BUSINESS OF TRUCKING: CALCULATING RATES
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May 2012
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The Guide To Trucks, Equipment and Maintenance
MAY 2012
Mining Data for Dollars Pg. 18
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18 /COVER STORY Mining data for dollars Managing the flow of information can increase efficiency and profit
16 /BUSINESS OF TRUCKING Miles to charge Calculating a hauling rate requires more than just a destination point
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EDITOR’S PAGE .............................................. 4 More and more telematic devices are becoming standard fare
PARTS & SERVICE ............................................ 6 The latest in parts
TIRE RACK ....................................................13 The non-problem of expiring tires is drawing a lot of attention
SHOP TALK ....................................................15
SHIFTING WINDS Trailer aerodynamics on full display at TMC
SERVICE-FOCUSED
Creating a sustainable shop starts on the ground floor
Tire company’s fleet puts FOCUS ON .....................................................22 Fuel use remains a key concern of refrigeration manufacturers the customer first
READERS’ RIGS ..............................................24 See how your truck measures up
AMERICAN TRUCKER MARKETPLACE ............25 Used trucks, trailers, parts & services
2 American Trucker/May 2012
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editor’s page
BY SEAN KILCARR
203/358-9900 or 800/776-1246 Fax: 203/358-5819
Vice President/Group Publisher Thomas W. Duncan
Editorial Staff Jim Mele Editorial Director jim.mele@penton.com
Standard solution
I
I received an interesting report from global consulting firm Frost & Sullivan that predicts nearly half of all medium and heavy trucks built every year in Europe will come standard with a factory-installed fleet management system, or FMS, of some sort by 2017. Frost & Sullivan analyst Sathyanarayana Kabirdas noted in the company’s report that providing a single Telematics factory-installed “open and flexible platform” will allow vehicle manufacturers to survive are becoming long term in the competitive telematics market. Yet this strategy is not necessarily a slam standard dunk for OEMs, he cautioned, as fleets using a mix of truck brands would have to deal with incorporating several different platforms into their operation. “Even if OEMs start to offer FMS as a standard, there is always a difference between hardware being in place and the service being activated,” Kabirdas said. “The presence of the hardware in the truck does not necessarily mean that it is going to be used.” Still, he believes the strategy of offering a standard quality FMS in commercial trucks suiting all types of customers is critical to extending the OEM-customer relationship in trucking. “This strategy will not only help OEMs increase their base of active subscribers but will also help them collect a large pool of real-time vehicle-specific data to build better trucks for the future,” Kabirdas noted. We’ll see how that works out. AT
Sean Kilcarr Editor sean.kilcarr@penton.com Tim Brady Business Editor tbrady@writeuptheroad.com Brian Straight Managing Editor brian.straight@penton.com Dan Zeis Senior Art Director dan.zeis@penton.com
Contributing Editors David Cullen david.cullen@penton.com Wendy Leavitt wendy.leavitt@penton.com Kevin Rohlwing kevinrohlwing@comcast.net Bruce Sauer bruce.sauer@penton.com Rick Weber rick.weber@penton.com Charles Wilson charles.wilson@penton.com
sean.kilcarr@penton.com
4 American Trucker/May 2012
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trucking insights
parts & service
Aerodynamic display
Think like a business M
T
o help fleets meet trailer fuel efficiency mandates established by the California Air Resources Board at minimal cost, a variety of aerodynamic device providers revealed a range of new and enhanced products for the trucking market at the 2012 Technology & Maintenance Council’s annual meeting, held in Tampa, FL. ATDynamics introduced the RollTail, a new variation of its TrailerTail aerodynamic rear fairing device, designed specifically for those fleets using dry van trailers equipped with roll-up doors. At a press conference to introduce the RollTail, Andrew Smith, ATDynamics founder & CEO, said the device weighs 160 lbs. and its 16-in. panels automatically retract when a trailer backs into a dock—only differing from the TrailerTail in that the RollTail device has no bottom. He added that the RollTail’s panels are made of clear polycarbonate with UV treatment to remain clear, keeping top clearance marker lamps visible and legal, yet remaining flexible enough to be pulled out of the way in the event of an accident or failure so access to the trailer’s cargo isn’t inhibited. Smith explained the device can also be added to straight trucks that are equipped with dry van cargo bodies using roll-up doors. The device helps roll-up trailers improve fuel economy by 4 to 5% at 62 mph as determined by SAE J1321 Type II testing. Solus Solutions & Technologies
6 American Trucker/May 2012
ATDynamics’ RollTail is designed for trailers with roll-up doors.
noted at its press event that within its menagerie of trailer aerodynamic devices are seven versions of a split skirt configuration that offer fuel savings exceeding 5%. The design allows for easy access to the undercarriage of the trailer. The split skirts include 8 in. of static ground clearance, while their flexible skirt panels offer 20 in. of total ground clearance and weigh less than 200 lbs. SmartTruck unveiled a new UT-1 low-cost device that it’s adding to its UnderTray line of trailer aerodynamic systems. The UT-1 is comprised of fewer components underneath the trailer, making it about $400 less than the popular UT-6 system, explained Mitch Greenberg, SmartTruck’s president, during a press conference.
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any business owners put their businesses at risk because they think like an individual rather than as part of a larger enterprise. Do you think in terms of your pay as your profits, or do you have an expense called owner salary? In larger companies, all employees, including the owner, are paid salaries. While it may be true executives receive dividends and bonuses, they all receive a base salary. Dividends and bonuses are paid when the company has met or exceeded its revenue projections and shows a profit. A small company, even one with just a single employee (read that as the owner), needs to operate like a Fortune 500 business. This requires establishing a fixed salary. First, add all of the owner’s personal expenses: house payment or rent, insurance, car payments, self-employment, income and property taxes, food and entertainment, savings for retirement, etc. Then create an annual total and divide by 12 to come up with an owner’s monthly base salary. Many small businesses fail because the owner thinks his salary comes from the profit the business earns. Profit is for sustaining and growing the business. The most important expense of any business is the owner’s salary. Without the owner, there is no business. Tim Brady’s “Trucking Insights” column appears monthly, offering helpful tips on how you can successfully navigate your business in today’s economy. Contact Tim Brady at tbrady@writeuptheroad.com or call 731-749-8567. Join Brady at www.truckersu.com
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parts & service
Smaller headlamp T
ruck-Lite is addcolor temperature ing a new lamp to of natural sunlight its LED headlamp (6,000K) than conline, which already inventional incancludes a 7-in. round The lamp operates on both descent or halogen DOT-approved lamp. 12V and 24V systems. lamps,” the company The new 5x7-in. lamp said. was designed to utilize cutting-edge All Truck-Lite LED headlamps LED arrays and complex reflector, feature a solid-state, bulb-free syscreating a smooth, even light output tem that is said to be impervious and clean streamlined appearance. to damage caused by shock and According to the company, the vibration. A military-grade, dielamp meets and exceeds FMVSScast aluminum housing and non108 and CMVSS-108 DOT reyellowing polycarbonate lens offer quirements for low- and high-beam protection against damage from performance. The lamp works with impact, roadside debris and other both 12V and 24V systems and prohazards. vides light “far closer to the actual www.truck-lite.com
Work van storage options M
ultinational vehicle equipment provider Sortimo introduced the L-BOXX, which can be integrated into the shelves, case trays and mobile box rails of its Globelyst M System. Available in four sizes, the L-BOXX is made from a lightweight composite material that fits into a collapsible aluminum caddy and roller frame, allowing the L-BOXX units to be stacked for safer and easier transport, the company noted. Combined with optional adapters and adapter panel, the L-BOXX can be transformed into a mobile unit. www.sortimo.com
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At Alliance Truck Parts, we only partner with the best suppliers to manufacture our all-makes parts. We’re so confident in our parts that we back most of them with a minimum 1-year/unlimited-mile nationwide warranty.* In an industry that’s tough to predict, look to the Alliance black-and-yellow for quality you can count on.
Better Parts. Good Prices. Find your nearest dealer at alliancetruckparts.com/dealers * See warranty for complete details and limitations. DTNA/PSM-A-720. Specifications are subject to change without notice. Copyright © Daimler Trucks North America LLC. All rights reserved. Alliance Truck Parts is a brand of Daimler Trucks North America LLC, a Daimler company.
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parts & service
Single wide drive tire for sale C ontinental Tire the Americas’ new HDL2 Eco Plus single wide drive tire is now available. Sold in size 445/50R22.5, the tire features 27/32nds of tread depth, a closed shoulder, and a three-dimensional sipe in the center of each tread block that allows flexibility, the company said. The groove geometry separates the forces at each side of the groove bottom and reduces premature wear, said Roger Stansbie, director of commercial vehicle tire research and development in the Americas. Straighter, narrower groove designs and Continental’s Eco Plus advanced compounding give the tire improved fuel economy through lower rolling resistance. According to Stansbie, the tire replaces a twin set of 275/80R22.5 duals, saving 668 lbs. when combined with aluminum wheels on a
HDL2 Eco Plus
five-axle combination. Continental has also released the HTL2 Eco Plus, a low platform trailer tire designed for high cube, high capacity applications. It is available in sizes 215/75R17.5, 235/75R17.5, and 245/ 70R17.5. The Continental tire boasts lowrolling resistance compounding. Its tread incorporates patented groove features to reduce stone retention for longer casing life. www.conti-online.com
Transmission warranties extended
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ustomers purchasing a standard reman transmission along with an Eaton Advantage Series clutch and Roadranger-approved lubricant will receive an additional year of warranty coverage on the products, Eaton Corp. said. Warranty protection will now cover three years when the bundled package is purchased. “Because Eaton’s Solo Advantage and Easy Pedal Advantage clutches, as well as Roadranger-approved lubricants, offer the greatest protection to our transmissions and the entire drive-
train, we are confident in extending the standard warranty coverage of our genuine standard Fuller Reman transmissions when installed with these products,” said Bill Fouch, aftermarket marketing manager for Eaton’s transmission business. “The program presents fleets with a fantastic opportunity to refurbish their trucks with lower-cost replacement components, yet still receive the protection coverage similar to that of new components.” www.roadranger.com
CDL HOLDERS RECEIVE 50% OFF A PAIR OF TICK ETS TO THE ALLIANCE TRUCK PARTS 250 Call 1-866-451-7223 to order your tickets. While supplies last.
CATCH THE ACTION! June 16, 2012 3:30 pm EST on ABC
For more information check out alliancetruckparts.com/racing DTNA/PSM-A-723. Specifications are subject to change without notice. Copyright © Daimler Trucks North America LLC. All rights reserved. Alliance Truck Parts is a brand of Daimler Trucks North America LLC, a Daimler company. Ticket requests, purchases and the fulfillment of tickets are a business transaction between you and Michigan International Speedway. Alliance Truck Parts is making the communication of this offer on Michigan International Speedway’s behalf, but is not associated with the request, purchase or fulfillment process. All ticket-specific questions should be addressed directly to Michigan International Speedway at (866) 451-7223. Not valid on prior purchases. Not valid in conjunction with any other offer. Offer expires June 10, 2012. Offer is available to the first 250 callers, while supplies last. Restrictions apply.
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parts & service
Rebuilding trailers F ontaine Trailer is officially introducing a flatbed and intermodal chassis rebuild program that draws from its experience rebuilding similar units under contract for the U.S. military. Todd Anderson, Fontaine’s vice president & general manager, explained that the company’s new Fontaine Renew rebuild program offers fleets a chance to return flatbed trailers and intermodal chassis to “like-new” condition at one-third to one-half the cost of purchasing a new unit. The program, which the company started six months ago, also allows customers to upgrade their older units with improved lighting packages, wiring harnesses, and even braking systems if so desired. “We can replace a wood floor with aluminum, for example, or add anti-rollover systems if they want,” Anderson said. Trailers entering the rebuild program go through an 11-station,
The program will bring any make of trailer up to “like-new” condition. 152-stop process on an assembly line used to recondition trailers for the military. Any brand, make or model of flatbed or intermodal chassis can be submitted to Fontaine for refurbishment, but it must first pass the initial inspection process to ensure that no major defects exist due to corrosion or other damage. Fontaine strips trailers and chassis alike “down to the bone,” in Anderson’s words, so the frame can be completely repainted, first using an 80% zinc-based primer, followed by a polyurethane enamel for maximum corrosion resistance. www.fontainetrailer.com
90-day truck warranty A
rrow Truck Sales is offering a 90day, 25,000-mi. comprehensive warranty program on 2005 or newer Class 8 and medium-duty trucks. The ConfidencePlus program offers coverage of the truck’s major components, including the engine, transmission, rear ends, injectors, and fuel pump. On 2008 model-year and newer trucks, it also covers the turbocharger, radiator, and ECM module. “We’re extremely proud to offer this
10 American Trucker/May 2012
industry-leading warranty on the equipment we sell to our customers,” said Steve Clough, president of Arrow Truck Sales. “ConfidencePlus is just one more example of the innovation in warranties that Arrow has introduced through the years to make our customers’ experience with purchasing preowned truck buying the best in the industry.” www.arrowtruck.com
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Online parts reference tool A
new cross-reference tool for parts lookup has been launched by Alliance Truck Parts. The web-based tool compiles data from the top OEM and independent manufacturers and creates a single point of access for users. Parts can be searched in one of two ways: by Alliance Truck Parts’ number or by a competing supplier’s part number. According to Alliance, the parts lookup and cross-reference tool provides the suggested part number and information from Alliance Truck Parts; by entering a city and state, it offers links to dealers and relevant parts specials in the area. The tool has over 30 different product lines, with more being added as new products become available from Alliance Truck Parts. www.alliancetruckparts.com
Air disc pad for mixed brakes T
extar T3070 is the first air disc brake pad friction material specifically designed to work in tractor-trailer combinations that mix disc and drum brakes, according to TMD Friction of North America. The new friction material is said to be the first and only air disc pad that meets TMC’s recommended practice 628 for aftermarket brake lining performance. Tom Green, general manager, said the air disc pad is specifically intended for newer tractor designs that combine air disc brakes on steer axles and drum brakes on drive axle. www.tmdfriction.com
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parts & service
Storage solutions W
e a t h e r shelves, tool-less adjustGuard’s Red ability of shelves and diZone line of viders, and theft-resistant work and storage solusecurity. tions includes retooled ❑ Improved bulkheads, shelving, an improved which include windows bulkhead, more funcfor added visibility and tional organizational safety; reinforced steel features, and a host end panels; Dog Hatch of new accessories. Rapid Mount shelving easily door for storing long Shelving, cabinets, adjusts to individual needs. materials; and faster and drawers, and end easier installation. panels are built with 18-gauge steel ❑ Red Zone accessories, which for durability and include Armor include new and re-engineered acTuf Brite White powder-coat finish. cessories that mount to end panels, The product line includes: bulkheads, and van doors; tool cabi❑ Rapid Mount shelving, which nets; and parts cabinet and case. offers deeper, fully hemmed 16-in. www.weatherguard.com
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Fuel tax reporting G
reenRoad is now offering automated fuel tax reporting. The offering is part of the company’s open integration platform, which has allowed it to partner with ProMiles, a fuel tax reporting solution. The integration will provide fleet managers state and province fuel tax reporting in accordance with the International Fuel Tax Agreement and compliance verification mandated by U.S. and Canadian reporting requirements. Paper trip sheets, data entry errors, and missing trips will be eliminated, GreenRoad said. www.greenroad.com
parts & service
Tablet gains WiFi P
eopleNet’s Tablet computing solution has been updated with secure, fleet-managed wireless Internet (WiFi) access and web browsing capability. The newly added WiFi capability can enable drivers to access their fleet’s corporate site as well as key parts of company Intranets, such as payroll systems and training applications. Fleets determine whether Internet access is provided solely through company WiFi networks or via public hot-spot access. Fleets can also determine which other sites will be pre-approved for driver access. Drivers can now connect to a
The Tablet now has WiFi access. wireless network from virtually anywhere, including hot spots where there may be a faster or more reliable Internet connection away from the vehicle, according to the company. www.peoplenetonline.com
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Unlimited free scanning
E
leos Technologies announced that its Drive Axle mobile scanning solution is free for all truck drivers, who can now use the technology on their iPhone and Android smartphones to scan and send unlimited freight documents at no cost. Drive Axle enables drivers to reduce unpaid miles and get paid faster. Proof of delivery and bills of lading can be submitted within minutes of delivery, allowing same-day billing, according to Eleos CEO Kevin Survance. Multi-page scanning is also a core feature of Drive Axle. www.driveaxleapp.com
t i re ra c k
B Y K E V I N RO H LW I N G
kevinrohlwing@comcast.net
A problem-less solution
I
I tÕs been almost four years since ABCÕs 20/20 investigative report on passenger and light truck tire aging, yet the subject still manages to grab the occasional headline. Most recently, the state of Maryland introduced senseless and misguided tire aging legislation that could open the floodgates for other states to pass similar or worse regulations. Even though the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration yet to produce any A problem that has definitive statement tire aging, it isnÕt doesn’t exist is on stopping the states taking matters drawing attention from into their own hands. Fortunately, this legislation does not apply to truck tires, so fleets and commercial tire dealers in Maryland would not be subjected to any additional regulations if it manages to pass. But that doesnÕt mean introduction of the bill would prevent government officials in other states from adopting the same Òsky is fallingÓ logic to determine that old casings are the cause of roadside tire debris. Despite the complete lack of scientific data, reactionary consumer advocates remain convinced that after tires reach a magic date, they pose an imminent threat to motorist safety. While age will always be a factor in determining the service status of a tire or casing, there are so many other variables that must be considered. Perhaps the most obvious is the physical condition of the rubber. When tires are not used for extended periods and directly exposed to ozone and ultraviolet (UV) light, they go through a natural process called Òweather checking.Ó As long as the damage doesnÕt extend to the body or belt plies, it may be purely cosmetic and pose minimal risk to the driver if the tire is properly inflated and not overloaded.
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I recently sat down with an engineer from a tire manufacturer to discuss the subject of tire aging, and we laughed about the recreational vehicle snowbirds who insisted that they purchased a bad set of tires because the Òsidewalls were all dried out.Ó Of course, they usually leave out the fact that the Òdried outÓ tires were facing south for months and the vehicle was never moved, but that doesnÕt stop them from demanding a refund. When tires are allowed to sit out in the sun for extended periods of time, ozone and UV damage is unavoidable. Likewise, the periodic use of many tire dressings and sidewall conditioners can have an adverse affect on the condition of the rubber. The majority of tire companies will say that the best way to preserve the appearance of a tire is to use it regularly and keep it clean, properly inflated, and out of the sunlight when it is stored for more than a few weeks. ItÕs also important to note that sidewall paint applied during the retread process will help preserve the appearance to some degree, but it cannot reverse the natural effects of tire age. The bottom line is that tires and casings do not have an expiration date. And since tire prices will continue to climb, placing an overly restrictive age limitation on casings may result in unnecessary and higher maintenance costs. Fleets should work closely with their tire manufacturers and retread partners to perform regular scrap analysis so perfectly good assets are not being wasted. If the data indicates that casings are more prone to failure after a certain age, then any restriction will be justified. But if fleets pull casing age limits out of the sky, please keep them private so more legislators donÕt get a case of Chicken Little. AT
American Trucker/May 2012 13
trucks at work
MANUFACTURING
Rolling quality
Private fleet focuses on top-notch service for all customers
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Handling more than 2.5 billion lbs. of freight annually, including more than 1.3 billion lbs. for its parent company, the Bridgestone Americas Tire Operations trucking fleet traveled more than 35 million mi. in 2011 alone. “Whether it’s shipments to our customers, returns from stores and dealers, tires from plants to distribution centers, raw materials to plants, or loads under our for-hire authority,” says Ron D. Tartt, general managerprivate fleet, “we give every customer the very best service while operating at the lowest possible cost. “We’re always making an effort to fill empty miles as a means of offsetting operating costs,” Tartt states. “In an average week, after delivering loads to more than 5,500 U.S. and Canadian customers and backhauling to our seven distribution centers, we haul more than 125 loads as a forhire carrier. “Every mile counts,” Tartt continues, “but we will run empty on some lanes because our primary mission is to serve our customers, plants and distribution centers. When we commit to backhauls, though, we provide the same quality service to everyone.”
14 American Trucker/May 2012
Central to that effort is a private fleet of more than 300 tractors and 700 trailers. The Bridgestone fleet is leased from several lessors based on annual reviews of acquisition needs, lifecycles and cost of funds. Almost half of the tractors are Kenworths and the balance is split between Peterbilt and Volvo models. Powertrains are alike regardless of OEM, and current specs call for Cummins engines, Eaton Fuller transmissions, and a full complement of safety technologies. Great Dane supplies three-fourths of the trailer fleet while Utility Trailer builds the rest. About 60% are 48-ft. models and another 30% are 53 footers. Standard specs include air-ride suspensions, steel interior linings and composite floors, aluminum wheels, and automatic tire inflation systems.
MAINTENANCE PACKAGE Maintenance for the Bridgestone fleet is handled by a combination of contract and in-house operations. “At our larger distribution centers, we operate four on-site service facilities and have washing and fueling stations,” explains Kirk Rutherford, CTP, manager-private fleet, main-
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tenance & equipment. “The equipment we domicile in outlying areas is serviced by more than 50 Ryder locations around the U.S.” An integral part of Bridgestone’s fleet management strategy is to take advantage of the benefits offered by industry associations. Rutherford, for example, is active in the Technology & Maintenance Council (TMC), where he says fleet managers can learn from each other by sharing experiences and ideas, and working together on projects that help everyone. Bridgestone, as a trucking supplier and a trucking operation, is keenly aware of the challenges the industry as a whole is facing. “We are always watching engine developments,” Rutherford points out. “We spec the latest emissionscompliant diesels, and we’re testing natural gas-powered tractors in California.” For the private fleet, Ron Tartt adds, rising equipment and fuel costs create ongoing and increasingly difficult challenges, but ones it is addressing effectively while ensuring all customers receive only the very best service.
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shop talk MANAGERS: Gary Anderson and Harry T. Markarian TITLES: Executive vice president-maintenance, and regional director of maintenance-Northeast, respectively FLEET: J.B. Hunt Transportation Services OPERATION: Freight hauler operating a fleet of 10,000 tractors and 60,000 trailers and containers
Building sustainability Sustainability strategy is by now a very familiar corporate catchphrase used in many U.S. industries, including the trucking business. But what does it actually mean? More importantly, how can sustainability be put into practice in the truck maintenance world? The Environmental Protection Agency defines sustainability as “the ability to achieve continuing economic prosperity while protecting the natural systems of the planet and providing a high quality of life for its people.” Another definition favored by freight hauler J.B. Hunt is “the willing adaptation of an organization to
the financial, environmental and social conditions necessary for the long-term survival and prosperity of that organization.” Both definitions, notes Gary Anderson, J.B. Hunt’s executive vice president-maintenance, underscore the three-way balance among economics, environment, and society required for any human enterprise to survive and prosper indefinitely. Thus, finding more sustainable transportation methods is paramount for the “triple bottom line” of J.B. Hunt, Anderson argues. But figuring out a way to deploy that philosophy across Hunt’s nationwide network of maintenance shops took some thought.
In the end, notes Harry Markarian, regional director of maintenance-Northeast, solving this issue proved at once simple yet complex: Start at the very beginning and make new maintenance shops built by J.B. Hunt “green” from the foundation up. The first example of the carrier’s green shop blueprint is its new Harrisburg, PA, facility. Comprised of 35,000 sq. ft. of shop space and 7,000 sq. ft. of office space, the facility houses six tractor bays, six trailer bays, a steam wash bay, and a drive-through gantry wash bay, while offering parking for over 240 tractors, 50 trailers and 68 personal vehicles for employees. Among the sustainable features used in the facility’s construction are the building materials themselves, says Markarian, and 75% of the total steel tonnage used to construct the building is recycled steel. The facility’s 42,000-sq.-ft. white reflective roof has what’s known as a solar reflective index, or SRI, of 88, meaning that it reflects (rather than absorbs) significant amounts of heat, thus lessening the energy needed to cool the building. Markarian adds that a good portion of the old build-
ing was reused in the construction of the new one. Steel, copper and aluminum were all extracted during demolition and recycled, while 7,700 cu. yds. of rock and 3,200 cu. yds. of old asphalt were reused as well. J.B. Hunt’s new Harrisburg shop is also equipped with light emitting diode (LED) fixtures rather than fluorescent lamps. The LED lights last for 20,000 hours and consume far less energy, he notes. Use of light sensors in the shop and motion sensors in offices, bathrooms and break rooms, combined with skylights throughout the building, help to further lessen energy dependence 50 to 80%. Finally, polished concrete floors throughout the facility not only helped to reduce construction waste but reduced the company’s impact on natural resources by eliminating the volatile organic compounds emitted when traditional floor paints are used. “The green methods and materials utilized in the shop’s construction combine with the energy-efficient features used in its daily operation to reflect our commitment to sustainability,” Anderson says.
PROBLEM
SOLUTION
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—SEAN KILCARR
American Trucker/May 2012 15
business of trucking
Miles to charge
There’s more to a hauling rate than just pickup and delivery of freight
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B Y T I M B R A D Y, B U S I N E S S E D I T O R ne common misunderstanding many small carriers (especially single-truck operators) have when it comes to setting their hauling rates is the miles for which they charge. Most think only in terms of where the load is picked up and where it is delivered and charge the customer accordingly. While this concerns a shipper or broker, the carrier must always consider all the miles driven, including those from the previous load’s destination all the way to the last location where the next load is delivered. In other words, the miles from one destination to the next. The other
16 American Trucker/May 2012
part of the equation that needs to be considered is time. It’s very important to include both of these every time you calculate a hauling rate for a customer. Following are four different costs that need to be calculated and then combined to determine a hauling rate. Fixed cost. This number is figured on a time basis; the amount of time used depends on the type of operation. For a long-distance truckload carrier, it’s figured on a per-day basis multiplied by the total days engaged in a load from destination to destination. In the case of a local delivery service or service provider
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who drives from location to location in the course of doing business, the number is best figured by the hour. If weeks or months are spent on a specific job or load, though, then you need to come up with a different calculation altogether. Included in your fixed cost are expenses paid when the truck is sitting idle. This is divided into two areas. One is office expenses: rent, telephone, utilities, insurance, salaried employees’ wages, etc. The second is the specific fixed costs of each truck: truck and trailer payments, comp and collision insurance, Federal Highway Use Tax, license and permits, etc. Add up all these annual
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fixed expenses (for multiple truck operations, divide office expenses equally between all the trucks). Finally, add the office portion and the truck’s fixed costs together for each individual truck’s total annual fixed cost. Divide this total by 260 (based on a 5-day week, since most trucks don’t run 365 days) to determine your per-day cost; multiply it by five for your weekly cost. Or, divide your per-day answer by the number of hours your trucks and drivers work per day. Operational cost. Tis is a permile amount based on what your maintenance, repairs, tires and mileage-paid to driver(s) are costing you per mile. It’s calculated by tracking all miles a vehicle traveled over a month. Included are repairs and tires amortized over their expected life (example, steer tires costing $700 with a 12-month life expectancy would amortize at $58.33/ month) and the cost of the vehicle’s maintenance for the previous month. Add your amortized figures to your maintenance figures and divide by the odometer miles the truck covered in the previous month, then add your per-driver pay. Te answer is your operational cost per mile. Fuel cost per mile. Take any mile figure, divide it by your mpg, multiply the number of gallons by the current price per gallon for fuel, then divide your total fuel cost by the mileage figure with which you started this calculation. For example: 3,000 mi. divided by 6 mpg equals 500 gals.; multiplied by $4/ gal. equals $2,000; divided by 3,000 mi. equals 67¢ per mile for fuel. Load-specific costs. This includes all one-time expenses needed to complete a particular load:
tolls, pilot car fees, lumper labor, etc. Total them into a single figure. Lastly, the final number you’ll need is your most important number, the profit margin. Tis is where you capitalize your operation and have cash reserves to sustain the company in lean times, and accumulate needed cash to grow and/ or pay dividends to the owners and bonuses to employees.
FINDING THE PROFIT MARGIN There are many different ways to determine a profit margin; my preference is the “cover my assets” (CMA) method. Multiply your annual fixed cost by 1.5 (for 18 months) and that’s the amount it would take to keep your doors open for a year and a half if your trucks were all parked. Tis becomes your CMA. Now divide the CMA figure by either 156 weeks (3 years), 208 weeks (4 years) or 260 weeks (5 years). Divide your answer by 5 (days) to compute your needed daily profit margin. Once you have all your figures: fixed cost, operational cost, fuel cost, load-specific cost, and your profit margin, determining your ultimate hauling rate range is easy. For your trucking business to be successful, it’s important to understand all the costs involved to produce a service plus have an established profit margin. But it’s imperative to make sure those costs and profit margin are incorporated in the hauling rate on every load you haul. AT
Once you have all your figures ... determining your ultimate hauling rate range is easy.
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Contact Tim Brady at tbrady@writeuptheroad.com or call 731-749-8567. Join Brady in the Trucking Business Community at www.truckersu.com.
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Setting a hauling rate The following is an example of how to set a hauling rate for a particular load. The carrier’s known costs: q q
Fixed cost: $250 per day Operational cost: 65¢/mi. (15¢ for maintenance, repairs, tires ; 50¢ for driver pay, including payroll costs) q Fuel cost: 67¢/mi. q Load-specific costs: $150 (lumper labor and tolls) q CMA: $125/day profit margin
In this example, the particular load will require 4 days covering 2,400 mi. plus 150 mi. from the previous destination to load origin. It is calculated like this: $250 per day x 4 days = $1,000 65¢ + 67¢ = 1.32/mi. 1.32/mi. x 2,550 mi. = $3,300 Load-specific costs = $150 Break-even point for load = $4,450 $4,450 / 2,400 mi. = $1.8541/mi. $1.8541/mi. represents the low end of the hauling rate range and assures you of meeting all costs but doesn’t leave any profit. To calculate the high end of the hauling rate range: $125 CMA profit x 4 days =$500 Break-even point for load=$4,450 $500+$4,450=$4,950 $4,950 / 2,400 mi. =$2.0625/mi. This represents the high end of the hauling rate range.
In the example, the question becomes: Is the hauling rate correct for this particular load? Yes, if it falls within the range of $1.86/mi. to $2.07/mi. Information for this article is based on an online course at www.TruckersU.com, Introduction to Trucking Business.
American Trucker/May 2012 17
cover story
Mining data for dollars
18 American Trucker/May 2012
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Data management is providing insight into operations like never before BY WENDY LEAVIT T, CONTRIBUTING EDITOR
T
ruckers large and small have more access than ever to information. Be it from a desktop software program, or from a cloud-based smartphone application, every minute detail about a truck, a customer, or even an individual load or driver can be recorded and analyzed. But with such a vast and still largely unexplored data landscape comes the need to sift it out, for information by itself is rather useless without the ability to perform analysis.
“The way I think about data is how it hits the bottom line,” says Michele Greene, TransCore group product manager. “There are three legs to that ‘stool’: asset utilization, that is maximizing loaded miles; maximizing the rates for moving that freight; and reducing costs.” Truckers have always been interested in reducing costs. In the past, however, it was not possible to truly understand the impact “cost sets” have on the bottom line. For example, a trucker could manually track fuel costs per mile by reviewing and recording fueling receipts and odometer miles, but many details were not visible in those numbers, including the impact of engine idling, unauthorized fuel purchases, or driver performance behind the wheel.
DETAILED MANAGEMENT
Technology is making the details within those cost sets clearly visible now, and when the details can be seen more clearly, truckers can act on them more precisely. Vusion (part of Trimble’s International Transportation and Logistics division along with PeopleNet), for example, has been working on measuring the fuel efficiency of individual truck tractors against expectations.
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“We have developed what we call ‘underperforming vehicle reports,’” says Thomas Fansler, president of Vusion. “A vehicle’s performance is graded in terms of mpg. We build comprehensive data models for the performance of truck tractors based upon their make, model, age, engine size and other factors. We also take into account duty-cycle particulars, including things like idle time, the environment and load weight. Based upon all we know about a given truck, we have a pretty good idea of how it should perform as compared to how it is performing.” One of the things Fansler’s work has turned up, perhaps surprisingly so, is that about 83% of the tractors found to be underperforming have service issues, and about 58% of those are major service issues. This type of analysis is really “still in its infancy,” he says, but the potential benefits are undeniable. The not-for-profit North American Council for Freight Efficiency (NACFE) has also been looking at detailed data related to truck fuel efficiency, in this case to help make better decisions about adopting fuel-saving technologies and devices without having to go to the expense of testing every possible
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system themselves. NACFE recently completed a study that compiles the real-world experiences of eight major fleets with 60 different fuel-saving devices, technologies and practices divided into six categories: tractor and trailer aerodynamics, synthetic lubricants, idle-reduction systems, tires and wheels, driver training, and routing software. The data covers 30,000 tractors and 88,000 trailers operating between 2003 and 2010, according to Mike Roeth, NACFE executive director. In 2010 alone, study trucks were driven 3.1 billion miles and burned 496 million gals. of fuel. Not a paperand-pencil math story problem by any means.
BRINGING DATA TO LIFE
The unique report tracks adoption rates of each technology and practice rather than assigning percentage values, noting whether they were quickly adopted for 100% of a fleet, slowly adopted for 100% of a fleet, currently ramping up to full adoption, started and then stopped, or never purchased. “Data can be expressed in numbers,” Roeth says, “but in this case we chose to show some qualitative data in ways that are intended to help fleets and suppliers make good decisions. We had a huge amount of data, but we wanted to present it simply and in a way that would make it come to life and be actionable.” In the case of full tractor chassis skirts, for instance, three of the test fleets quickly chose to adopt them for their entire operations; three others did so more slowly; one fleet is ramping up now, but to less than 100%; and one fleet did not purchase them at all.
American Trucker/May 2012 19
cover story “Through our unbiased approach to aggregating information on fuelefficient technologies, we are adding direct value to the fleets’ bottom line,” Roeth says. Don Osterberg, senior vice president of safety, security & driver training for Schneider National, recently shared his experiences with using data analysis—in this case driver performance data—to enhance safety, reduce costs and improve the bottom line during a live webcast sponsored by GreenRoad and presented jointly by American Trucker sister publication Fleet Owner and the Truckload Carriers’ Assn.
PROACTIVE APPROACH
Traditional safety metrics are lagging, not leading, indicators, noted Osterberg. Effectiveness flows from the ability to identify and proactively manage those leading indicators, and technology can definitely help to get the job done. “Technology enables visibility into driver behavior,” he observed. “In the past, it was a crash that raised our awareness of an aggressive driver. Now we can [use driver-performance monitoring technology to help us] detect indicators of problematic behavior to enable interventions to remediate the behavior preemptively.” Osterberg shared specifics about Schneider’s own driver monitoring and management program as well as insights the fleet has gained over time. For example, he said that in a study of the company’s top and bottom performers in terms of mpg, “we found a correlation to crash risk: The top 100 drivers in terms of mpg also had a 37% lower accident rate than the poorest drivers in terms of mpg.” Access to good data and the ability to analyze it is also helping truckers improve the bottom line by reducing wasted effort in all its various forms, from out-of-route miles to underloaded trucks, from idle equipment to time spent in non-revenue pro-
20 American Trucker/May 2012
TransCore offers “hot market maps” to help truckers locate the best freight lanes. ducing tasks. When it comes to asset utilization, Eric Manegold, vice president of business development for commercial vehicles at Zonar Systems, likes to think about what he calls “transactions,” i.e., all the tasks a truck and driver have to stop to do, and how they might be accomplished faster or deliver more value to the fleet. “Truck uptime is really huge,” Manegold says, and to help optimize that, he scrutinizes the events that cause downtime. According to Manegold, one such regular event is fueling or stopping for required rest periods. Thanks to GPS and to technologies like Zonar’s own Z-Con automated fueling solution, fleets can now tell when a driver is stopped at a fueling station, he observes, and that looks like a wasted opportunity. “Why don’t we do service while the truck is at a fueling island?” he asks. “We could do a very fast, NASCAR-like courtesy vehicle inspection, for instance.” In some instances, you may be able to address an immediate issue at a truckstop, perhaps preventing a breakdown or CSA violation down the road, and get that truck back on the highway quickly, he points out.
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At Jump Technologies, CEO John Freund is also looking at ways to speed up certain transactions, in this case for the product delivery business. The company’s JumpTrack offering is a cloud-based, proof-ofdelivery application that leverages standard smartphones and tablets running iPhone and Android operating systems to capture signatures, while allowing customers to check delivery status. The goal is to enable delivery fleets to better utilize their assets, or even to use fewer trucks to make the same number of deliveries, while eliminating paper transactions at the same time.
THE CELL ADVANTAGE
“Most drivers have cell phones already,” says Freund, “so why not allow them to do more with the technology they already have? The beauty of the smartphone is that it is really affordable and really portable. All the data lives in the cloud, so it is always accessible. “Everything is going to migrate to smartphones, which are really computers,” he predicts. “I believe that with all my heart. Everything will move there. People want access to everything they need wherever they
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are. Te hardware world is changing to accommodate that. We are in a transition period now.” Freund is also watching the delivery data created by his system accumulate every day. “Our data set is growing very fast,” he says. “It will be large enough to be of use for things like benchmarking very soon.” One area the company plans to look at is average number of deliveries per day in a given market. Tat information will help customers to better evaluate their performance as compared to other fleets.
THE BOTTOM LINE
Te trucking industry is famous for its steady focus on reducing costs and, to a lesser extent, perhaps for its remarkable management of remote assets. Increasing revenue, and ultimately the bottom line, however, is a subject that just doesn’t get as much public discussion.
TransCore’s DAT Services posts some 68 million loads and trucks every year on its load boards, 45 million of those are posted to DAT first or nowhere else, according to the company. Te resulting data set is enormous, current, and now very valuable as a source of information about opportunities for carriers to maximize revenues. “We have a number of analytical offerings now,” says David Schrader, senior vice president of TransCore. “For example, we provide what we call ‘hot market maps’ to help carriers see where the freight is so they can properly position assets to take advantage of where freight is by type of truck and by season.” “We also help carriers understand pricing dynamics,” says Michele Greene. “Prices don’t go up and down uniformly everywhere at the same time. Our Truckload Rate Index shows the going rate on a par-
Panning for gold U
nlike the gold rush of 1887, what glitters for one fleet may not be as valuable for the next, so it is a good idea to decide upfront where the greatest ROI opportunities exist for your specific operation and go there first, equipped with the best decision support tools you can get. Here are some of the things access to the right data-based information could help you accomplish to improve the bottom line:
Improve asset utilization ❏ Optimize routing to reduce wasted, out-of route and empty miles ❏ Utilize the full cargo capacity of every trailer/truck ❏ Accelerate load/unload times ❏ Actively manage driver HOS ❏ Help prevent breakdowns and reduce the time trucks spend in the shop
Reduce costs ❏ Know your real costs of operation in a usable level of detail ❏ Rightsize vehicles to duty cycles in terms of size, power and
specifications ❏ Take advantage of fuel-conserving aerodynamic equipment, which is proven to be appropriate for your operation
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ticular lane. It can help carriers see how they are competing.” Using sophisticated analytics to help carriers understand the workings of the spot market is what business is now all about. “It used to be that only the larger fleets could do this,” notes Schrader. “We reach the 5- to 50-truck fleets. Technology is a great equalizer. Today, we are more of a publisher/educator. We produce white papers, webinars and other training materials to help fleets.” (Te data is available at www.DAT. com at no charge.) For trucking operations of all sizes in every market, the new questions of the hour are increasingly: What data do we have? What business intelligence can we derive from analyzing that data? What can we do now with what we know? As it turns out, the answers to all these questions are the same: “More than ever imagined.” AT
❏ Actively monitor and manage driver performance for safety, efficiency and fuel economy ❏ Reduce idling ❏ Identify fuel-tax reporting problems/opportunities for savings ❏ Reduce unauthorized fueling and fuel theft, speed up the fuel pumping and payment process ❏ Improve driver screening and selection to help reduce turnover ❏ Flow the right information seamlessly from vehicles and drivers to operations, maintenance, the back office, and even to your customers to reduce mistakes and redundant effort ❏ Improve CSA compliance and reduce exposure
Grow revenue ❏ Benchmark your operation against similar fleets operating on your lanes to make sure you are competitive but still not leaving money on the table ❏ Keep track of seasonal shifts in regional freight markets to help properly position assets, especially for spot-market freight ❏ Know what it costs you to serve each customer so you make changes such as implementing variable pricing to bring lessprofitable customers into the acceptable range ❏ Consider the backhaul as well as the headhaul when responding to new requests for proposals
American Trucker/May 2012 21
focus on...
Refrigeration
R
Refrigeration control continues to be a prime concern for truckers who are dedicated to moving temperaturesensitive cargo. Helping fleets control operating costs, achieve sustainability goals, and meet emissions regulations are areas where Thermo King, an Ingersoll Rand brand, is focusing attention. ÒFuel usage on reefers makes up a significant portion of a refrigeration transporterÕs cost of doing business,Ó says Doug Lenz, director of product management and marketing. ÒThermo King continues to evolve its SB series to improve/reduce fuel consumption, such as the smooth air blower designed in conjunction with Trane, also a brand of Ingersoll Rand.Ó Power requirements of the engineÕs evaporator blower assembly were reduced up to 24%, Lenz says. ÒAPUs were enhanced to improve overall reliability of the units and potentially save even more fuel,Ó he adds. Product improvements include the inclusion of new unit control software, long-life motor mounts, upgraded alternators with higher charging voltage, and a new battery voltage-sensing circuit. Carrier TransicoldÕs new APX system includes a large illuminated display that continually shows the operating status of the unit. Pushbutton operation is a feature of the system. According to David Kiefer, director-marketing and product management, the APX is the Òfirst transport refrigeration control system to use modular, distributed electronics [that are easier to access for replacement of modules], run diagnostic software continuously, and monitor the refrigeration system to help avert problems.Ó ÒWith Carrier TransicoldÕs APX control system, operating data can be downloaded to a USB flash drive, providing shippers and their customers with printed records for load-temperature verification and claims management,Ó Kiefer points out. ÒRefrigeration controls provide a record of temperatures maintained in cargo areas and can track door openings.Ó Because of its reporting capabilities, the APX system can Òdisplay data recorder trip graphs, providing operators and customers with an at-a-glance visual indicator of conditions within the trailer,Ó Kiefer adds.
Controlling fuel usage a key concern
22 American Trucker/May 2012
In addition to refrigeration units, cold-plate technology is another popular option for fleets. Hercules Manufacturing Co. says it is seeing an increase in requests for 5- Thermo King’s SB Series inand 6-in. foam all around cludes a smooth air blower, the truck body, which is which reduces the blower said to promote better assembly’s power requiretemperature control and ments by as much as 24%. extended body life. ÒThe primary purpose of a refrigerated truck body is to provide good temp control. Some customers run longer routes with more stops; some carry more products, meaning drivers spend longer at each stop delivering multiple product lines,Ó says Jeffrey A. Caddick, CEO and owner of Hercules. ÒWeÕve devised foaming above the crossbars for maximum temp control, keeping floor height as low as possible, making it easier for drivers to get in and out.Ó Johnson Refrigerated Truck Bodies is also seeing interest in its cold-plate technology, particularly due to the desire to reduce fuel costs and meet emissions laws. ÒOur all-electric cold-plate systems comply with the Dept. of EnergyÕs Shorepower Truck Electrification Project grant because they donÕt require diesel fuel like conventional systems do,Ó says Mayo Rude, vice president of sales & marketing. ÒThe recently FOR MORE INFORMATION, introduced Guardian LT, with cold-plate VISIT THESE WEB SITES: refrigeration, allows CARRIER TRANSICOLD customers to maxi- www.trucktrailer.carrier.com mize payload without increasing operational HERCULES MANUFACTURING CO. www.herculesvanbodies.com costs.Ó According to Rude, Òcold-plate re- JOHNSON REFRIGERATED frigeration systemsÉ TRUCK BODIES are the most reliable, www.johnsontruckbodies.com low-maintenance option available today, THERMO KING [and are] powered by www.thermoking.com electricity.Ó
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Circle 5 on reply card
readers’ r igs Think your custom truck measures up to— or maybe even beats — the ones owned and operated by your fellow American Trucker readers?
C.E. Jones
Beech Buff, TN
Kevin Tomes, T.W. DiPlacido
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Franklin, MA
Elskeny, MO
Send us a photo for judging in our monthly Readers’ Rigs showcase. Each month’s winner gets entered into the championship round, with the Grand Champion Reader Rig selected and profiled in American Trucker’s December issue. 24 American Trucker/May 2012
Email your truck pictures to: SEAN KILCARR EMAIL: sean.kilcarr@penton.com TELEPHONE: 7035691829
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American Trucker/May 2012 - West 25
SAM’S RIVERSIDE TRUCK PARTS 3900 Vandalia Rd Des Moines IA 515-265-1656
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1972 International Loadstar 4WD, 392, 5-spd., T223 Transfer Case. #UL70.
1999 Kenworth T2000, 3406E-475HP, RTLO18718B, DS404 on AG400. #UR10.
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$450-$1,500
WHEELS
LARGE INVENTORY OF AFTERMARKET HOOD SHELLS
$75-$150
TRUCKS - TRAILERS - EQUIPMENT
1986 Ford F800, Sat 3208T 250 hp, 13-spd., 14’ Dump Box, Stk. #2572 ..........................$8,000
1993 Pete 357 Quad Axle “REBUILDER” CAT 3176 350 hp, Fuller 8LL, Eaton Lockers 4.11, 17 Ft Box, All Alum. Wheels, Stk. #2726 ....$20,000
1998 Peterbilt 379 CAT C12 410 hp, Fuller 13 Spd, Eaton 3.90 Rears, All Alum Wheels, Stk. #2720................................$15,000
1987 Mack DM686S, EM6-285, 12-spd. Mack, Mack Rears, Camel Back Susp., Stk. #2634 ....$10,000
1996 Rosa Pup Trailer, 8’ x 20’ Bed, Air Ride Susp., Stk. #2660 .... ............................................$6,000
1993 Mack CH613 Quad Axle, Mack E7-400 hp, 13-spd. Fuller, Mack Rears, All Alum. Wheels, Steerable Pushers, Rebuilder, Stk. #2654 .............$15,000
1998 Peterbilt 379, Detroit 12/7L 425 hp, Fuller 13 Spd, Eaton 3.36 Rears, All Alum. Wheels, Stk. #2725................................$12,500
2005 International 9200i, CAT C13 430 hp, Fuller 10-spd., 209” W.B., Stk. #2577 ........................$19,750
2007 Freightliner M2-106 CAT C7 (bad engine), FS6406A Trans., Good Cab, 26’ X 102” Alum. Van Body, Lift Gate, Parting Out, Stk. #2680
1995 BlueBird, CAT 3116, 185 hp, 4-spd. Auto., Hyd. Brakes, 65 Passenger, Stk. #2393........$4,500
1989 Timpte 48’ Reefer, Thermo King SBII-30M, Works Good, Stk. #2327 ..........................$4,500
2005 International 9400i Cummins ISX 435HP, Rockwell Auto. Trans, Rockwell 3.42 Rears, All Alum. Wheels, Stk. #2727 ........ ..........................................$21,000
1987 IH 2500 Plow Truck, DT466, Allison Auto., 11’ Hydra-Turn Plow, Stk. #2632 ................$7,000
1979 IH 1824 Grain Truck, 404 Gas Engine, 5-spd. Trans., 2-spd Rear, 16’ Grain Rack, Stk. #2631 .. $6,000
Several Mid-90’s Pete 379’s. ........ .................................... Parting Out
32 American Trucker/May r 2012 - West
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Trucker.com for used equipment listings
Since 1939
. c n I , s g ’ a a H r e d n 888-944-5030 Va Your Trucks, Parts & Equipment Headquarters
Parts from 1000’s of Units at Your Fingertips All Makes & Models! 2003 STERLING AT9522
2007 PETERBILT 387
2006 IHC 9400
2007 VOLVO VNL
2005 KENWORTH T800 2006 FRTLINER CLASSIC
03SL015 MBE4000 ENGINE ....... $10,000 FRO15210C TRANS ....... $1750 RR20145 3.73R CARRIER $375 RD20145 3.73R P DVDR .. $750 MFS12-143A FRT AXLE ... $750
07PB005 ISX450 730K ENGINE...... $14,500 FRO16210C TRANS ........... $1750 LH FRONT DOOR............... $1800 LH DOOR MIRROR............... $650 CHERRY WOOD STEER COL$900
06IH046 ISX435 ENGINE .............. $10,500 FRO16210B TRANS .......... $1750 E1202I FRONT AXLE........... $850 COMPLETE CAB ............... $7000 (10) 22.5 ALUM WHEELS .. $1750
07VV016 ISX400 ENGINE .............. $12,000 FRO16210B TRANS .......... $1750 STEERING COLUMN........... $750 COMPLETE DOOR .............. $500 COMPLETE NOSE............. $3500
05KN026 C15 ACERT 475HP ENG ... $8500 FRO16210C TRANS .......... $1850 RSP40 3.55R CARRIER ...... $650 DSP40 3.55R PWR DVDR ... $950
06WH057 14.0L 515HP ENG....... $14,000 FRO15210C TRANS ...... $1750 RT40-4 3.42R CARRIER.. $950 RT40-4 3.42R P DVDR .. $1950 COOL PACK RADIATOR$1200
Parts Lookup and “Buy It Now” Ordering Now Available Online !
DD15 505hp, Low Miles Real Good Runner #24194121 $25,000
Mack E6 350hp 4 Valve, New Rod Brgs #24224523 $3,000
ISX 435hp, CM870 Low Miles #24180187 $17,500
NEW ISB 350hp In Frame, with Allison 3000, Cooling, Exhaust, Wiring & Accessories, #24183466 $15,500
DDEC3 Engines As Low As $3500.00 DDEC4 Engines As Low As $4500.00
REBUILT Long Block Supreme $12,495 Dropin $15,495
Low Mileage 3126 & C7 CAT Engines
All Engines Sold Exchange ~ Premium Engines Sold with 180 Day Limited Parts & Labor Warranty !
Your Complete Source for Quality Truck Parts ~ New, Used & Rebuilt
Fleetline
R
Leading OEMs and Fleets Trust Fleetline Products Used & Rebuilt Drivetrain Parts ! New, Used & Take Off Body Parts ! We’re Your One-Stop for Side Dump, Belly Dump & Drop Deck Trailers! Available Stock!
Truck of the Month! Ready to work for you!
(2) 2008 KENWORTH T800, C13 CAT 430hp, ULTRASHIFT! 08KN004
Shipping Nationwide! Go to
www.vanderhaags.com
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
American Trucker/ r/May 2012 - West 33
1-888-297-0098
227 STEWARD ROAD • PACIFIC, WA 98047
www.valleyfreightliner.com
2007 Kenworth W900B, Cummins ISX 450 hp, 13-speed, 68,409 Miles, Dual 120 Gallon Tanks, Aluminum wheels, 70 Aerocab, CC, Tilt/Tele Wheel, 9 Gauges, Drive Air Seat, Right Power Mirror, Right Power Window, Power Door Locks, Delay Wipers, AC, PS.................... ........................................................... $3,000 CASH INCENTIVE!!! 2006 Volvo VNL64T300, Cummins ISX 400 hp, 10-speed, 762,185 miles, CC, Tilt/ Tele Wheel, 10 gauges, Driver Air Seat, Dual Power Mirrors, Right Power Window, Delay Wipers, AC, PS ............. ......................... $29,900
34 American Trucker/May r 2012 - West
(12) STAINLESS tankers; 5,000 - 7,000 gallon insulated, some non-code, some 3A sanitary, use for milk, juice, oil, food, water, storage, manure, fertilizer, waste, farm, chemicals, sludge, industrial use or whatever! Call with your needs and we’ll do our best to help you get what you need.
(6) 2007 All Aluminum Air Ride 24’ flat pull trailer, Chaparral 98” wide, (7) sliding strap winches, Hendrickson Intraax 23,000# suspension, 255/70R22.5 tires on steel unilug wheels, fork pocket & block, approx. 7’ drawbar. ALSO: Many other pull trailers in stock!
(10) 2005-2007 Long Wheelbase Chassis, Peterbilt & Freightliner, some CAT, some Mercedes, 10-speed or 8LL, spring ride or some are air ride on all 3 axles! 220 - 256” wheelbase & lightweight!
(12) 2009 Kenworth T800 Day Cab Tractors, CAT C13, Jake, 10-speed, air ride, 173” wheelbase, 22.5 aluminum wheels, good tires, and CLEAN! ALSO: Peterbilt & Freightliner day cabs in stock!
Go to
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
Go to
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
American Trucker/May 2012 - West 35
Ron Weathers Outside Sales 541-601-0635 John Haight Inside Sales 541-944-5908
NOW IN STOCK!
&
New
NEW NEW
5758 Crater Lake Ave Central Point, OR 97502
NEW
MEDFORD TRAILER COMPANY
Many trucks and trailers and several pieces of equipment currently in inventory, also parts including engines, transmissions, and differentials
MOTORS In Stock good used late model and older Cummins, Cat, Det., & IH diesel engines
DETROIT 6-71 ........................................................... $2,500 8V, ’71 ........................................................ $2,500 60 S 11.1, DD1&2 ...................................... $2,500 60 S 12.7, DD4&5 ...................................... CALL
MACK EMG, 250 HP ............................................ $3,000 T675, 237 HP ............................................ $2,500 EM6, 300 HP ............................................. $3,000 E7, 400 HP ................................................ $4,000
2009 D Dec 6 Detroit with 26,000 Actual Miles $14,000 Exchange
CAT 3208, 210 HP............................................. $2,000 3208T, 250 HP ........................................... $2,500 3176, 380 HP............................................. $4,000 3406A, 350 HP ......................................... $2,500 3406B, 425 HP .......................................... $4,000 3406-E 455-550HP ..................................... CALL
FORD 7.8, FITS LN .............................................. $3,500 361 CI, GAS................................................. $750 6.6.............................................................. $2,500
New wet kits complete with tank Starting @ $1,850
Rebuilt Fuller: Rebuilt & Reman Differentials RTX15210C RTLO14609B RTLO16913A Eaton: RTLO20913B DS402 $1,000 RTLO20918B RS402 $800 DS404 RS404 Rockwell: RD20 145 RR20 145 Spicer: N400F N400R
$1,250 $900
$1,750 $1,750 $3,000 $3,750 $4,000
Rebuilt Mack: T-2090 T-2070
$1,250 $900
$1,750 $1,750 Allison:
HT 750DRD 4060P
$1,150 $850
$1,500 $3,500
Recond Available
Prices are takeout with exchange.
IHC V345 ............................................................. $750 V392 ............................................................ $950 V549 .......................................................... $1,200 DT466, 210 HP ......................................... $2,500 DT466E..................................................... $3,750
Mack CRD92 Recond $1,800 CRD93 Recond $1,100 All parts sold with warranty Good selection of rear cuts and tri-drive assemblies starting at $3,500
Transmission & Differential Service ANNOUNCING NEW REBUILD SHOP All Makes, Models, and Ratios Available Same Day Shipping On Request
Steerable & Non-Steerable Pusher Axles & Drag Tags Starting @ $1,500
FL112 Cab, CAT Wired $4,000 Numerous Hoods, Cabs and Body parts
Hoods, Doors, Body Parts and Much More.
ASK FOR KEVIN FOR ALL YOUR PARTS NEEDS. IF IT IS DRIVE TRAIN PROBLEMS ASK FOR DAVE.
Tire Service with Hundreds of New, Used and Recap Tires
23125 - 430TH ST. SE Winger, Minnesota 56592 PO Box 69
(877) 277-4963 www.luckentrucks.com
Over 500 Trucks for Parts with Thousands of Parts Available. Many Late Model Units.
36 American Trucker/May 2012 - West
Go to
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
Check the web site for full listings. Wet kits available, many more models to choose from, new stock weekly, call for equipment pricing
CUMMINS L-10 260HP & 240HP ............................... $2,500 NTC FORMULA 300, BCII ........................ $2,500 NTC 315, BC IV ........................................ $2,500 NTC 350, BC II&IV..................................... $3,000 NTC 350, BC IV w/jakes ........................... $3,500 NTC 400, NC IV ........................................ $3,500 NTC 350, BC III ......................................... $3,000 N-14 ESP..................................................... CALL 5.9 195 HP ............................................... $2,500 8.3 240 HP & 275HP ................................. $4,000 ISX ............................................................. $6,500
Go to
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
American Trucker/May 2012 - West 37
DETROIT PERKINS
$1,499
3116 . . . $1,298 3126 . . . $1,498 3208 . . . . .$799 3306 . . . . .$1,199 C-15 . . . $2,450 2,250
3046E 2-Piece Piston . . .$2,450 2,250
3406E 1-Piece Piston . . . $1,597
3406
For Caterpillar
9
$12
299
6B 5.9L . . . $699
0 6B 8.3L . . . $899
NEW CAMSHAFTS
3
59.
PREMIUM GOLD INJECTORS
For Big Cam I, II, III
CAT 3406E & C-15 TURBOS 500 HP SPECIAL EXCHANGE No core required!
NEW OIL COOLER ELEMENTS
Your Choice TOP STOP • PTD’s New Cups New Locks & Screws New Barrel & Plunger New Fuel Screens
.
97ea.
$ 1,2
JOHN DEERE
Manufactures, Names, Numbers, Descriptions and Symbols, Listed Are Used For Reference
“WHEN YOU’RE TIRED OF THE
Manufacturers, names, numbers, descriptions & symbols listed are used for reference purposes only and it is not implied that any item listed is the product of the manufacturer.
N
Specializing In All Makes Of Diesel Engines!
(5) LOS ANGELES • OHIO
For All Cat Models
M-11 2-Piece Piston . . . .$1,850 L-10 . . . . .$1,199
NEW WATER PUMPS
DOOR BUSTER
COMPLETE IN-FRAME KITS Y SOR S E B ACC ES N-14 1-Piece $797 NEW DRIV Piston . . . $1,497
Exchange with RE All New Rollers CO LE and Pins AB T P E CC W/A
149
.
CAM FOLLOWERS
49.
Small Cam
CONNECTINGR Call To See If Your Arrangement Number Applies INCLUDES: Main Bearings, Rod Bearings, O KITCyl. Kits, Head Gaskets & Pan Gaskets DS Big Cam &
Cracked Heads Slightly Higher
M-11
FUEL PUMPS for COMPLETE IN-FRAME KITS N-14 & FOR CATERPILLAR
CATERPILLAR
Also DETROIT, T MACK, INT’L, PERKINS, JOHN DEERE at similarr savings
CATERPILLAR M-11, N-14, ISX N-14 . . . . . $1,997 3406B . . . . $1,799 855 (New) . $1,195 3406E . . . . $2,499
NEW STANDAR T D CRANK R SHAFTS
LUCAS HI-PERFORMANCE OIL PRODUCTS MASTER DISTRIBUTOR
MADE IN USA
All Kits Include • Main Bearings • Rod Bearings • Cylinder Kits • Head Gasket
Call To See if Your Eng. Serial # Applies
897
8V-71TT $1,199 8V-71XH $1,399
MINIMUM PURCHASE OF
ea. (6) EXCHANGE
9 $29
24
$4 AIR C For L-10 OM PRE & 855 SSO Rebuilt For RS Cat 3406
As Low As
LUBE PUMPS
HT3B
Purposes Only And It Is Not Implied That Any Item Listed Is The Product Of The Manufacturer.
KIT INCLUDES: Main Bearings, Rod Bearings, Cyl. Kits, Head Gaskets and Pan Gaskets
6-71-XH $1,199 6V-92 $1,299
For Detroit Engines
REST, COME TO THE BEST�
D211915 $259.95 D217321 $299.95 D217323 $299.95
N
TION IBRA V EW
9
Trade-In Your Old Turbo VT50, T50, ST50, T46, For A Holset Style Turbo Limited Part Numbers While Supplies Last
COMPLETE IN-FRAME KITS
Cat 3406
PERS DAM
mounting kit included
NEW EXHAUST MANIFOLDS
SER. 60 IN-FRAME KITS
99.
UP-GRADE SALE HOLSET STYLE TURBOS
$
PERKINS
$8,995 HIGHEST QUALITY ELECTRONIC FUEL INJECTORS FOR CAT •DETROIT • N-14
$797
9 DETROIT DIESEL $6
CYLINDER KITS ROD BEARINGS HEAD GASKETS MAIN BEARINGS PAN GASKETS Call Today To See If Your CPL Applies
KITS INCLUDE:
DETROIT
COMPLETE IN-FRAME KITS BIG CAM SMALL CAM
500 HP DETROIT SERIES 60 TURBO SPECIAL No core required!
a. $ 895 e
Guaranteed Overnite Delivery
9
$54
CUSTOM BUILT FUEL PUMPS
CATERPILLAR
DISTRIBUTION CENTERS •PORTLAND HOUSTON MIAMI
CUMMINS BIG CAM 400 HP
9 8 too 2012 0 0 1987 A&R DIESEL S A&R DIESEL
aryy e rrssa r iv e n iv AAnnn
rrd d 25 23th
SINCE 1900
W W W. B R E N N E RTA N K . C O M
Fond Du Lac,
Mauston,
TN • Ashland, KY • New Lisbon,
* * * WANTED * * * STAINLESS STEEL & ALUMINUM LIQUID TRANSPORT TRAILERS
1981 Kari-Kool, Non-Code Insulated, Wheels,
T aming
2002 Engle Gal. Insulated, Stainless for Potable
k Ft.
vable
Trailer
2002 Engle Gal. anks, Non-Insulated, All Far Ft. O.A.L. for Potable Fertilizer Oil Fields”
k-Up Milk
1978 railer Suspension, on Wheels, 47’-9” .A.L. $2,900…..M/O
“No quantity too large or too small.”
1999 Fr
TANKS & TRAILERS PRICED UNDER $15,000
Butler y, Unit #60126
1-Cpt. S/R, Wheels,
1977 Fruehauf Wheels,
Gal. 76”
➔
➔
alk Unit #60131
2-Cpt. 6000 & 6200 Gal.,
Sanitar Alum.
Contact Dan Wentland or Scott Carter on you used equipment you wish to sell. 1-800-468-0345 ext. 4127 or ext. 4136
5-Cpt., 24.5 .A.L. Unit #60153
TRUST IS BUILT BUILT IN.
800-643-9549 www.ruan.com
1989 Warren Bulk Feed Trailer, 40’ X 96” 1996 CEI Pacer, All Bulk feed trailer, 9 Henderson, CO $6,850 compartment, Fremont, NE Special $13,800
2006 Great Dane, 50’ X 96”, 4,261 engine hrs., 2000 Fruehauf, Van, 48’ X 102”, Roll Door, Maxon Rail Lift Gate, 5,000 lb, Fort Wayne, flat floor, Very Clean. $21,750 $6,900 Ruan TRuck and TRaileR SaleS • 4205 ne 14Th STReeT deS MoineS, iowa 50313
www.Ruan.coM
38 American Trucker/May r 2012 - West
Go to
• 800-643-9549
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
EXTEND THE LIFE OF YOUR USED EQUIPMENT. ALL MAKES USED ENGINES IN STOCK.
849 Barricks Rd. - Louisville, KY 40229 USA Cash, Certified Check, Money Order
Offering You “Parts Link” Parts Locating Services
ENGINES SUBJECT
Se Habla Español
TO CORE CHARGES
PRICES SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE
ALL ENGINE OVERHAUL KITS
Detroit Call with ESN SER60 New Reduced Price $2,400 Incl. Head Bolts and Cam Bearings
USED CUMMINS
USED CAT
MORE PARTS SPECIALS
Used Jake Brakes $750/Set & Up
USED DETROIT
TRANSMISSIONS DIFFERENTIALS
CORES WANTED $ $ $ $ $ TOP DOLLARS PAID ON CORES $ $ $ $ $ CORES SOLD Go to
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
American Trucker/ r/May 2012 - West 39
EXTEND THE LIFE OF YOUR USED EQUIPMENT. ALL MAKES USED ENGINES IN STOCK.
800.552.5111
800-635-9801 www.schneidertrucks.com 75 TRUCKS ADDED FOR SALE EVERY WEEK
58” Mid-Roof Sleeper 2005 Freightliner C120
70” Raised Roof Sleeper
2006 Freightliner C120
Detroit Series 60 455 HP
Over 300 in Stock Starting at $14,000
Detroit Series 60 455 HP
2007 Freightliner C120 Detroit Series 60 455 HP
Over 60 For Sale
Over 160 For Sale
Over 40 For Sale
$14,000 to $22,000
$17,000 to $28,000
$25,000 to $36,000
10 Speed
10 Speed
Automated-Ultrashift
Automated-Ultrashift
14 & 12.7 Liter 70” Raised Roof - Double Bunk 58” Mid Roof - Single Bunk
Automated-Ultrashift
14 & 12.7 Liter
14 & 12.7 Liter
70” Raised Roof - Double Bunk 58” Mid Roof - Single Bunk
2.64 & 2.62 Ratio
2.64 & 2.62 Ratio
226” WB & 214” WB
Aux Bunk Heater & AC
226“ WB & 214” WB
Aux Bunk Heater & AC
Aux Bunk Heater & AC
Dual 100 Gallon Fuel Tanks
Excellent MPG
70” Raised Roof - Double Bunk 58” Mid Roof - Single Bunk
2.62, 2.64 & 3.42 Ratio
226“ WB & 214” WB Dual 100 Gallon Fuel Tanks
10 Speed
Dual 100 Gallon Fuel Tanks
Excellent MPG
Excellent MPG
FLORIDA Alachua
GEORGIA Atlanta
N CAROLINA Charlotte
OHIO Columbus
TEXAS Dallas
CALIFORNIA Fontana
INDIANA Gary
PA Harrisburg
TEXAS Houston
INDIANA Indianapolis
OREGON Portand
LOUISIANA Reserve
MISSOURI St Louis
ARKANSAS W Memphis
40 American Trucker/May 2012 - West
Go to
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
AUGUST 23-25, 2012 DALLAS CONVENTION CENTER • DALLAS, TEXAS THURSDAY: 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM FRIDAY & SATURDAY: 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
A PART OF
PLAN TO ATTEND GATS TO EXPERIENCE THE MOST UP-TO-DATE INNOVATIONS AND TECHNOLOGIES THE TRUCKING INDUSTRY HAS TO OFFER. • More than 500,000 square feet of equipment, products and services for all aspects of the trucking industry
COMING SOON!
The GATS App for your Smartphone.
• Network with nearly 50,000 trucking professionals • Visit more than 500 industry exhibitors
FREE CONCERT Friday night concert sponsored by:
Advisors from ATBS will cover best practices for cutting costs and increasing revenue in this free seminar for existing and prospective owner-operators. Sponsored by:
FRIDAY, AUGUST 24, 2012 CONCERT STARTS AT 5:30 PM
Best of Show winners from Custom Rigs Pride & Polish events across the country will meet in Dallas this August to compete for the ultimate prize: the 2012 Custom Rigs Pride & Polish National Championship.
mpionship tional Cha Nat
To register to compete, go to www.prideandpolish.com
John Anderson
FREE ON-SITE
TRUCK PARKING Sponsored by:
Visit these Pavilions:
Don’t miss the Red Eye Radio daily drawing for cash and prizes!
Visit the Expedite Pavilion Sponsored by:
The information and answers you need to operate efficiently and profitably The SmartSessions provide educational seminars designed specifically for fleets, owner-operators and others. Sponsored by:
FREE ADMISSION WHEN YOU PRE-REGISTER! REGISTER ONLINE AT
WWW.GATSONLINE.COM
Visit the Randall-Reilly Recruiting Pavilion
Visit the Health,
Wellness & Safety Pavilion Sponsored by:
Registration sponsored by: OR CALL
888-349-4287
Don Dens Sales, Inc.
I-35 & Hwy 210 - Carlton, MN
Custom
Truck
Frames
24 Hour Turnaround Extreme Lengths
Aluminum Wheels
22.5...$240.00 ea. / 24.5...$260.00 ea. Wide Base Alum. 22.5...$280.00 ea. SHIPPING AVAILABLE CALL FOR QUOTES
ADVERTISE WITH US CALL (800) 827-7468
1-877-366-1090 • www.dondenssales.com
DEAN HUFFMAN TRUCK HOODS
2003 VolVo 4Nl64T770
817-790-8555
I WANT TO SELL YOU A TRUCK HOOD
“Always have a witness”
There is nothing like taking a video of an accident that just happened to your driver and now you can review it to see it was not his fault. Just imagine the savings of not having to pay!
VideoDashCam.com offers you a witness! 388 PETERBILT LOTS OF NEW AND USED HOODS NO OTHER PARTS • LOTS OF PETERBILT HOODS
855-855-2022
500 Cummins Diesel Engine, Premium Interior, Roof Side Fairings, Frt. Alum. Wheels, Tandem Alum. Wheels, 209,609 Miles, w/53 ft. Kinn Trailer which Includes 4 Dollies.
Use Promotion code TRUCKER to receive 5% off your order
1-800-456-1619
Visit American Trucker on Facebook® and discuss a wide range of topics, receive periodic announcements and more! Search for “American Trucker Magazine” ®
Miller
Tire Retreading
707-473-0806
TOM’S TRUCK PAINTING, INC
Retread Cap & Casing Starting @ $150 Each
Collision Repair REPAIR & CUSTOM PAINTING Fontana, CA 92335
Adairsville, GA
909.574.8751
678-899-5651 www.millertireretreading.com
allenjacfueltanks.com
Ask For Neal
42 American Trucker/May 2012 -West
909.356.0404 email: tomstruckpainting@msn.com
POST YOUR EQUIPMENT HERE! CALL (800) 827-7468
WWW.TOMSTRUCKPAINTING.COM
Go to
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
1-877-295-4756
507-847-3664
MAKE AN OFFER - YOU MIGHT OWN IT!
#D466....2001 Volvo VNL64T Tractor Autoshift, N14 Cummins Engine
Automatic
No CDL
Autoshift
#D513....2000 Sterling Dump Truck Autoshift, CAT 450 Horse
#D690....1995 International 4700 Hook Lift, Try Our Rent To Own Today!
#F144....2005 Troxell #D988....1989 Polar Stainless #F096...1968 Butler Vacuum Tanker Trailer Steel, Sanitary 6000 Tanker 1400 Cubic Foot Tanker Trailer
#D682....2006 Mitsubishi FE84W #D665....2001 Freightliner Cab & Chassis #D890....1997 Chevrolet 3500 HD Bucketboom 6 x 6, Automatic, 58,000 Miles Crew Cab Landscape Truck
#D981....1973 Transport AL 8200 Gallon Tanker Trailer
Belt Floor Trailer
#D975....1974 Fruehauf 5500 Gallon, #D978....1985 JL SS/I X-Ring Tanker Trailer 7000 Gallon Tanker
#C187 25 On Hand!
10 Tandem Axle Belly 1983 Load King 1827 Tri Axle Belly Dumps Dumps In Stock, Call Today!
RENT TO OO OWN
#C562...Aulick 48’ Ag Belt Floor Trailer, Tri-Axle Hi-Lift Rear End Gate
#C187....1996 Travis 38.5’ Aluminum Frameless End Dump. 25 End Dumps Currently On Hand!! 26 Spotter /Tractors!!!
#D531....2004 MAC Tri-Axle #D371....2005 Clement End Dump, Frame Style End Dump Trailer Spread Axle, Air Ride, Lift Axle
68
Rolloff Trailers
/147 Dollies Available!!!
Single axle & Tandems!
#F098....1991 Peterbilt #F059....1998 Caterpillar #B686.... Interstate 20DTA, Tank Truck Pintle Hitch Trailer D3C XL Dozer
We Have Many Street Legal Yard Spotters Available Check Out “Rent To Own”
#D534...2004 ACE Rolloff Trailer Tandem Axle, More To Choose From, Multiple Axle, Pintle Hitch Etc.
Dollies....Huge Selection Of Converter Gears, S/A & T/A Spring & Air Ride Call Today!!!
Rent To Own - We Make It Easy 1st Payment...$3,960/Monthly Rental $1,980/8 Months - You Own It Rent This 1980 Beall Belly Dump, No Credit Check Interest Free
1997 Timpte Grain Trailer or 500 Barrel Frac Tank #D800 MACK CAT C-15, 650+hp, Test Run Excel.....$16,500 1693T, 425+hp.............................. $8,500 C-15, 475/550hp...........................$8,500 C-15,435 to 550 hp.......................$7,500 C-15, 500hp .................................$6,500 C-15, 475hp..................................$6,500
CUMMINS ISM 410hp, Test Run Excellent... $12,500 ISM 330 to 400hp.......................... $5,500 ISB 190hp....................................$4,000 ISB 230hp..................................... $4,000 ISB 275 5.9.................................... $4,000 N-14 Celect Plus,370/43............. $6,000 N14, 350-425hp........................... $5,000 N14 Celect+,370-435hp..............$7,500 5.9 245hp.....................................$2,500 5.9 Cummins 180hp................... $2,950
DETROIT 14.0 DDEC5, 515hp................... $7,500 60 Series 490/515hp...................$6,500 Series 50- 320hp........................$5,500 11.1 DDEC IV 365hp.................$4,500 11.1 DDEC II 320/350hp.............$3,000 11.1 DDEC II 350hp...................$3,000 11.1 DDEC II 320/350hp............$3,000 11.1 DDEC II 350hp...................$3,000 11.1 DDEC II 350hp...................$3,000 11.1 DDEC II 350hp...................$3,000 12.7 DDEC I 400hp ....................$2,750
Go to
E Tech II 03-UP, 427hp..................$7,500 E Tech II 03-UP, 480hp..................$7,000 E7-350 4 Valve, 350hp..................$6,000 E7, 427hp......................................$5,000 EM7, 300hp...................................$5,000 EM6-250, 250hp............................$3,000 EM6-250L, 250hp..........................$3,000 EM6-250, 250hp............................$3,000 EM6-237, 235hp............................$3,000 237hp.........................................$2,750 EM6-237,235hp @ 2100 RPM......$2,750 ENDT675, 235hp..........................$2,750
Many Makes & Model Cabs
MANY MORE ENGINES ON HAND, ALL PRICES EXCHANGE
Check Web For More Pumps
2004 Volvo VNM200 Air Ride Day Cab, Wired for Cowboy Piston Vacuum Pump -2010 Model-CCW Volvo Diesel Motor, Component in Ex. Condition Rotation-Includes Pump, PTO, Shaft, Pulley, Mount, Call On Others.............................................$5,500 Valve & Belt...............................................$5,900
MISC DIESEL & GAS ENGINES 4 Cyl Diesel, 42hp.........................$5,000 7.5 Hokaj/11451D, 10.05hp..........$2,000 V1903-E, 41.5hp.........................$3,500 John Deere Power Unit, 80hp.........$6,500 6.9L, 175hp...................................$1,500 7.3 Diesel, Ready To Ship..............$2,250 DT466E, 230hp.............................$4,500 DT530E,230hp............................$6,500 4D31 Mechanical Turbo................$2,750 4D31-0AT2, 127hp........................$2,500 4D34-1AT3,135hp @3000.............$3,500 6D16-2AT3, 200hp........................$3,750 VED7-300hp...............................$4,500 VED12D, 395hp............................$6,500 VED12D-435hp............................$9,500
#D809
#D591
Other Booms Available IMT MT 8031/36 Knuckleboom Unit w// Midship Winch, Very Good Condition Price.............$9750.00 Conditio rice.............$9750.00
Large Inventory Of Transmissions: 1,000’s of Makes & Models Call For Details
Trucker.com for used equipment listings
Many More Makes Available
Peterbilt 379 Long Hood Complete With Grill,Headlights,Hinge &Harness Good Condition....$4500.00
Call for a Complete List
16’ Ox Dump Body with Hoist Price.............$7500.00
Cat C15 Acer t Motors Cat C16 Motor LOW HOURS
$$CALL$$
American Trucker/ r/May 2012 - West 43
ad index A&R Diesel ........................................ 37
Don Dens Sales, Inc .......................... 48
Kadinger Salvage, Inc ....................... 32
Active Truck Parts ............................. 30
Erickson Truck Sales & Salvage ........ 43
KC’s Truck Parts ................................ 31
Alliance ........................................... 8, 9
Felling Trailer ailer .................................. IBC
Lucken’s Trucks & Parts, Inc ............. 36
Borg Warner Turbo ........................... 11
Fleet One......................................16a-b
Medford Trailer ailer ................................. 35
Brenner Tank Inc. ............................. 38
Fuel Purchase Management Handbook
Monarch Truck Center ...................... 46
Bulletin Board ................................... 42
........................................................ 5
NAPA A ................................................ BC
Chambers Motors .............................. 30
GATS ................................................. 41
Opperman $ Sons ............................. 34
Detroit Diesel ...................................... 1
HotIron.............................................. 46
Power Washer Sales .......................... 30
Detroit Radiator adiator................................. 29
J&M.................................................... 47
May 2012, West Edition Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
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44 American Trucker/ r/May 2012 - West
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Progressive Commercial Auto
Spray Control System, Inc ................... 7
MARKETPLACE AD SALES
Tec equipment, Inc. .......................... 46
dan.elm@penton.com 800-827-7468
Dan Elm
Insurance .................................... IFC
AK, AZ, CA, CO, HI, ID, MT, NM, NV, OR, UT, WA, WY, Canada
Protech .............................................. 34
Thieman Tailgates ............................. 12
Read Eye Radio ................................. 23
Trinity Trailer Mfg., Inc ..................... 28
Ellen Rowlett ellen.rowlett@penton.com 800-827-7468
Richard White richard.white@penton.com 317-352-2113 Custom Print Projects
River City Truck Parts ........................ 39
Valley Freightliner, Inc. .................... 34
Ruan Truck Sales -
Vander Haag’s, Inc ............................ 33
DISPLAY AD SALES William J. Doucette
Truck Division .............................. 38
Write Up the Road ............................. 38
603-236-3310 Fax: 603-236-3304 wjduce@aol.com CT, DE, Eastern PA, MA, MD, ME, Metro NY, NH, NJ, RI, VA, VT
David Haggett 847-934-9123 Fax: 847-934-9128 dghaggett@aol.com IL, IN, KS, KY, IA, MN, MO, ND, NE, SD, WI
Sam’s Riverside Truck Parts .............. 26
Reggie Lawrence 404-327-7770 Fax: 404-327-8836 reg_lawrence@msn.com AL, AR, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, OK, SC, TN, TX
Spalding ............................................ 27
Tom Neil 734-426-3297 Fax: 913-514-3983 tom.neil@penton.com Eastern Canada, MI, NY State, OH, Western PA, WV
To advertise in our June issue, please contact your sales representative. Editorial Office: 11 Riverbend Drive South, P.O. Box 4211, Stamford, CT 06907-0211 Telephone: 1-800-776-1246. Copyright 2010, Penton Media, Inc. All rights reserved. Postmaster: Send address changes to AMERICAN TRUCKER, P.O. Box 12921, Overland Park, KS 66282-2921.
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Justin Marciniak
AMERICAN TRUCKER¨ (ISSN 1090-9737) is published monthly.
Group Production Manager Copyright 2011, Penton Media, Inc. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Reproduction in whole or part without written permission is strictly prohibited. The publisher does not assume any responsibility for the contents of any advertising herein, and all representations or warranties made in such advertising are those of the advertiser and not the publisher. The publisher is not liable to any advertiser herein for any misprints in advertising not the fault of the publisher, and in such an event the limit of the publisher’s liability shall be the amount of the publisher’s charge for such advertising. Free to qualified truck owners or other personnel who buy or specify heavy duty trucks, trailers, parts and services.
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justin.marciniak@penton.com
American Trucker/ r/May 2012 - West
45
(3) 2009 Utility Dry Van Trailers, Located in Tipp City, OH .....................$CALL (2) 2001 Dorsey’s ............................$CALL
(2) 2007 Volvo VNL64T630, Located in Atlanta GA, ID# 111007 .................. $19,500
2008 Volvo VNL780, Located in Oklahoma City OK, ID# 100003141 ................. $55,000
(2) 2010 Utility Reefer Trailer 3000R, Located in Knoxville TN, ID# 100003104 ..... ....................................................... $43,000
2006 International 7400 .................$CALL
(10) 2006 Bluebird, Located in Dade City FL, ID# 100002877 ......................... $30,000
2008 Navistar 7600 Drilling Rig, Located in Tipp City, OH, ID# 100003109 .........$CALL
2005 Kenworth T800, Located in Knoxville TN, ID# 100003232 ........................ $35,000
MANY WHOLESALE DEALS!
46 American Trucker/May r 2012 - West
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888-624-7186 218-789-7848 info@jandmtrucksales.net www.jandmtrucksales.net Downer, MN (15 min from Fargo, ND) Cummins Engines ISX, ISM, N14, M11, L10, 855
Detroit Engines D-Dec 3’s, 4’s, 5’s 12.7 & 14 Ltr.
New Wet Kits End Dumps, Side Dumps, Live Bottoms Starting at $1,675
Transmissions 18, 15, 13, 10, 9-speeds, & Automatics
New & Used Grills Freightliner, Kenworth, Peterbilt, Volvo, & International
New & Used Bumpers Freightliner, Kenworth, Peterbilt, Volvo, & International Starting at $150.00
CAT Engines C-15, 6NZ, MBN, NXS, MSX, BXS, 3406E, 1WS & 2WS Aluminum Wheels Starting at $165
Tri-Paks $2,450 $2,900
Suspensions New & Used Pusher Axles Starting at $1,900
New & Used Hoods Freightliner, Kenworth, Peterbilt, Volvo, & International
Peterbilt, Kenworth, & International Susp. Also Available: Flex Air, Trailer Susps., & Tri-Drives Starting at $3,900
WE ALSO CARRY A LARGE SELECTION OF USED TRUCKS. CHECK OUR WEBSITE
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American Trucker/ r/May 2012 - West 47
Don Dens Sales, Inc. I-35 & Hwy 210 - Carlton, MN
Complete Wet Kits Available!!! WE SHIP ANYWHERE!
Aluminum Wheels 22.5...$240.00 ea. / 24.5...$260.00 ea. Wide Base Alum. 22.5...$280.00 ea.
Air Shift PTO...................................................................$397.50 Direct Mount Air Shift C-102 Dump Pump ....................$375.00 50 Gallon Alum. Side Mount or Upright Tank ................$450.00
Wholesale Pricing, Replacement Hyd. Pumps & Cylinders Available!
2006 Ranco 32’ Anvil End Dump, Frameless, Double Acting Dump Gate, 11R24.5 Rubber, Front & Rear Fenders.................................$30,000
2004 Ranco 34’ End Dump, Model ED26-34, High Lift Gate, Roll Back Tarp, Front & Rear Fenders, Front Ladder, Center Point Susp. ................$25,500
New 2012 LBC Tri-Axle Rail Trailer, 47’, All Alum. Wheels, Front And Rear Lift Axles, 30K Axles, L.E.D. Lights, Empty Weight 11,440#.. ................... $43,000
New 2012 LBC 3-Axle Bunk Trailer, 47’, All Alum. Wheels, Front And Rear Lift Axles, 30K Axles, L.E.D. Lights ..... ..............................................$48,000
1995 International 4700 Mechanics Truck, DT466E, Allison Auto. Trans, Service Crane, Hyd. Air Comp, Hyd. Welder, Hyd Goodall Starting Unit ...... ..............................................$16,500
1996 Doonan Step Deck w/Loader & Scrap Bins, 49’x102”, Air Ride, Serco 7000 Loader w/Outriggers ....$17,000
1994 Monon Car Or Trailer Hauler, Set Up To Haul Campers, Trailers, Cars, Winch For Pulling Campers On With Ball Coupler ............................ $6,500
HD Dual Steer Dolly, (2) Available, Self Contained Honda Power Unit, Dual Steering, Power Tower, Wireless Remote Control, 17.5 Alum. Wheels ... ........................................$65,000 ea.
Military M-920 Tri-Axle Tractor, All Wheel Drive, Cummins 400 hp, Auto. Trans., Hendrickson Susp., 45K Rear Mounted Drag Winch, 22 GPM Wet Kit ..............................................$20,500
2001 GMC 3500 Bucket Truck, 5.7 Liter Gas, Auto. Trans., 14’ Van Body, 35’ Bucket Reach.......................... $9,500
1996 Ford F800 w/2,000 Gal. Water Tank, Diesel, 6-spd., 30,000# GVWR, 1,641 Hours ............................ $7,000
1994 Ford L9000 w/Texoma TX245 Crane, 45’ Boom, Daul Controls, Outriggers, Diff Lock, Air Ride Driver and Pass Seat, Auto. Trans., CAT 3176, 175,000 Miles .......................$17,500
(2) 1993 AM General M35A3 6x6, CAT 3116 170 hp, Allison Auto. Trans., Soft Top Over Cargo Bed, Tire Inflation System, Spare Tire ...............$12,500
2000 Komatsu Forklift, Model RR275X12CAR/PO, Max Lift 82” .......... $4,500
1999 Teledyne Piggy Back Fork Truck, Model E2-3TRX w/SR2-25-9 Fork Attachement, Side Shift, 5,500# Cap., Hyd. Drive Wheels................... $8,000
2007 Ranco Anvil 34’ End Dump, Spring Susp., Front And Rear Fenders, Hi Lift Double Acting Gate ................$35,000
1992 International 4900 Crew Cab, DT466 215 hp, Allison Auto., 31,000 GVWR, Altec D842A w/42’ Bucket Reach...................................... $9,000
1999 GMC C8500 6X6 All Wheel Drive Cab & Chassis, CAT 3176 275 hp, Allison Auto 6-spd. w/2 PTO’s, Marmon Harrington MT17H 16K Steer, Hendrickson 40K Rears, 5.56 Gears, Hi Low Transfer Case ................$24,500
2000 Freightliner Classic Tri Axle, 3406E 475 hp, 10-spd., Air Ride, All Alum. Wheels, 20,000 Lb Non Steer Lift Axle ........................................$22,500
40’ 3 Axle Military Surplus Trailer, 34 Ton, Container Locks, Large Storage Boxes ................................$7,500 ea.
1-877-366-1090 • www.dondenssales.com REPLACEMENT DUMP BOX CYLINDERS AND DUMP PUMPS
WATSON & CHALIN STEERABLE PUSHER AND TRAILER LIFT AXLES IN STOCK
48 American Trucker/May r 2012 - West
WHOLESALE PRICING ON COMPLETE WET KITS, PTOS, PUMPS & TANKS
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CUSTOM ORDER A NEW XL AND WE’LL SAVE YOU TIME & MONEY
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Circle 54 on reply card
WE’RE INTO HEAVY METAL. JUST LIKE YOU. THE BEST IN QUALITY PARTS AND SERVICE ON THE ROAD Our parts are built to go the distance, just like your truck. That’s why NAPA has over 400,000 parts at over 6,000 locations and the heavy duty KNOW HOW to back every one up. And with some of the best people in the business, we’ll get you back on the open road fast. So go ahead and put NAPA KNOW HOW to work for you and stop into NAPA today.
NAPAOnline.com
Circle 15 on reply card
1800-LET-NAPA