A Content Formula for Complex B2B Organizations

Page 1

A Content Formula For Complex B2B Organizations Build the Business Case

|

Find the Budget

| Measure ROI

Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group Author, The Content Formula @BrennerMichael @BrennerMichael @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA ① Build the Business Case for Content Marketing ② Find the Budget for Content Marketing ③ Measure Content Marketing ROI in Business Terms

@BrennerMichael

@VelocityTweets @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

1

Build The Business Case

Build the Business Case

|

Find the Budget

| Measure ROI

@BrennerMichael @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld



AGENDA CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing that doesn’t deliver business results!

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


ROI is the #1 objective for AGENDA B2B Marketers in 2016

93%

81%

~AdAge

~CMI / MProfs

B2B CMO’s greatest challenge is showing measurable ROI.

B2B Marketers: measuring marketing effectiveness is their greatest challenge

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Marketing Has A Marketing Problem


@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld




AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


The First Banner Ad (1994)

What is the ROI?


AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld



Less likely AGENDA

to click on a banner than…

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA What’s

The ROI of Your Marketing Overall? @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


The Explosion of AGENDA Marketing Channels

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

Marketers Love Buying Tactics But Winter is Coming! @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Millennial Content Discovery Email, Search, Social Patterns = 81% of Content Discovery in 2016.

Source: KoMarketing Associates


Content Marketing Means Creating Content People Actually Want AGENDA

What Brands Publish

Business Instinct

Content Marketing

Empathy

What Customers Want

Charity @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA Reach early stage buyers

Build The Business Case Engage new buyers with your brand

Conversions you would have never reached

=$ @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


How Large is the Audience?

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


How Much Unbranded Traffic Do You Get?

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Comes To Your Website? AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Are You Creating Content People Actually Want?

AGENDA

CONTENT MARKETING

100

Articles News Infographics Social Content Quizzes

15

10

Video Whitepapers Webinars Podcasts How-To Guides

80

1

5

PRODUCT MARKETING

Product content Offers Brochures Customer Testimonials Case studies Ads

Events Newsletters Customer Profiles

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?

AGENDA

What is Content Marketing? (100 - 3000 X)

Middle-stage

Brand Searches

How do I succeed with Content Marketing? (2-10 X)

What tools can help me with content marketing? (1)

Search / Social Volume

Early-stage Searches

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


If The Math Isn’t Working

AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

Try Fear (and Love)

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


IMAGINE: You show up first in Google

AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


IMAGINE: You own the category

AGENDA

www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


IMAGINE: You own the target audience www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe

AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers

AGENDA

AMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA Reach early stage buyers

Build The Business Case Engage new buyers with your brand

Conversions you would have never reached

=$ @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

2

Find The Budget

Build the Business Case

|

Find the Budget

| Measure ROI

@BrennerMichael @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

60-70% of marketing content goes completely unused. *Sirius Decisions

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

The Easiest Way To Find Budget For Content Marketing . . . @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

STOP Creating Content / Ads No One Wants @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Excuse me boss but. . . AGENDA Why does this matter? What is the impact? How will it be measured? @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Are You Creating Content People Actually Want?

AGENDA

CONTENT MARKETING

100

Articles News Infographics Social Content Quizzes

15

10

Video Whitepapers Webinars Podcasts How-To Guides

80

1

5

PRODUCT MARKETING

Product content Offers Brochures Customer Testimonials Case studies Ads

Events Newsletters Customer Profiles

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Content Waste is a

AGENDA $100 Billion Opportunity* Content Used…

Content Not Used 70% * Source: Econsultancy

=$ @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Which Marketing Programs Produce Zero AGENDA Results? Measurable

=$ @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


What Can We Stop? Banner Ads? AGENDA

.06% 10%

The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick)

50% -40%

Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental

Banner ad clicks by Bots (comScore)

(GoldSpot)

Over-exposed online ads cause sales to DECLINE (Advertising Research Foundation)

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically? AGENDA

=$ @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA What is “Guerilla” Marketing?

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget? • Executive PowerPoints • Whitepapers • Customer Service and Sales FAQs • Your emails = answers • Cover competitor and industry research, video, infographics • Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work • Create a list of top influencers, best conferences, best quotes, best stats @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

Show me the money! @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

3

Measure ROI

Build the Business Case

|

Find the Budget

| Measure ROI

@BrennerMichael @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Maturity Audiences Only! AGENDA Marketing ROI is the #1 Objective for Marketers in 2016

Optimize and target distribution Measure ROI of content marketing Distribute content to paid media

Documented content marketing strategy

Publish content to primary channel

Optimize for subscriptions & offers

Distribute content to earned media

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


The Difference Between “Content” AGENDA and “Content Marketing” is the Destination

http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/ @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

WARNING!

Math ahead! @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

Content Marketing programs are assets with real value that compounds over time.

Need proof . . . @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT AGENDA

600,000

600

MARKETING

500,000

500

300,000 300

Pageviews

400

# Articles

400,000

________ Leads

200,000

200

100,000

100

0

Sep-14

Oct-14

Nov-14

Dec-14

Jan-15

Feb-15

Mar-15

Apr-15

May-15

Jun-15

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, AGENDA Fast Company and more…

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Reach, Engagement, Conversion AGENDA You Would Have Never Seen Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads 35,000 30,000 25,000 20,000

15,000 10,000 5,000 0

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing

AGENDA

$100,000 / $100,000 Saved / invested in content marketing platform

1,000,000 Organic Visitors 10,000 Subscribers 1,000 Leads Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have never seen. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


What is AGENDA

ROI?

Return ROI = Investment @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


What is AGENDA

ROI?

ROI =

(Revenue – Investment)

Investment @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


What is AGENDA

ROI?

ROI =

(Revenue – Investment)

Investment @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA What is

ROI?

ROI =

Do More With Less @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA What is

ROI?

Do The Same ROI = With Less @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Measure The ROI of AGENDA Content Marketing By Objective REACH

ENGAGE

CONVERT

RETAIN

Organic Search Traffic

Time on Site

LEADS

Retention Rate

Unbranded Search Traffic

Bounce rate

SUBSCRIBERS

Upsells

Social shares

OTHER CONVERSIONS

Subscriptions

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Content Marketing ROI – Reach AGENDA The Value of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Content Marketing ROI – Reach AGENDA 35,000 30,000 25,000 20,000

The Value of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million

15,000 10,000

Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads

5,000 0

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Measure The ROI of AGENDA Content Marketing By Objective REACH

ENGAGE

CONVERT

RETAIN

Organic Search Traffic

Time on Site

LEADS

Retention Rate

Unbranded Search Traffic

Bounce rate

SUBSCRIBERS

Upsells

Social shares

OTHER CONVERSIONS

Subscriptions

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Casper’s Van Winkles • Effortlessly combines national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates. • Up to 6 new posts per day • Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+


Casper’s Van Winkles


Measure The ROI of AGENDA Content Marketing By Objective REACH

ENGAGE

CONVERT

RETAIN

Organic Search Traffic

Time on Site

LEADS

Retention Rate

Unbranded Search Traffic

Bounce rate

SUBSCRIBERS

Upsells

Social shares

OTHER CONVERSIONS

Subscriptions

--> Subscribers produce 38X ROI --> Subscribers and are 9X more likely to convert @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


CapGemini: Content-Loop.com

AGENDA

~1M visitors in 1st year + 3K new followers / week + High Quality Leads

+ $1M Sales = 10X ROI

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement

AGENDA

The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement

AGENDA

The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)

$10 Million / 400,000 = $25 10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000 @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Measure The ROI of AGENDA Content Marketing By Objective REACH

ENGAGE

CONVERT

RETAIN

Organic Search Traffic

Time on Site

LEADS

Retention Rate

Unbranded Search Traffic

Bounce rate

SUBSCRIBERS

Upsells

Social shares

OTHER CONVERSIONS

Subscriptions

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

An “Inquiry” is not a “Lead!” @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Content Marketing ROI - Conversion AGENDA The Value of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Content Marketing ROI - Conversion AGENDA The Value of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price) 1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL) x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL) x 40% Closed / Won x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000 ($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Measure The ROI of AGENDA Content Marketing By Objective REACH

ENGAGE

CONVERT

RETAIN

Organic Search Traffic

Time on Site

LEADS

Retention Rate

Unbranded Search Traffic

Bounce rate

SUBSCRIBERS

Upsells

Social shares

OTHER CONVERSIONS

Subscriptions

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to acquire a new one.

A 5% increase in retention = 95% increase in ROI. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


AGENDA

Shane Jordan Digital Marketing Manager Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama

Content Marketing ROI: Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Content Marketing ROI - Retention

AGENDA

The Value of Retention= Lifetime Value $$$ Retention Rate $$$ Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld



AGENDA CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing that doesn’t deliver business results!

@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula

AGENDA

BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE

FIND THE BUDGET

MEASURE RESULTS @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group Author, The Content Formula

Book Me To Speak: michael@marketinginsidergroup.com

@BrennerMichael @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld


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