered, right down to the tiniest detail, to make them perfect for Bond. Layton remembers, "I sat down with Aston Martin and said, 'We're going to jump this supercar, do things with it that some 4x4s wouldn't be able to do. They said 'Really?!' So I came out with a menu of what I wanted and why, which they were fine with, but when I asked for eight cars and 20 nose cones they did cough a bit!" It wasn't just the car makers who needed persuading. Gary Powell, stunt co-ordinator, says, "No-one had used Rome for a shooting location on this scale before. We had a meeting with the mayor of the city and virtually had to pick him up off the floor."

“I SAT DOWN WITH ASTON MARTIN

AND SAID, 'WE'RE GOING TO JUMP THIS SUPERCAR, DO THINGS WITH IT THAT SOME 4X4S WOULDN'T BE ABLE TO DO. THEY SAID 'REALLY?!”

12 | Motor Trader October 2015

The Italian capital is the setting for a chase scene between Bond and the DB10 and the villainous Mr Hinx in a Jaguar C-X75. That's right, the C-X75. The cancelled hypercar project. As with the Aston, Jaguar built some new copies of its originally-hybrid machine, and the film team fully re-engineered them beneath the skin. Out went the fourcylinder compound-supercharged engine, electric motors, power electronics and battery pack. In came conventional supercharged V8 powertrains. The whole chase needs 17 nights to film, with 350 people working on set – and this is only the 'second unit' crew. An additional 250 security staff try, not always successfully in this packed city centre, to prevent Rome's curious population seeing too much – or more importantly, posting spoiler shots onto social media. A fully equipped mobile workshop can rebuild the cars if required, even installing new transmissions or suspensions. But it hasn't been entirely necessary, because the combination of film technicians and Jaguar and


“. . . SAM'S VISION WAS A PURE SENSE OF SPEED. ONE NIGHT, WE EVEN HAD TO SLOW THE STUNT CARS DOWN BECAUSE THEY OUTRAN THE CAMERA HELICOPTER, THEY WERE GOING SO FAST.” Aston Martin engineers did such a good job of building and setting up the cars. Layton says audiences expect that if a car takes a knock, it will be dented. But these carbon-skinned cars don't, so they have to take that into account in designing the stunts, and sometimes they deliberately pre-empt damage to the panels. The DB10's deep lustre comes from special factory paint that isn't fixable on-site, so Aston supplied repair patches in case of scrapes. The chase is set in the early hours of the morning.

"There is no-one around in the city, which helps, because Sam's vision was a pure sense of speed," says Powell. "One night, we even had to slow the stunt cars down because they outran the camera helicopter, they were going so fast. Nothing's speeded up on film." Playing Bond in the stunts is three-time British Rally Champion Mark Higgins, who goes through the potential hazards of driving like 007. "We rally drivers are used to different surfaces," he says, "But the cobbles in Rome are uniquely slippery when it's damp. We couldn't close off the streets to practice. Still, it's amazing to lock off the Vatican and drive through St Peter's Square at 100mph [160km/h]." He admits that the process is more of a challenge when the cars carry extra filming equipment. "If you head off on cold tyres with 70kg of camera mounted on the nose, it gets a bit lively and driving from the roof pod is tough; there's play in the steering. It's harder to be smooth." In another scene, the Aston Martin drives down a 12-metre flight of historic steps. Like Powell and Layton, driver Higgins is full of praise for the resilience of the stunt cars. "We've had a fantastic run of reliability. Driving down those steps, we did seven takes with no damage," he says. More scenes are filmed. The Jaguar chases the Aston at 200km/h along the embankment of the Tiber. It closes in to within a couple of car lengths and, as a camera helicopter swoops in overhead, flames spew out from the back of the Aston Martin, engulfing and grilling the gorgeously contoured front end of the villain's Jag. Later, another of the Astons – its engine, transmission, interior and glass having been removed by the on-set workshop – is suspended half-submerged in the river by a crane wire. As the cameras roll, it slowly sinks beneath the freezing, fast-flowing water. The outcome of this particular incident will only be revealed when Spectre hits movie theatres but if the excitement of filming is anything to go by, and with cars like the Aston and the Jag gracing the screen, audiences will be both shaken and stirred. Spectre hits cinemas in November. October 2015 Motor Trader | 13


News

MOTORSPORT TO GET DREAM ATTRACTION ON THE GOLD COAST

Images are indicative and for illustrative purposes only Images are indicative and for illustrative purposes only

T

HE LATE, GREAT Peter Brock is to be celebrated at a new attraction at Dreamworld, one of Australia’s premier theme parks. The park unveiled plans for a new interactive motorsports precinct to open after Christmas that will feature a re-vamped rollercoaster and the world’s largest collection of Peter Brock racing cars. Dreamworld says the multi-million dollar, 6,000 square metre, immersive motorsport experience will include a new train and re-themeing of the existing Cyclone rollercoaster; a walkthrough high-tech display of around 30 original and replica Peter Brock cars; six state-of-the-art supercar racing simulators; plus themed dining and retail options. Dreamworld CEO Craig Davidson said the attraction was designed to appeal to a wide audience including families, thrill seekers, motoring 14 | Motor Trader October 2015

“AN AUSTRALIAN

FIRST, THIS WILL BE A HIGH-OCTANE REVVEDUP EXPERIENCE, AND WHILE THE NARRATIVE IS BASED ON MOTOR RACING, THERE WILL BE SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE.”

enthusiasts and gaming fans. “An Australian first, this will be a high-octane revved-up experience, and while the narrative is based on motor racing, there will be something

for everyone,” he said. “There is nothing ‘museum’ about this. It’s a motorsport-themed thrill-ride precinct anchored by a celebration of Australian motorsport and Brock’s achievements from the 1970s through to his modern day legacy.” The Brock cars include his most significant Bathurst rides from the 1972 Torana XU-1 to the 1980s Commodores and ‘The Big Banger’. “We are working closely with the Brock family and our partners to ensure the attraction is authentic and like nothing experienced in Australia before.” The new attraction will open after Christmas 2015.


2016 Retail Motor Trade Diary THIS QUALITY DIARY FEATURES: ✷ Professional design complete with gold corners and stitched spine backing ✷ Important telephone numbers and contact details ✷ 30 minute per day time slots ✷ Day by day planning

Member’s price $22 (GST inclusive) plus postage and handling. Non Member’s price $25 (GST inclusive) plus postage and handling. ORDER NOW TO SECURE YOUR COPY and avoid disappointment. (Due for delivery mid-November) Just fax this completed form back to MTA-Q on (07) 3844 4488, OR email stationery@mtaq.com.au Please supply: ____ copies of the 2016 Motor Trade’s Diary at TOTAL $

(Plus postage and handling)

Company Name: Address: Postcode: Phone: (

)

Fax: (

Contact Name:

)

Date:

MTA-Q Member: Membership number/Account number: Capricorn Account number: Please bill to my account OR see payment details below Method of Payment: Cheque (Payable to MTAQ) / MasterCard / Visa Card Number: __ __ __ __/ __ __ __ __/ __ __ __ __/ __ __ __ __/

Expiry Date: __/__

Signature:

MTA Queensland Address Building 8, 2728 Logan Road Eight Mile Plains Qld 4113 Postal PO Box 4530 Eight Mile Plains Qld 4113 Tel (07) 3237 8777 Toll Free 1800 177 951

20120033

Name on Card:

CVN: __ __ __ /


THE BLUE BIRD

I

NTRODUCED IN 1965, the Falcon XP was the last model of the first generation of the Ford Falcon and was produced for just one year, selling approximately 70,000 units in its short lifespan. Available in a range of model types – including a 4-door sedan, 5-door station wagon, a panel van and 2-door ute the 2-door hardtop was the pick of the bunch, a stylish and sleek motor which was powered by a range of straight-six engines. Around 7000 of these handsome XPs were built and have become much sought-after over the years, becoming an affordable Aussie classic. For Leo Topatigh, owner of the BP Workshop in Wellington Point, getting his hands on an XP Hardtop was something he had thought about for a long time. An XP was the first car he ever owned as a teenager in the late ‘60s and, though he parted ways with that one decades ago, he never forgot it. “I did have one when I was 17,” says Leo. “It was my first car and I’d saved up enough money to buy it cash. It was beautiful, but I had it only for a couple of years before I smashed it up. “Then, one day, years later, my son Neil was flicking through a magazine, saw an XR and said he wanted to build one of them. He was only 15 at the time and when he had saved up a bit of coin we went and found one. It needed a bit

16 | Motor Trader October 2015

of work and took him two-and-a-half-years to restore but it was immaculate. When he drove it out of the garage I thought ‘Bloody hell, I could get myself a classic like that!’ And that’s when I started looking.” Six months later, Leo had his hands on what he thought was a pretty solid example of an XP. “I found it in Sunnybank,” he says. “I had tried for a few months to find one but they were all overpriced and in bad condition. Then I found this one and I thought it was in pretty good shape. But then we started digging and found rust underneath, and in the sills and over the wheel arches and stuff like that – it got a little bit out of control. “Visually, it looked very good, so whoever did it did a good job of bogging it up!” It took a couple of years for Leo to knock the XP into shape. The car was stripped back to bare metal for some welding repair, the diff was changed with a pinion and crown wheel put in that had been salvaged from a sedan. The engine had a bit of piston-slap about it and was rebuilt too. Leo was able to do most of the work at his workshop, using the resources of his business, the skill and enthusiasm of his colleagues, plus his own vast experience. He had started work at the shop in the ‘60s as a young lad and has


MAKE: FORD MODEL: XP FALCON 2-DOOR HARDTOP YEAR: 1965 ENGINE: 250 PRE-CROSSFLOW STRAIGHT SIX OWNER: LEO TOPATIGH OWNED SINCE: 2009

worked there his entire life, the past decade or more as the owner. “I was 14 when I first started here but I was underage so they sent me back to school,” he says with a laugh. “However, when I was 15, I came back to work here legally and I’ve pretty much done everything. Back then, mechanics rebuilt everything - alternators, starter motors, engines, transmissions, diffs – we did it all.” For the XP restoration, Leo picked up some smaller pieces such as a blinker set, tail lights and kick panels from a company called Classic Ford Parts in Melbourne which, he says, “has got everything and at very good prices.” The interior, which is original, was in good shape and even seven years on needs only minor maintenance work. What isn’t original is the XP’s colour, and its source is somewhat unusual. “It took a while to get the car into the shape I was happy with,” says Leo. “We got it mechanically going within six months, and the inside didn’t have to be touched. I then took it over to a painter who asked me what colour I wanted. All I knew was that I wanted blue. “Then, one morning, I was sitting in the office and this Hi-Lux came in to the garage and I saw it out of the corner of my eye. I asked the bloke what the colour was. He gave me the colour code and that was that – so my XP is a Hi-Lux colour!”

DO YOU HAVE A PRIDE AND JOY IN THE GARAGE THAT YOU WOULD LOVE TO SEE IN THE PAGES OF MOTOR TRADER?

With such an eye-catching restoration, and with an owner Contact Jonathan Nash at jonathann@ who uses it as his mtaq.com.au or 07 3237 8721 and let’s daily driver, the see if we can share your classic with other members. XP has garnered plenty of attention and there’s little wonder as to why Leo has been approached by many members of the public who have wanted to buy it. He says he won’t sell, at least for now, but there is definitely another car on his radar that could become another project. “I get people stopping at the garage asking to take pictures of the XP, and once every few months someone will come in wanting to buy it,” he says. “I do sometimes think about it and wonder whether I might get a ’57 or ’58 Ford Customline. I’ve been doing this a long time and I’m not far off from retiring, so I might look at a Customline project if I can find a half-decent one. “I do like the classics,” he adds with a smile. “They do feel good to drive.” October 2015 Motor Trader | 17


PAINTLESS DENT REPAIR COURSE MTA Global is running a two-day introductory Paintless Dent Repair course In this course you will be taught the fundamentals behind the successful practice of paintless dent repair. These include: 1. Metal movements and theory 2. Lighting (fog and line boards) 3. Tool selection 4. Access and leverage 5. Glue pulling Date: Time: Location: Cost:

31 October and 1 November 9am to 4pm, lunch included MTA Global, Eight Mile Plains $1650 per person (Inc GST)

Address Freeway Office Park, Building 8, 2728 Logan Road, Eight Mile Plains, Queensland, Australia 4113 Training +61 7 3722 3000 Fax +61 7 3844 4488 Email training@mtaglobal.com.au Website www.mtaglobal.com.au Postal PO Box 4530 Eight Mile Plains, Queensland, Australia 4113

20150268

MTA Global Sir Jack Brabham Automotive Centre of Excellence


ESSENTIALS Contents 19 Training matters 26 Member profiles

AVR AUTOMOTIVE SUNRISE CARAVANS SUNSPARES PARTS PLUS

28 Industrial relations

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander young people at the launch of the program.

T

HE MTA INSTITUTE of Technology (MTAIT) has begun working with Queensland’s Department of Education and Training (DET) to deliver a new training program to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (ATSI) communities in the Toowoomba region of the state’s southeast. The ATSI Automotive Vocational Preparation program is designed to offer high school students from the Indigenous community not only the opportunity to achieve a Certificate II in Automotive Vocational Preparation, but also offer a clear pathway to employment within the automotive industry. Beginning while the students are in Year 11, the course includes a week of theory and preparation training followed by a 20-week work experience placement (one day per week) at an automotive business in their region, with regular on-site training with an MTAIT trainer. The work placement segment of the

course is now underway and will run through until the end of Term 2, 2016, whereupon the students, provided they have reached agreement with their work experience providers, will take on school-based apprenticeships until they graduate high school and then move in to full-time, workplace apprenticeships. 12 students, from five high schools in the Toowoomba area, are taking part in the course, which has been organised, and is coordinated, by the Darling Downs South West Regional Indigenous Education Services Team within Queensland Government’s Department of Education and Training. Knowing that there were skill shortages within the automotive industry, the Indigenous Pathways Coordinator recognised the opportunity to offer an exciting employment pathway for Indigenous youngsters who showed an interest in automotive, and sought the input from schools and businesses, including MTAQ members, when developing the program. October 2015 Motor Trader | 19

E S S E N T I A L S

MEMBERS

MTAIT AND DET COURSE TO ASSIST INDIGENOUS TEENS

M E M B E R S

Training matters


M E M B E R S

E S S E N T I A L S

Training matters

“WE ARE HELPING TO

PROVIDE CAREER PATHS FOR YOUNG ABORIGINAL AND TORRES STRAIT ISLANDERS . . . WE ARE VERY PROUD TO BE INVOLVED WITH THIS PROGRAM.”

Gary Halliday from DET and Anthony Bonaccorso from MTAIT

MTAIT TRAINER PROFILE

“We sent out an expression of interest with the clear indication that all students had to have an interest in the automotive area,” said Gary Halliday, Indigenous Pathways Co-ordinator for DET. “It was then put out to the Indigenous Community Education Counsellors in the schools, who spoke to their work placement and guidance officers, who then came back with a number of students who were interested in this area. The Senior Field Officer from Training and I then approached businesses in the area and we had wonderful employers

CHRIS BRADY

put their hand up and we are very grateful to them.” For MTAQ and MTAIT, being involved with the ATSI course is an important part of the Association’s interaction with the wider community. “MTAQ and MTAIT are reaching out in an area where, thanks to the flexibility of our training models and the generosity of our member base we are able to help service this DET initiative and work with the complexities around the Indigenous community,” said Anthony Bonaccorso, Business Development

Manager for MTAIT. “We are helping to provide career paths for young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders to help them transition from school to work and we are very proud to be involved with this program.” “This is a great opportunity for the Year 11 students to get entry-level training, to get a feel for the industry and have the opportunity to gain a traineeship or apprenticeship,” added Mr Halliday. “And although this is our pilot program, we are hoping that it will be successful and will continue to run over the next few years.

What is your specialised area? Light Vehicle.

What do you believe is the most important aspect of training?

What is your background in the automotive industry?

Supporting the student through the process.

Started with GMH, then worked in service stations and then in the mining industry.

Why should someone consider a career in the automotive industry?

When did you become a trainer for MTA Institute of Technology?

If you love what you do, you don't have to work a day in your life.

April 2014.

What geographical area do you service? Central Queensland.

What is the most satisfying aspect of your role as a trainer for MTA Institute of Technology? Watching the student grow in knowledge as they progress through training.

20 | Motor Trader October 2015

What is the best piece of advice you can give to an apprentice starting out in the industry? Never give up.

When you’re not training, what do you like to do? Target shooting and fishing.


training (Certificate II in Automotive Vocational Placement), Week one and Week seven will offer training in ‘life skills’ - elements which will produce a more confident job-ready individual. Included will be training in communication skills, language, literacy and numeracy, motivation, managing emotions, setting goals, financial management and even First Aid. Weeks 8 and 9 are dedicated to work placement in the student’s region. Following completion of the program, it is hoped that many of the students will be able to use the course, and MTAQ assistance, in finding work within the industry and go on to full apprenticeships. MTAQ is committed to offering follow-up support for six months after the course to assist both student and employer. Aimed at a diverse range of groups – from disadvantaged, mature-age and young job seekers; people with a disability; members of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community, amongst others, the Auto Initiation program will commence this October, with the first course taking place in Brisbane before moving out to the regional areas. “The program offers a great experience, and anyone who completes it will genuinely have

opportunities they would not otherwise have,” said Mr Paul Kulpa, Manager of Training Operations for MTA Institute of Technology. “Courses such as Auto Initiation open doors for people.” The Skilling Queenslanders for Work program, through which the Auto Initiation course is being funded, was reinstated in April following Labor’s victory in the state election. According to Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk, Skilling Queenslanders for Work will support up to 32,000 job seekers across various industries. “Skilling Queenslanders for Work has a proven track record of delivering Queenslanders real employment opportunities,” she said. “This is an initiative that’s worth $60 million a year over four years and it’s going to deliver immediate benefits to communities throughout Queensland. “This initiative will get thousands of Queenslanders back on the path to employment, providing jobs right throughout the State and it will have a strong rural and regional focus. We want to ensure that no matter where they live, all Queenslanders can access real jobs and real employment opportunities.” For more information about the Auto Initiation program, contact Karen Gummerson at karen. gummerson@bigpond.com or 0421 552725. This Skilling Queenslanders for Work project is proudly funded and supported by the Queensland Government.

STUDENT OF THE MONTH - REYD NICHOLSON Reyd Nicholson, from Nerang Auto Electrical, has picked up September's Student of the Month award. The 4th Year Auto Electrical apprentice has impressed with his dedication and determination and recently excelled while taking part in the regional Worldskills competition, gaining a silver medal. The only non-Tafe student in the contest, Reyd greatly impressed the judges who found his performance and attitude highlighted the skills and the underpinning knowledge passed on through his training. Reyd's MTAIT trainer, Alex Fletcher, had no problem selecting Reyd for the competitiion.

"I knew Reyd would be competing with students trained in the TAFE system while undergoing a TAFE structured competition. Although he was not familiar with the equipment provided, the outcome was excellent and a direct reflection on his employer and training." Competent and professional, Alex said Reyd is able to diagnose problems quickly and is gaining a wide range of experience working with a busy company that deals with heavy vehicle, machinery and agricultural, as well as light vehicle and air conditioning, and had proved himself to be a real asset to his employer.

Reyd Nicholson

October 2015 Motor Trader | 21

E S S E N T I A L S

M

TA QUEENSLAND (MTAQ) is to provide a number of training programs under the Queensland Government’s Skilling Queenslanders for Work initiative. The initiative is designed to provide skills development, training and job opportunities to unemployed, disengaged or disadvantaged Queenslanders through a suite of programs and MTAQ and MTA Institute of Technology (MTAIT) will deliver a new pre-vocational automotive course, named Auto Initiation. Falling under the Community Work Skills element of the Skilling Queenslanders for Work initiative, Auto Initiation is a nine-week program course which will be delivered by MTAIT trainers to regional areas including the Gold Coast, Hervey Bay, Bundaberg, the Sunshine Coast, Mackay, Rockhampton, Gladstone, Townsville and Mount Isa. The course will provide participants with the skills required to work in the automotive industry, but its aim goes beyond training someone in the basics. While the bulk of the nine-week program, from Week two to Week six, will deal with automotive

M E M B E R S

NEW ‘AUTO INITIATION’ PROGRAM OFFERS INDUSTRY ENTRY POINT


MTAIT AND CENTURY YUASA STR

M E M B E R S

E S S E N T I A L S

Training matters

Solid lead bars used in the production process

Plates being prepared for placement in the battery container

Plate grids ready to be covered with paste to form a plate

T

HE BATTERY IS a vital part of the modern car. Although many consumers probably only think about them when they turn the key to get their vehicle started, batteries do, of course, a lot more than just provide that initial spark of energy to get the engine moving. In fact, it helps to power much of what a car does. Without one, a car is going nowhere. So understanding how batteries work is an important part of understanding how vehicles work and that’s why almost all automotive qualifications, from Light Vehicle to Mobile Plant to Auto Electrics, has a training unit dealing with batteries. However, the most common form of automotive battery, the Lead Acid Battery, is constructed using toxic materials including lead and sulphuric acid and, as such, poses a problem when it comes to training – it is obviously unsafe for a trainer to deconstruct one to show an apprentice its inner workings. Consequently, training has revolved mainly around the 'theory' of how a battery works, using diagrams, workbooks and two-dimensional training aids. However, the MTA Institute of Technology has struck up a

22 | Motor Trader October 2015

Representatives from MTAQ being shown around the facility

“STUDENTS DO REACT

A LOT BETTER TO SEEING THE REAL THING, TO GETTING THEIR HANDS ON SOMETHING THAT’S TANGIBLE, AND USING A PRACTICAL TRAINING AID LIKE THIS IS A GREAT COMPLEMENT TO THE THEORY.”

relationship with Century Yuasa, one of the world’s leading manufacturers of automotive batteries, and has received the first of a new set of training aids - an automotive battery

built from a clear, transparent plastic which clearly shows its interior construction and inner workings - that is set to help apprentices and trainees better understand this vital piece of automotive equipment. “Effectively it is a complete battery, only minus the electrolyte,” said Marcello Riotto, Senior Trainer with MTAIT. “We have had a predicament when teaching about batteries in that we cannot cut a battery open because of the health and safety risks. “With this new Century Battery training aid, it will be very easy to see how the battery is constructed from plates, separators and so on. “Students do react a lot better to seeing the real thing, to getting their hands on something that’s tangible, and using a practical training aid like this is a great complement to the theory.” As part of the new relationship, a delegation from MTAIT toured Century Yuasa’s massive manufacturing facility at Carole Park in Brisbane. Century Yuasa, which manufactures the Century Battery brand, has been researching, developing and manufacturing batteries since 1928, and has been doing so from its Carole Park facility since 1984. The company


BATTERY BASICS A battery works thanks to a chemical reaction between various elements that mix to create an electrical charge. Negative and positive plates in the battery are soaked in sulphuric acid which reacts with the plates creating a charge that can be extracted via the battery terminals. A standard car battery produces 12 volts of electricity.

How it’s made

Batteries being labeled and prepared for shipping

now produces more than 1 million units per year servicing Original Equipment requirements for Ford, Toyota, Volvo and Mack, as well as the aftermarket and end-user markets. The only battery production facility in Australia, it is at the cutting edge of production and environmental technologies. And, being an Australian company, the company says that its Century batteries are built for Australian conditions. “We have a lot of corrugated roads, a lot of gravel roads, and our batteries have to cope with the vibration and high temperatures – very different to European conditions,” said Johnny Kennedy,
Training & Development Manager Automotive for Century Yuasa. “We still look for the ruggedness in our batteries so we know we have a quality product.” This focus on quality means Century Yuasa has R&D and quality control systems that have led to the development of battery technology such as SmartDrive™. This works in conjunction with a vehicle's Regulated Charge Control (RCC) system to help reduce fuel consumption and vehicle emissions by up to 2 per cent. The company

A robot is used to pack pallets ready for shipping

invests heavily in environmental systems that sees as much as 99 per cent of a battery being able to be recycled and re-processed into the production of new batteries. The company has also launched a nationwide recycling program that has

“TO BE ABLE TO

INCLUDE THE LATEST BATTERY TECHNOLOGY INFORMATION INTO OUR OWN TRAINING RESOURCES WILL BE VERY ADVANTAGEOUS TO OUR STUDENTS.”

Century Yuasa’s vast warehouse can store approx 120000 batteries

• Pure lead is melted and broken down into small particles and oxidized. • The Lead Oxide is mixed with various other ingredients to form a paste that is impregnated onto thin lead grids to form plates. • Plates are either negative or positive and are assembled into groups, or cells. • Six cells are grouped and connected via welding, and then placed within the battery container. • The battery is filled with acid and connected to a charging system for 18-24 hours depending on the type of battery. • On completion of charging, the battery is emptied of acid and refilled with fresh acid of a higher Specific Gravity. recycled more than 15,000 tonnes of used lead acid batteries. As part of the relationship with MTAIT, Century Yuasa will share technical information as battery technology continues to advance. This will ensure MTAIT trainees and apprentices are up-to-date with the latest developments. Further visits to the manufacturing facility for MTAIT trainers will ensure greater insight and knowledge into battery technology moving forward. “To include the latest battery information into our own resources will be very advantageous to our students,” said Mr Riotto. “And the Century Yuasa factory is amazing. The challenges of working with toxic materials, the volume of production and the streamlining they have achieved, as well as their quality assurance and constant search for improvements was truly impressive.” October 2015 Motor Trader | 23

E S S E N T I A L S

How it works

M E M B E R S

RIKE UP RELATIONSHIP


I N S TI TU TE O F TE C H N O LO G Y

169 PIECE STARTER KIT PLUS ROLL CAB PART NO: START2006 KIT INCLUDES: y KRB2006KPQR–6 drawer roll cab y 136 piece metric socket and combination wrench set y 5 piece screwdriver set y Ratcheting screwdriver y Easy stripper/crimper y 24oz ball pein hammer y 2 locking jaw pliers y 2 adjustable wrenches y 18" striking prybar y Rechargeable pen light y 6–24 volt test light y Feeler gauge y Soft grip hacksaw y 6 piece punch and chisel set y Blow gun y Pick set y Telescopic 2lb pick up tool and mirror y Clear safety glasses

Receive a $100 voucher redeemable on any Snap on Truck

Marcello Riotto MTA Institute 24 | Motor Trader October 2015of Technology

Tel: 07 3237 8735 Email: marcellor@mtait.edu.au www.mtait.edu.au

20150271

Only available to students currently enrolled with MTAIT.


C

that might save you from the shopping mall mayhem that is as much a Christmas tradition as a roast turkey dinner on the big day itself. So relax, and get those presents sorted out early!

E S S E N T I A L S

RIKEY! IT’S OCTOBER already and only a few weeks remain before the manic Christmas season strikes. With that in mind, Motor Trader has been searching for cool and unusual gifts

M E M B E R S

MT’s Christmas gift guide

TW STEEL YAMAHA COLLECTION THE TW STEEL Yamaha collection is an exclusive watch range from luxury watch brand TW Steel in collaboration with the Yamaha Factory Racing brand. Stylish, fun and available in a wide range of colours, if racing runs in your blood and every second counts then this is your timepiece. Price: $99 Stockist: Bijou Collection Online: www.bijoux.com.au

PHONE ‘BUNGEE’ HOW MANY OF you have exited your car only to discover your phone has mysteriously disappeared from your pocket? Frantic searching ensues and you finally find the pesky thing under the driver’s seat, nestled comfortably under a week-old MacDonald’s bacon and egg muffin wrapper. Well, this irritation could be a thing of the past thanks to the myBunjee - a rather ingenious little gadget that loops over any mobile phone, securing it to you via a coiled bunjee cord that clips to your jacket, belt loop or bag. At £6.95 (approx. $15), this could be a nice stocking filler for the kids as well as a decent bit of insurance for yourself. Price: £6.95 (approx. $15) Online: www.mybunjee.com

JAG E-TYPE KEYRING EVER WANTED TO own a Jag? Okay, so it’s only a diecast model, and it’s only a keyring, but it is a pretty cool one . . . in Queensland’s maroon colour as well. Comes with its own wooden ‘garage’ too, which is easily installed on the wall. From thedesigngiftshop.com, the 4.7cm long Jag is one of several car makes available – others include Mercedes 300SL, Citroen 2CV and VW Beetle. Price $85 Online: www. thedesigngiftshop.com

FERRARI SCOOTER ONE FOR THE kiddies now – a limited edition Ferrari scooter from globber. com.au. In racing car red with chrome detailing, the scooter has been designed with youngsters in mind. With three adjustable handlebar heights and lockable front steering, the scooter allows a child to learn and master the scooter as they grow. Price: $160 Online: www. globber. com.au

TYRE BOWL THIS ONE’S FOR petrolheads everywhere we reckon – a 6-inch diameter and 2.5-inch deep car tyre bowl from which you can eat your morning cereal! The tyre is, we’re told, incredibly life-like with a deep realisticlooking tyre tread, and it also comes complete with its very own chrome hubcap lid that snaps and twists off and on with ease. It a bit bonkers but we love it! Price: £15.99 (approx. $35) Online: www.thegiftoasis.com October 2015 Motor Trader | 25


E S S E N T I A L S M E M B E R S

Member profiles

AVR Automotive

Sunrise Caravans Location: Burpengary Type of business: Caravan dealer Number of employees: 6 Trading since: 2004 MTAQ member since: 2005

How did you hear about the Motor Trades Association of Queensland? (MTAQ)

What is the best thing about working in your industry?

Word of mouth.

Being able to deliver customers their dream.

How has being an MTAQ member benefited your business? Being more informed and up to date with information for our customers.

What has been your proudest business achievement to date? Excelling in customer service and, as such, being awarded “The Gold Award - excellence in customer service.�

Sunspares Parts Plus

26 | Motor Trader October 2015

What is the best piece of business advice you have ever given or been given? The best business advice is to always be up front and honest with your customers.

What would you say to someone thinking about joining MTAQ? You won't be disappointed.


Type of business: Mechanical Workshop Number of employees: 5 Trading since: 1999 MTAQ member since: 1999

What is the best thing about working in your industry?

Through industry contacts.

The customer contact working in an industry you have a passion in.

How has being an MTAQ member benefited your business? Access to industry information and IR Advice.

What has been your proudest business achievement to date? Expanding business to current level and developing good customer relations.

What is the best piece of business advice you have ever given or been given? Concentrate on the customer you are serving, now and every time.

What would you say to someone thinking about joining MTAQ? Wealth of industry knowledge is at your fingertips and accessible.

Sunrise Caravans

Sunspares Parts Plus Location: Yandina Type of business: Auto Dismantler Number of employees: 12 Trading since: 1986 MTAQ member since: 1990

How did you hear about the Motor Trades Association of Queensland? (MTAQ)

What is the best thing about working in your industry?

Previous owners of business.

Diversity of the industry and how it is always evolving.

How has being an MTAQ member benefited your business? • IR • Traineeships • Availability of business information • Availability of support services

What has been your proudest business achievement to date? Doubling the size of the business over 10 years of ownership.

What is the best piece of business advice you have ever given or been given? Enjoy what you do or move on.

What would you say to someone thinking about joining MTAQ? Definitely worth it, essential for running a successful business.

October 2015 Motor Trader | 27

E S S E N T I A L S

Location: Brendale

How did you hear about the Motor Trades Association of Queensland? (MTAQ)

M E M B E R S

AVR Automotive


E S S E N T I A L S M E M B E R S

Industrial relations REQUESTS FOR FLEXIBLE WORKING ARRANGEMENTS

• • • •

Long Service leave Public holidays Notice of termination Fair Work Information Statement Over the next few issues of Motor Trader we will look at each of these provisions in greater detail.

An employee may request a change in his/her working arrangements if;• The employee is a parent having the responsibility for the care of a child of school age or younger • The employee is a carer • The employee has a disability • The employee is 55 years of age or older • The employee is experiencing violence from a member of the family • The employee provides care or support to a member of his/her immediate family or household because that member is experiencing violence from their family. Any request for flexible working arrangements must be in writing setting out the details of the change requested and the reasons for the change. The employer has 21 days to consider the request and must give a written response to the request. The employer may refuse the request only on reasonable business grounds and must state those grounds in the written response. “Reasonable business grounds” for refusal could include matters such as; • The requested arrangements are too costly • It’s impractical to change other employees’ working arrangements or hire new employees to accommodate the request • The request would result in a significant loss of productivity or have a significant negative impact on customer service. In our next issue we will look at Parental and Adoption leave; annual leave and personal/carer’s leave.

MAXIMUM WEEKLY HOURS

TED KOWALSKI INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS MANAGER

WHAT ARE THE NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS? – PART 1

W

HEN THE FAIR Work system came into being in 2010, we saw the introduction of modern awards and the National Employment Standards (NES). The NES sets out ten minimum entitlements for employees and must be read in conjunction with any relevant award/s that apply in a business. The ten minimum entitlements are;• Maximum weekly hours • Requests for flexible working arrangements • Parental leave and related entitlements • Annual leave • Personal/carer’s leave • Community Service leave

The NES provides for a maximum of 38 ordinary hours to be worked per week and allows for reasonable additional hours – where those additional hours can be shown to meet a set of criteria of reasonableness set out in the NES. These include such things as the employee’s role and level of responsibility; the needs of the workplace; whether the employee is entitled to be paid for overtime; any risk to the employee’s health and safety from working the additional hours; the employee’s personal circumstances, including family responsibilities; any notice given by the employer for the need to work the additional hours; and the usual patterns of work in the industry in which the employee works.

“ANY REQUEST FOR

FLEXIBLE WORKING ARRANGEMENTS MUST BE IN WRITING - SETTING OUT THE DETAILS OF THE CHANGE REQUESTED AND THE REASONS FOR THE CHANGE.”

MTA QUEENSLAND WELCOMES THE FOLLOWING NEW MEMBERS Business Name

Principal/s

Address

Email

Division

Ausmech Mechanical Solutions

Paul Jenkins

Unit 1/7 Sonia Court, Raceview Q 4305

admin@ausmech.net.au

AED

Don Brosnan Tyres

Denise Ryan

88 Charles Street, Roma Q 4455

manager@dbtyres.com.au

TUDQ

Grand Prix Mazda - Panel & Paint

Joe Camilleri

32 Matheson Street, Virginia Q 4014

admin7@grandprixmazda.com.au

NACA

Kruger Motors

Rita Ram

Unit 7/91 Lobb Street Churchhill Q 4305

krugermotors@gmail.com

AED

Xxxplicit Refinishing

Duane Theaker

3/27 Hamill Street, Garbutt Q 4814

xxxplicit@optusnet.com.au

NACA

28 | Motor Trader October 2015


Investment matters

MARKET WRAP

M

OUNTING GLOBAL DEFLATION fears and China’s move to devalue the yuan saw heightened volatility in the market this month. These macro events overshadowed what was a busy month for the Australian stock market, with the majority of companies reporting financial year 2015 results. In a low-growth environment, with many companies preferring to pay out dividends rather than reinvest, revenue growth remains difficult. Resource and energy sector revenues are, not surprisingly, going backwards thanks to commodity prices, while banks revenue growth is around 2 per cent reflecting a competitive environment. Additionally, insurance companies are offering flat growth, as do many industrials. Consumer stocks, however, following a number of poor years, are offering some growth. Lower interest rates and an easier budget are having a positive impact. Gambling stocks are benefiting from the trend towards online betting, particularly sports betting. The strong growth in housing activity also boosted the top line of companies exposed to this thematic. Service and software industries have also been observing the transition of the Australian economy to a service industry. Those companies with strong structural growth, especially those with a position in offshore markets, are seeing strong top-line growth. Additionally, the first signs of the benefit of the lower A$ is starting to shine through with exporters. Stocks exposed to aged care or healthcare also enjoyed strong top-line growth. Companies reinvesting to drive growth however were surprisingly market down. Despite the difficulty

“IN AN UNCERTAIN MARKET, INVESTORS TAKE COMFORT IN THE SHORT-TERM SECURITY PROVIDED BY A HIGHER DIVIDEND RATHER THAN THE UNCERTAIN RETURN PROVIDED BY LONGTERM REINVESTMENT.” companies are having securing top-line growth, those that are reinvesting in their businesses were marked down during reporting season. In an uncertain market, investors take comfort in the short-term security provided by a higher dividend rather than the uncertain return provided by longterm reinvestment. We believe this provides opportunities. The reason equities have been a strong long-term investment is the compounding benefit of good companies reinvesting to drive long-term growth. In another surprise to the market, a number of companies with offshore earnings disappointed. We note this was partially a technical misunderstanding by the market. Many stocks report in US$ and, given the strength of the US$, there was a negative impact from translating their euro and A$ earnings (albeit there is a positive valuation impact when you translate those earnings back to A$). With top-line growth remaining difficult, a key focus was on those companies that can deliver cost out to drive good profit outcomes. We saw a range of our ‘improving quality’ companies deliver excellent

results and flagged a strong increase in dividends. Resource companies are controlling what they can, re-affirming dividends and highlighting a disciplined cost and capex focus. Despite this, the results were largely hostage to the commodity price outcomes. Should commodity prices find a bottom, or rise, then the strong cost discipline should drive strong profit leverage for the major resource companies. Bank results were solid, despite some concerns regarding bad debts emerging. The bad debt concerns, however, appear to be overplayed. Overall, it was a strong reporting season for our portfolio relative to the market, but macroeconomic events tended to overshadow the results. Having satisfied ourselves regarding our portfolio, we now move towards other potential opportunities with Chinese volatility spilling into the Australian market this month and creating a valuation opportunity. DISCLAIMER This document provides general information only and is not intended to be a recommendation to invest in any product or financial service mentioned above. Investment in a DNR Capital individually managed account can only be made on completion of all the required documentation. Whilst DNR Capital has used its best endeavours to ensure the information within this document is accurate it cannot be relied upon in any way and recipients must make their own enquiries concerning the accuracy of the information within.

October 2015 Motor Trader | 29


The hit list Maserati Boomerang

CONCEPT CARS

OF THE

1970s

I

T HAS BEEN said that the 1970s were ‘the decade that taste forgot’. Punch the words ‘fashion 1970s’ into Google Images and it’s not hard to see why - the results are pretty shocking. It’s a veritable blizzard of flared trousers, atrocious pastel shades, platform shoes, bizarrely patterned knitwear, sweaters with belts, and shirts with collars the size of a Boeing 747’s wings – and that was just for the blokes! Add the horrors of disco music to that disastrous fashion mix, and it would seem that the environment in which car designers were working couldn’t have been less conducive to the creation of stunning-looking concepts.

And yet those designers, no doubt sporting knitted beige sweaters and trousers with flares the size of cub scout tent, were able to ignore the irritating warblings of ABBA, The Bee Gees and The Village People and dream up some really remarkable stuff. As you can see from this page, the 'wedge' shape was a popular design staple, but smart new technology and wild interiors were as much in evidence as ever. And even manufacturers such as Aston Martin and Porsche - manufacturers who used, and still use, certain design cues that are unmistakable - were moved to try something different.

MASERATI BOOMERANG (1971) The Maserati Boomerang's angular styling made a strong statement at the 1971 Turin Motor Show, but it wasn't just the exterior that caught the eye. Like other concepts of the time, the interior was a study in mad layouts and in the Boomerang the cluster of instruments gauges were arranged in a circle inside the rim of the steering wheel! Developed over the chassis of the Maserati Bora, the Boomerang’s V8 engine boasted 300hp taking the car to a top speed of 300km/h.

Lancia Bertone Stratos Zero

VAUXHALL SRV (1970)

Vauxhall SRV

30 | Motor Trader October 2015

VAUXHALL, THE STODGY British manufacturer, was not against trying some wild and innovative designs in their concepts. A couple of years earlier they had developed the muscular VXR concept (see last month’s Motor Trader) and in 1970 they revealed this four-door, four-seater machine. Sleek and stylish, the SRV was a vehicle built to analyse future styling and layout directions. It had an aerofoil in the nose to assist aerodynamics and an electric leveling system on the rear suspension. It even had a pump system to re-distribute fuel load among a series of tanks for better weight distribution. Clever stuff.


Mercedes C111

MERCEDES C111 (1970) ACTUALLY A SERIES of concept test-bed vehicles produced throughout the decade by Mercedes, the second version of the C111 was shown at the Geneva Motor Show in 1970. It featured a four-rotor Wankel engine producing 350hp that allowed the car to go from 0-100km/h in 4.8 seconds on to a top speed of 300km/h. As well as the unusual engine, the C111 had independent multi-link suspension at the rear, gullwing doors (which were unusual at the time) and a body built of fibreglass-reinforced plastic.

in

ASTON MARTIN BULLDOG (1979)

Aston Martin Bulldog

DEVELOPED TO SHOW the engineering capabilities of the company, the Bulldog (apparently named after the ‘Bulldog’ plane owned by Aston’s MD of the time) was a terrifically fast piece of kit. With a mid-mounted, turbo-charged, 5.3-litre V8 producing a claimed 700hp, the Bulldog recorded a speed of 192mph (309km/h) though it was claimed it could reach 237mph (381km/h). It had massive gullwing doors, and instrumentation that used LED technology and touch-type sensors. 25 units were planned for production but, sadly, were never built.

LANCIA BERTONE STRATOS ZERO (1970) MORE WEDGE-SHAPED madness, this time from the Italian maestros at Bertone. With a 1.6-litre, V4 engine producing 115hp, it wasn’t the most powerful of concepts but it sure did look the business. To enter the car, you had to lift the enormous windscreen and climb in, but it wasn’t much of a stretch – the Stratos was only 84cm tall so getting in was no more difficult than taking the first step of a flight of stairs. The bonkers-looking triangular engine cover at the rear was designed to direct air to the radiator, and things were just as interesting inside – the futuristic instrument panel was offset to the left of the steering wheel and encased in green glass.

FORD MUSTANG MILANO (1970) MOVING AWAY FROM the 'wedge' for a moment - here's a Ford Mustang concept. A gorgeous-looking muscle car that debuted at the 1970 Chicago Auto Show, the Milano might look more conventional (apart from the horrific purple interior, of course) but it did have some unque features, including responsive tail lights - during acceleration they glowed green, when coasting they were amber, and during braking they turned red. If you think the Milano looks familiar, then you’re right - according to Ford, this car was the inspiration for Australia’s Falcon XB Coupe.

Porsche Tapiro

PORSCHE TAPIRO (1970) BASED ON THE Porsche 914/6 chassis, the Tapiro was another design from the talented Giorgetto Giugiaro at Ital Design. In a rather quirky design flourish, the Taprio doubled-up on gullwing doors, providing both a set for people to get in and out, and another set to access the engine. Powered by a mid-mounted 2.4-litre flat-6, this unique car would meet an unfortunate end. Owned by a private collector, at some point in the 1980s it was involved in an accident and destroyed by fire. Ouch!

Ford Mustang Milano

October 2015 Motor Trader | 31


Industry insight

WHO’S WEARING THE CFO’S HAT IN YOUR BUSINESS? C FO STANDS FOR Chief Financial Officer. It’s a term used mainly in larger businesses, but is just as relevant to smaller business, in that someone has to do it irrespective of their job title. It’s often the business owner or a family member.

What does a CFO do? In a nutshell they ensure the financial management in a business runs smoothly. They ensure all aspects of the business are contributing towards the best possible financial result i.e. profit, cash flow and business value.

It begins with strategic planning including: • Business Planning - to keep things on the right track and keep everyone focused on what needs to be done to achieve desired outcomes. • Business Growth Strategy including Budgets and Cash Flow Projections. Budgets help to ensure sales, costs and overheads stay on track to ensure planned profits. Cash Flow Projections help to ensure the business has enough cash to meet its commitments to avoid cash flow squeeze. This is particularly important if a business is growing, as this can cause cash squeeze if not properly planned. To see why, watch our video on the Cash Flow Cycle at www.youtube.com/ watch?v=i6FP95_FMMA • KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) – Setting targets for individuals or teams within a business, to ensure targets are met. These are generally called ‘Leading KPIs’ i.e. they are the measures that create the financial results. For example to achieve a sales target, you need to calculate the activities needed to achieve the outcome. Here’s an example: - Website impressions 100,000 - Click Through Rate at .016 1,600 - Enquiry conversion rate at 20% 320 - Sales appointment rate at 30% 100 - Sales conversion rate at 30% 30 This level of activity, if achieved, would result in 30 new clients each month. It’s valuable to understand this and set these targets to ensure actions are being performed to achieve them. • Finance sourcing – a growing business may need to borrow funds from a bank or other lender. To 32 | Motor Trader October 2015

support finance applications lenders will want to see financial information including a Business Plan, Financial Reports, Budget, Cash Flow, plus business owner’s financial information. The more accurate and well presented this information is, the better chance the business has of securing finance. It pays for whoever is handling the application to have a good understanding of the way financiers look at things e.g. what they look for in the financial information to determine if the business is a good risk for them. • Break-even Analysis – this is a calculation of the amount of sales required to cover overheads e.g. If your overheads are, say $30,000 per month. To work out break-even sales - take overheads of $30,000 divided by gross margin of say 60%, which gives a figure of $50,000. This is your monthly break-even sales. If your average product sale is $100, divide the total sales break-even figure of $50,000 by your average sale of $100 to come up with a figure of 500 units to breakeven. In simple language this means you have to sell 500 units per month at $100 to break-even. It’s important to know this so you can set targets to avoid losses and achieve better profit.

Reporting • A business owner needs to know at least every month how the business is performing against its Budget. This includes sales, costs and overheads and profit. The problem with leaving it until the end of the financial year is that you’ve wasted the opportunity of 11 months to fix issues affecting profit. • The Balance Sheet needs to be managed regularly i.e. this is where you see items such as: - Accounts Receivable – how much is owed by customers on terms. - Accounts Payable – how much you owe suppliers. - Inventory held - Work in Progress – jobs in progress not yet invoiced - Current liabilities such as lease payments due - Taxes due Managing the Balance Sheet is just as vital as the Profit and Loss, because it’s common to make a profit, but run out of cash, due to issues relating to the points above. • Inventory management reports - How much is being held versus what’s needed for sales. There could be obsolete items that can be disposed of to create cash to purchase

better selling lines. - How profitable are each of your products, categories, customers, divisions etc. • Job Management reports - Where are jobs up to in terms of completion. - How profitable was each job. - How did the ‘actual’ compare to the ‘budget’ on each job. - Where was there wastage on jobs to learn and avoid issue next time. - Productivity or Labour Utilisation Rate – i.e. how many hours are you selling compared to those you’re paying for. You want service people to be working on billable activities as much as possible to achieve profit. • KPI Reports – as per the KPIs mentioned above, they need to be reported on to ensure actions are taken to achieve targets.

Other tasks • Operational efficiencies – finding ways to do things more efficiently to avoid wastage and save time and money. • Feasibility studies – ensuring that new initiatives will deliver an improvement to the bottom line. For example, new systems investment – before signing up for a new piece of equipment it pays to work out what sales can be achieved and how productive it needs to be to pay it’s way. • Bookkeeper – recruitment, training and supervision to ensure information is being handled correctly and information is accurate, timely and can be relied upon. The above is a general idea of what needs to be considered in the ‘big picture’ financial management of a business to ensure it’s success. If a business wants to grow it must have this side of things covered one way or another. Hope won’t ensure business success – it’s all about setting targets, managing activities and reporting regularly to ensure you’re moving in the right direction and taking corrective action quickly if not. CFO On-Call works with business owners to achieve successful growth. Why not take advantage of a ‘Growth Planning Session’ today. For details visit www.CFOonCall.com.au


INSTITUTE OF T EC H N O L O G Y

NEW GO LIMITE VERNMEN D PL AC T FUND ES APP ING LY NOW

GET YOUR TRADE SKILLS RECOGNISED

Do you have trade skills and experience but no formal qualification? TRADE RECOGNITION

FEES AND CHARGES

If you have not previously completed an apprenticeship, Trade Recognition is the process of having your knowledge, skills and work experience formally assessed against industry and educational requirements for the purpose of gaining a formal trade qualification.

The majority of this program is funded by the Queensland Government. However, mandatory fees are applicable for the gap training component, based on the total nominal hours allocated to each unit of competency requiring training to be conducted, ie. $1.60 per nominal hour, or if a concession is applicable, $0.64 per nominal hour – refer to www.mtait.edu.au for further details.

MTA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY OFFERS A TRADE SKILLS ASSESSMENT AND GAP TRAINING PROGRAM FOR THE FOLLOWING QUALIFICATIONS

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) and/or Credit Transfers (CT) are fee exempt.

COURSE LENGTH

AUR30312 – Certificate III in Automotive Electrical Technology AUR30612 – Certificate III in Light Vehicle Mechanical Technology AUR30812 – Certificate III in Motorcycle Mechanical Technology AUR31114 – Certificate III in Heavy Commercial Vehicle Mechanical Technology • AUR32112 – Certificate III in Automotive Body Repair Technology • AUR32412 – Certificate III in Automotive Refinishing Technology

The course length will vary dependent upon the gap training required for individual learners.

ELIGIBILITY

Assessment can be completed at MTA Institute of Technology’s Eight Mile Plains premises or alternatively on site at the learner’s workplace.

• • • •

Prospective learners must meet the following criteria for eligibility: 1. Be an Australian citizen, a permanent resident of Australia and living in Queensland or a Refugee and Humanitarian Visa holder living in Queensland. 2. Be a skilled or experienced individual without a trade qualification, whose experience are such that it is a reasonable to assume two thirds of a qualification or more could be achieved through RPL assessment processes in a priority trade. 3. Be 18 years or older. 4. Express a commitment to gaining the entire qualification.

ENROL Once an application has been received with all supporting documentation, MTA Institute of Technology will review the supporting evidence and respond within 10 working days.

Should you wish to obtain more information regarding Trade Recognition, please contact one of our friendly team members using the contact details below.

RTO No: 31529

Address Building 8, 2728 Logan Road Eight Mile Plains Qld 4113 Postal PO Box 4530 Eight Mile Plains Qld 4113 Tel (07) 3722 3000 Toll Free 1800 884 137 Email training@mtait.edu.au

20130128

MTA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY


ed 5 d en 201 t ex er e b in cto l d ea 31 O D to

WINNER 2015 FUND OF THE YEAR ~ MEDIUM

Do you have 20 or more employees?

Will you be SuperStream ready? Did you know that the Government’s SuperStream reforms mean you might need to change the way you are paying employees’ super by 31 October, 2015? Under SuperStream, employers must make superannuation contributions on behalf of their employees by submitting data and payments electronically in a consistent and simplified manner.

An easy solution MTAA Super can help your business save time and money with its QuickSuper one-transaction clearing house. KEY BENEFITS • Make all your super contributions with ONE transaction • 24x7 web-based access • Free for default or registered employers* • Upload payment information directly from your payroll system or input manually • Online validation of payments to ensure accuracy • Add new employees without additional paperwork • Secure online facility TAKE THE NEXT STEP Go to the MTAA Super website mtaasuper.com.au/get-superstream-ready to find out how we can help you be SuperStream compliant by 31 October. Alternatively, please contact our Customer Service Centre directly on 1300 362 415.

*The MTAA Super Clearing House is accessible free of charge to default or registered employers of MTAA Super subject to application criteria. Other employers may be granted use of the service at the approval of the Trustee.

mtaasuper.com.au This document is issued by Motor Trades Association of Australia Superannuation Fund Pty Limited (ABN 14 008 650 628, AFSL 238 718) of Level 3, 39 Brisbane Avenue Barton ACT 2600, Trustee of the MTAA Superannuation Fund (ABN 74 559 365 913). Motor Trades Association of Australia Superannuation Fund Pty Limited has ownership interests in Industry Super Holdings Pty Ltd and Members Equity Bank Limited. The information provided is of a general nature and does not take into account your specific needs or personal situation. You should assess your financial position and personal objectives before making any decision based on this information. We also recommend that you seek advice from a licensed financial adviser. The MTAA Super Product Disclosure Statement (PDS), an important document containing all the information you need to make a decision about MTAA Super, can be obtained by calling MTAA Super on 1300 362 415 or visiting mtaasuper.com.au/handbooks. You should consider the PDS in making a decision. The MTAA Super Clearing House is a non-cash payment facility issued by Westpac Banking Corporation and is regulated by the Government as a financial product. You should consider the terms and conditions in the Product Disclosure Statement in deciding whether to use the MTAA Super Clearing House, which is available from clearinghouse.mtaasuper.com.au.


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